BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/1995

Grand Strand Nissan

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 236-2191Fax: (843) 236-55054701 Highway 501, Myrtle BeachSC 29579-9444 Send email to Grand Strand Nissan

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/1995

BBB has determined that Grand Strand Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Grand Strand Nissan's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Strand Nissan

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Warranty not offered, even when asked. Used vehicle had to be towed 13 days after purchase. Dealer claiming can not help because no warranty.
Purchased used 2006 Cadillac SRX on June 26, 2014. Salesman did not offer warranty, asked finance officer if could purchase 1 year warranty, he did not answer. Then asked if could purchase a 6 month warranty, he still did not answer. Finally asked for 30 day warranty and he did not answer. Bought vehicle. On July 9, 2014 vehicle would not start and had to have it towed to ******* *********** They replaced the battery and inside headlight ballast. (low beam not working). ******* ********** advised that the complete headlight should be replaced but the cost would be over $700. Paid $462.52 to have battery and basic repairs done. Then on July 31, 2014 the check engine light came on, took it back to ******* *********** they advised of a possible timing chain problem and the check engine light may come back on. Paid $76.83. The check engine light came back on and I called the dealership, advised that the vehicle had a possible timing chain problem and the check engine light is on. Originally spoke to salesman, Corey Steele, he said he would check into it. Mr ****** said he could not help me and he had turn over to **** ******* Mr ****** never called me back, so I called him on August 8, 2014, he said they were trying to find another vehicle they could finance but the banks aren't talking to him, there is no way they could get financing for me. (I currently have a contract for the 2006 Cadillac financed by Santader Consumer). He told me he would call back Monday, August 11 at noon. Again, he never called me so I called him around noon. He told me there was nothing he could do because I did not sign an extended warranty on the vehicle. I told him I was never offered a warranty and the sales contract used vehicle 'as is' block is not check, he just stated again there was nothing he could do.

Initial Business Response
We had Mr. ****** bring his vehicle yesterday. We provided him with a complimentary rental car while we determine what type of mechanical issue the vehicle is having. The goal is to have a satisfied customer every time we sell a vehicle. This situation is no different. Hopefully we can resolve the issues with Mr. ****** vehicle in a way that is satisfactory to him. We would like to create a long term customer instead of a complaint. This vehicle is not under any type of warranty expressed or implied, but we may offer full or partial goodwill coverage depending on the situation. We should have a diagnosis and plan for repair within a couple of days. A buy back of this vehicle by Grand Strand Nissan is not an option. Once the mechanical problem is corrected Mr. ****** will have the same opportunity to purchase an extended warranty as when he purchased.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: 2008 Toy Scion Tc Rear Hatch Handle broken. Was to be fixed/replaced when purchased.
I purchased a 2008 Toyota Scion tC in early Jan. 2013. When test driving, I noticed the Rear Hatch Handle hanging & was obviously broken. I told the salesperson that this would have to be fixed without cost to me for me to purchase. In the finance room, I signed "what is owed to me/ repair form" and we went on with financing. Financing was very difficult and I even paid more money down. I explained prior to financing that it would be difficult.
When I picked up car the next day, I was told they repaired rear handle.
About a month later, the handle came off. At this point I realized they only fixed temporary with double sided sticky tape. When I called Grand Strand Nissan, they told me they explained this to me in the finance room and also told me that because finance was difficult and that they had to pay money out to finance company, that they could not fix it. At no time did I ever hear them tell me this!
This car was bought for my daughter as an early graduation present. I would have never agreed to whatever they are saying they told me. She is not able to even use her trunk, because we can't open it.
After numerous calls to Grand Strand Nissan, and never seem to get anyone to call back, except parts department with a price. I finally called again a week ago, and actually got the manager (Name) on phone. After explaining again what happened, he tells me he will call back. He does call back promptly, but tells me after he spoke with everyone else involved, that I was told it would not be corrected/fixed. He also said this was sold "as is" vehicle. He then gave me a quote to repair and to help me, they will do it for "their" cost.
I googled the info and found it to be a lot cheaper. I found the part for $125. They quoted me over $400. I told them I was willing to pay at least $200, but believe they should take care of the rest.
They still refuse and still insist they told me they could not fix it when I purchased.
I still feel they should repair this, as I was not told any of the things they are saying. Regardless if vehicle was sold "as is", I still signed a paper stating it needed to be fixed at their cost. This is just plain ridiculous! Why would I agree to this when I originally signed a form stating it had to be fixed before I purchased at their expense?!

Initial Business Response
The business made the consumer aware of the broken hatch before she purchased the vehicle. They offered to order the part and fix it at an additional cost prior to her purchasing the vehicle. She opted out. The business requested the consumer sign a document stating that she opted to repair the issue herself. This documentation is in her file.

