BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2004

Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 365-7331Fax: (843) 365-06762385 Church St, (Highway 501 West), ConwaySC 29526-4401 Send email to Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2004

BBB has determined that Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This complaint is in refrence to a faulty and dangerous vehicle.
My wife purchaced a 2012 Durango in September 2013 within two weeks she started having problems with it saying low key battery. She went back numerous times with this problem to no satisfaction. Then it started saying gas cap open the sensor would routinely go on and off. Then the check engine light started coming on. When the vehicle was being started it would make a terrible noise. It has left her stranded twice. It shut off on her once while going 70 miles an hour down the highway luckily it wasen't very busy. And that was the thoughts of the sales manager all he said was oh well that's not a very busy highway. When she was finally able to get a rollback it was pouring down rain and her windows were stuck down and would not roll up so it had to make the ride from surfsidebeach to Conway all the while getting drenched. There idea of fixing the problem is to keep throwing parts at it and hope one works and this is not satisfactory to us because we have family in other states and we are not comfortable driving the vehicle this far. We also have an 18 year old son who drives the vehicle and were no longer comfortable letting him drive it. One of there other solutions is for us to give them 6,600 hundred dollars down then they will put us in a new ram. He told us the bank would not put us in a used vehicle because we've already had problems with a used vehicle. To me it sounds like they don't have confidence in there product. They would not even give her a comparable rental car we had to go to hertz where they gave her a 2500 ram work truck. So we have gone from a comfortable six seater eight if you fit people in tight to a two seater maybe three if you sgueeze in and this is not good for us because we have a very busy social life. We are currently paying seven hundred a month I believe this to be a little much for the way we are being treated. They keep saying how there going to fix and take care of us but so far they only have two answers us keep the junk which they cant guarantee us they can fix or we give them more money and they give us something more expensive.

Desired Settlement
The only thing we are asking for is a comparable vehicle to replace the one we purchased. They even let her test drive a used ram and let her test drive it in beliefs she could get it because we already stated that we wasen't putting anything down when we got back that's when we were told that we could have it for 6,600 hundred down.

Business Response
Mrs **** did have a concern with her vehicle.We performed a diagnostics test and there were no stored codes to correct in the computer and we could not duplicate the problem. We did replace the key that she stated was giving her a problem without charging her and a gas cap was ordered to be replaced at a later date.When she came in (at a later date) to have the gas cap replaced, we forced the vehicle to duplicate the problem.At that time, we connected with Chrysler and repaired the vehicle. While her car was in the shop, Mrs **** was offered a mini van as a loaner vehicle and she told the service manager that it was not her style. So the rental company gave her a choice of it or a truck and as you can see in her complaint.... SHE elected a truck.

04/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The agreed upon purchase price of a new vehicle changed over 10% overnight!
My wife and i were going to drive to Aiken county on Friday February 28th to purchase a new Ram 1500. We had paperwork for a specific vehicle for a advertised selling price(no haggle) of 21,015. This exact model is advertised throughout the internet at this price. ******** *** and ****** *** are two that advertise this price. Tuesday February 25th at 5 pm we decided to print out the sales agreement from Triangle Ram and give Conway Dodge a chance to match price or come close enough for us to not take long trip cross state. We explained our reasoning to sales person ***** and gave her a printed copy of agree. She stated all we could do was try and brought papers to the sales manager. We waited for over an hour for a decision but to my surprise the sales manager and general manager came to introduce themselves and tell us what a low price this was and the overall deal we were recieving. We gave enough information for dealer to start paperwork and secure loan and we made an appointment to come back the following day at 10am to complete (at this time it was past 8pm, they close at 7pm). Wednesday February 26 at 10 I was at work and my wife ***** ****** was completing the transaction when I received the first phone call that the agreed upon price had risen $1985. Sales manager explained truck just could not be sold for that price. I asked my wife to forget deal and just leave. 30 minutes later ***** called me again and stated manager explained where on original quote the other dealers must have made a mathematical error because the numbers just are not possible. I am dissapointed that ***** completed purchase but she had already called and informed the other dealers we went a different direction. If we could have completed the previous evening this price change wasnot possible. I believe if I was there the following morning there is no way the sales department would have succeeded in this.

Desired Settlement
I believe dealership owes a refund of difference in original agreed price to purchase price.

Business Response
On Feb 28th ***** ****** did come to Conway Chrysler with an internet proposal from another dealer.Her and her husband asked how close we could come to the price. The other dealer had not seen their trade in nor did they show them the vehicle.The proposal they had was mearly computer generated to get the customer in the door (which it did)and then THAT dealer could start their process.
Moving forward. She came back the following day, was presented the actual numbers,and bought the truck.At that time,if Mrs ****** did not like the figures,she could have elected to pass on the deal and buy the other vehicle which was 100s of miles away.
Our reputation stands great here @ Conway Chrysler and if I felt that we owed anything back to the customer (other than superb service) I would give it to them.This is just an internet deal where another dealership was using deceptive advertising to real the customer in only for them to find that their offer was invalid once they traveled that far.
I will continue to service this customer as if this complaint had not happened

