BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/2003

Bell & Bell Buick - GMC

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 399-8300Fax: (843) 399-5357View Additional Phone Numbers2491 Highway 9 E, Little RiverSC 29566-6803 Send email to Bell & Bell Buick - GMC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/2003

BBB has determined that Bell & Bell Buick - GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bell & Bell Buick - GMC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bell & Bell Buick - GMC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They need to offer same size vehicle for the price they offered other vehicle at
I was trying to purchase a vehicle and was told it wouldn't be sold if I was interested but I get a call told that it was sold and this after my credit has been pulled and they try to put me in another vehicle that I did not want and told them from the beginning that I didn't want.

Desired Settlement
I want a vehicle offered for the same price cause I fill like this was a bait and switch or to have my credit fixed.

Business Response
This customer & a friend, came to our dealership on Saturday November 7th, 2015. As far as I can determine this was the first visit we have had with customer. Customer looked @ some of our Used Trucks & found one they had an interest in. Like all dealers we have to get credit information in order to see if the customer has acceptable credit and the ability to purchase.

This customer filled out a Credit App & signed it, at which time we gave her a Privacy Notice, which again she signed. Our salesman gave the credit info to our Finance Mgr to handle, then the F&I Mgr pulled the customers credit, with permission. The F&I Mgr, after reviewing the customer's credit felt he could not get an automatic approval, so he told the salesman, the lead F&I Mgr would have to handle that on Monday when he came back to work. And this was told to the customer, the vehicle that they inquired about was not sold that Saturday and was still available for purchase on Monday when we opened up. So they customer said they would wait until Monday and left.

On Monday the lead F&I Mgr went over the credit info & sales price, and told the salesman we would not be able to meet the payment the customer was wanting to pay. He suggested the salesman to call the customer and suggest a less expensive vehicle that would meet their needs and price range. Because it is our policy not to hold any vehicle unless there is a signed buyers order and non-refundable deposit made. Later that day another salesman sold the truck the customer was interested in.

Just for the record, we only looked at the customers credit, we never submitted it to any bank or financing institution, but the number of credit inquiries on the customers credit report was 17 this year. It appears the customer went to another dealer who "shotgunned" the customers credit info to multiple financing institutions. We in no way damaged this customers credit report, it was never submitted to anyone, and we never tried to "Bait & Switch" this customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told that I may need more of a down payment and that he could speak with the manager *** to see if they could come down on the price any. I was told they would do what it took and I never told them what payment I could not afford.

Final Business Response
Based on the information we obtained from this customers credit report, at which we only viewed and were given authorization to do so; and based on the number of credit inquiries showing on the report for 2015, we felt it would be difficult to find a financing institution that would fund a loan for this customer. That is the reason we did not sent this customers credit information to any lender. For us to procure a loan, if possible, the lender would make the actual decision on how much down payment would be needed for funding, and what the interest and payment would be, we do not control or make those decisions.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/10/1999Business started: 01/01/1976
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1976, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr William C Bell (President) Tammy Floyd (Vice President) Sheila Young (Accts Payable)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used cars.

Alternate Business Names
Bell & Bell Oldsmobile-GMC Truck Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bell & Bell Buick - GMC

2491 Highway 9 E

Little River, SC 29566-6803

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2491 Highway 9 E 

    Little River, SC 29566-6803(843) 399-8300
    (800) 635-1693
    Fax: (843) 399-5357

  • PO Box 701 

    North Myrtle Beach, SC 29597-0701

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bell & Bell Buick - GMC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 635-1693
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.