BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2010

Hardison Building Company, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 794-1501Fax: (910) 794-1511PO Box 809, Wrightsville BeachNC 28480-0809 Send email to Hardison Building Company, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2010

BBB has determined that Hardison Building Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hardison Building Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Floor has not been repaired as requested
Prior to the one year anniversary of the purchase of our home we filed a warranty repair request with Hardison Builders asking them to observe the black line that was appearing in our front foyer. When observed I was told that this was due to moisture that was seeping into the floor due to a joint in the cement that was poured for the foundation. The Floor Tech workers came out took a look at the floor and agreed moisture was coming in and said they would be back in touch and I have not heard from them since. After this I have made several repeated calls to Hardisons and they have failed to call me back. I finally was able to get their foreman over to my house 2 weeks ago and he take a look at the floor, he said he remembered our conversation the 2 years prior about the floor and said again why the floor was turning black, as a matter a fact the neighbors across the street has a similar thing happen per the foreman. I have not heard from them since the conversation 2 weeks ago and I know for a fact the floor people were across the street repairing my neighbors floor which they too had water seep into their floor due to improper barrier in the cement foundation. I feel that they have failed to repair a floor that under their warranty was faulty.

Business' Initial Response
In response to complaints about her floor at 458 Highlands Dr, I have gone through our records and we tried on many occasions to have the floor repaired but her schedule would not allow it for one reason or another. I also spoke with the floor company where they have documentation as to when they tried to schedule. The final correspondence was by phone that her daughter was ill and it was not a good time that she would contact them when she was ready to have them do the repair. Neither the floor company or Hardison Building have heard from her since. All that needs to be done is the scheduling. The floor company and Hardison Building are both well aware that the floor needed to be repaired but the homeowner needs to schedule it in order for this to be resolved.

Floortex and Hardison Building have documentation supporting this and will make it available upon request.


Respectfully,


Administrative Assistant

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/03/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Aug. '07 ****** sold us a home which had a severe crack in the slab. We were not aware of the crack as it had been covered by a wood floor. The problem became apparent within a year of purchase as water began to seep up the cracks and damage our wood floor with grey water stains in many large patches in our kitchen, bfastnk and livingrm. At first we thought it was just a variation in the color of the wood but the stains grew and it became obvious that the problem was not with the wood but with the slab. After several calls to the builder, they agreed to "fix it" which really ended up being nothing more than a bandaid. The flooring people took up the parts of floor which were affected and patched the cracks with some sort of apoxy mixture. Within a few months the grey water stains were back and are now worse than ever covering 1/4 of our livingrm, parts of kitchn & all of bfastnook. The builder referred us to our Bonded Builders Warranty, which we contacted only to find out that foundations are not covered under such warranty. I am not sure how this house ever passed inspection. Certainly a crack in the foundation would have been cause for concern and never should have been covered up by flooring. In Spring of 2011, we once again were able to speak with someone at ****** and in May they had the flooring company contact us to once again attempt to repair. Unfortunately, the flooring co. must have realized it could not be fixed by them and canceled the appointment. ****** has said that they are not doing anything more to fix the problem. After further examination, it appears the stain follows our sewer line which could indicate the original problem may include the sewer pipes but until we remove the area of the slab affected we have no way of knowing. It is obvious that the moisture barrier which is supposed to prevent this from happening was improperly installed along with the cement. ****** refuses to do anything further and our only recourse would be to hire an attorney.

x
From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com)
Sent: Tuesday, January 31, XXXX X:41 PM
To: *****@coastalcarolina.bbb.org
Cc: ******; ******
Subject: BBB Complaint Submission to remove/revise

BBB,

On 1/19/2012 I lodged a complaint with you against our home builder, ****** Builders in Wilmington, NC. I also placed negative reviews on a Google search site as well as with yelp.com.

On Monday, the 23rd of Jan. I received a call from ****** Builders stating that they are now willing to work to fix the problem with the slab in which our home was built. They sent (their foreman) to our home the next day. He examined the area and reported back to ****** ******. The following day, Wednesday the 25th, xxxx came back to our home with xxxxx, the flooring specialist to inspect the floor.

I received a call from Paul today, 1/31/12, stating that they had reviewed the paperwork from when our home was built. As it turned out, there was a problem with the cement which also involved the water line below. Part of the cement slab had to be cut out to repair pipes. As a result, once the areas were re-cemented, the newly poured cement did not adhere to the existing cement which left large cracks in our slab. They assumed that the underlying water barrier would keep moisture out so they did not feel it necessary to completely seal the cracks to a standard which would insure that moisture would not come up through the cracks. Consequently, moisture did seep in through the cracks which has caused our current issues.

Upon review of our "case", ****** has consulted with concrete and flooring specialist and is planning to fix the floor in hopes that we will not need to revisit this in the future.

I am fairly confident that this matter will be rectified.

I am not sure which of our "reviews" was seen by ****** nor do I know if you were in contact with the builder but I am pleased with the path this has taken and I have agreed to remove each negative review which I had submitted.

With this in mind, will you please also remove this review from any public web site. I am not sure how/if I can do that myself from your web site. If so, please instruct me as to how I would go about doing that.

Thank you for your web site where I was easily able to lodge my complaint. The site was very user friendly and I appreciate that.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/08/2009Business started: 01/01/1990
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NC Contractor's Licensing Board
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org/

BBB records show a license number of 38799 for this company, issued by NC Contractor's Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.org/. Hardison Building, Inc..

Type: NC Depart. Licensing Board for General Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1995, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Hardison (Owner/President)Ms. Carolyn B. Elaine
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Building Contractors

Products & Services

Hardison Building Company, Inc. is a residential home builder that specializes in residential developments.

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Counterfeit Coupons Offer No Savings
Home Improvements
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 115 Hinton Ave Ste 3 

    Wilmington, NC 28403-4771

  • PO Box 809 

    Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-0809(910) 794-1501

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hardison Building Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.