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fact remains YOUR dealership changed the price overnight partially because the papers could not be signed on initial agreement night due to late hour. These exact models are all over the internet with "buy it now pricing" at our original agreed price. As for saying what another dealers intent was or that dealers tactics to get us in the door is representative of Conway Dodge sales tactics. I refrained from all what if, he said she said and assumptions and stuck to the facts. I was going 200 miles away the next day to buy a truck, the price was xx,xxx, this was 7000 less than Conway Ram, I decided to offer Conway Ram an opportunity to come close to price before making the trip. Conway Ram decided to price match, Conway Ram changed the price. FYI do not blame customer for making a bad purchase. You will NEVER have to worry about how you treat my family in the future. Enjoy the $1985 Conway Ram, you obviously need it more than i do

Final Business Response
We at Conway CDJR do not feel that we owe the customer a refund of any kind. The deal was not put together that night and the trade in was never appraised by Conway CDJR or the other dealer 200 miles away.Any dealer can advertise in our market in hopes of drawing a customer 200 miles.
Their theory in that is.... if they driver 200 miles, we will sell them a vehicle.We do not advertise on the internet that way.

04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ***** ****** bought my 2014 Grand Jeep Cherokee from Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram on March 14, 2014. My check engine like came on in less than a week, after purchasing the Jeep, I called and told them they than told me to bring it in so they can take a look at it. When I took it in they said that is was nothing, that my jeep just needed an "update" so I was ok with it a little annoyed but ok. after leaving that day, later on that night my light came BACK ON it was late at night so I couldn't call until the next morning I called and they said for me to bring it back in to take a look. They than told me it was the seal on my gas tank that they needed to replace it. They had to order a part for it and they would call me when it came in. I waited a little over a week. And did not hear from them. I called them on the 25th of march because I had not received any calls. He than said that he had "left me a voice message" which he did not because I never received one. I asked if he was going to plan on calling me back and he followed with "I normally like to wait a week before calling back" I said that was ridiculous and asked when I could bring it in. I was able to bring it in on Friday March 28th. They replaced the part and said I was fixed and ready to go that I shouldn't have anymore issues. My engine light came BACK ON that NIGHT!!! Now I was very angry and called them on Saturday explaining the whole story to the manager the manager agreed with me and told me he would call me back on Monday and see if they can trade it out. So I went back today and they told me they could trade it out but would only give me 25,000 for it when I payed 29,600. So now my car is back in there shop and they are holding it until they figure out what is wrong with it.I had the car for less than two days before the check engine light came on. The light continues to come on. I believe 3 times is well enough time to figure out what is wrong with it when there shouldn't be any issues with a 2014 vehicle.
Product_Or_Service: March 14, 2014
Account_Number: *** ** XX-X-XXXXX

Desired Settlement
All I want is a 2014 Grand Jeep Cherokee color (white, black, or dark gray) of the same value to mine, no less, and I don't expect more. I just want my car without having to pay more for it. And with NO ISSUES. I shouldn't have to pay 4 more thousand dollars to trade it. That is ridiculous. Why should I loose out on 4,000 dollars because of an issue that I did not cause? Please help me.

Business Response
Without a doubt, they did have a manufacturing problem on their vehicle shortly after their purchase.Conway CDJR did an updated computer flash on the vehicle in hopes of curing the problem. After the picked it up,the light did come on again.We put them in a rental car so we could go a little deeper into the problem and found a pinched line from the assembly plant. We repaired the line,the customer picked up the vehicle and since then...no problems.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Desired Settlement
Consumer states car was purchased on 7/5/12.
Consumer states she took the car back in on same day due to noise with the brakes and was told there was nothing wrong with the brakes except dust.
Consumer states she took her car in 7/6/7/12 when she still heard a noise with the metal on the brakes. Consumer states on 9/5/12 she took the car back again . She spoke to the manager on 9/7/12 and was told there would be no refund because there was nothing wrong with the car. Consumer states on 9/7/12 she took the car back in and was told the rotors had been cut. Consumer states she called and spoke to Mr. xxxxx and he told her the rotor's had been cut. Consumer then took her car to her mechanic on 9/7/12 and was told the rotors were melting and it was unsafe to drive. Consumer states that her mechanic fixed the car.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs ****** brought the vehicle back the following day with a noise in the trunk. Found out that the jack was loose in the trunk,tightened it and problem was solved. She also stated that she had brake dust on her hub caps. Our service dept looked at the brakes and all was ok and brake dusting is normal with soft ply pads.I heard nothing from this customer until last week when she came to me and said that she had her rotors turned and ask for reimbursement. Mr xxxxx never told her that we turned the rotors or performed any brake work on this vehicle. I understand that she is not satisfied with this decision I have made, but I feel as though if the rotors were turned in OUR shop, I could have helped her out on the ******.

****** ******
General Manager
Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
xxxxxx
XXX-XXX-XXXX Dealership
XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct Line
XXX-XXX-XXXX Toll Free
XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct Fax
XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell

Consumer's Final Response
10/17/12 xxxx consumer states that she is not happy with this response.

Business' Final Response
Conway Chrysler stands behind the first response submitted.

09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1990Business started: 11/01/1990
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1990, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Klouser (General Manager) TJ Johnson (Dealer)
Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Products & Services

Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeeps specializes in the sale of new and used automobiles.

Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

2385 Church St

Conway, SC 29526-4401

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2385 Church St
    (Highway 501 West) 

    Conway, SC 29526-4401(843) 365-7331

  • PO Box 770 

    Conway, SC 29528-0770

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Conway Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.