BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2010

Floyd's Used Cars, Inc.

Phone: (910) 564-4711Fax: (910) 564-4668425 Brewington Rd, ClintonNC 28328-0218 Send email to Floyd's Used Cars, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2010

BBB has determined that Floyd's Used Cars, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Floyd's Used Cars, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold a lemon to me.
On 3/04/2012 I financed a 2005 Ford Expedition. By 4/20/2012 the vehicle broke down. I called Floyds and they told me to have a mechanic take a look at it. My mechanic took a look and found the engine was blown. Spark plugs never replaced and the engine already had problems. I then took the liberty to get a carfax on 4/20/2012 and found that the mileage was rolled back as engine problems. I took one spark plug to Advanced Auto and replaced it. I contacted Floyds about problem and got the truck towed to them on 4/23/2012 and asked for a call to compare problem shooting. I never got a call but I kept on them but they never had a resolution. By Friday 4/27/2012 I once again called but still no answer on the truck. At 5pm I get a call stating that the truck was ready for pick up and I was charged $891 but only give $200 down now. They rebuilt the motor with letting me know first to see if I can afford it. I basically do not want the truck, just my money back. they told me there cars are reliable but I beg to differ. I put $2500 on that car just for it to breakdown on me. I am a single mother of four with a disabled child. This truck has really set me back with trying to keep up with doctors appointments.

Business' Initial Response
WE DON'T NOT SELL LEMON'S WE SELL USED CARS !

Miss ****** purchased the 2005 Ford Expedition on 3/2/12. At the time of purchase we give all vehicles over the price of 4875.00 a limited warranty for 30 days. The warranty read limited warranty the dealer will pay 50% of the labor and 50% of the parts for the covered systems(motor and transmission only) that fail during the warranty period(duration-30 days).We do have a buyer guide(30 Day Warranty)which Miss ****** signed at the time of purchase.Miss ****** called our office on 4/20/12 and said she was having problems with the vehicle we then told her to have some to check out the vehicle to pen point the problem. After having to vehicle checked out she called back to our office and told us that the person she had to check it out the motor was gone.Then we told her to get vehicle towed to us and we would have some to check it out and get it fixed. So on 4/23/12 Miss ****** had vehicle towed to ******'s Used Cars. ******'s then took vehicle to the engine shop to be looked at and to be fixed . But, Miss ******'s warranty was already expired on 4/2/12. Miss ****** called a few time to check on the vehicle we told her it was at the shop being fixed and when it was fixed we would call her and let her know. ******'s got the vehicle back on 4/27/12(repair cost $1781.99) from the shop. ******'s called Miss ****** to let her know the car was ready and how much she would owe on her part of the repair bill $891.00.We told Miss ****** if she would pay $200.00 on repair we would put the $691.00 on a side note so she could pay on the repair when ever she could. But we also told Miss ****** that she need to make 1st payment(was due on 4/1/12)before vehicle could leave our lot. Miss ****** became up set cause we requested that she pay $200.00 on repair and her 1st month payment to made before she could take vehicle off lot. Miss ****** never expressed that she wanted her money back, and given the time period she is unable to do so due to contact/warranty. We would like to resolve this matter if Miss ****** is able to do as we requested her to do so.******'s would like to take this to apologize for any inconvenience that Miss ****** has encountered.

Business' Final Response
Spoke with the company on the phone:

Car is getting ready to be put back on the lot. Consumer had 30 days to pay for the car and partial of the repairs. Total was to be $300 for the monthly payment, and $200 for the partial repair bill, which actually totaled close to $1,000. Consumer has not contacted the business what so ever. Company has been willing to work with her, but she has not contacted them.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/05/2005Business started: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2003, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Floyd Carter (President)Customer Contact: Stefanie Carter (Office Manager) Glenn Carter
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

Floyd's Used Cars specializes in used automobile sales.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Floyd's Used Cars, Inc.

425 Brewington Rd

Clinton, NC 28328-0218

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 425 Brewington Rd 

    Clinton, NC 28328-0218(910) 564-4711

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Floyd's Used Cars, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.