BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/12/2013

Capital Nissan

Phone: (877) 606-4187Fax: (910) 392-2817

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a Nissan Versa from Capital Nissan Wilmington, NC on 8/8/2014. They are not honoring the full warranty we paid for.
"My mother and I purchased a 2014 Nissan Versa from Capital Nissan in Wilmington, NC on 8/8/13. I have copies of the ads where we were promised 2 years free maintenance and also lifetime warranty on the power train. During the purchase, the salesman tried to sell us an extended bumper to bumper warranty, we declined. He then offered to extend our 2 year free maintenance agreement to a 60 month agreement that included enhancements such as those items outlined in the major interval services outlined in the 2014 Nissan Service and Maintenance Guide. He also mentioned free rental cars under the enhanced program. Both of us also were told alignments were covered. The cost of $673 seemed like a good deal to extend the simple oil change and tire rotation to full vehicle maintenance for a period of 60 months. When I had service done to the car on 9-18-14, the service person advised me only oil changes and tire rotations are covered under the agreement and would not complete the additional maintenance items outlined in the manual or the alignment without payment. A few days later, both my mom and I visited the dealership to talk with ***** **** the sales person. He was not in and we spoke with ***** ******** Sales Manager. After waiting 20 minutes, he advised us only oil changes and tire rotations were covered under the 60 month agreement. He said he could investigate the "balance of the coverage" and quote us a refund. I told him there shouldn't be a balance as the first two years of the maintenance plan for oil changes and tire rotations were "free". See attached documentation. We called Nissan Headquarters (case #XXXXXXXX)and was advised this was not a Nissan Company Program. They pointed us back to the Dealership that wasn't very helpful during our visit. We believe Capital Nissan should make good on the promises of the Gold Preferred Maintenance Plus service option we paid for (see attached paperwork) for the full 60 month period we paid for. We feel the Sales Manager suggested we were dim witted enough to pay $673 for an additional 3 years of strictly oil changes and tire rotations. What an insult to our intelligence. My family has owned Nissan products for over 20 years and the integrity of the dealership is questionable based on this situation. We would like Capital Nissan to cover the full maintenance for 60 months as they originally promised. This would include those items outlined in the Gold Preferred Nissan Plan as well as those service interval maintenance measures outlined in the owner's manual."

Desired Settlement
We want Capital Nissan to cover the full maintenance for 60 months as they originally promised. This would include those items outlined in the Gold Preferred Nissan Plan as well as those service interval maintenance measures outlined in the owner's manual. Plus alignments.

Business Response
**** ***** the gm has been in contact with customer and we have agreed on the resolution . Everything is ok

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I purchased a Jeep from Capital Nissan on September 3rd 2012.After having to wait almost 30minutes for a sales person. When buying the car, we told the dealer to register the Jeep in Arizona, because we are military. By approx September 23rd, we became concerned with not recieving our license plate. Due to our temp tag from the dealer was about to expire Wed, OCt 3rd. Long story short, after MANY MANY unreturned calls from the dealers managers, we were told the paperwork was held up from being sent to the Arizona DMV. That the dealer needed new copies of our Drivers License and proof of Insurance, which I faxed to them that Thursday. We were told as of Friday September 28th, that the paperwork was sent to the AZ DMV. And we would get our License plate in a few days. And were basically told to drive with the expired temp tag. I refused, due to I have to get on a military base everyday and its illegal, and had the dealership bring me a new temp tag, (that had the wrong expiration on it.) NOW, October 11th, and the AZ DMV still has NO record of the Jeep purchase. Even when I spoke with my Sales person, ****** he was confused on why the papers had not been sent. And this point my husband and I are very upset with the customer service of this dealership. I had also received a false letter of congratulations from a ****** ********** (Manager)when we bought the car. Come to find out, ****** no longer works for the company, not in many years. This tells me this dealership is not run properly. Buying a car should NOT be this stressful. There have been many things this dealership has done to make me a customer that will not ever return or recommend.This entire experience with Capital Nissan has been nothing but a nightmare.We just want it to be over, Thank you for your time.
Product_Or_Service: 2009. Jeep. Patriot.

Desired Settlement
At this point, my husband and I are so disappointment with the way the dealership handled things, we just want to void our purchasing contract. I have already even made my first payment on the Jeep, I would like that paid back by the dealership. To get our $2,000 DOWN PAYMENT back and to return the Jeep to Capital Nissan, as if the sale never happened. We just want this stressful situation to be over.

