BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/12/2013

Capital Nissan

Phone: (877) 606-4187Fax: (910) 392-2817

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
07/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is Capital Nissan's lack of fully, verbally, explaining EVERYTHING involved in purchasing a used vehicle from them.
On May 1st, 2015, my husband and I purchased a 2014 Nissan Rogue from Capital Nissan in Wilmington, N.C. We were lead to believe from ******* ****** at Capital Nissan that a warranty came with the vehicle at no cost to us. Come to find out, said warranty was going to cost us extra every month. That was never VERBALLY told to us by ******* ******* Very misleading. Although Capital Nissan did make amends by "giving' us the warranty at no extra charge, he was very rude and unprofessional about the whole situation. We also were approved for a loan through Citifinancial. At that time, we signed up for Smart Pay. Our payments would be auto deducted twice a month from our checking account. A few days later, we received a phone call from Mr. ****** saying we were now financed thru Wells Fargo because of the better interest rate. The Citifinancial loan was null and void, therefore we thought the Smart Pay that was part of of our contract was also done. Fast forward to recently, we have found out through bounced checks and our bank account in the negative, that Smart Pay was still deducting from our bank account for the car payment. We didn't know that our Smart pay was automatically transferred to our Wells Fargo loan. ******* ****** never told us this. We were paying our car loan via checks, while our payments were also being being auto deducted from our checking. In addition, we found out today from Smart Pay that there was a $399.00 enrollment fee for Smart Pay. Once again, that was never communicated to us by ******* ******* That is very sneaky, underhanded, and unprofessional on his part. We are being reimbursed from Smart Pay the payments that were auto deducted. However, we have close to $100.00 in overdraft fees that wouldn't have happened if Mr. Barnes had COMMUNICATED the above things to us.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of overdraft fees because of *** ******** total unprofessionalism and lack of communication.

Business Response
**** ***** the GM at capital Nissan has spoken with mr ******* regarding the mix up in smart payment plan. The customer has been contacted by smart payment plan admin and the money will be refunded to their account within 72 hours. The dealership however is not responsible for overdraft fees. Mr ******* is in contact with **** ***** regarding the fee for enrollment. The GM is trying to get a refund for the program for the customer

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/05/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Capital Nissan Not honoring their 3months, 3000 miles Warranty
I purchased a 2010 Nissan Versa Hatchback Monday May 11, 2015. Took it on a test drive drove it up College Rd/40 which is a straight stretch, didn't have any major turns or bumps. Got back to the dealership did the paperwork finalized everything got the car went home got ready for work. Went to work, got off work drove over the speed bump in the complex the radio turns off and it sounds like the cd player is coming on. I say to myself that's strange. The radio comes back on. Go out later that night to the store go over the speed bump same things happen, go to make a right turn out of the complex the radio goes off and once again it sounds like the cd player is coming on. Go to work the next day same things happen, now it's any bump, right and left hand turns the radio is going crazy. So now i decide, well I'm just going to turn the radio off all together. That was my plan but that's not what happened, so now im getting mad, because every time i make a right or left turn hit a bump in the road or do anything the radio comes back on by it's self
I turn it off and it comes right back on. So i get home at this point really ****** off. I go to the website make an appointment to take the car back in. I work until 5:30 so i picked a late afternoon appt. I get a call the next day saying that even though they have appts that late it's no one there at that time that can do diagnostic on my car. So im ****** by the minute, the person on the other end said would you like to reschedule i said NO not at this time, i will need to go on the website and look for another time that would work better for me. So i did a picked an 8am Saturday appt. Took my car in they said it would be hours before the tech could look at my car. Did i want to wait? Huh wait, then one of service people said we can offer you a rental car. I'm like ok. Don't forget i just bought this car on Monday and have been dealing with this radio issue tje whole week. The write it up the girl say 35.00 please i said no im not paying 35.00 nothing. One of the other service people said no we going to let her have the car for one day and then talk to the sales manager, since she just bought the car Monday. We get the rental car straight i leave the dealership. I get a call about 8hrs later saying that my radio had a short in it and it needs to be replaced, all the proper paperwork was being submitted. And that i would receive a call on Monday telling me what situation was with the car. I receive a call on Monday telling me that my broken radio was put back in the car, and that i needed to bring the rental car back and i can just drive my Versa with the jacked up radio until they get approval and the new radio in to replace. So said ok i will bring the rental car back after i get off work. I take the rental car back, i ask the service person did they know how long it would take, for this whole process because I'm going on Vacation because Memorial day is coming up this weekend. Never got a straight answer. So I'm suppose to drive a car for 3 and 1/2 hours one way with out a working radio or cd player. Will come to find out the paperwork process hadn't even begun because the service person was faxing the paper work to the WRONG NUMBER..... And on top of that Capital Nissan is filing this claim to the extended warranty that i purchased when i got the car. But my question to the service person was if Capital Nissan offers a 3000 miles, 3month warranty on all of their used Vehicles why is a claim being filed to my extended warranty company? His answer Idk, and on top of that he tells me at most i will have pay a 100.00 because that's the the deductible for my extended warranty. I said excuse me I'm not paying 100.00 for a faulty radio on a car that I just bought on Monday. And that Capital Nissan clearly say that they offer 3000 miles, 3 months warranties. I asked him was we done, he said he would call me in the am. And left before i said some words that wasn't nice.

