top

BBB Charity Review for
Mississippi Food Network, Inc.

A BBB Accredited Charity since 2/12/2004

 

bottom
top
The information in this report has either been provided by the charity, or has been compiled by BBB from other sources.

Charity Contact & Profile

Back to Top
Business Name:
Business Address: 440 W. Beatty Street
Jackson, MS 39201
See the location on a Mapquest Map
See the location on a Google Map
Original Business Start Date: 1/1/1983
Type of Entity: Charity/NonProfit
Principals:
Marilyn Blackledge
Walker Satterwhite, CEO/Executive Director
Phone Number:
(601) 353-7286
Fax Number:
(601) 948-6710
Type of Business:
CHARITY - LOCAL
Primary Email: mblackledge@msfoodnet.org
Website Address:

Evaluation Conclusions

This organization has been evaluated in relation to the 20 Better Business Bureau Standards for Charitable Accountability. This organization meets all those standards.

Mission

Our mission is to relieve poverty-related hunger in our service area by distributing donated and purchased food and grocery products through a network of member churches and non-profit organizations.  We provide Nutrition Education to our needy clients.  We also emphasize advocacy and related needs.

Vision

To eliminate poverty-related hunger in our service area.

Statement of Values

In carrying out our mission, the work of Mississippi Food Network revolves around a core set of values that provide the framework within which we declare commitments, operating principles and accountability.

Respect:  They respect the inherent worth and dignity of every person and treat all with justice, equity and compassion.

Stewardship and Accountability:  They keep faith with the public trust through the efficient, effective and compassionate use of resources entrusted to us and are mindful that our mission is accomplished through the generosity of others.  We maintain and communicate accurate and timely information.  We evaluate and account regularity for how resources are used to implement and achieve our mission.

Collaboration:  They believe in the power of mutual effort.  We collaborate and build strong relationships with our agencies and the public.  These are based on trust, with and among those who share our vision.

Urgency:  They operate in an acute sense of urgency that reflects the immediate needs of those living in poverty.  We challenge our employees, volunteers, and agencies to embrace the same urgency to accomplish our shared vision.

Service:  They believe service is fundamental.  We strive to serve with excellence, fairness, compassion and responsiveness to meet the needs of those with whom we work.

Integrity:  They will act with honesty, trust and openess and deliver on commitments.  We act with the spirit of agreements, contracts and the law.  our intentions and actions will be transparent and above reproach.

Programs

BACKPACK PROGRAM

The BackPack Program is designed to meet the needs of hungry children at times when other
resources are not available, such as weekends and school vacations. Backpacks are filled with
food that children take home and are discreetly distributed on the last day before the weekend or
holiday vacation. Mississippi Food Network provided backpack meals to eight participating sites
that distributed backpacks filled with food items weekly to 338 children in Hinds, Warren, Forrest,
Copiah and Lowndes Counties.
 
AFTERSCHOOL “AT RISK” SNACK PROGRAM

Mississippi Food Network participated in the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP), in order to provide
healthy snacks to children in afterschool programs in underserved communities. The program is administered
by the Mississippi Department of Education Office of Child Nutrition. Mississippi Food Network provided
snacks to approximately 760 children five days a week during the 2010-2011 school year through eight
Boys & Girls Clubs and four private non-profit organizations. These organizations provided after-school
programs that offer tutoring, homework help and enrichment
activities to underprivileged children in their communities.

SUMMER FOOD SERVICE PROGRAM (SFSP)

In 2008, Mississippi Food Network began the Summer Food Service Program with one site serving
100+ children breakfast and lunch for eight weeks. The program expanded in 2011 to six sites in
four counties; Warren, Washington, Simpson and Forrest. These sites served 16,268 meals to 466
children during the summer program. Enrichment activities, which included nutrition education,
were provided at the sites in an effort to increase participation.

NUTRITION EDUCATION

Mississippi Food Network also offers nutrition education to children participating in the child feeding programs and senior citizens participating in the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Using the Organ Wise curriculum for children, interns from the University of Southern Mississippi Dietetic Intern Program and Mississippi Food Network’s Registered Dietician, provide programs and food demonstrations to teach people about healthy food choices, healthy snacks and exercise. In 2011 nutrition education was also provided to agencies participating in Mississippi Food Network’s Community Garden Project (funded by Blue Cross Blue Shield of MS Foundation).
Topics included recipes and ideas on preparing fresh
produce, cooking demonstrations and canning classes.

2010 HUNGER’S HERO AWARD

Congratulations to the Walmart Stores, Mississippi Region, for being selected as the 2010 Hunger’s
Hero for Mississippi Food Network. Each year Mississippi Food Network awards the Hunger’s Hero
Award to an organization and/or individual in recognition of their leadership in the Network’s effort
to alleviate hunger in our State. The Hunger’s Hero Award is the highest honor the Mississippi Food Network can bestow in our fight against hunger. In addition, to the food donated each week, many of the Walmart employees donate their time each month on our Volunteer Saturday. We also received two significant grants
from the Walmart Foundation this year because of their commitment to our organization. Thank you to the Team Members of the Walmart Stores, Mississippi Region, for all you do to help support Mississippi Food Network.

