BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/24/2011

Import Performance

(910) 763-4223598 Wellington Ave Ste 110, WilmingtonNC 28401-7680 Send email to Import Performance

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/24/2011

BBB has determined that Import Performance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Import Performance's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Import Performance's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Import Performance

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Invoice indicates with every oil change "inspect fluid levels, top off as needed". This did not occur.
Import Performance has been providing service on my vehicle since March 2013.

On October 18th, I had my Mercedes ML350 in your shop for an inspection and oil change. Additionally, I asked that you check it over because I was headed out of town and something didn't sound right. I was told that the front lower ball joints needed to be replaced and the suspension sway bar links or bushings also needed to be replaced and I would also need tires soon. You are correct, I will eventually need tires.

Before spending $1200 on this work, I consulted with three other garages. None found anything wrong with the suspension. Additionally, the Mercedes Dealer doesn't even keep these parts in stock because they have never had to replace them on this model.

Eventually, the problem was identified but unfortunately for me it was far too late. There was a gasket leak and the transfer case had no fluid, only sludge and metal shavings. My receipt from Import Performance indicates that fluid levels were checked and it's my understanding that if it's easily accessible (and it is), it is normal to check the transfer case fluid level when changing the oil. I may find it difficult to offer any positive feedback in regard to your business.

Desired Settlement
refund all costs associated with 'oil service'

Business Response
Customer,

I am sorry to hear about the issues you have had with your vehicle. I reviewed your history and the technician that was working on your vehicle is no longer with us. I had to let him go because of other issues that came to my attention. With that in mind I can issue the requested refund on all prior oil changes. I will mail the check to your home address.

Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/20/2008Business started: 11/20/2008
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2008, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Talin Germain (President)Mr. John Elliason (Registered Agent)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Import Performance, Wilmington, Inc. d/b/a Import Performance is a full service auto repair and maintenance shop that specializes in European and Asian vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Import Performance, Wilmington, Inc.
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Import Performance

598 Wellington Ave Ste 110

Wilmington, NC 28401-7680

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 598 Wellington Ave Ste 110 

    Wilmington, NC 28401-7680(910) 763-4223

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Import Performance is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.