BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/13/2007

Cherry Grove Automotive

(843) 249-65631012 Sea Mountain Hwy, North Myrtle BeachSC 29582-2211 Send email to Cherry Grove Automotive

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/13/2007

BBB has determined that Cherry Grove Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cherry Grove Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cherry Grove Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My truck would start but not remain running. I paid 778.76 for repairs and it ran for less than 20 miles and is doing the same thing.
Nov 21 2013 1994 Ford Ranger vin xxxxx Milege 204,632.0 My truck has the same problem now, it had before it was repaired and I am $778.76 Poorer. They say it can be fixed for an additional ~$282.00 which I must be responsible for. This being the case I would like my Original $778.76 returned.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $778.76

Business Response
When Mr. ******** had us tow his 1994 Ranger to our shop for repair, the vehicle did not start at all, and this is documented on the repair order opened on 11/21/13. The towing company had told us that they pulled this vehicle out of the woods near the address where it was picked up. Mr. ******** himself had told us that the vehicle had not been driven in several years, and he and his son had been trying for days to start it using starting fluid but had no success. When we diagnosed his concerns, we found that the vehicle had no fuel pressure at all and the starter was binding most likely due to Mr. ******** over-cranking the truck when it would not start. We informed him by telephone that the vehicle needed a fuel pump, fuel filter and fuel pump relay, plus a new starter just to get it running. We also informed him of the cost, and let him know that due to the condition of the vehicle, he would most likely need additional repairs and maintenance services. He then told us that he did not have enough money to go any further with any repairs or services beyond the fuel pump, filter, relay and starter. We even noted on his repair order that his cooling system was filled with water and had no coolant, and that he needed to rectify this issue immediately. The vehicle had been driven exactly 37 miles since it left our shop on 11/22, when he had us tow it in for a stalling concern on 12/2/13. Upon our diagnosis and inspection of the vehicle using a computer diagnostic tool along with a visual inspection of the ignition system components, we got a code p0300 from the vehicle's ecm (engine misfire). After testing individual components, we called Mr. ******** and informed him that the ignition module was weak and not producing enough current to fire the ignition coils. We also informed him that the two coils and ignition wires looked old and had evidence of arcing and carbon tracking, and that all of these components would likely need replacement along with the module. Mr. ******** became angry and accused us of not fixing the vehicle properly the first time, so we tried to explain to him that this was a separate and different issue. The first time we saw the vehicle it had no fuel pressure and a bad starter, and did not start at all. Now, the vehicle runs very poorly and stalls, due to faulty ignition components. It is clearly a separate issue. We told Mr. ******** that we would perform the repairs at our cost instead of normal retail, and he agreed to doing the ignition module only. We reiterated that the module may not fully solve the issue, but he was still upset and refusing to listen to reasoning regarding the repairs needed.
Our overall assessment of this vehicle is that it is in poor condition and has been severely neglected. It has over 200K miles and has not been driven or serviced for years,and Mr. ******** himself has verified that. The license plates have been expired for 10 months. We have tried to be fair and reasonable with him .

Final Consumer Response
Cherry Grove said they fixed my truck. I paid them a large sum of money and the truck is not fixed. I want my money returned.
It is true that we could only get it to started

using starter Fluid and it would not remain

running this information was passed on to the

Cherry Grove Automotive Rep I spoke with. (1)

My truck was towed from my back driveway

and not from the woods as Mrs *** has

indicated. (2) I told Mrs *** that I hadn't used

the truck in 3 to 6 months NOT several years

as she has stated in her response and again

restated at the end of her response. (3) Mrs.

*** nor any of her reps NEVER mentioned

that it may need additional repairs to fix my

truck as she stated in her reponse, until

AFTER i called and told her or her rep that i

drove it only a few miles(37 mile) and it began

having the same problem. Then and only then

did they say it needed additional repairs in the

form of; a module and maybe some coils. (4) I

called them to tow it because it would crank

but not remain running. This with the help of

starter fluid is the original problem. I assumed

they were going to make good on our original

agreement. When i called she said the module

and its installation would be $282.00. i agreed

because i needed my truck for work around

our home. I called Mrs *** back and asked

"would the module fix my truck" she said she

was going to have a long talk with her

mechanic on that very subject before she

installed the module and if it wasn't the

solution she wouldn't have it installed. As far

as being angry on the 1 phone call i think it

should be noted that as angry as i was i never

said anything foul. Even after finding out that i

was charged $778.76 and my truck was having

the same problem as when they towed it the

first time, and that i was going to have to pay

more to have the same problem fixed again.

And my anger was no more than the Cherry

Grove Automotive rep i spoke to when they

found i had filed a complaint with the Better

Business Beaurea with the biting sarcasm and

the refusal to give me information about my

truck or situation. And that she hoped i put

antifreeze in it, indicating it would be there

for a long time. I cannot say what

conversation Mrs *** had with the tow truck

operator, only that the information she said he

provided was not true. My Truck was in my back driveway and not the woods.

I stopped at Cherry Grove Automotive because

she advertised on the outside of her building

they were ASE Certified and i have found in

the past this usually means Quality service.
Mrs *** stated "We reiterated that the

module may not fully solve the issue." I have

this conversation on audio file showing this is

not a true statement. I told Mrs *** that i had not driven my truck in 3 to 6 months not several years as she stated in her response. I have this conversation on audio file as well showing again that her statement is not true.

I have the current registration for my truck. If you need a copy i can provide that for you. Please let me know if you need copies of my conversations with Cherry Grove Automotive and the current registration of my truck.

Final Business Response
I in no way was sarcastic to Mr. ********. When he called about the status of his truck I told him that I was waiting on BBB to resolve his complaint. I later called him back and told him that we would install the module at the agreed up price. This did, in fact, fix his truck and it was starting fine for two days before he picked it up and it started fine when he picked up his truck.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Towing-Automotive

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/22/2007Business started: 09/01/1989
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Karen Dew (President/Owner)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Towing-Automotive

Products & Services

Cherry Grove Automotive is a complete auto repair facility with ASE certified technicians.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 12:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cherry Grove Automotive

1012 Sea Mountain Hwy

North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2211

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1012 Sea Mountain Hwy 

    North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2211(843) 249-6563

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cherry Grove Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.