BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2007

Affordable Best Services

(843) 251-5957411 39th Ave N, Myrtle BeachSC 29577-2703 Send email to Affordable Best Services

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2007

BBB has determined that Affordable Best Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Affordable Best Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: This company was hired to replace the shingles on my residence.The vent cap was not installed.
On January 14th the job of replacing the shingles on my roof was completed. I noticed later that my roof looked different from my neighbors and found that the vent cap was not installed on the cap of the roof. I have since called Mr. xxxxx of affordable services and he said he would come to my house see what my complaint was. He never showed up and seems to have no desire to install a vent cap as the job calls for.

Business' Initial Response
I have no problem doing this. He called me for the first time, not even a week ago. And roofers can,t work in the rain.Its still raining out. When it stops ,we will be there. Hoping we can get this in this week (but its Tuesday night ) I think a phone call or look out the window would be a smarter choose. See you ASAP xxxxx

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response because it is not worth any further effort on my part.Mr Bart knows why I will accept . Once scammed makes me out to be the fool and him to be the good guy. If I ever recommend any roof contractor it will never be him.

Business' Final Response
This is my 2nd responses. The work was completed the next day as requested and promised. If you read your contract, you will see it was not included. I just gave you $200. in material and labor, that I didn't half to. The state says if you have ridge vent, you may put it back on. If you don't have it don't add it .The reason being . When we have a major storm ,ridge vent is the first thing to blow off. Also you have gable vents, that pulls air up that stops the ridge vent from working. Remember never ask a roofing contractor. Go with the opinion of the friends and neighbors from NY and NJ They know the Fla. roofing code. Thank You ****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/17/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Roof continues to have multiple leaks after many repair attempts.
Since installation 4 years ago there have been leaks in 2 areas. When called the contractor promises to come and after several calls final shows without notice. Repairs consist mainly of caulking and placing rubberized roofing over a flat pitch that the contractor assured me could be shingled. Caulking and covering shingles with rubber roofing are not solutions to a problem but a band-aid. The repairs appear to be working only to have the issues re-appear. Recently I resorted to hiring an attorney to facilitate a response from a July complaint. The repairs were not addressed until November. The next rain storm the leak re-appeared. Contractor likes to point to the other side of the duplex as the causes but that roof was in place when this installation was done and any issues would have been evident.

Business' Initial Response
Owner contacted me to repair a leak in the front of the house, 4 years after I originally installed the roof. I narrowed the origin down to the 2 front skylights. At these sites, the owner, admittedly, stapled screen over both of them, puncturing the flashing. (I do have photos of the damages.) I since replaced the shingles and flashing in those areas, correcting the problem there.
I billed the owner $360.00 for the above-referenced damage that he caused, however, he failed to pay me for the repair.
In regard to the leak at the rear of this rental, the roof of the adjacent 1/2 of the duplex, which belongs to another owner, is an original roof that is probably 25+ years old. Where these 2 roofs intersect, is the source of this leak.
In order for me to make the necessary repair, I must be allowed entry into the rear of client's home to pinpoint exactly where the water is entering. Once determined, I will then remove the 2 skylights over the rear flat roof, and warranty a torch-down roof with a 2-year warranty, at no charge (The State only requires a 1-year warranty.) If the skylights must remain, the property owner must buy 2 brand new curb-mounted skylights, and I will do the torch-down roof, and I will warranty flat roof for 2-years.
I have several emails which I sent to owner's attorney with suggestions to resolve this problem quickly, however, we could never arrive at an amicable resolution. This is the same offer which I made several months ago, and I can't get the other party to agree.
I have no intention of replacing the entire roof, front and back, since it is 4+ years since I originally installed it. Also, the owner caused the damage on the front portion, and the neighbor's lack of repair to his property is the cause of the rear problem. I deem my solution to be a fair compromise.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never told you what the roof should be, it is not my place as the customer to tell the vendor how to do the job. The rubber roof was the solution from your workers. What i told you, and showed you pictures of, was severe leaking and buckets full of water in the Carolina room. If there was a need for different skylights, this conversation should have taken place at the original installation by your company. Not 4 years later when you are needing to change products. The leak is manifesting itself in the kitchen. I am glad to provide access to the unit. I need your guarantee that you will be there on time. There have been several instances where you indicated that you would show up to the job and then had other items that prevented you from being able to show. I am hesitant to allow you to perform this work as I am not convinced that the skylights are the issue. They are 6 feet down slope from where the leak is manifesting int he kitchen. Please provide the day and time that you would like to inspect the interior.

Business' Final Response
Dear Consumer As I said back two e-mails ago ,I need to look at the interior. I was in your kitchen 4 years ago. The best way for me is 8:30 or 9:00 AM . I know you have renters that work the night shift. So AM is probably out. How about 4:30 or 5:00 Friday ,Sat. or Sunday this week. If this is not good for you, Please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or e-mail me. I read that your hesitant about the skylight issue ,lets rule it out together, at are walk throw.The repair/replace/or other , would still happen in a timely manor. I still shooting for Feb. 15th

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General, Roofing Contractors, Contractors-Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/09/2007Business started: 10/01/1995
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Labor, Licensing, and Regulation
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC29211-1329
(803) 896-4300
http://www.llr.state.sc.us

BBB records show a license number of 15367 for this company, issued by SC Labor, Licensing, and Regulation. Their web address is http://www.llr.state.sc.us.

Type: SC Home Builder License

Check License Status: www.llr.state.sc.us15367

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1995, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Herbert "Skip" Barth (President)
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Contractors-General, Roofing Contractors, Contractors-Home Improvements

Products & Services

This company offers carpentry services, roofing, additions, new homes.

Alternate Business Names
Keystone ATM, LLC, Southern Classic Carpentry, Inc., Affordable Best Roofing
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Affordable Best Services

411 39th Ave N

Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2703

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 411 39th Ave N 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2703(843) 251-5957

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Affordable Best Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.