Business' Initial Response
Capital was made aware of Mrs ****** concerns and all of them have been addressed and taken care of. We sent someone out to her house and replaced the window and hand delivered her permanent tag. At this point all resolved issues have been fixed. Please feel free to contact her personally as she will confirm this info.

**** *****
GM

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
EVENTUALLY, yes, the problems were taken care of. The fact that the dealership did not return calls and to get the problems fixed were like "pulling teeth!" They acted VERY unprofessional and VERY unorganized. I had to told them to bring me the replacement tag because the old one had already expired, AND the "manager" I spoke with told me that it would be fine if I drove with the expired tag!! Basically telling me to drive illegally! Due to I have to get on and off a Military Base, I needed that tag, otherwise couldn't drive anywhere.
It seems to me this dealer only cares about getting the paperwork signed and thereafter do not care about their customers. I have not received any apology for any of these problems and lack of customer service.
I am still very disappointed in this so called company, and even with their "response" to this complaint. And will not ever refer them to anyone.

Business' Final Response
I understand that this was a bad experience however when the customer reached out to the general manager he was very receptive and made sure the issues were resolved . All concerns were fixed and addressed and the gm did apologize on several occasions for the situation that occurred. What else should be done at this time

12/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrong diagnoses on my car for service engine light
I took my car to the service center on Market St in Wilmington for a diagnostic of my check engine light.
I was charged 105.00 and was told that the mass air flow sensor and my spark plugs needed to be changed. The estimate for the work was $700.00. I could not afford this and $300.00 of this charge was just to change spark plugs. I took my car to a very reputable auto repair and had the recommended repairs completed for a cost of $500.00. I picked up the car and drove 5 miles down the road, the engine light came back on and the same problem was back, just that quick.
I called the Nissan service center (only 3 days later) and asked if they could take 10 minutes to read my code again and that I completed the recommended repairs from their diagnostic; but the problem was NOT corrected. All I was asking for was for them to read a code at no charge, due to the fact that the problem did not go away. I was told NO that ever who made the repair must have done it incorrectly and I need to go back to them.
Well first of all the only repair made at that time came from Nissan recommendation and it was an incorrect diagnostic that cost me $105.00 and a repair bill of $500.00 and yet my car was still not repaired. I go back to my auto repair shop and they suggested that I may have a bad ignition coil. They thought that might have been the case BEFORE I went to Nissan but said that Nissan should diagnose before they take on such a costly repair. So I had them replace the ignition coils and the car has been running with NO problems since the repair was made at another repair bill of $600.00. So now I have a $1200.00 repair bill vs. only a $600.00 repair bill due to a wrong diagnostic from Capital Nissan of Wilmington. I am on a very tight budget and can NOT afford to pay for these types of mistakes.

Desired Settlement
Incorrect diagnostic that cost me $105.00 and a repair bill of $500.00 for their recommended repairs.

Business Response
CUSTOMER DID COME TO CAPITAL NISSSAN FOR DIAGNOSIS ON HER XXXX XXXZ WITH XXXXXX MILES.see work order XXXXXXX.ONE OF OUR CERTIFIED NISSAN TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE WITH CODE OF PO300, MULTI CYLINDER MISFIRE.NEEDING A MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR AND REPLACEMENT OF THE 6 SPARK PLUGS. THE VEHICLES COMPUTER ALSO SHOWED THE ENGINE USING REGULAR UNLEADED FUEL.TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED CUSTOMER TO USE PREMIUM UNLEADED FUEL AS RECOMMENDED BY NISSAN. ESTIMATE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE IS $360.30 FOR MASS AIR FLOW AND $289.95 FOR PLUGS PARTS AND LABOR PLUS TAX. CUSTOMER DECLINED THE REPAIRS AT THE DEALER AND TOOK TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT SHOP. THIS SHOP PERFORMED REPAIRS BUT DEALER IS UNSURE IF REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED TO NISSAN SPECIFICATIONS.
CAPITAL NISSAN CAN NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ANOTHER SHOPS REPAIRS JUST LIKE THAT SHOP CANT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR OUR REPAIRS.THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAN COME ON FOR A NUMBER OF ISSUES. IF CAPITAL NISSAN HAD PERFORMED THE REPAIRS NEEDED AND THAT WOULD HAVE NOT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE WE WOULD NOT HAVE CHARGED THE CUSTOMER AND RE-DIAGNOSED AT NO CHARGE. DEALER WILL SCAN VEHICLE AT NO CHARGE BUT CAN NOT WARRANTY OR DO ANOTHER REPAIR SHOPS WORK FOR NO CHARGE.IF CUSTOMER WOULD LIKE REPAIRS PERFORMED BY CAPITAL NISSAN PLEASE HAVE THE CUSTOMER MAKE CONTACT WITH SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND WE WILL SET APPOINTMENT. ONCE AGAIN WE CAN NOT GO BEHIND ANOTHER SHOPS REPAIR AND CORRECT IT FOR FREE BUT WE WILL WORK WITH THE CUSTOMER ON GETTING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED BUT CANT DO IT AT NO CHARGE.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was assured from Capital Nissan that their diagnoses could pin point the specific problem that was causing the miss fire of my car. They gave a general code that I received from Auto Zone for free!
They charged me 105.00 for a general code and then recommend a Fix that they would have charged 700.00 that would NOT have repaired the problem.
I have never put anything but premium gasoline in the car!
The work that fixed the car was completed and FIXED the problem was preformed by honest reputable auto shop. I am NOT satisfied with their general reply!

