BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/16/2002

Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 236-2277Fax: (843) 236-2272View Additional Phone Numbers4849 Highway 501, Myrtle BeachSC 29579-9446 Send email to Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLCFacebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/16/2002

BBB has determined that Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
01/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company only informed of non existent second set of keys after paper work was signed.

On January 8th I bought a car at Addys Harbor Dodge dealer.
I was informed that the car dos not have a second set of key only after paper work was signed.
Now they refuse to issue another set of keys.

Desired Settlement
Issue of second set of keys at no cost.
Key also should be program to the car at not cost.

Final Consumer Response
Addy's Harbor Dodge have issue another key set for my car.

07/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertising for Grand Prizes to solicit information, mislead consumers, and waste time! I WILL NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THIS COMPANY!
The company sends out mailer's with sweepstakes indicating that you have won a "Grand Prize" of a free vehicle or $25,000. MANY consumers receive this mailing, but is appears as though you are "THE" winner. You call in to verify with your "invitation code" and the very nice lady on the phone congratulates you for being the grand prize winner. You simply need to arrive at the dealership with your original flyer and driver's license with matching address information. Upon arrival at the dealership, you are solicited for personal information only to find that you are not the "Grand Prize" winner, but had only a shot at that prize. Instead you win a lotto ticket and they claim that they guaranteed that you were a winner and you won. This is incredibly misleading, the prize box makes it appear as though you have actually one a major item of value. An incredible amount of time is wasted driving to and from their institution and they have your personal information. This is a complete scam and I would NEVER purchase a vehicle from this dealer. They have lost any future business from myself and everyone else that I know for wasting my most valuable asset, TIME. They should be sued for false advertisement.

Desired Settlement
I no longer wish to receive any correspondence from this dealership by mail or otherwise. They should no longer be allowed to issue this type of false advertising.

Business Response
We like others dealers all across the country use Licensed (third party) Mail Companies to conduct Direct Mail Sales. These companies do hundreds of sales through out the year. They design all the advertising material and conduct all the contest.
The contest are legitimate and guaranteed to have mailed a winning number. Everything in the advertising mailer is fully disclosed in appropriate type set to meet the advertising standards of the State of South Carolina as well as the manufacturer.
If the disclaimer was confusing or misleading we certainly apologize for any misunderstanding.

Original Mailer available (upon request) for inspection and confirmation of disclaimer.

06/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesman told us an issue was addressed by the service department and would clear up on the drive home. It didn't. And they won't fix it.
We purchased a 2014 Jeep Wrangler on 4/13/15. When test driving the vehicle we noticed the tire pressure warning light on. The salesman said he would check with the service department. He came back and told us the Jeep had been through the service department and the sensors were re-set and had to be driven a few miles to come back on. Just drive it home and it will be fine. We drove it 60 miles home and it still didn't work. We called back the next day. After a month and several non-returned calls, ***** ******* finally called back and offered to pay for half of the estimated $260 to add the sensors that were not on the Jeep. I am supposed to have them installed and send them a receipt and they will send me a check for half. They admitted the salesman misspoke, but still will not honor what I was told before I purchased the vehicle. Now that they have the money, I am no longer a priority. What kind of company doesn't honor what they tell people?

Desired Settlement
I want the tire sensors added and working as I was told prior to purchase.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****, Dealer
Attempted to contact Ms. ***** today by phone. Left voice mail that I agreed with her on what should be done and was attempting to contact her so that we might rectify the situation. Left her my direct line to call back.
Awaiting her call to finalize a solution.

05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello, i spoke to you on the phone Fri. the 27th about the problems that i have been having with my 2013 Dodge Challenger which was bought new from ****'s in May of 2013. I have been experiencing many on going problems sense day one with this car. I attempted to write a letter to Corporate Office with no satisfaction. I even sent them most of the copy's of the repair work and many stated, " could not Duplicate " I have had 3 engine check lights shortly after purchase which was something different all three times which did get fixed. I've had electrical issues, break issues, and drive train issues, just to name a few. Corp. seems to think seeing its not costing me anything because it still under warranty, i should not be concerned as i wait in the waiting room from 2 to 5 hrs at a time for it to get fixed. It has been back for repairs approx. 12 times sense it was purchased and still, not all the issues have been resolved. I honestly do believe this car is a Lemon and don't want to keep bringing it back to hear " we can't duplicate the problem " I really do need to get rid of this car before the Warranty runs out because i will be left paying big expenses I'm sure, which i can not afford. They did offer me a buy back, which they wanted me to buy another new car from them and for me to take over a $10,000.00 dollar loss and told me if i buy a new Challenger my payments would go up from 226.00 to 430.00 a month. Also, I just received a recall notice for the alternator 3 months ago and when i called ****'s they told me their was no fix for that problem yet. It reads, "Alternator could fail while driving which will disable anti-lock breaks,electronic stability control, electronic control module, and/or control body control. The driver will have limited or NO detection of alternator failing, which can result in vehicle shutdown while driving and/or an under hood electrical fire" ! It really does sadden me to know, nor Addys Dodge or Corp. office want to help me in anyway. After saving for so long to get the car i really wanted, i'm truly discussed with their response. I'm Praying that something can be done with this on going issue, i already told Corp. " I'm not interested in taking it back anymore" after giving them so many chances to solve the issues i've been having, not to mention they had my car at the shop 2 different times for a whole week, and still nothing. I hope you can help me with this matter, it would be truly appreciated.