AGENCY RELATIONS

In September 2010, Mississippi Food Network launched our SNAP Outreach Pilot Program with more than
60 member agencies participating. They are working with the Department of Human Services on
this program to train their member agencies to help their eligible clients complete and submit the
paperwork for SNAP benefits. From August 2010 - February 2011, they hosted a Bill Emerson National
Hunger Fellow through the Congressional Hunger Center in Washington. This Fellow worked
closely with the SNAP Outreach Pilot Program.

In November 2010, they hosted the 1st Annual Member Agency Conference. With over 150 attendees,
informational workshops were held along with a great time for networking. The Annual
Meeting was held after lunch and included voting for the MNF Board of Directors for 2011.
Mobile Pantry distributions were held at 15 sites throughout the underserved counties in our service
area. This helps provide food to people in areas that they do not have an agency or do not
have enough to meet the needs in that area.

COMMUNITY GARDENS PILOT PROGRAM

This year Mississippi Food Network piloted a Community Garden project through a grant from
the Blue Cross Blue Shield of MS Foundation. They selected Madcaap in Madison County, Midtown Partners inner city Jackson and Edwards Street Fellowship in Hattiesburg, all member agencies, to participate. With the help of the MSU Extension Service Master Gardeners, other community volunteers, agency clients
and staff, each of the gardens were a great success and provided fresh produce to the people served by the food pantries. They are very excited about this project and hope to expand it next year to include additional member agencies.

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS 

MFN partnership with Russ Reid continues to build our donorbase files through direct mail solicitations.
In 2008 they began with 1,500 donors and have added donors each year. During 2010
- 2011, they acquired 3,661 new donors for a total of 11,389. During the 2010 -2011 year we
received 16 grants from various Foundations. Some of these were substantial and helped them significantly
in their fight against hunger. The WalMart Foundation provided them with two grants during
the year which was used to purchase staple food items for distribution to our member agencies.
The Blue Cross Blue Shield of MS Foundation awarded them a grant to help them pilot a Community
Garden program, provide Nutriton Education and to purchase fresh produce. They also received a
grant from the AT&T Foundation to be used to purchase staple food items and fresh produce. Their
long-time foundation supporters like the Edwin E. and Ruby C. Morgan Foundation, The LuckyDay
Foundation, the Kroger Foundation, the Madison Charitable Foundation and the Grainger Foundation
continue to be very valuable partners in their fight against hunger. They continue to receive
funds from the gift from the Thomas G. Ramey and Peggy Huff Harris Fund managed by the Community
Foundation of Greater Jackson. They are working to increase the funds in their Endowment
Fund with the Community Foundation of Greater Jackson. This is an open fund and anyone who
would like to help grow the endowment to help provide a stable funding stream for Mississippi
Food Network can make a donation through the Community Foundation of Greater Jackson.

Volunteers & Food Drives continue to be a major part of their operations and distribution.

Governance

Board Size:22
Paid Staff:2

Fundraising Methods

40% of MFN's operating funds come from grants and gifts from individuals, area churches, businesses and foundations.

50% of MFN's operating funds come from USDA through the Mississippi Dept. of Human Services and through the Mississippi Dept. of Health for warehousing and distributing USDA products.

10% of MFN's operating funds come from a small handling charge paid by the member charities cased on the pounds of products received. This averages less than 3 cents per pound.

Financial Summary

According to the IRS Form 990 for the Fiscal Year ended 6/30/2011:

Total Income $22,826,050.00
Total Expenses $22,937,973.00
Gain/Loss for the Year ($111,923.00)

Expense Breakdown
Item Amount % of Expenses
Programs $22,397,655.00 97.64%
Fund Raising $320,891.00 1.40%
Administrative $219,427.00 0.96%
Miscellaneous $0.00 0.00%

Income Breakdown
Item Amount % of Income
Contributions $22,424,301.00 98.24%
Program Service Revenue $396,619.00 1.74%
Dividends $5,130.00 0.02%

This report is not to be used for fundraising or promotional purposes.

Additional Information

 

Additional Locations & Phone Numbers

Back to Top

Customer Complaint History

Back to Top

BBB has processed no customer complaints on this charity in its three year reporting period.

Government Action(s)

Back to Top

BBB has no information regarding government actions at this time.

Advertising Review

Back to Top

BBB has no information regarding advertising review at this time.

Additional Information

Back to Top

Direct Mail Soliciations - donations are used to purchase food for distribution to member agencies. Annual "No Dinner" Dinner Invitations - instead of joining together for a meal, join in the mission to relieve poverty-related hunger by sending the RSVP card with donation. Food Drives - Food drives are an important part of Mississippi Food Network's fight to relieve poverty-related hunger in our service area. With the help of groups like the National Association of Letter Carriers, 16-WAPT Food for Families Annual Football Challenge, Nucor Steel, and many other groups. We collect food used to offer a variety of food items to our member agencies through the self-serve program. Grants from corporations and foundations to raise money to purchase food for distribution.

BBB Copyright and Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Review are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Review generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Review are subject to change at any time.

If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted the BBB for a BBB Business Review.

Report as of: 7/11/2014
Copyright © 2014 Better Business Bureau®, Inc. serving Mississippi

Send to:

Text Size:
+
Share