BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Archer's Action Auto Service Center

Phone: (843) 347-6638Fax: (843) 347-7951103 Gardner Lacy Rd, Myrtle BeachSC 29579-7271http://www.archersactionauto.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Archer's Action Auto Service Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Archer's Action Auto Service Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Archer's Action Auto Service Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disclosing personal information of mine online.
My privacy has been violated and I am being retaliated against because of a review online of this company. They have posted my name and make model and year of my vehicle. They also copied parts of my complaint filed with BBB.

Desired Settlement
Remove my personal information, including my name and any identifying information of mine from the internet. I am a private citizen, not a public person or company.

Final Consumer Response
Email <**********@gmail.com>

9:11 AM (2 hours ago)

to Better
Is there anyway this complaint can be cancelled?

Sent from my iPhone

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Provided false information regarding unneeded repairs.
On May 24th 2014 I took my vehicle (2005 Chevrolet Cobalt) to Archers Action Auto in Conway, South Carolina for an alignment. The front end of my vehicle was pulling to the left and I figured I needed an alignment. I called and they told me to come into the shop as they would have time for me. I got to the shop around 10am and asked them to do an oil change as well, they said they would. After about 30 minutes in the waiting room one of the employees came into the waiting room and told me they could not do an alignment because my lower control arms needed to be replaced. They went on to tell me that I needed two need front tires, coincidentally so did the woman in front of me. I went back into the waiting room to wait for my oil change to be completed and when it was I went to the front to pay. Upon payment I was presented a bill for $71.xx for what was supposed to be just an oil change since they told me they could not do an alignment. The bill itemized each separate charge, the one I am disputing being the "alignment check" charge. I have previously had an alignment done at Archers Action Auto and was never charged for an "alignment check". It was reasonable that I could assume, since my car was already on the lift for the oil change that they would not charge me for an "alignment check". On May 28th I took my car to the reputable repair shop that I typically have work done. I was told that my lower control arms are just fine and that they do not need to be replaced. The reason that Archers stated that they could not do an alignment was because of my lower control arms on my vehicle. They tried to create a problem that wasn't in order to profit more from me. My main concern is that this repair shop is very close in proximity to two college and mass amounts of student housing. Being a student myself and having to pay for tuition and books is hard enough. And to have Archers try to make money off of me needlessly is morally and ethically wrong. I asked for an alignment and oil change. Only one job was completed. I did not replace my lower control arms because it would have taken several hours for my vehicle warranty to approve the repair and the parts ordered. I am asking for the charge and taxes to be refunded from the alignment check and at the very least for this business to stop trying to profit off of repairs that do not exsist. The owner(s) should be ashamed for the way that business is done here. If the only way to profit is to take advantage of people then maybe its time to shut the doors.
In addition to these tactics to profit, I further reviewed their google reviews. A response from the owners states "We are an accredited business with the BBB and carry an A+ rating". BBB clearly states that they are in fact not BBB accredited. I think that it is wrong for them to give customers a false sense of trust by saying that they are BBB accredited and that they take responsibilities for their actions when they in fact, do not. Furthermore, they try to publicly shame the customers that do Google reviews by calling them out by name or listing personal details when they review the company negatively. They try to intimidate unsatisfied customers by calling them out by name when they clearly wanted to remain anonymous. It is wrong to target private citizens for warning others of their unethical business practices. All companies has unsatisfied customers at one point or another. When a company handles these complaints with intimidation it clearly shows the morals of the company.

If Archers or any of its personnel attempt to intimidate me by publicly shaming or by any other means their will be legal consequences.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the charge and taxes of the "alignment check". The alignment should have been done since my lower control arms in just fine.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******, Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@archersactionauto.com
Ms. ******** ***** brought her vehicle in on 5/24/14 for an oil change and 4 wheel alignment because it was pulling left. My technician test drove the vehicle to verify/experience the issue. He then performed the oil change, as well as our customary under-the-hood check of fluids, belts, hoses, battery, filters, etc. He went on to address her additional concern and discovered that the bushings on the driver/front lower control arm were worn out. If we were to align the vehicle, it would immediately lose its calibration because of the excessive play in these parts. Her front tires had steel belts coming through on the inside and she was brought into the shop and physically shown the danger. I provided an estimate for repair and Ms. ***** declined. I offered to assist her in getting this covered under her aftermarket warranty but she declined. She was charged our standard alignment check fee so I can pay our employee for his time and expertise. I suppose once she is done with school and in the working world, she will understand better that nobody wants to work for free. Regarding our online presence and reviews: we have a strong customer management program in place which is available for public view. We used to be BBB accredited but decided to dissociate last year and have removed all logos, verbage, etc. from our website and facility. If anybody chooses to publicly attack my business and family name, I will exercise my right to defend these claims. If I or anybody else looks foolish as a result so be it. I accept that fact, as should anyone who chooses to make comments in any public forum. As a courtesy, I am willing to credit Ms. ***** if she wishes to have the recommended work performed in its entirety.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been assumed to be an unemployed individual. As a full time student as well as a woman with a full time job in the financial industry as a branch manager for over 6 years, I've been working since I was ** years old (now *** I can honestly say that I am in disbelief at the continued assertion of work needing to be done. I purchased two new front tires, and was told that I in fact do not need to replace my lower control arms as it states on my paperwork. An alignment was completed on the vehicle. If you need proof that I had a second opinion I will happily fax you the proof. There is a reason everybody else was booked on a Saturday and ******'s wasn't. If this company needs so badly to scam people to profit then they can keep the alignment check charge. They obviously need it more than I do.

Final Business Response
Our shop has done nothing but provide accurate recommendations and our offer to credit her for the diagnostic charge has been rescinded.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/27/2004Business started: 08/01/2000
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frederick J. Archer (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Archer's Action Auto Service Center is an auto repair center.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Archer's Action Auto Service Center

103 Gardner Lacy Rd

Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7271

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 103 Gardner Lacy Rd 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7271(843) 347-6638

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Archer's Action Auto Service Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair and Services
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.