BBB Accredited Business since

Paradise Pools and Spas

Phone: (601) 932-7665 Fax: (601) 932-8850 View Additional Phone Numbers 227 S Pearson Rd, Pearl, MS 39208 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.paradisepoolsms.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paradise Pools and Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paradise Pools and Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paradise Pools and Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1980 in MS Business incorporated 08/27/2007 in MS
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Beard, President Kari Beard Ms. Kari Beard, Store Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kari Beard
Principal: Mr. Tim Beard, President
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Paradise Pools on 4/17/15. They were to break up and remove the concrete decking around our pool, add a tanning ledge, install a slide, redo the pool bottom to give us a larger shallow end and to install a new liner. We initially paid a $5000.00 deposit on 4/17. This was the understanding on the contract. We paid the 2nd installment of $17000.00 on 6/25 as per the contract. They began work after this payment. Things went south right away but we let some things slide. I had patio blocks by my outside grill which instead of moving them while doing dirt work drug all of them down a hill breaking several of them in the process. They bent 2 of my fence posts and tore a hole in my fence. They broke 2 pieces of brick off the corner of my house. They took the bricks from around the flower bed and threw them on top of the bushes and plants, breaking limbs and such. We do have pictures of all of this. They tore the plastic cap on my septic tank. They used some of my patio blocks putting 1 over the septic tank hole and one they put under my pool motor to level it out. They left a mess every time they came which we picked up most of the time....garbage, concrete, nails, etc. They left a plastic kiddie pool that they had mixed concrete in our front yard for over a month. We had to ask them several times to remove it before they finally did. When they had the hole dug for the tanning ledge they dug it 24" deep. Any pool company should know that a tanning ledge shouldn't be anywhere near that deep. You can google it and all websites say tanning ledges should be 6-9" deep. They say that they had told us how deep it would be but he had not. This was for my wife and she would have never agreed to 24". They did fix it but wanted me to pay at least half of the cost of the new liner that he said would have to be purchased. It was not our fault that he did not know what a tanning ledge was. We moved on and it was time to pour the concrete deck. He prepped it for the pour and placed our hand rail for our steps in an area of the steps that wasn't conducive to coming up and down the steps so I asked if we could just pull them up before the concrete was poured. We did. I told him to put them back where they were on the left side of the steps but again they messed up. It was very hot on the day the concrete was to be poured. I had left to see my Dad in Texas when they poured it. After it was poured and dried my wife called me because it looked terrible and was holding water in several areas. She sent me pictures to show me. I called the owner that day and wanted it fixed and had a heated discussion and his reply was that they just couldn't please my wife. I'm Assuming they wanted her to be happy with sub-standard work. I was told as well as another gentleman doing work at my house that because of the heat and lack of manpower the day the concrete was poured that the " slab got away from them". There are several places where it appears that boards were laid across it. Also places where nails were sticking out. The joints were sloppy. There are cracks already in the concrete. It was supposed to have had rocksalt sprinkled around the wet concrete to give it a pitted look. I have pictures that show that it appears they put way too much salt in some areas and none or very little in other areas. Every flaw is visible. There is also an unsightly cold joint area that they talked about breaking out and redoing but they never did. One of the areas holding water they tried patching and the standing water kept moving so the patching got bigger. And bigger. And bigger. Finally they cut and sanded down two troughs to drain the water which now instead of going off the end of my slab, runs straight into my flower bed which will most likely wash out any mulch that will be put in the bed, as well as being unsightly. They installed a new pump motor and filter which I had asked for. Once the pool was filling up with water we found out that they did something wrong and my water was running out of a pipe coming off of the deep end of the pool. Then I went to back wash after this incident they hadn't put my drain line on and water was shooting out the side of the filter. After that the filter had a bad o-ring or something and again was pouring water out of it. Also one of my pool ladder steps was broken as well as one of my jets in the pool did not work. They fixed the jet but not the ladder at this point. Because of the bad slab work the slope of the slab is below ground level by my pump and now water and dirt backs back up onto the deck. I paid another $3500.00 on 8/13 even though we were in no way satisfied. Now I am up to $25,500.00. On the morning that the slide was to be installed the owner wanted to talk to me so I met with him. We started discussing the concrete and the fact that you can still see the patch and all the other mistakes. He then told us that if we would have let them put a drain in there they would not have had these problems. He said we had told them not to put a drain. We NEVER said anything like that. They did not ask us if we wanted a drain there. I also had questions about why the pipe for the water going to the slide wasn't stubbed up prior to pouring the slab. Again it was something we googled and found out that the plumbing and stub should have been done before concrete. He said that because of the differences in the pool walls and several other unbelievable excuses they would install the slide and put a turn off valve by the deck and run a hose across the deck to my slide. Not only would this be unsightly, but would be a hazard with children running around. Then the truth came out as to why he had not brought our slide. He said he wanted more money, another $3500.00. I told him I wasn't going to pay that and he then said that we would not get a slide. He then pulled his men off the job. I now have no slide which I've already paid for. My fence posts are still bent. The brick that was broken was put back on by a 2 yr old I think. My azalea bushes and plants were ruined due to the fact that they threw bricks on top of them and also did not cover them when pouring the concrete and throwing out rock salt. My wooden fence post that they broke and replaced hasn't been cut and is a ft. Higher than the rest. The pipes they had run for the slide are unfinished and exposed in the unfinished dirt work. My deck although they did stain it to try and hide all of their mistakes still looks terrible and still holds water. I look forward to a response from Paradise Pools since at this point they are in breach of their signed contract.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the slide or have the slide delivered without harm. I would prefer to have no further dealings with Paradise Pools. Also I would like Paradise Pools to pay for a more reputable company to fix the existing problems that they have created. Seen or unseen.