Desired Settlement
Some kind of reasonable offer to resolve these issues.

Business Response
It is very unfortunate that *** ******* has experienced unresolved issues during his 23 months of ownership.
It is extremely difficult to address an issue that cannot be duplicated by the customer or our staff. Example: Check Engine Light comes on, but not on at time of service. (There are over 50 things that could cause this. Unless it can be duplicated or the light is actually on, we would be simply guessing.
We have made sincere efforts to address each of his concerns in a timely and professional manner. Even keeping his car for multiple days (at his request), providing a rental car, communicating with the manufacturer, and even driving it for over 150 miles to try to duplicate his concerns.
It is common practice of all manufacturers to notify owners of Recalls prior to providing Dealers with repair instruction or replacement parts. Those parts are now available for Mr. *******'s car and that recall should be preformed.
I am unaware of any "Buy Back" offer as that is not a dealership decision and should be discussed with the manufacturer. However we did attempt to facilitate a trade for a 2015 model (2years newer and $4000 more expensive than his 2013). Unfortunately automobiles do depreciate and a $8000 to $12,000 reduction in value over 2 model years is not uncommon. However we would be willing to revisit that possibility as trade-in values fluctuate throughout the year and manufacturer retail incentives are constantly changing.
If we are unable to agree to terms to trade I would suggest we ask a Chrysler Service Rep. to get involved and drive Mr. *******'s car to determine if we have missed anything.

Consumer Response
Good afternoon Miss ***, just a update on my Challenger. Addy's Dodge had my car for two and a half days last week and told me they could not duplicate the problem Again. They also told me they took all the breaks apart to check things out and found nothing ! The ironic part of this is, i reset my mileage back to zero before leaving the car and noticed it had three tenth's of a mile on it when i picked it back up. So needless to say they didn't drive it at all, so i don't know how they can get it to duplicate sitting in the shop.

Final Business Response
On Friday 5/1/2015 ***** ******** contacted Mr. ******* by phone. It his my understanding that he is no longer experiencing the defined problem with he vehicle and at this time everything has been resolved.

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After inspection of repairs from 2 specialists & ongoing Transmission issues-Addys states they have removed &replaced trainy when infact they have not
I brought my 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan with 69,331 miles on it.vin#***************** to Addy's Harbor Dodge in Mytrle Beach,SC.on August 12,2014 for some repairs(new tires,active recall,transmission issues,and some other minor repairs.They had the vehicle ready for me On August 20,2014.First of all the bill was $2,291.33.Their estimate to me for everything was$1,600-1,700.Some of the issues were under manufactures warranty,like the transmission.Addys told us they removed and rebuilt transmission and it would carry an additional workmanship warranty of 90 days,or 3,000 miles & 12 months on new parts.Me and my wife scraped together just enough to pay for it.As we drove the vehicle away from Addy's I noticed the transmission issue was still there.It felt like nothing was done to it.I Called Addy's service back that day,they said to bring it back on August 25,2014 and leave with them.They called us back on August 27,2014 and said it was ready,said transmission was fine but we needed 2 motor mounts-that was causing rough shifting &had a massive oil leak.They said they fixed leak LEAK was under warranty.But motor mounts would run approx.$600.We knew nothing of an oil leak.A red flag came up.Parked the van till we could save enough money to fix motor mounts.My friend at Lube & Wheels (***-owner)said $428 to do motor mounts.We brought to him on September 13,2014 for motor mounts.That afternoon *** called me.Vehicle was ready but had some bad news for me.I got there and he had my vehicle on the lift.*** and his head mechanic with a flashlight pointed out to me that the transmission had not been removed.Not only did it have the original factory seal where the trans. seals to the motor.Also it took them over 1 hour to remove the cross member that needs to be removed in order to remove and rebuild transmission.If they had removed transmission before this would have been removed.It still had the original factory bolts rusted in!!They did point out to me that the transmission cover had been removed(it had a new seal around it)But there was no way they could have removed and rebuilt trans.and put a torque converter in it.*** recommended I call Chrysler Corporation to report fraud!!I did and was assigned a case manager.Recommended to bring it back to Addy's.I did to give them the opportunity to come good on it.Brought it back to Addy's on September 15,2014.They said they relearned the transmission computer and cleared line pressures said it shifted much smoother,I drove off with still transmission ******* issues.Called them back they said just drive .It was normal to shift hard.We drove it for nearly a month when it got so bad.Brought it back to Addy's on October 23,2014.Now said it needed a catalytic converter.They said this was causing transmission to run Hot therefore causing shifting issues,Said they ordered it and it was under warranty.Part got there on October 31,2014.After repair still trans.problems.I then brought vehicle to ******************** in Myrtle Beach.Owner(**** ****** said he worked at Addy's for 7 years doing transmissions and has had his shop for 8 years.He went for a ride with me and plugged in his device to access my computer.After riding with me he showed me codes that was flashing back.Also hard shifting was not normal.After a closer inspection he told me that trans.had not been removed & rebuilt and in fact needed to be removed and rebuilt$1800-2,200.So I called Chrysler Corp. back and got reassigned new Case manager-********,***********************. He called Addy's and I went back in mid November 2014,where tech went for ride with me and said it was normal for this trainy to shift like that.I called case man,******** back.He said he would try to find a solution and call me back.******** called me back on December 17,2014 to say that Addy's told him they have not did any transmission work on my vehicle.I then provided ******** with invoice#. He then said he would get up with their Legal dept.and call me back.11 days-no word

