BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/13/2012

TLC Autowash & Fast Lube

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 425-4232Fax: (910) 425-4233View Additional Phone Numbers1112 Hope Mills Rd, FayettevilleNC 28304-4247 Send email to TLC Autowash & Fast Lube

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/13/2012

BBB has determined that TLC Autowash & Fast Lube meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TLC Autowash & Fast Lube's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TLC Autowash & Fast Lube

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Today 12th May 2014, after having my car washed the machine they used to run my car through, broke off the TPMS Sensor from my front left tire.
The attendant did not mention the damage to my car. After pulling off I notice the car was pulling on one side that's when I saw the damage. I returned to the car wash and spoke to a supervisor he said his name was **** ***. They refuse to pay for the damage saying that their was nothing they could do but say sorry and offer a free wash. the cost of repair was $107.00.No notice was posted on the establishment saying they are not responsible for damage.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to reimburse my repair expanse.

Business Response
A car wash uses high water force and moving cloth to clean the vehicles that pass through the tunnel. Our Hanna wash equipment is used by automobile manufacturers and dealers and the force needed to properly clean vehicles is extensively safety-tested for all vehicles by numerous car wash manufacturers before it is released to the public. Wiper blades, unless loose, defective, or with previous damage, cannot break by traveling through a car wash.

There are signs posted at various places on the premises stating that we are not responsible to any non-factory items such as chrome items, fog lights, mirrors, or wiper blades. We cannot and do not accept any financial responsibility for your claim.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from TLC makes no since it wasn't a wiper blade or a non factory item that was broken it was the valve stem on the tire an item that comes on any tire in order for it to hold air. TLC claim makes no sense, as a retired veteran I will do what I must to ensure or het soldiers and veterans don't have the same problem with this company.

Final Business Response
We are not responsible for any aftermarket items added to vehicles. The item in question is an aftermarket item added to the valve stem on the vehicle. I apologize for your situation; but we cannot accept financial responsibility for your claim.

05/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 4/19/13 during the washing and blowing off my 97 GMC Jimmy the blower blew off my driver side mirror and TLC refused to pay for the damage.
Date 4/19/13 I took my 97 GMC Jimmy to be washed at TLC Autowash on Market St. During the process
the Driver's side mirror was blown off my car. I spoke to the Manager who asked me what year my car was and he informed me that they would not pay for the damage caused by the blowers. He immediately tried to blame it on the age of my car, which I objected to. My vehicle was in excellent condition before I took it to TLC. The manager said that the company would not pay for the replacement mirror either which amounted to $35.00 plus tax.

Desired Settlement
I would like TLC to reimburse me the $35.00 plus tax and the $17.00 for the car was fee.

Business' Initial Response
I am sorry that it was after your wash at our facilities that you discovered damage to your vehicle. The age of your vehicle is a consideration in the damage. You indicated in your claim that the 97 GMC Jimmy was in excellent condition for a 16 year old vehicle. Unfortunately bumps to mirrors by other car doors can cause damage unseen. A car wash uses high water force and moving cloth to clean the vehicles that pass through the tunnel. Our tunnel wash does not damage vehicles that have properly working factory mounted equipment. Mirrors, unless loose, defective or with previous damage, cannot break by traveling through a car wash. Our company has many signs posted regarding this issue. The movement of cloth and the rush of water is the same on both sides as a vehicle travels thru the tunnel, and there was no damage to your other mirror or to any vehicles washed before or after you.

