BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2007

Batts Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc

(910) 793-67605742 Marguerite Dr, WilmingtonNC 28403-4754 Send email to Batts Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2007

BBB has determined that Batts Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Batts Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Batts is charging me for a service call to perform repair work that should have been done when the new AC system was installed 2 1/2 years ago.
Approx 2 1/2 years ago, Batts installed a "COMPLETE" new AC system in my home. I recently put the home up for sale, and the pre-purchase inspection report included "improperly sealed connections at Air Handler allowing air leakage".
I called Batts and, on 11/21/12, service technician ***** ******* arrived at the home and completed the repairs.
I received a bill (Invoice # XXXXX) for $118.00 in the mail roughly 2 weeks later.
The bill itemizes $90.00 for a Diagnostic Fee, and $28.00 to Seal Lines.
My contention is:
#1. The lines should have been properly sealed when the AC was installed.
#2. There was no need for a diagnosis as the inspector had already performed that function.
I called Batts today (12/10/2012) at approx 11:30 am, and spoke with ***** (Service Manager) about the bill.
His contention is, the installation was done properly, and sealing the lines on a new installation is done at the installer's discretion. That it's a necessity, and that it may lead to air leakage, is strictly the inspector's "opinion" - one which they do not agree with.

Once again, my position is, if the lines had been properly sealed when the installation was done, the inspector would not have listed it as a fault, I would not have had to call Batts to do the work that should have already been done, and therefore, there would be no $118.00 Bill.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** K *****. President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************@ec.rr.com
When heat pump was installed on X-XX-XX the refrigerant piping was sealed to industry standards.This piping has extreme temperature differences and the sealing material can and will expand and contract.This job was approved by the New Hanover County inspection office on 9-18-09.If lines were not sealed then installation would not have passed final inspection.
Furthermore,if heating and cooling equipment would have been serviced annually (which is recommended by manufacture)this condition would have been prevented.According to our records this equipment has not been serviced since installed.
The diagnostic fee covers trip charge,all overhead associated with service call and diagnosis.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Business' Final Response
As previously stated according to service history at 1104 Petite Ct,the equipment installed on 9/16/09 has had no routine maintenance by our company. If Mr. ***** has such records (as he stated) we are requesting a copy for review.
Previously installed equipment was serviced yearly since 1998 by our company for Mrs. *****. Once Mr. ***** started caring for her account yearly maintenance immediately ended.
We can only suggest or offer to homeowners that they have their equipment serviced regularly.This condition and potential new ones can be prevented by routine maintenance.
In effort to close this matter we will credit 50% of invoice if Mr. ***** is willing to pay balance.
Sincerely,
***** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/21/2007Business started: 04/08/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1998, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Batts (President)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers sales, service, and repairs on air conditioning and heating units for residentail and light commercial.

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Batts Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc

5742 Marguerite Dr

Wilmington, NC 28403-4754

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5742 Marguerite Dr 

    Wilmington, NC 28403-4754(910) 793-6760

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Batts Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Home Remodeling Contractors
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.