Business Response:
09/22/2015

 

Dear BBB,

 

Thank you for opportunity to respond to this customer’s
complaint.  We do place a very high value
on the service you perform in the community and are happy to provide a response
for you and the customer.

 

Let me begin with a comprehensive statement about this
project and then I will respond to the customer’s statement point by
point.  When this project was signed I
really felt good about it.  The customer,
his wife and I had detailed conversations about what the project would
involve.  The need for access was
discussed because this yard was very tight, making it really difficult to move
the needed equipment around.  Project details
were discussed concerning the concrete deck and its drainage as well as the
Sundeck/tanning ledge that was to be installed. 
Emphasis was put on the fact that the backyard would be “torn up”, would
be a “mess”, but we would put in back into shape as the project went
along.  Anything in the backyard,
especially preexisting landscaping, would be subject to damage if left there
due to the extensive excavation, breaking of the concrete deck with jack
hammers and excavators (incidentally the concrete deck was attached to the
brick house) and then the backfilling of the pool and tractor work needed in
this space-limited backyard.  A statement
that I make to every customer I do a project for was also made to them.  It goes something like, “No construction project
goes perfect.  There are always
issues.  However, we feel that it all
comes down to how those issues are handled.” 
All of this seemed to be understood and well received.  However, as the project developed, the
customer seemed to have a selective memory. 
They stated they didn’t remember certain aspects of the detailed
conversations, details that we include in every presentation we make.  At this point the customer began to blame us
for every misunderstanding and issue that arose.  Some of these issues were discussed in
advance, yet they refused to recognize this, expecting us to take full
responsibility for their misunderstandings. 
Other issues were project related, unique to their circumstance, yet
they expected us to take full responsibility for their unreasonable
expectations.  Thus the job quickly
became the most difficult job I have worked on in over a decade.  In the end the job was terminated due the
customer’s refusal to pay for equipment that was already installed per their
request and for their refusal to pay for the remaining work to be done, namely
the installation of a new slide.  Currently,
the customer owes us $4269.00 to complete the project.  This includes the original contract ($25950.00)
and the additional work authorized by the customer ($3819.00) including extra
concrete poured on the deck, the additional pool equipment installed and
changes made in project.  Thirty-Five
hundred ($3500) of this total is for the new slide that was not installed due
to refusal to pay.  Subtracting the slide
amount from the totals leaves $769.00 currently owed for services rendered.  We are happy to provide the slide to the
customer at an additional $3500.00.  We
do not wish to install the slide for obvious reasons.