I regret your situation; we try to be of help to customers even when the fault of a situation is not ours.
I want you to trust and continue to use our facilities. TLC has decided that, as a customer courtesy, to replace your damaged mirror. Please contact the Market Street location to set up a time for the mirror to be replaced by our general manager.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First it was not a matter of discovery as the mirror was dangling off the side of the vehicle and one of the workers said it was the blower that did it. I had to replace the mirror immediately which I did.
On 5/8/13 at 1:07PM I rec'd a call from the TLC Operations Mgr xxxxx who agreed to reimburse me the $42.00 (includes tax). He agreed to mail me a check for $42.00 which I should receive in about 4 days.
It's sad that I had to file this claim in order to get a business to do the right thing

04/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received car after service was completed and noticed damage to the car that was not there previously.
My husband and I dropped our car off for an oil change and free car wash that came with the oil change. We looked at the car when it was done and noticed that the back right fender had white paint scratches as if it had been side-swiped, there was paint chipped in two different locations and there was mud spots all along the car. We spoke with both managers and they told us that it was not their fault and there was nothing they could do about it. They also claimed that the chipped paint was rust, the white streaks weren't that bad or noticeable, and that there was no way it could have been them. We asked who was in charge of driving the vehicle and who was in charge of the oil change and the only response we received was that the man who conducted the oil change has been with them for seven years and there was no way he could have done any of the damage to car. Neither manager gave us the names of the people who worked on the car. They were not helpful at all and after talking to us for about ten minutes and continuously saying there was nothing they could do, it was not their fault and they were sorry, they just walked away.

Desired Settlement
We will be taking the car in to get an estimate on the damage done and expect the business to pay for the damage done to vehicle.

Business' Initial Response
I am sorry that it was after your services at our facility that you discovered damage to your vehicle. After reviewing your complaint and investigating the circumstances I have come to the conclusion that the damage to your vehicle was done prior to service at our car wash. I have spoken with the manager of the Skibo Road TLC and feel that the situation has been handled in a proper manner.

You recently purchased the 2003 Honda Accord in December 2012. It can be very disconcerting when our car is serviced and we can then glaringly see the scratches and dents of life that the film of dirt has been hiding. The manager pointed out that the chipped paint spots on the car have rust in them, indicating the damage was old. The white paint exchange is previous damage as well; nothing at our sites is painted white. You were not happy with the results of the manager's decision and took it upon yourself to grab your keys and leave the store without paying for your service. The cashier on duty called and asked that you return and pay for the services rendered. During that call you said you were not going to return and pay the bill, you were informed at that time the police would be called and a report filed. You insisted to the cashier that you would not pay the bill and hung up the phone. You did finally call back and let the cashier know that you would in fact come in and pay the bill because you did not want the police involved.

I am very sorry for your bad experience with our car wash. We have won the Readers' Choice awards every year except one, and even then we won 2nd place. Customer service is very important to us. We have not been in business for 25 years and have grown from one to five car washes without trying to do everything we can to make customers happy and to keep them returning to let us wash their vehicles. I appreciate your business and hope to continue to be able to serve you in the future.

Again, I apologize for your situation and thank you for your business.

01/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was one of the first customers of the morning. Purchased The Works at $36.00. Went through Car Wash and no one cleaned vehicle for 15 minutes.
Was one of the first customers of the morning. Purchased The Works at $36.00. Went through Car Wash and no one cleaned vehicle for 15 minutes. Only service person viewable was inspecting a vehicle. Manager came out after ten minutes, went to money machine at entrance and checked codes. When asked when I would get my car cleaned he pointed to person still inspecting vehicle.

Since this Company went to an automated format. Their work staff has been reduced, customers have to wait longer for service. Quality of service has reduced due to management not by workers.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $36.00 dollars for waiting to get car cleaned when business was empty.

Business' Initial Response
We regret your service on January 8th was not to your satisfaction. The manager of the site indicated that you, in fact, did have to wait for your service to be completed. The reason for your wait was due to an inspection and the servicing of the XPT machines. The manager informed you as soon as the inspection was finished, the employee would finish the service by wiping down your vehicle. The manager was unavailable to assist you due to service on the XPT machines which, once started, he cannot stop. We are refunding the "works wash" for your inconvenience. We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction and community service. We are annual winners of the Reader's Choice awards, because customers are important to us and this is evidenced by our winning.

