BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/2007

Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc

Phone: (910) 452-0480Fax: (910) 452-04892715 Ashton Dr Ste 106, WilmingtonNC 28412-2495 Send email to Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/2007

BBB has determined that Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Completely dissatisfied with services, improperly billing and did not complete payroll services properly.
I began interacting with "*****" from this firm on 05/05/13. I needed payroll and tax services to run my S-Corp business. Over the course of the last six weeks, numerous problems occurred which caused major hindrances to our business operations. During this time, it would be several days before I would have definite answers to very important questions. "*****" constantly needed information from me, or my prior accountant, which I did not have and was very difficult to obtain. There was constant misinformation and the inability to answer my questions with accurate information. Phone calls and emails were laxly returned, creating stress on my part. I received a very upsetting and condescending email from ***** on 06/13/13 which used phrases such as "lashing out" and that they "deserved respect." The email was completely unprofessional and made me feel as if I were an eight year old receiving a scolding from an angry mother. After this email I realized that what should have been an expedient payroll and tax set up, was still not properly completed by 06/13/13. At this point I become convinced that these people did not have the professional standards, knowledge or integrity that I require in an accounting/bookkeeping firm. I expressed a desire to have my business folders/property released to me. "*****" refused to relinquish my business property of which included payroll, personal employee information, merchant service information and all of our incorporation paper work. Her excuse what that she was out of the office and her door was locked, of course I did not believe this and what kind of an operation is it where one person alone can give ultimatums of when and where to return a business owners' property. I physically went to their office on Thursday 06/14/13 to request my property, with an officer of the Wilmington Police Department. An employee of Quality brought me telephone at which point "*****" began to scream at me through the phone. The officer could hear her while standing 10 feet away and was as shocked as I was. "*****" gave me the ultimatum to return the next day at 4pm or I would not receive my items for another week, because she would be out of her office again. I returned the next day, with an officer and my father, truly feeling threatened and scared of this woman. She brought out my box of property and also advised me I had been billed $300 for services. The so called services, were payroll set up, which I was NEVER advised there would be a fee for. As a new client, I fully expected them to be grateful for my business and do whatever set up they needed to complete. There was NEVER a fee of any kind disclosed to me for this "set up." Reviewing my email I did see an attachment in an email dated 06/10/13, I simply must have overlooked this statement or thus I would have disputed it sooner. On that attachment there is only a fee for $125 for payroll setup, "gather missing information" etc. The invoice in my box of property had been altered to now a balance of $300, which was dated for 06/12/13, which was never emailed to me, nor authorized. Already having all of my business bank checking and credit card information, they had taken the liberty of charging this amount. So the amount that was originally emailed to me on 06/10/13 of $125 which I was never aware would occur, had now jumped to $300 the day before I came to get my stuff. The additional $175 covered items such as "phone and email consultations" and payroll processing. The payroll completed for both of my stores BOTH HAD ERRORS! And they only completed ONE period of payroll and charged me for a whole month. None of this is right and has been a true nightmare to deal with. I am now without an accountant and have no one to carry on with this work because it has been butchered. It is completely unprofessional to leave some stranded in the middle of a business operation. I have never been so poorly treated by another professional person and am amazed by it..

Business' Initial Response
During Mrs. *******'s initial consultation with our firm, she requested Payroll Services, Sales Tax Services, Tax Return Preparation, and Tax Return Amendments from a prior Accountant.

She only provided pieces of her prior payroll and employee information that were needed to properly set-up her payroll with the correct year-to-date wage and tax totals and to be able to correctly withhold future taxes properly. When we requested the necessary information to complete the set-up correctly and I explained why we must have it, she complained, and in a delayed manner would only get a few pieces at a time. After many phone calls and emails with Mrs. ******* re-requesting the information, she stated that the prior Accountant wouldn't release any more information to her until she paid their bill of $1600.00 in which she refused to and she stated that "she just didn't have money laying around."

Payroll was processed to the best of our ability with what information Mrs. ******* provided in writing and she confirmed that it was correct. After payroll was processed and emailed to her, I have an email reply from her stating "Thanks! Everything looks great!" Then several days later, she stated there was an overpayment of a new employee at one location.

During many of our interactions with ***** *******, she has been very disrespectful and rude to me and my staff, and she has been very difficult to deal with to get the necessary items needed to do our job. In an email to ***** *******, I reiterated that we want to have a good working relationship with her, and that we treat our clients with respect and deserve respect equally. Therefore, we simply cannot have her lashing out at us. I told her that we would like to work with her if we could have a good working relationship and to let me know her thoughts. Her response was to call my office screaming to pick-up her files. My staff set her an appointment with me for the next morning at 11am and informed ***** that I was at a client site outside of town, and that her files were locked in my office. Disregarding this information, ***** attempted to pick-up her files while I was not at the office, by calling the police to my office to retrieve her files. She lied to the police officer and told him that she didn't know I was out-of-town despite being told this multiple times on the phone prior to coming. While she was at my office, I talked with her on the phone and she stated that she couldn't make it at 11am the next morning, so I rearranged my schedule to accommodate her at 4pm the next day. After ***** was escorted out of our office, the police officer in which she had called, came back into our office and suggested out of concern that we call and have the police present at the 4pm appointment because "she had a lot of attitude." We did call and request the police to attend the exchange of files. ***** signed a document that she has received all of her items and she received a receipt of payment for services rendered.

