BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2002

Hyatt Buick GMC

(843) 448-4426View Additional Phone Numbers922 Frontage Rd E, Myrtle BeachSC 29577-6700 Send email to Hyatt Buick GMC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2002

BBB has determined that Hyatt Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hyatt Buick GMC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hyatt Buick GMC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THEY NEVER TOLD THUTH
I CONTACTED *** AT HYATT GMC TO PURCHASE A 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE , AFTER TALKING TO *** AND HOM GOING BACK AND FORTH TO HIS GM WE AGREED ON A PRICE OUT THE DOOR . THE NEXT DAY I WENT TO WELLS FARGO TO PICK UP THE CASHIERS CHECK TO SEND TO THEM I SAID I NEED TO CALL AND LET THEM KNOW IT'S BEING OVER NIGHT TO THEM AND *** SAID GREAT , A HALF HOUR LATER I GET A CALL FROM *** STATING THE GM SAY'S HE HAS A OFFER OF 28K ON THE ON THE CORVETTE SO I CAME BACK AND SAID WE HAVE AGREEMENT AND THE CHECK IS ON IT'S WAY TO YOU . LATER THAT DAY THE GM CALLED AND SAID TUFF YOU PAY 28K OR NO DEAL SO I SAID NO DEAL AND THATS BAD BUSINESS , THEN HE CAME BACK AND SAID THIS IS A CUTE THROAT BUSINESS AND IF I CAN GET MORE MONEY I WILL . TODAY I CHECK SEE IF THE CAR IS STILL THERE AND THE GENTLEMAN THAT WAS BUYING OR NOT IS STILL THERE. WELLS FARGO CHARGED ME $249.00 DOLLOR'S TO STOP AND CANCEL THE PAPER AND CHECK , STATE FARM INSURANCE CHARGED ME $99.99 TO STOP INSURANCE ON THE CAR . HYATT LIED THE WHOLE TIME AND I WANT TO BE REFUNDED OR I WILL GO TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT . I CONTACT MY COUSIN THATS A VP WITH GM AND HE STATED I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE . THERE IS TOTAL OF 289 COMPLAINTS AGAINST HYATT GMC . PLEASE HELP

Desired Settlement
I WANT $348.99 FOR CHARGES FROM WELLS FARGO AND STATE FARM FOR STOPPING THE CHECK AND PAPERWORK AND INSURANCE.

Business Response
October 22, 2013

BBB Coastal Carolina
1121 Third Avenue
Conway, SC 29526

Re: Case # XXXXXXXX

Mr. ****** was trying to negotiate a price over the phone for a 2005 Chevrolet Corvette. He continued to make very low offers, which the dealership would not accept. In his letter, he claims that we agreed to an out the door price. This is not true. Mr. ****** refused to take our final offer on the vehicle. The bottom line is, we never agreed to a final price on the vehicle.

Mr. ****** also refers to a check that he has incurred charges from Wells Fargo bank. He actually told members of our staff that he already had the check in the amount of $25,000 from Wells Fargo bank, because he was in the process of purchasing a vehicle from another dealer for that amount, but the deal apparently didn't go through for some reason.

Mr. ****** also makes a claim that there are 289 complaints against *****. This is news to us. We just received General Motors' Mark of Excellence Award for the third consecutive year. This award is the highest honor that a General Motors Dealer can receive for customer satisfaction. We would be very interested in speaking with Mr. ******'s "Cousin" at General Motors to find out how he could make such slanderous accusation.

I have made several attempts to call Mr. ******, but he has no voicemail set up on his phone. I have also emailed him, and he has not replied.


Sincerely,
*** ****
General Manager
Hyatt Buick GMC

02/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a certified used vehicle with a certified GM warranty and being told part of it has expired after only 7 months of ownership.
Purchased a 2008 Buick Enclave on 5/26/12 from (name)in Myrtle Beach, SC.
Said vehicle was a CERTIFIED USED vehicle which was to come with: (copied from GM website) You can feel confident in your decision to buy a Certified Pre-Owned Vehicle from Chevy, Buick or GMC. Each vehicle comes with our 12-Month/12,000-Mile1 Bumper-to-Bumper Limited Warranty.

What's Included

Almost every part of our vehicles are covered under the 12-Month/12,000-Mile1 Bumper-to-Bumper Limited Warranty (excludes normal wear and maintenance items). See below for the list of exclusions.

What's Not Included
�-�Tire damage or wear
�-�Damage due to bedliners
�-�Damage due to accident, misuse or alteration
�-�Collision, fire, theft, freezing, vandalism, riot, explosion or objects striking the vehicle
�-�Misuse of the vehicle such as driving over curbs, overloading, racing or other competition. (Proper vehicle use is discussed in the owner manual.)
�-�Alteration or modification to the vehicle, including the body, chassis or components, after final assembly by Chevy, Buick or GMC.
�-�Coverages do not apply if the odometer has been disconnected, its reading has been altered, or mileage cannot be determined.
�-�Damage or corrosion due to environment, chemical treatments, and/or aftermarket products
�-�Damage due to insufficient or improper maintenance
�-�Damage due to contaminated or poor-quality fuel
Every Certified Pre-Owned Vehicle from Chevy, Buick or GMC comes with a transferable 5-Year/100,000-Mile2 Powertrain Limited Warranty, plus roadside assistance and courtesy transportation. We believe in our vehicles and aren't afraid to stand behind them. When we say "No worries," we mean it.
�-�$0 Deductible
�-�Transferable to subsequent owners
�-�Roadside Assistance
�-�Courtesy Transportation

I took the vehicle in for service 1/15/13 and was told that 2 of the issues weren't covered...but the warranty states 12 month 12K miles. It has not been 12 months and have put less than 8000 miles on it since purchase.