 

With all of that said, I will now take the customer’s
complaint point-by-point:

ContractThe contract was originally for $25950.00.  $5000.00 was paid at signing$17000.00 was paid at time work began$3950.00 was to be paid at completionTo date all work on contract has been completed
accept for the installation of a slide valued in the contract at $3500.00.  Extra concrete was poured per request - $1000.00
additionalAdditional equipment was installed per request -
$1819.00Customer changed pool specs from original quote
resulting in additional costs of $1400.00. 
However, we requested only $1000.00 from the customerCustomer paid additional payment of $3500
towards project totalResulting total project cost $25950-5000-17000+1000+1819+1000-3500=$4269
balance less minus $3500 slide = $769.00 Due and unpaid.If customer wants the slide delivered to their
house, $3500 is the cost of the slide and delivery Patio Blocks/GrillCustomer is referring to approximately 5 patio
bricks that were around a grill standing within 15 feet of major
construction.  As mentioned, customer was
informed in advance of the access required and the extensive nature of the
excavation, demolition and repair.  The
workers did their best to keep dirt away from the grill area.  However, customer saw no need to move the blocks
or grill leaving them for us to work around.Contract states, “It is understood that Paradise
Pools and Spas will be permitted free and ready access to the pool site and
adequate working room.  Any damage to
landscape is the responsibility of the customer.”BrickCustomer is referring to a piece of brick
approximately 2.25”x3.5” and less than a ½” thick that broke off the face of a
house brick when we were jackhammering the concrete deck attached to the brick
of the house as requested.  I honestly do
not know what the customer expected in the case.  When you forcefully remove concrete with
jackhammers and other necessary equipment, any items attached to what is being
worked on are subject to damage.  Despite
breaking up concrete along more than 40 feet of attached brick wall, only one
small piece of brick was damaged.  In the
construction and remodeling world this is completely acceptable.  We feel this issue also comes under the above
statement concerning access.  In addition
it is only reasonable to expect some damage when breaking a concrete deck
attached to a brick structure. Septic Tank – Plastic capI cannot say with any certainty that we did
break or did not break the plastic cap on the septic system.  What I can say with certainty is that we
replaced it with a new one.Plastic Kiddie Pool with mixed concreteThere was a plastic kiddie pool on the job used
by the concrete pumping company to clean out the concrete pump.  This company always leaves the kiddie pool on
the job for us to haul off.  When the
customer asked what is it was for, we explained.  Additionally we informed them that it would
be hauled off with all other debris at the end of job.  They never requested we remove it before then.  Tanning LedgeThe sundeck/tanning ledge on this job was
actually a personal recommendation of mine. 
The customer originally only wanted the pool bottom to be reshaped.  When I told them about the availability of
the sundeck, they were intrigued.  I did
explain the dimensions in detail, more than once.  I explained that the shallow end wall had a
40” finish.  The sundeck wall would rise
above the floor 20”.  That would leave a
20” ledge with approximately 16” of water.  
We have sold similar products   throughout the last 2 years, all of them being
the same depth in the tanning area.  They
did not complain until the ledge was installed and they could actually see what
was being built.  When approached with
the change I was shocked they had not understood what they had purchased.  I explained the process of making the change
and the cost involved.  The customer and
I had an understanding that this change would incur additional cost.  I personally told him the change was a
$3000-4000 retail expense.  However I
volunteered to keep cost down and only charge him for actual cost of making the
change.  The actual cost came to
$1400.  Yet we only asked for $1000.00.As concerns what the internet says about tanning
ledge depths I can only say that the internet is not the authority or the
expert.  Fact is tanning ledges come in
many different depths, ranging form 6”-24”. 
(Incidentally the internet agrees with this statement.)  In addition they vary in depth based on type
of construction –gunite, vinyl, or fiberglass. 
We choose to sell the one described above and have had good success
doing so.  No one we have install a
tanning ledge/sundeck for has been disappointed until this customer.  Still we attempted to make it right,
redesigning the tanning ledge specifically for her.  Despite agreeing to pay the cost difference,