Desired Settlement
I want Capital Nissan to stand by their word and honor their 3000 miles or 3 month warranty and not charge me or file to my extended warranty to replace the faulty radio. Clearly it was not something that i did to the radio and the tech that took it apart and looked at it said that he had never seen that ever before. And if my radio can't be fixed before Friday when i leave for vacation, a rental car should be offered to me at no charge to me. Also for gaving to reschedule and then find out that in fact the paperwork had been sent to the wrong number by service person i should be offered free car washes or free oil changes or something.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@capitalnissan.com
Good morning
Customers complaint has been addressed and radio was special ordered. Customer had purchased ext warranty and extended warranty is being honored by replacement under the warranty. Customer vehicle is here today for the radio to be replaced and capital Nissan is paying customers deductible to extended warranty. Capital Nissan as well as extended warranty group is standing behind vehicle sold.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes they did fix my radio,but i was still upset with the process because it seem like the ball was dropped numerous of times. I started the process on the 12th and it took until the 4th to get my radio in. And i had to constantly keeping calling, because no one was calling me keeping me informed about my radio. I was told on numerous occasions that i would be called back in a day or two by the person handling my claim. And was not. I truly hope they don't treat all of their customers this way. I love the Nissan brand, and i didn't have a problem with my sales person,but the service department at Capital has really left a bad taste in my mouth. And i will really have to rethink my next Nissan purchase. It will most likely not be purchased from Capital because of my experience this time. You only get one time to make a first impression.

06/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle that is not working. They refuse to fix it to standard and/or refund my money.
2014 Toyota Sienna was purchased on 5/18/16 for $21,000. I traded in a Dodge Caravan and paid $2,000 cash. Before they were given the check I asked about the sales price because my bank instructed that it was too high. Stacey started getting loud and telling me that I "agreed on the price and it was not their problem" Once I got the purchase settled, electrical problems were discovered same day. The radio and hands free device were not working properly. Hands free does not work at all. I called on 5/19/16 multiple times and finally got Jeff (the sales manager) to agree to fix it.

I took the van in on Monday 5/23/16 because that was the first day they were available to take it. They gave me a small rental car that would not fit my family. I called on 5/24/16 to check on the status of my van. Jesse, Jeff, Larry and every other person that I spoke to could not find my vehicle or tell me the status of the repair. Apparently the car was with "Wayne" whom I never spoke to. I finally talked to David Fisher who told me he would check on my vehicle and give me a Nissan Quest to drive since my car would not be ready that day. He did not return my call about when my van would be finished. On Wednesday 5/25/16, we got a call from our salesman, Jesse. Jesse said that they could not repair the hands free device bur could give me an aftermarket hands free device. I asked about the radio and other electrical issues to which he played stupid. The aftermarket hands free would be a large box that they would "install" into my car.

I paid for the Toyota so I could use the Toyota accessories. I told them this was unacceptable and they told me that is all they would do because they didn't want to pay to fix the issues. I told Jesse I wanted a refund and he agreed. When I called David F. about getting my money back, he told me "no way". I am now without a vehicle and without my money.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my money and for the dealership to keep the faulty vehicle.

Business Response

the customers concern regarding the radio has been addressed over two weeks ago. the customers vehicle radio was replaced with a brand new unit. I am not aware of any other concerns.

10/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not willing to except fault or responsibility for a scratch that runs down my back window.
I purchased a 2015 Nissan Altima from Captial Nissan of Wilmington the end of June. ***** ***** was my salesperson. The transaction went okay. I recently noticed a scratch which runs from the paint down the back glass. Contacted ***** ***** on 08/26/2015 in reference to the scratch. And advised that I would be coming in Sept. 4th. I actually came in Sept. 3rd and spoke ***** ***** who advised me to have the parts department look into it. I then drove over to the parts department and advised the situation. He let me know that his manager when have to come out and take pictures. They seemed to not a care in the world. Took some pictures and told me that I would be contacted in 72. ***** ***** looked and stated that it should be under warranty. Well 72 hours came and went and no contact. I then called 1-800-NISSAN-1 on 9/10/2015 and opened a case. And was advised that I would be contacted by EOD tomorrow. I was contacted on 9/11/2015 by ******* but couldn't answer so left a muffled message. Very difficult to make out. I was able to finally make out the message and returned call and left a message. No callback. I called ******* back on 9/14/2015 and 9/15/2015 and left a message but no callback. I called 1-800-NISSAN-1 on 9/15/2015 and they advised that my case had been assigned out and I would be contact. I was contacted on 9/15/2015 by ******* who advised that it was not under warranty. I requested to know why or who made that call. ******* let me know that the dealership made the call. If they make the call why did they sent me to you. Requested a supervisor and was contacted by ****** on 9/16/2015. She explained that her supervisor is not client facing and that my issue is not warrant-able. Why is not warrant-able? Who made this decision? How was the decision made? Why can I not speak with supervisor or warranty?