The business states that many of the general managers have already spoken with the consumer, but the business will again make a phone call to reach out to the consumer to follow-up.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regard to their answer.... I may have signed something, but I was not told whatever it is they are stating. In other words, they may have misinformed me of what I was signing, because none of this was told to me! When I first visited with one of the mangers(sometime in early April) about this situation, he explained the same story to me, but kept saying he "told her" repeatedly that they wouldn't make any profit if they fixed what was broke. I finally asked him who "was her"? He said the lady who bought car, in which I informed was me and that he never told me any of this information. Another manager told me that he didn't know why I didn't hear this...maybe my mind was elsewhere!
I have purchased a vehicle in the past and had no problem. This is why I came back to Nissan to purchase my daughter's car.
Why would anybody buy a car for over $10,000 and you can't even use the trunk??
And as far as reaching out to me is really pointless. If they are not going to work with me in fixing it at their cost, then there is no need to speak to me.
I just can't believe they are pulling the wool over me and refusing to fix and pretty much telling me I am wrong and a liar!
I know what I heard and what was said to me and what they are saying is absolutely 100% wrong.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

04/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Paid $500 more for a car than I knew. Wasn't****** told in the finance room they just added to the cost. I only found out over another mistake they made.
On Jan X XXXX I bought a Nissan Altima from GS Nissan. I agreed to a price for the car and was set to go. When I got into the finance room they did all the paper work. The finance guy (xxxxx) told me I didn't****** get approved though Nissan but got me approved for another loan. What he didn't ****** tell me was by not going through Nissan he was adding 500.00 to my total. When looking at the paperwork I didn't ****** think anything of it. I am new to South Carolina and have come from Texas where all Taxes are paid up front and so when I was shown the total I didn't ****** think to question it.

Two days later I find out that the Sales man made a huge mistake on the car and I was actually financed for a different car that was on the lot and I needed to come back into the dealership to resign papers. This made me look farther into the paperwork where i found that there was a extra $500.00 on the loan that I didn't****** expect.

When I went back into the dealership I got tag teamed to how they got me a better deal but refinancing and getting me a lower interest rate. I should have gotten the best interest rate the day I was in there not being shammed into paying 500 dollars more for a car than its worth.

They kept telling me by getting me a better interest rate it makes up the difference! Seriously!!! I should have gotten a better interest rate and they should have made up for the difference. The dealership made the mistakes!

The financing guys acted like 5-10 dollars a month on my car payment isn't****** a big deal. I think by wording of how they put it made me even more upset! And I should be. I don'****** care how much it is even a dollar, it is my money. The dealership made multiple mistakes on this car deal and then acted like I should have been thankful.

The main issue is I feel like something "shady" was happening with the financial part of buying this car. It angers me off that it took a small mistake to finally get explained to me why I was paying 500 dollars more for a car than what it is worth! I blue booked this car even while there and knew what I was paying for it was the fair price for what other people were buying this car for. So why in the world would I pay more for this car?

Furthermore if the vin wasn't ****** messed up then I would paying more for a car than i should be at a higher interest rate.

During this time I also had been driving a car around that I did not have insured. My boyfriend and I financed this car together and he is a police officer in this area and made it very clear if I got pulled over a police officer could have towed the car if they so choose to. not that they would especially since I did not know but they could.

Business' Initial Response
Dear bbb
Mrs ****** was informed that the additional $500 dollar discount was for financing with Nissan. When she went into my finance office Manny Gil INFORMED HER SHE WAS NOT APPROVED THROUGH Nissan AND SHE WOULD NOT GET THE EXTRA $500 DISCOUNT.
Mrs ****** did get approved through another bank where and she was happy with her payment and the rate.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response above is a lie. It took Nissan making a MISTAKE with financing me for the incorrect car and me having to come back in to find out that there was a extra 500 dollars added to my loan because it was not through Nissan. The financial officer Manny Gil just apologized for it when I had to come back in so saying that I was informed of it is a NOT TRUE.

And saying I was happy is crazy. I was not happy the whole time I was there. I made that perfectly clear! I was mad and they all knew it. I was happier that I got a better rate but not that NISSAN was shady and added 500.00 to my loan without letting me know. Who wouldn't****** be happy about a better rate! That doesn't ****** not make up for the fact that they did not inform me. Bad business.

I do not accept their response.
****** ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts/Supplies, Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/11/1994Business started: 01/01/1973
Contact Information
Principal: Mr T J Johnson (Owner/President) Victor Daminov (Internet Sales Manager)Mr. Robert A Hayes (General Manager) Marty Martin (General Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts/Supplies, Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Services

Industry Tips
Lemon Law
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grand Strand Nissan

4701 Highway 501

Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-9444

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4701 Highway 501 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-9444(843) 236-2191

  • PO Box 2187 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2187

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grand Strand Nissan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.