BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2015

Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC

(843) 673-92061223 W Evans St, FlorenceSC 29501-3321 Send email to Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2015

BBB has determined that Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Very unsatisfied with the outcome of an expensive battery purchased.
Back in 2012 i purchased a BMW 745LI, a year later a had problems with my car staying charged. I took my car to Patricks, dropped it off, with the promise of a call back that same day. around close of business time I had to call back to check on the status.I was then told the battery had a bad cell and needed to be replaced. on top of a new battery(so I thought it was), per the sec at the shop, I needed to have that battery registered to my car as well which would total my repairs $500+. I accepted w/o question(in which I shouldn't have)but I needed transportation. so to make a long story a little shorter, the work was completed. I paid with a check and left on the next day. on 9/11/2014 my car wouldn't start. I took the battery back to Patrick's to have it charged. Once I returned he stated the battery was no good. I'm appalled because from my understanding battery life in a BMW is 5-7 years(a NEW battery that is) so he asked me to produce a receipt because he could not find his copy in some old file drawer he checked. he called the battery shop he got it from and warranty was no good....he then asked me to wait until next week when his sec came back to find a receipt. I told him I didn't have that kinda of time and left to search for my receipt at home. (didn't find it)on 9/12/2014 I returned to the shop only to be told the battery was from 2010 and the warranty was up on it.I told him when I purchased the car(2012) and the battery(2013) and he acted as if it wasn't his fault.if the battery is 2010 and I got the car in 2012, there's one discrepancy(thought I was paying for a new one)he then made the statement that the vendor could have given him an old battery...I then asked about him not doing inventory on his items(smh. any way I could not produce the receipt which I hate and now I'm waiting until next week to speak with his secretary due to the fact of him being a business owner and not knowing how to turn on the computer and check for my services.thing is he knew that was an old battery when he installed, I was misled and I am very angry that people are so underhanded...all for the dollar!this business has lasted a while so I guess some services are impeccable but mine were not! not to mention I went to a battery shop a town over and purchased a battery for $121. I'm also confused on the OVERCHARGE!!! not sure what I pd $500+ for. A. bad to begin with B.wasn't a new purchase(which was what i paid for.....A NEWLY INSTALLED BATTERY) lesson learned ...keep those receipts...I totally screwed that up....but I do have my check duplicate....they should at least take that into consideration...but under the circumstances I doubt that because they are in the wrong.no the dispute but us isn't finished because I have to wait until next week but this still needed to be reported.

Desired Settlement
i want a total refund....they can keep their money for labor actually...but the battery and so called registration of the battery belongs to me!!! promises were not upheld and its a disgrace!!

Business Response
I apologize that Ms ********** had problems in my absence from work. *** works on cars, he doesn't do the office work and/or deal with many of our vendors. We owned our business and we are a small business with great customers. I have been doing all(plus some)for approximately 16yrs. So, yes I am sure that in my absence *** was very frustrated and confused. I'm sure he didn't know how to handle or find certain things. I had to be out of work for some time and that was VERY unexpected. Under the circumstances, we were not sure when I could come back. That is also why it has taken me so long to respond to this complaint. I know, with out a doubt that a used battery wasn't installed in this car by us. If Ms. ********** will bring me the battery, we will give her a refund on the battery(per my supplier). We installed a NEW battery in the 2005 745LI in May 2013 and when you do so, you have proper procedures to follow.(ie: need to register/relearned (clear codes due to low voltage, having to jump etc)She can call any dealer that works on BMW's and find that you do not get a correct size battery for this type of car for $121.00 and she will also find there are proper procedures that need to be followed in doing so.
Again, I am sorry that she had this problem in my absence, and I promise you it could NOT be helped.
I am also sorry that it has taken me so long to respond, but that also could not be help. As I said, we own our business, each of us have our responsibilities and our own duties at work.
thanks

****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I visited th POB on yesterday 11/4/2014, a refund was given. As I told **** I understood the frustration of the nature due to her absence but the way I was treated as a (returning)customer did not sit well with me. All I wanted was resolution on how to move fwd. being told take the matter to court by the owner was very unprofessional.Also responsibilities as a owner should expand past "working on the cars". He should have a broader range & scope of knowledge for his business as a whole.(just in case situations as such arise in the absence of a staff member in the future). thanks.