Desired Settlement
I would like for the scratch that runs from the paint down my window to be fixed.

Business Response
**** ***** the gm of the dealership will work with the client to get issue resolved with Nissan north America. will advise as to what can be done. please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any questions or concerns

10/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was mislead and deceived regarding warranty*******hase
When I realized what they had done I contacted the dealer I was hung up on, disrespected
On 3/19/15 I traded in the third car I purchased from this dealer. My dad was In the hospital we just learned he had a brain tumor my mother was rushing me to get to the hospital I told the salesman and the sales manager they encouraged me to stay and assured me they would take care of ensuring everything would move quickly the finance person who did my paperwork was a temp and does not work there I had purchased gap ins, extended warranty, and maint vin number ***************** I thought they cancelled my warranties like before I would receive my refund in couple of months
I never received the refund my dad had brain surgery I had just started a new job I wa going through a lot
On July 4th the car I purchased on 3/19 was totaled.
On July 18 I went back to same dealer I had not yet realized what they had done in March
I purchased another car. The sales rep gave me what I thought would be my payment
The finance person ******* took me in his office fast talked me handed me doc to sign rushing me explained nothing
I realized after that they had done the following 1:Took my refund from trade in March penciled the papers to reflect it was included in my downplay meant I was told I was paying 4000$ down if I would have known I was actually paying 6824.71 I would have declined when i asked I was told by ***** that the 6824.71 was my 4000$ cash and rebates. 2: on the last purchase ******* charged me double for the same maint plan I have had on last three purchase the rebate was 500 less than I was told
When I called to request these issues be corrected ***** called me a liar hung up the phone on me the business owner **** ***** refused to fix the issues told me they did nothing wrong, and he hates to insult my intelligence but no one signs papers and don't read them and they don't force me to sign
** ***** refused when I asked to return the car and told me they have my signatures on legal doc
I reached out to their regional office and was told they are privately owned and they could not help me

Desired Settlement
I want my refund from the March trade in 2842.71
I want the device contract from July purchase corrected

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** gm
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
I have spoken with ms ***** on several occasions. I have told her that all customers must sign and we disclose all products offered in the finance office. she did agree to purchase the items, but she said she wasn't thinking clearly. I told her that if she wanted to cancel them she can. we have never forced anyone to purchase any item. all customers who purchase a vehicle from capital Nissan are offered the same products. they must sign a form deciding not to purchase these items if so desired

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr ***** response is inaccurate. He never used the words he responded with what he actually said to me was Ms ***** we did not force you to buy car from us the forms were explained to you and that he hated to insult my intelligence but no one signs doc and does not read them I advised him that he was not present and that the finance person(s) did not explain anything to me and that they all knew I was in distress due to my father being in the hospital I never said I was not thinking clearly what I did say was I thought I could trust them since I had not had a problem before
This last car was the fifth car I purchased from them the first three purchases had been on the up and up and I had no problems
Who would make false allegations after the fifth purchase I was a loyal and trusting customer
I stand on my complaint and would like to add that after submitting the original complaint I found out that the last car was not added to my insurance so I was driving the car with no coverage what if I had an accident
Every car I had purchased was added to my insurance before I left with the car
Why wasn't this one
I was never offered to cancel warranties that was not discussed with mr wood
He only told me they would not take the car back or correct the service contract
He also told me that to bad about my refunds from the trade in done in March they would not return my money because I signed papers
That again were not explained to me
I honestly left thinking they would cancel my warranties as they had done before
I also have learned they did not submit the Gap claim for the totaled car
That is still showing I owe for
I am not satisfied
I am not lying
I was mislead, deceived, and papers were pushed in front of me and I was told sign here .
I want them to refund my warranties for my trade in that they kept and lied to me about
I want the dealership to take back the last car or correct the service contract

Final Business Response
ALL REFUNDS HAVE BEEN SENT TO THE LENDER. WE CANT REFUND ANY MORE MONEY AS ALL MONIES HAVE BEEN SENT TO THE LENDER ON HER BEHALF. IF THERE IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED ON THE CONTRACT, PLEASE HAVE THE CUSTOMER CONTACT ME DIRECTLY

08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a brand new 2015 Nissan Rogue from this dealer.
Now with only 4500 miles I'm having corrosion issues and a vibration issues.
Corrosion:
I'm having corrosion on the molding around the windows, have been change once and the corrosion its coming back little by little.
the dealer told me they will take care of it for 3 years since that is the warranty, so after that I will have to pay for that....
also the same spot of corrosion is appearing on the hood.