12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Driver's seat was moved backwards by employee during car wash. When driver got back in vehicle, seat was broken. Driver cannot reach pedals to drive.
Employee moved driver's seat backward for car wash. When driver re-entered vehicle to leave after wash was complete, seat would not move forward. Seat moves up and down, but does not move either forward or backward. Driver spoke to employee who tried to move the seat with no luck. That person went and got store manager xxxxx who also tried to move the seat either forward or backward with no luck. He looked under the seat and said that no parts appeared to be broken. In the process of checking parts out with his hands under the seat, he got grease on his hands, which he then placed on the tan seat covers, leaving multiple black grease spots on the seat covers.


xxxxx asked what year the vehicle is (2001) and said the motor probably went out. He told me to go get it fixed at a dealership because "these things happen." xxxxx offered no resolution or compensation for the damage done to the seat during my visit to this business.

I cannot safely drive my vehicle after visiting this business. I cannot reach the gas or brake pedals while safely sitting in my seat. If I try to drive with the seat in the current position, there is approximately one foot of space between myself and the back of the seat. If I were to be in an accident, the seat belt would do no good because of this extra space.

The seat was in the correct position for me when I entered the car wash and left my vehicle with the employees. An employee moved the seat backward. The switch clearly worked for the employee to be able to do so.

This is the information from the receipt:
Car xxxxx
Sale # xxxxx

Desired Settlement

I want the business to fix the seat or pay to have the seat fixed. The seat was in good working order prior to my visit to this business. The seat was moved backward by an employee, so the switch was working when someone needed to move the seat. When I tried to move the seat back to its original position after servicing, the seat did not move forward.

While the vehicle was being serviced by the employees, something obviously happened. The company should pay to have the seat working again so that it may go forward and backward, like it did when they got it.

Business' Initial Response
As a company, we try to always help a customer with a problem even when we know that problem was not caused by our wash process. Customer relationships are very important to us and one of the reasons we are annual Readers Choice Award Winners. We have been in business since 1991 and strive to provide a great service to the community.

The store manager inspected your complaint regarding a wash person breaking your vehicle seat during the service of your 2001 Ford Explorer. From his inspection of the seat he determined that the malfunction of the power seat was not due to neglect or abuse by our staff. We adjust seats in every vehicle without incident to be able to properly vacuum the vehicle. Unfortunately electronic components do not always give notice when they will stop working. After speaking with an automobile representative regarding your vehicle it is common due to normal wear and tear for portions of the seat controls to malfunction. The forward portion of the switch can and does stop working and still allows the seats to move vertically. We do not accept any financial responsibility for your claim of damage to the power seat. The store manager would be happy to clean the seat covers as a courtesy for your inconvenience.

Again, I apologize for your inconvenience and thank you for your business.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response was not adequate. The offer to clean my seat covers did not fix the seat and me not being able to reach the pedals. The response did not do anything to alleviate the problem that was caused by carelessness of employees at this business.

Business' Final Response
We move every seat forwards and backwards, to properly vacuum. If we did not do this we would have numerous complaints in regards to our vacuuming. This was not a problem caused by carelessness of any employees. This particular facility washed 53,060 vehicles this year without incident in seat malfunctions and has been doing so for more than 20 years. Again our manager inspected the seat and determined that the malfunction of the power seat was not due to neglect or abuse by our staff.

Again we will gladly clean the seats; the manager may have soiled during his inspection of your vehicle. We will send a gift card for your use, at any time at any one of our four facilities in Fayetteville.