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a used vehicle no warranty offered. Have had the vehicle less than 1 year and am having to put over $1,000 worth of repairs in the vehicle.
On July 19, 2013 I purchased a used 2007 Nissan Altima with 95,000 miles on it, I was very displeased with my service while there but needed a vehicle that day and expressed my annoyance then. Took my Altima in for it's first oil change at the end of September and was at the Nissan Service Center for around 3 hours. I was not told the vehicle checked out fine after the oil change and only recommended a coolant system flush because I was coming up on my 100,000 tune up. I was lead to believe that everything else with the vehicle was good to go for a while. I decided for my next oil change I would go to Midas where I have been taking my vehicles for the last three year because they do a full check of the car. I took the car in on 2/21/14 and I was shocked when I was told the vehicle needs new tires, new brakes (they are less than 2 mm), and my shocks are leaking oil. I was taken out to the bay to be shown all the issues. I called on 3/11/14 Nissan and spoke to the sales manager and was told the car had to pass inspection before it could be sold and this were things that were considered to be normal maintenance. I understand that vehicles have pass an inspection before being sold. I have never bought anything but used cars and have never had to replace these types of things on cars before I have even owned them for a year. I was told there is nothing that they can do. I am filing a complaint because to me it seems I was sold a car that squeaked by an inspection and then was sold to an innocent customer. I love the car but have had an all around terrible experience and would never buy from them again. The sales manager on the phone even went as to far to suggest that I was rough on my car as far as driving, which is completely false. I take care of my vehicles because I need them to last a long time and have no problem properly maintaining them. I feel it is a little ridiculous that having not owned the car even 1 year I am already having to replace some major items on the car. I would think that being a big company in Wilmington they would want to and be able to sell used cars with new or like new tires, good brakes, and non-leaking shocks on it. I know I didn't buy a lemon by the definition of the terms but I still feel like I got the short end of the stick on this deal. I was not even offered a complimentary oil change or anything after my conversation with the sales manager or anything that expresses that they had any concern for my issues I was expressing, I am going to have the car repaired either way but I am now seeking restitution for the money I am going to have put out for repairs I feel I shouldn't be dealing with this soon. I can provide any paperwork necessary to prove the Midas visit and receipts of repairs made.

Desired Settlement
I would like my repairs to be paid for. I was given an estimate of around $1,000.00 - $1,200.00 I would settle for $800.00

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@capitalnissan.com
******** purchased this 2007 Altima in July of 2013 and every customer is given the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty. We give every customer a 3 month 3000 mile power-train warranty. She declined to purchase the extra coverage. We will gladly try to assist her with the issue at a reduced cost if she so desires

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response has nothing to do with my complaint. I was offered a power-train warrant which I did decline. These issues with my car are not covered under a power-train warranty so that statement was useless. I have already had the car repaired because I have a few road trips coming up and could not risk driving a car with less than acceptable tires, almost gone brakes, and shocks leaking oil, so the response to "try" to repair it a reduced cost is moot. I can tell by the very short response that this place of business does not care very much about customer satisfaction and keeping a brand loyal customer. I will never recommend this business to another person nor will I buy my next Nissan from them. I am now in a financial difficulty thanks to this company's unwillingness to do the right thing.

03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.