Vibration:
started as a vibration on the passenger seat, you could see the seat vibrate so much every time you put it on drive or reverse; but the seat didn't vibrate when you turn on the a/c because the idle of the car changes, so it creates a little bit more vibration so the seat did not vibrate, I told this to the dealer and they decided that the solution was to increase the idle of the engine to create more vibration so the seat wouldn't vibrate; but now when I turn the a/c is like I'm driving an old car by the amount of vibration.
the problem was with the passenger seat not the idle of the engine, they did a quick solution, not an smart and permanent solution.
plus to add to this the manager of service told me that is a normal vibration for a 4 cylinder and that it will get worse with time, how do you tell a costumer this?.....

costumer service isn't the best either, if you can't get a hold to anyone at the time of the call, don't leave a message, they won't get back to you.

Desired Settlement
I contacted Nissan at #1-800-nissan-1 for and exchange or a refund since I keep having the same problems.

Today I got my answer, they told me my vehicle did not qualify for an exchange or refund since capital nissan the dealer I bought my vehicle told Nissan that they had fix all my problems.
My problems are no way near to be fix, I'm tired of dealing with this dealer, I can't believe that buying a new car from this dealer is such a pain and a new car with this many problems.
plus I have to drive 27min (18MILES) every time I have to take the vehicle to them...
NO ONE is paying for my gas and time.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: xxxx xxxxx
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email:
**** ***** the Gm spoke with mr **** yesterday the 20th of july. He has been informed that we will contact Nissan on his behalf regarding the rust on the chrome panels on his rogue. He was advised that Nissan corporate must make the decision to replace these panels. the dealership has contacted Nissan reps to make this visit a priority. will keep mr **** advised

11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a Nissan Versa from Capital Nissan Wilmington, NC on 8/8/2014. They are not honoring the full warranty we paid for.
"My mother and I purchased a 2014 Nissan Versa from Capital Nissan in Wilmington, NC on 8/8/13. I have copies of the ads where we were promised 2 years free maintenance and also lifetime warranty on the power train. During the purchase, the salesman tried to sell us an extended bumper to bumper warranty, we declined. He then offered to extend our 2 year free maintenance agreement to a 60 month agreement that included enhancements such as those items outlined in the major interval services outlined in the 2014 Nissan Service and Maintenance Guide. He also mentioned free rental cars under the enhanced program. Both of us also were told alignments were covered. The cost of $673 seemed like a good deal to extend the simple oil change and tire rotation to full vehicle maintenance for a period of 60 months. When I had service done to the car on 9-18-14, the service person advised me only oil changes and tire rotations are covered under the agreement and would not complete the additional maintenance items outlined in the manual or the alignment without payment. A few days later, both my mom and I visited the dealership to talk with ***** **** the sales person. He was not in and we spoke with ***** ******** Sales Manager. After waiting 20 minutes, he advised us only oil changes and tire rotations were covered under the 60 month agreement. He said he could investigate the "balance of the coverage" and quote us a refund. I told him there shouldn't be a balance as the first two years of the maintenance plan for oil changes and tire rotations were "free". See attached documentation. We called Nissan Headquarters (case #XXXXXXXX)and was advised this was not a Nissan Company Program. They pointed us back to the Dealership that wasn't very helpful during our visit. We believe Capital Nissan should make good on the promises of the Gold Preferred Maintenance Plus service option we paid for (see attached paperwork) for the full 60 month period we paid for. We feel the Sales Manager suggested we were dim witted enough to pay $673 for an additional 3 years of strictly oil changes and tire rotations. What an insult to our intelligence. My family has owned Nissan products for over 20 years and the integrity of the dealership is questionable based on this situation. We would like Capital Nissan to cover the full maintenance for 60 months as they originally promised. This would include those items outlined in the Gold Preferred Nissan Plan as well as those service interval maintenance measures outlined in the owner's manual."

Desired Settlement
We want Capital Nissan to cover the full maintenance for 60 months as they originally promised. This would include those items outlined in the Gold Preferred Nissan Plan as well as those service interval maintenance measures outlined in the owner's manual. Plus alignments.

Business Response
**** ***** the gm has been in contact with customer and we have agreed on the resolution . Everything is ok

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.