Page 1 of 2
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Broken driver's side mirror.
On 5 June at approximately 6:25pm my wife and I entered the TLC Autowash and Fast Lube on Skibo Road in Fayetteville in my 1999 Mercedes C280. Upon the completion of the wash I drove off headed home and noticed the driver's side mirror wobbling. I immediately called TLC but did not reach anyone, they were closed. The next morning I return to the location and showed the manager **** *** the damaged mirror. Mr. *** informed me that the mirror broke due to the age of my vehicle which I resented. I then left and went to the Mercedes dealer and spoke with several mechanics and the manager, with over 30 years of experience, and was informed by all parties that there is no way that the mirror was broken due to age. The manager informed me that extreme pressure was placed on the mirror which pushed it in the opposite direction. The manager also stated that he has seen this particular damage from automatic wash systems, the same used by TLC Autowash. I then provided Mr. *** (TLC Manager)with the information given by the Mercedes dealer. Mr. *** offered to provide me with a future complete vehicle detail with an estimated value of $150 per the price chart. I declined the offer because the cost to fix the damaged mirror, caused by his establishment, is $740.65 ($545-part and $195.65-labor). At this point, a $20 wash will cost me $740.65. Lastly, an incident similar to the one stated above occurred with an associate of mine at the North Pointe Auto Bath on Really Road and North Pointe compensated the patron for the cost of the item and installed it themselves. I am only seeking to be made whole again, my vehicle in the same condition as it was when I entered TLC Autowash and Fast Lube.


V/r
******* M. ******

Desired Settlement
I am only seeking to have my driver's side mirror replaced. The mirror does not have to be new, just fully functional as the mirror was prior to me entering the carwash!

Business' Initial Response
I am sorry that it was after your wash at our facilities that you discovered damage to your vehicle. A car wash uses high water force and moving cloth to clean the vehicles that pass through the tunnel. Our tunnel wash does not damage vehicles that have properly working factory mounted equipment. Mirrors, unless loose, defective or with previous damage, cannot break by traveling through a car wash. Our company has many signs posted regarding this issue.

The movement of cloth and the rush of water is the same on both sides as a vehicle travels thru the tunnel. There was no damage to the other mirror or to any vehicles washed before or after. We cannot accept any financial responsibility for your claim.

I want you to trust and continue the use of our car wash facilities. The store manager offered a detail wash for your inconvenience, which is available if you so choose. These washes are great to use after it rains. Acid rain is very damaging to vehicles and, on windows, irreversible. East coast acid rain is the worst. It is important to wash your vehicle as quickly as possible after it rains.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am very displeased with the response from TLC! As I stated initially, an expert from the Mercedes Business confirmed that the damage was caused by the wash facility, as they have seen it before. Upon this writing, I will take my business elsewhere!

01/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My new car was to be washed and cleaned inside and out. The service left my car with greasiness all over, and scratches on paint and on window tint.
*My wife was the one to take the vehicle, as I am a Wounded Warrior, in a wheelchair and cannot drive. She wrote the following statement, however, I am the owner of the car.
The incident took place after 6:30 pm on Saturday December 8th, 2012
My family and I had gone to see see separate movies. Mine let out about 45 minutes before theirs did, so I decided to go have my brand- new Toyota SUV cleaned inside and out. Mind you,I had only had the car for a week. I paid about $30 to have the car washed on the outside, tires and rims cleaned along with the the wheels armorall'd (sp?). I specifically told them not to armorall the inside as my car is brand new, it didn't need it and I hate the smell and the greasy look and feel. When my car was done, I walked over and opened the door and noticed the inside had hardly been wiped down and the doors all had water in the jams when opened. It was dark out and even without good lighting, i could still see issues with their work. The windows looked greasy, there were swirl marks on the car paint. I called one of the employees over and he handed me a dirty towel and we both proceeded to clean the car. After a few moments, I looked over and noticed he was armoralling the inside! I immediately told him to stop and I began wiping up the mess he made with it. He didn't even put it on evenly! He and another guy started working to clean the windows and the outside of the car, which all looked greasy, to no avail. I finally told them to stop. They didn't have clean towels to use and they were just making it worse. They didn't even vacuum the whole car out! I went across the street to pick my husband and kids up and had to get out of the car since my husband is in a wheelchair, to put his wheelchair in the back of the car. We were under a street light and that's where we really noticed the scratches and swirl marks. There was a very long scratch mark on the back of my car . One of the kids got in the backseat and noticed the tint was scratched as well, about an inch long! Well, my husband and I were irate so we went directly back over and asked to see a manager. We spoke with xxxxx who said he was a manager. He acknowledged the scratching and and greasiness all over. He told us on a black car, after the first wash, you will always see scratches and swirl marks. He asked me what did we want him to do. I was so upset, I brought in a brand-new car, that had been washed at the dealership before I drove it off the lot and it wasn't all scratched up, and all I wanted was it washed and cleaned! He said he couldn't do anything but that he would send the information to "xxxxx", the area manager. He went inside to get the information on it to give to us. My husband, who was severely injured in the war is suppose to only use his wheelchair, however he has crutches for transfer, got out of the car to follow him because he was so upset. I had to help him back in the car, meanwhile, since it was night and they were closed, all the employees it seemed, were just standing around watching. We received no call from either manager on Sunday and with no call by Monday noon, I called and was told xxxxx was gone and xxxxx was not in. I left a message for xxxxx to call me; he did not return my call. My husband called for xxxxx at 5:30pm on the same day and was told xxxxx was handling a situation. My husband was placed on hold and after 10 minutes, he got tired of waiting so he hung up and called right back. He was told by xxxxxx, the assistant Manager who had first placed him on hold, that xxxxx had just left. I guess they think if they ignore it, the problem will go away. This is not how you do business! Not how you treat the military and certainly not how you treat someone's investment! I've taken pictures of everything