10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am filing a complaint against the above listed company regarding concerns of poor customer service and misleading fees.
On August 14, 2013 I took my car in for a scheduled appointment to Patrick's Domestics & Imports regarding concerns of possible low transmission fluid. I advised them that two lights (brake & tire) were on, which I had knowledge of but was not a priority at this time. I was not provided a price of what checking the fluids would involve, but believed that it would be a reasonable amount and left my car. I was informed that someone would call me if there were any issues or to discuss when my car would be ready. After several hours of waiting I contacted the office at 2:00 p.m. to follow-up on my car as I had not heard from anyone. The secretary advised me that Patrick was preparing my list and I would be contact shortly. At about 3:30 Patrick called me and informed me that he was under the impression that I was leaving my car overnight. I informed him that I did not think checking transmission fluid would warrant me leaving my car overnight and unless there were other concerns I would like to pick my car up. He then shared that he had placed my car on the computer and several codes were listed, which he wanted to inspect a little further. He said that I would be able to pick my car up at 5:30 on August 14, 2013. Mr. Patrick's secretary called prior to my schedule pick-up time and advised me that my car was ready. I immediately went to the service station and Mr. Patrick reviewed the codes and his concerns. The priority concern was a leak in the transmission, but he was not able to provide me with a cost of what the repairs would entail. He documented on my paperwork that I had refused services which was partially untrue as I could not determine whether to leave my car if he could not provide me a price of the repairs. His secretary stated that she would contact me the following morning August 15, 2013 with a price. She provided me with an invoice for my charges for that day, which were not specific in detail and just listed 150 as opposed to what the price of placing my car on the computer was, labor fees, and etc.
I waited all of August 15, 2013 for a call from Patrick or one of his employees, but did not receive one. After not hearing back I contacted the secretary on August 16, 2013 at 11:00 a.m. and was informed that she had misplaced my paperwork and would contact me after lunch with the specified information. Again, I did not receive a call. On August 19, 2013 at about 10:30 I contacted Mr. Patrick's station once again to retrieve information that was promised to me. Mr. Patrick's secretary stated, "I was just about to call you." She provided the information via telephone and I explained to her my concerns regarding the poor customer service and misleading fees. I also asked to speak to ******* to voice my concerns. Neither of the employees of *******'s Imports and Domestics apologized or offered a partial refund, future credit, or etc. to restore the trusting relationship that had been broken as a result of the company's poor customer service.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a partial refund as it is my personal belief that Mr. ******* and employees failed to provide pertinent information within a reasonable time manner. Nor did they communicate with me regarding delays that was ultimately preventing them from obtaining this information.

Business Response
We are sorry that Ms. ******* feels she received poor customer service and misleading fees here at *******'s Domestics & Imports. She came to our auto repair shop on Monday, August 21, 2013. I (****-***'s wife) wrote up Ms. ******* repair order myself. I listed her concerns on her 06 BMW 325i. Which were:louder than normal, seems to strain as driving, check lights on in dash(tire,brake) and service. Ms. ******* asked while she was waiting for her ride to pick her up and we were talking how much it would be to check the trans fluid? I said to her on the higher end cars, it's different because you do not have a dipstick. With some you have to put on the computer to check it and with others you have to go thru a procedure with the car in the air, running and follow different steps to check and in some instances, you have to do both. If *** had to put on the computer, that fee would be 75.00 and if he had to do the procedure, I wasn't sure but I estimated 50-75 not including trans fluid if it was low. So at that time, Ms ******* asked me not to service her car until we knew more of what was going on with it. That she wanted to make sure she had the funds to take care what was needed. So, I made a note - not service until we had it diagnosed and talked w/customer. When Ms. ******* came to pick up her car, *** sat down beside her and tried to explain what he knew and didn't know. He went over the computer print out in detail w/her and he discussed what he felt was important and how he would suggest going about what was needed. *** told her that we did not have enough time today to get an estimate up for her, we would do so and get back w/her as soon as possible. Ms. ******* needs to understand that we work on numerous types of cars here and that it isn't as easy as pressing a button to get an estimate together. It is my responsibility to get the best part at the best price for our customers. In this situation, I could save her money for the same parts purchasing from another BMW dealer instead of using our local dealership. I have certain guys I like to deal with an I also have to work on there schedule. When Ms. ******* called back to follow up w/me, she wouldn't give me a chance,she wouldn't let me get a word in,she took complete control of her conversation. Situations occur from day to day, in life and in business. Again, we apologize to Ms. ******* and we do not feel we owe her a refund....

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response as it is false and the owner of the company in reference is not taking responsibility for their actions, which led to this complaint. If necessary, I will be more than happy to provide a copy of my receipt which supports what I stated in my initial complaint. Part of maintaining a reputable business is admitting when you're wrong and taking responsibility for your actions. In this case this company is not doing either.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/04/2005Business started: 01/01/2003
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Judy Watford (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Patrick Watford (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC

1223 W Evans St

Florence, SC 29501-3321

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1223 W Evans St 

    Florence, SC 29501-3321(843) 673-9206

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Patrick's Domestics & Imports, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.