***** was emailed a copy of the payroll set-up Invoice on 6/10/13 along with a Credit Card Authorization Form in which she sent back the signed Credit Card Authorization Form on 6/12/13 and authorized payment of the Payroll Set-up Fee. When we spoke on the phone about it, she never questioned the fee. She has only questioned this fee since she decided to pick-up her items.

***** ******* was charged fairly and she was not charged for all of the time and service that was provided to her. She also received free tax advice from our CPA. Her Invoice certainly did not cover all of the time that me and my staff dedicated to her. No refund of her partial bill will be granted as she has already received a generous amount of our time and service for free.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This office was running bare bones when I began service with them. Employees were quitting, they were relocating and were in total disorganization. THEY were so slow to respond to any questions or concerns, which of course any normal business person would become irritated by. After weeks of sub par communication and payroll errors I wanted to end services with them and move on to someone more appropriate to my business needs. The day I went to retrieve my business documents, I called the police. They said the office had no right to hold my items and offered to send an officer escort with me. The office staff refused to release my items and THEN ***** told me on the phone, while she screamed at me, that her door was locked. I told her and the officer that had I known that I wouldn't have wasted my time. I certainly was not escorted out of the office, the police were there for my protection as I was totally threatened by ***** and her wild behavior. The officer certainly did not go back into the building to "warn" them about me. I did return the next day, with my father and an officer, which I requested for our protection. In the end, I was overcharged, mistreated and dealt with some of the slowest, most sub par "professional" people I have ever encountered. These people can obviously charge their clients whatever price they feel they are worth, and there is nothing the client can do, other than to warn others of their misconduct and unprofessional behavior.

Business' Final Response
These are all lies in an attempt to smear our good reputation, and slander is punishable by law in which this written correspondence is being forwarded to our Corporate Attorney. We have not had any of our 6 employees quit.

My only advice to this client is to pay her accounting bills with the multiple Accountants that she has used. That's the only thing that can be said about this other than to warn Accountants to carefully screen your clients to make sure that you can get paid for the services that you provide and that the clients are mentally stable.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

05/08/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I was charged an exorbitant fee,3 times what a CPA charged last year. Charged a large extra fee for Schedule C even though minimal data was entered.
I moved to Wilmington from Raleigh last year and wanted to get my tax return prepared locally. ****** & Assoc. charged me three times the fee for income tax prep. as my CPA in Raleigh did last year. Initially, they were evasive about their fees and said that they couldn't estimate the charges up front. However, when we met to review my return (on March 28), (employee) said that a fee schedule was used to calculate the charges. Not only was I charged 33% more for basic tax preparation than I paid last year, I was charged a large additional fee for prep of schedule C for business income and expenses. This fee was outrageous because I claimed no business expenses whatsoever and there were minimal entries made on the schedule C. At the meeting on March 28, I felt that I had no choice but to pay the requested fee because ****** and Assoc. had all of the origional paperwork necessary to file my return. By the time they divulged the fee, I had no choice but to pay else I would not be able to file my tax return on time. If ****** and Assoc. had shared their fee schedule with me or given me an estimate of their high charge, I would not have left my tax information with them in the first place.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Accounting Services, Taxes-Consultants & Representatives, Tax Return Preparation, Tax Reporting Service, Payroll Service, Bookkeeping Service, Accounting - Forensic, Accountants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/07/2007Business started: 10/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2006, NC

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Julie Williams (President)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Accounting Services, Taxes-Consultants & Representatives, Tax Return Preparation, Tax Reporting Service, Payroll Service, Bookkeeping Service, Accounting - Forensic, Accountants

Products & Services

Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc. provides QuickBooks and Point-of-Sale data entry, reconciliation, set-up, training, and clean-up. Provide complete payroll and payroll tax services. Provide individual and business income tax reporting, consultation, guidance, and review throughout the year with each CPA having over 20 years of experience.

Alternate Business Names
Williams & Associates Tax Services
Industry Tips
Avoid Abusive Home-Based Business Tax Schemes
Businesses Urged to Avoid Employment Tax Schemes
Dont Fall Victim to Tax Reduction Schemes!
Finding a Reputable Tax Preparer

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc

2715 Ashton Dr Ste 106

Wilmington, NC 28412-2495

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2715 Ashton Dr Ste 106 

    Wilmington, NC 28412-2495(910) 452-0480

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Quality Bookkeeping Services, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.