Desired Settlement
To have the scratches fixed by a professional and the tint in the back window fixed professionally to match all other existing tint by companies of my choosing.

Business' Initial Response
We are annual winners of the reader's choice awards, because customers are important to us and this is evidenced by our winning. Military is very important to us, we are a family business who are military dependents. My father a World War II vet, who died young and my step father who died from Agent Orange. The other owner's father is retired military. We honor our heritage and our town, by participating annually in the free wash program of Grace for Vets; and being in a military town we wash more vehicles free than most participants across the nation participating in this program.

I am sure you feel adamant about the swirl marks discovered on your vehicle. Although I feel certain that you honestly believe the damage happened here, I feel just as strongly that it did not. A car wash uses high water force and moving cloth to clean the vehicles. Our car wash equipment is used by automobile manufacturers and dealers and the force needed to properly clean vehicles is extensively safety-tested for all vehicles by numerous car wash manufacturers. If you visit a car lot selling new vehicles at night under the lights you will see swirl marks. It is how all cars appear, and is more noticeable in dark color cars. It has nothing to do with the cloth or wash process.

The towels that are used to clean the interior of a vehicle are not abrasive in any way and will not scratch the interior or tint. They are rinsed after each use. The scratch in the tint pointed out by your child is where the child sits in his safety seat. Every window was cleaned with the same cloth and in the same method; there is nothing we did to cause this scratch.

On Saturday evening, when the incident occurred, xxxxx asked you to bring back the vehicle Sunday so that it could be seen in the light to address your concerns, about the cleanliness of the vehicle. He also offered to take care of your vehicle on Sunday, personally until you were satisfied with the cleanliness.

The site manager contacted the area manager as he said he would in regards to your concerns with the service provided. The area manager was off on Monday that is why you did not get an immediate response to your claim. The site received two threatening calls from you on Monday; he was instructed at that time not to communicate with you any further. We take our business and employee's safety and well being very seriously.

As a company, we try to always help a customer with a problem even when we know that problem was not caused by our wash process. We inspected the tunnel and found nothing that could have caused the scratches. We cannot and do not accept any financial responsibility for your claim.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again, the owner is trying to pass the blame off on anyone or anything rather than accepting that his employees were in fact, the only cause of the damages made to the vehicle. Damages and mistakes are going to happen no matter how long you have been in business, how many cars you allege to wash per day or if you have won a subjective award in the past.