Desired Settlement
Addys has committed fraud with me and the Chrysler Corp. and needs to be prosecuted to the full extent of the law!!!I do not want them to touch my vehicle ever again.I want a brand new factory transmission installed at a different Chrysler dealership,or a new van.Also Addys has put me & the rest my families lifes in jeopardy by committing a fraudulent repair.I will not stop short of obtaining legal councel and letting the court of Law decide in this matter.My rights have been violated by Addys Harbour Dodge and I will do what it takes legally to make sure this does not happen to somebody else!!!

Business Response
See attached PDF.

09/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello To whom this goes to, I purchased a truck from this dealership and did not receive what I was entitled too as a local business owner here in the little river sc area. Dodge has a program for business owners that's through a company called business link that gives incentives which I did not get. There is no where in my paper work with my signature that that was included in my deal. so they more or less took $500 from me and or business link. and claimed it was part of the deal when clearly this is not the case. also the manager and finance manager said they had put in an additional $600 in towards my down payment which is also not the case. After re reviewing all of my paper work that $600 was rolled into as negative equity. this is very very poor business practices and I want something done about this. I am entitled to that $600 that they said they would add with my down payment and also the Business link incentive that I deserve for being a business owner myself... That being said I would never do my customers dirty in any shape or form. I pushed back my customers to take my time to drive 30miles to this dealership and then get shoved off as oh well it was part of the deal the discounts that was ever broken down for me to go over and sign off on. I have my paper work and its not there.
Product_Or_Service: Ram truck

Desired Settlement
I want my $500 incentive with business link that is offered and I want the $600 that they had put down along with my down payment which was not in the positive but became negative equity. period no questions asked. Don't say one thing and do another. I also had no idea I would qualify or was apart of the Business link program until I got a letter from them (Business link)... this is what I want and deserve as a resolution and will not settle for less. The truck I got had a window stick of 50k.

Business Response
Chrysler does in fact have a program for business owners called Business Link, which offers a $500.00 purchase incentive. Mr. **** represented himself as a business owner and his deal was originally worked as such. However when asked for documentation, it became apparent that Mr. **** was not a business owner, but an employee of his mother's business (verified by SC Sect of States records). Therefore this transaction did not qualify as Business Link as his mother would not agree to being a party to the transaction.
Mr. **** originally agreed to the following deal:
$48,672 Sale Price
4,500 Rebate (including BL)
26,000 Trade Allowance
28,600 Payoff ($2600 negative equity)
1,500 Cash down
678 Taxes & fees
45,950 Amount Financed
To compensate for the lose of BL $500 rebate and in order to obtain financing approval at an agreeable payment the deal was restructured as:
$48,297 Sale Price (375 less)
4,000 Rebate (500 less)
28,000 Trade Allowance (2000 more)
28,600 Payoff (600 negative equity)
800 Cash down (700 less)
678 Taxes & fees
44,775 Amount to finance (1175 less)
Net to Mr. ****: $1875 savings from original deal he agreed to. Additionally the actual payoff of his trade was $28735, a $135 difference which the dealership absorbed.
I know the figures are often confusing, but this truly worked to Mr. ***** favor. ($2010.00 Worth)

Verifiable documentation available at the dealership upon request.

Consumer Response
Consumer states:
I want $500.00 incentive and $600.00 negative equity. The business requested $1500.00 . I put $800.00 down and the business put $60.00 down but was put in negative equity and was put on the final price. No paperwork was signed about incentive through the business link program , being a business owner myself.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1990Business started: 10/01/1990
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mike Addy (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Alex Gordon (General Manager)
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

New Cars

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSun: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
MSA of Myrtle Beach Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC

4849 Highway 501

Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-9446

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4849 Highway 501 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-9446(843) 236-2277
    (800) 681-9704
    Fax: (843) 236-2272

  • PO Box 2564 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-2564

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Addy's Harbor Dodge, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 681-9704
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.