BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Brooks Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC

(910) 770-0462736 Love Mill Rd, WhitevilleNC 28472-4943http://www.whitevillewindowdoor.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 06/04/2014 this company's Accredited Business status with the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Brooks Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s).

Factors that raised Brooks Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brooks Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor service contract agreement and respond to phone call
Entered into contract with ******, Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC for vinyl siding & shutter installation on my home on 12/04/13. ****** ********* (owner) stated he would have the installation completed by 12/24/13. I paid $1500 as a down payment, with $1550 remaining owe. Materials arrived 01/14/14 to my home. Mr. *********'s employees began work on 01/16 through 01/17. Mr. ********* requested that I pay $1000 in order to pay his employees. I paid Mr. ********* $1000, with $550 remaining owe. Mr. ********* stated he would return on 01/18/14 to complete the vinyl siding and install the shutters. Mr. ********* did not return on 01/18. I have called and left (5) messages with Mr. ********* with no return call. Finally, on 02/20/14, I called Mr. ********* from unidentified number, he answered and provided poor excuse of not returning my calls or returning to complete the service. Mr. ********* concluded he would return the week of 02/24- 28/14. Nevertheless, Mr. ********* has not honored his word. The materials have sat in my yard through (2) snow storms and rain. My request is Mr. ********* to finish the vinyl siding and shutter installation as per our contract.

Desired Settlement
My request is Mr. ********* to finish the vinyl siding and shutter installation as per our contract as soon as possible.

Business Response
There were some delays on the completion of the work but we went out shortly after the complaint and completed all work as promised. We also cleaned up and hauled away all trash and other debris related to the work we performed. The homeowner was satisfied with the completed work and paid the remaining balance.

11/08/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Entered into contract with company to have porch built and other property repairs. Paid over half upfront. Little work done. Does not return calls.
Entered into contract with said company on 9/24/2012. Was for porch to be built along with other property repairs. Was told it would be two weeks max before work to begin. Since that time they've been twice to work and have not been back in well over two weeks. Last contact was on October 15th. Was told they would be back out by Wednesday the 17th at the latest to complete contracted work by the weekend. No work was done when said afterwards. Over two dozen phone calls have been made since then with no calls returned.

This was the exact situation we were trying to avoid. Made it abundantly clear from the signing of contract that we did not want to be held hostage by a construction company that would do sporadic work until the job was completed. We now cannot use our front door because there are no steps. The materials they have delivered do not equal the amount we paid upfront. We paid well over half the agreed upon amount set forth in our contract. The materials that weren't used are still in the front yard, but some materials look to be bowing and warping.

I took a chance on this company because they were prompt to come by and see me and give me an estimate and I wanted to support a local business with a young owner. I don't think I'll make that mistake again.

Desired Settlement
After reading of a similar incident involving this company on the BBB website, we are requesting a refund for the amount of materials not delivered. We are certain that the $2200 we paid upfront does not equal the paltry materials that have been used or delivered to our home.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/20/2011
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brooks Blackwell (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Brooks Roofing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brooks Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC

736 Love Mill Rd

Whiteville, NC 28472-4943

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 736 Love Mill Rd 

    Whiteville, NC 28472-4943(910) 770-0462

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brooks Window, Vinyl, & Construction, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.