The facts are 1.) This was a BRAND NEW car, in my possession for a week. The car really didn't even need to be cleaned, it had barely been driven. With it being brand new, I can assure you, the car had been looked at over and over that week by myself, my family and many friends. The car had NONE of the deficiencies in question prior to it being washed by employees of TLC the night of this incident. 2.) The swirl marks that are now on the vehicle are not the result of a normal wash, but rather being wiped with the dirty rags I myself handled and too, witnessed being used over and over while I was on the premises. These swirl marks are not consistent all over the car. If it was normal of the dark paint, as you mentioned, it would be all over the car, not just in a couple of spots . 3.) I did not ask for Armorall in my car and in fact I was very vocal about not wanting it. The employees however, used it and did a horrible job applying it. It's now streaky and very obvious. The areas that it was applied, were not rubbed in so you see all over where spots were missed. 4.) The GLASS on my rear driver side door is scratched, not the tint. The glass has a factory tint and putting tint over it will not fix the problem and the scratch will probably only scratch any tint placed over it. 5.) The scratch on the bumper (closer to the gas tank) that is so deep it has to be repainted, is on the drivers side, not on the back. Taking anything in or out of the back of the car would not hit this area. You have to stand on the side of the car to even see it. My husband sits in the front passenger side seat of the car as he is not cleared medically to drive and that seat is the only one with enough room for him to comfortably sit. The wheel chair goes from the very back of the SUV straight to him at the front passenger side door. The chair never even goes to the side of the car with the deep scratch. 6.) Again, I'll point out the Rain-X I paid extra to have put on my windshield that never was.

I really feel that this owner is reaching; using my husbands disability and his functioning medical aids(wheel chair), fictional infants in safety seats, etc., to try to cover up the fact that his employees and therefore, TLC Autowash, is at fault.

I understand he is offering to wash and wax my vehicle, however, if you go back to his first response to our claim against him, he claims the following; (taken directly from his response)

" The site received two threatening calls from you on Monday; he was instructed at that time not to communicate with you any further. We take our business and employee's safety and well being very seriously."

If the owner and his employees were telling the truth about us making alleged "threatening" calls and/or feeling threatened, then what all the sudden has made them not feel "threatened"? If they feel the need to protect themselves, why do they now feel okay interacting with us in person so that they can wash and wax our car? It makes no sense!

The fact remains that this business damaged my brand new SUV, and they are trying to confuse, redirect and pass blame. $50 to put tint over scratched glass is not acceptable and I refuse to let TLC, it's owner or any of their employees touch my car as I feel I should have the option to take it where I want to take it to have it detailed and repaired. My original demands have not changed and if the owners do not see fit to make this right, then we have no other option than to file a complaint in small claims court.

Business' Final Response
We can go back and forth with he said, she said but none of that really matters. We have been in business for 20 years and know how to wash a car. Most people don't pay attention to their car until after they have it washed, and that is in fact what our car manuals tell us to do; to inspect our vehicles after it is washed, see the dents and scratches of life the dirt has been hiding; and to then take any necessary measures to correct them.
Swirl marks are something you will deal with for as long as you own a dark vehicle. That has something to do with paint not something the wash process has anything to do with.
xxxxxx the manager offered for you to come back the very next day to clean the car for you until you were satisfied and you were not willing to do this.
The scratch on the rear bumper is usually from people taking things in and out of the back, and might have been caused by the wheel chair which you mentioned.
We washed more than 200 cars that day at that location without incident. What we are willing to do is replace the tint on just the window that the tint is damaged at a place of our choosing or a place of your choosing with no more than a max of $50 as a gesture of good faith; even though we feel certain it was not caused by anything we did. We will also rewash the vehicle and hand wax on it as well.