Vehicle information:
2008 Buick Enclave
Vin: 5GAERXXXXXJXXXXXX

Salesman: (name)
Purchase Date: 5-26-12
Purchase Price: $28,440.85
Financed by (name)

Desired Settlement
Buy back vehicle for purchase price

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** -General Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hyattcars.com
Ms. *******'s complaint is incorrect. Her parts are covered under the warranty, and we have her parts here. Her home phone appears to be disconnected, and we have left voicemails and emails to which she has not responded. We are more than happy to repair her vehicle, and as I stated earlier, this is completely covered by her GM Certified Warranty.

Final Consumer Response
I was told after the fact they would cover but they were having to write it up differently.
They need to be accurate when telling people about certified used and not make people believe it's good as gold as they do.
I will no longer do business with such a company as I also found out they sold me a vehicle told me it had never been wrecked and it has.
Very dirty business practices.

******* *************


Final Business Response
I have tried to contact Ms. ******** and she would not even extend the courtesy of a return phone call or email.
It appears that her home number is disconnected, and we have left messages on her cell phone and email.
Her vehicle is still covered under the certified warranty, and we have the parts here to repair her vehicle at no cost to her.
If Ms. Johnson is unhappy with her vehicle, we would gladly try to work out a reasonable deal to trade it in on a different vehicle.
Sincerely,
*** ****
General Manager
Hyatt Buick GMC

01/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My parents went to purchase a vehicle from this dealer. Mind you both parents are elderly and have dementia and neither one are very stable. Upon arr
My parents went to purchase a vehicle from this dealer. Mind you both parents are elderly and have dementia and neither one are very stable. Upon arriving at dealership my parents had intentions of buying a newer vehicle. Meanwhile I was not aware of this happening. Salesman sold a 2013 Buick Verano to them for $27,000 with a $7,000 trade in. Once finding out this information while at the hospital visiting my father which was only 2 days after the purchase I immediately went to the dealership asking for the salesman of who sold his parents the car. They would not give me the name. Finally spoke with a gentleman named ******* stating they would buy the car back. After being told that they would buy the car back ******* then needed to come up with numbers first. I received a returned phone call stating my father was $15,000 in the whole with this purchase of the car being only one month old to the consumer. I then mentioned I was not very happy with them because I feel my parents were taken advantage of being that they sold my parents a 2013 vehicle for the possible price of the 2015 new vehicle. My father actually did outside damage to the vehicle only within a week of having the car. No less than $300 for repairs.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of $27,000 for the purchase of the car. I am requesting this for the reason of my parents being elderly and sick and possibly in the near future having this purchase put on me and my siblings.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** - General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hyattcars.com
***** Buick GMC did business in good faith with Mr. and Mrs. *********.
They knew exactly what they were purchasing, and even had my salesperson follow them home after the purchase to get the title to their trade.
There was no wrong doing on the dealership's part, and at the time of their purchase, Mr. and Mrs. ********* seemed to be very happy with their new vehicle.

Consumer Response
2014/12/2 ** Consumer Response-

Consumer would like to know why the business has not addressed anything that he stated in the initial Complaint?? The buyers have health issues and the consumers feel that the business took advantage of two elderly persons. Consumer would like the refund for the vehicle 27,000 that the business convinced the buyers to pay knowing that the car was not worth it. Why would they let them take a 15,000 dollar loss on the vehicle in less then a month? Consumer wants to know how this is ethical?

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** - General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hyattcars.com
****** ********* is not the consumer in this case. He is the son of the consumer. His parents were very happy with their purchase at the time that he left the dealership. It is common knowledge that vehicles will depreciate once they are purchased.
In addition, ****** ********* called me threatening to use an attorney. Legally, I am not even permitted to discuss this vehicle purchase with ***** ********* due to consumer privacy laws.
Hyatt Buick GMC did business in good faith with the *********** and plan on providing them with the same excellent service that we provide all of our customers.

Consumer Response
2015/1/13 QQ consumer response:

In response to the GM at Hyatt Buick, he never explained why the new car, a 2013, was sold except that my parents wanted a red car. They have 2015 red cars in stock. Why did the car take a $15,000 loss in the first month of purchase with less than 1000 miles on the car. The GM's only reply was I, ****** *********, was not the consumer and have no business complaining. I am the oldest child and have all reason to complain about someone taking advantage of my parents. both of which have Dementia and where not in their right state of mind during the purchase the GM of Hyatt Buick is only giving excuses not explaining in truth why they sold a 2013 Buick as a "new" car instead. Plus they sold them bogus extended warranties with this car. The new car price was so high the bank would not lend the price of the car. My parents also had to give $1,000 cash to get the loan approved. I understand that vehicles will lose value but not $15,000 in the first month of ownership. We have ***** *** **** taking this matter to court.


Business Response
Mr. and Mrs. ********* came into the dealership and chose to purchase the vehicle that they now own. They left here very happy in their new vehicle.
***** *********'s parents have never called me to complain about their purchase. At the time that they purchased the vehicle, they even had our salesperson follow them home to get the title to their trade.
In regard to the depreciation of the vehicle, unfortunately, this happens any time someone purchases a new vehicle and drives it off any lot.
Mr. ********* has called me several times threatening an attorney. Thus, we are prepared to go that route.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Parts/Supplies, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/17/1987Business started: 04/01/1976New Owner Date: 07/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2001, SC

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr Pat Fire (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Freddie Hyatt (Customer Service Contact)
Number of Employees

43

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Parts/Supplies, Auto Repair & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hyatt Buick GMC

922 Frontage Rd E

Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-6700

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 922 Frontage Rd E 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-6700(843) 448-4426
    (888) 397-5522

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hyatt Buick GMC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 397-5522
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.