06/15/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my truck to TLC for a complete bumper to bumper detail service. They broke the ignition in my truck.
I took my truck to the TLC on (address). I payed them for a complete bumper to bumper detail service. I gave the cashier the key to my truck and she had given it to an employee. I was in my wife vehicle and we watched them move my truck to the parking lot. There was nothing wrong with my vehicle when I left there. My wife and I left and took care of other things and then we proceeded home. When we got home checked the answering machine and noticed there was a message from the TLC. We called them back to ee what the problem was and the manager on the phone told me that they could not start my truck. My truck has a manual transmission. I figure that they don't know how to drive a standard drive vehicle. I go to start my truck for them. The manager meets me in the parking lot prior to me reaching my vehicle and tells me that my ignition switch will not turn. When I asked what he meant by it will not turn he watched as I attempted to start m truck. When I realized that my ignition switch has been broken I asked him what happened. He informed me that it was like that when his employee got in my truck. I informed the manager right then that my wife and I watched one of there employees get in my truck and moved it without any problems. He proceeded to deny any negligence on the employees side. I asked how is it that I leave my vehicle with them and watch an employee move it without any problem, as I was leaving, but now all the sudden my ignition switch is broken after they drove my truck. I had also asked to talk to the owner of the business and he informed that will not happen and that he is not going to try to do anything about the situation. I had just returned from Iraq the night prior to this happening and it is very hard for me to understand how someone can do this to me. As a soldier I have to give all my rights and privileges away, so I can fight to keep those rights for every civilian in America, and this is the type of thanks I get. I asked him more than once to do the right thing and he continues to refuse any obligation to do the right thing.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking payment for the cost of repairs done to my vehicle. There was nothing wrong with my truck when I left it with them and I have had to pay almost 300 dollars, for the damaged they made to my vehicle.

06/15/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The service that I paid for was not performed in any manner close to what is advertised.
On 8/6 I took my BMW 328i Conv to be washed. I paid for the works ($36) and did not get it. My rims were filthy and looked as if they had not been touched. The carpets of the vehicle had hardly even been vacuumed, the dash was dirty and there was drying soap on the passenger side of my car. I alerted the young man who came in to get the claim ticket that I was not given.I was only given my credit card receipt and he was not happy that I didn't have a claim check. He said the rims were not part of what I paid for. The works is ext/int conditioning, rain repellent, clear coat wax, under body rust protection, rim clean, tire shine, fragrance, triple foam polish, dust dash, towel dry, clean windows and vacuum. I ended up speaking with who said he was the manager. No last name, just . He said that they would rewash my car and make it right. I would have done this had it been the first time I'd had a problem at this location and if I was not headed to a meeting. I asked for a refund telling him that I would not be back because of this and prior experiences and he said that they don't give refunds. I asked for the name of the owner/corporate contact so I could contact them. He told me that there is no one to contact because they are a franchise and everything is taken care of on-site. I asked him if he thought that I was stupid and he just shook his head and said that there's no one higher than him to deal with. Obviously he does not own the business so there is someone else to contact, I am just not sure of who that is. The receipt shows a Sale #for $36 on 8/6/11, paid for at 9:54 a.m. Someone who is in charge of this business needs to take charge of it because their service has gotten increasingly unprofessional over the past 5 years. We have 5 different vehicles that we take there on occasion, especially when my husband is deployed or gone as is the case here. We will not be bringing any of our vehicles back to them and unfortunately bad news travels faster than good news and I will tell anyone who asks to go anywhere but this location. Not to mention, they expect a cash tip even when they don't perform the work that you have paid them for. Last time I checked, a tip was a reward for a job well done.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund as I will never patronize another TLC in the area as long as I live here; therefore offering to re-wash my vehicle is not acceptable. Not to mention there were swirls of scratches on the trunk of my car after I came out from requesting a refund that were not there when I left a store from school shopping with my children.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Wash & Polish, Auto Service-Oil And Lubrication Centers Quick Service, Auto Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/2007Business started: 01/01/1988New Owner Date: 11/22/1993
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1993, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Diane Deering (Owner)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Car Wash & Polish, Auto Service-Oil And Lubrication Centers Quick Service, Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
TLC of Fayetteville, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TLC Autowash & Fast Lube

1112 Hope Mills Rd

Fayetteville, NC 28304-4247

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TLC Autowash & Fast Lube is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 285-1126
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Car Wash & Polish

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.