the customer now refuses to pay the balance of the contract.HandrailThe customer did tell us where they wanted the
handrail.  This was done over the
telephone.  We attempted to put the
handrail where we thought the customer wanted it.  This was not pleasing to the customer.  As I was making arrangements for the handrail
to be relocated at the last minute the customer suggested we do away with the
handrail.  He ask if the handrail was
necessary.  I told him it was not
necessary.  He informed us to simply
remove it.  We did.  Nothing else was discussed.  Concrete Deck There were a few issues with the concrete
deck.  The joints were a little
rough.  There was more color variation
than usual.  However everything possible
was done to please the customer yet they could not be pleased.  We fixed the joints to the best of our
ability.  (Specifically one joint was
left a little rough due to location of the joint.)  We rock sanded all rough edges across the
entire deck.  We even attempted to
eliminate at puddle that resulted from trying to run drain water for more than
40 feet down the length of the deck. 
This puddle was only 1.5 ft. x 3 ft. and only ¼” deep.  Again this is acceptable in the construction
and remodeling business.  Yet to make the
customer happy we spent many hours attempting to eliminate the small
puddle.  Once done we then made
arrangements to stain the deck with a solid color of their choice.  This would give them that new, fresh look
they wanted and cover all color variations. 
The staining and other deck repair was performed at no cost to the
customer but cost us over $1500.00 in materials and labor.Drainage was an issue with the deck from the
beginning.  The preexisting deck was
holding more than an inch of water at the patio door and garage door
entrance.  This puddle of water was
larger than 6 ft. x 6ft.  I did guarantee
the customer no water would be left standing outside those two doors.  This was accomplished.  The next obstacle was to get the deck to
drain down the more than 40’ of walking area. 
The options were to put the water in the flower bed (the customer did
not want this), install a drain down the entire length of the walking area (the
customer did not want this as it would be directly in the walking area), or
attempt to run the water the entire 40+ ft. 
No one in the concrete industry will guarantee having no puddles when
trying to run water that far.  I simply
stated we would do our best.  We did our
best and were left with a small puddle measuring approximately 1.5 ft. x 3 ft.
and only ¼ inch deep.  Despite this
success the customer was completely unhappy. 
We attempted to fix the issue as described above but were unsuccessful
in making them happy. Concerning the concrete deck finish, our
belief is that the customer simply did not understand what they were purchasing
with a rock salt finish.  Its design is
to be raw, rustic, have color variation, a totally random pattern and have an
overall rough look, to look antique.  However,
once the deck was poured the customer said they wanted the deck to look fresh
and new, with no color variations.   This
was simply not the finish for them.  Yet
they chose this finish even after looking at pictures of similar decks.  Despite the finish being their own choice, we
attempted to make them happy, spend much time sanding, shaping and staining the
deck with their color choice.  Still they
could not be made happy.Pump and FilterCustomer requested a new filter, chlorinator and
Frog sanitizing system.  A price of $1000
was given for the equipment and installation. 
Next the customer requested a new pump. 
A price of $700 was given for the pump and installation.  With applicable taxes the total for the
additional equipment came to $1819.00.    The customer attempted to backwash his pool
before the plumbing was completed on the system.  He was informed that additional plumbing
(connecting his preexisting drain line to the new equipment) was not yet
done.  Still he attempted to backwash not
realizing it would result in “water shooting out the side of the filter”.  Once the plumbing was completed there was no
issue.There was a defective o’ring on the filter
valve.  Once aware of the defective
o’ring it was replaced.An explanation for the water “running out of a
pipe coming off the deep end of the pool” was given to the customer.  However the customer did not understand
it.  He mistakenly thought that this “leak”
was related to the pump and filter or the plumbing of the pool.  It was not related in any way to the plumbing
or the new pump and filter.  This pipe in
question is attached to an underwater light niche (a housing that encases the actual
pool light).  This niche has a pipe or
conduit attached to the back side of it. 
Through this pipe the electrical wire for the light is pulled through
and connects to an electrical junction box.  The pipe’s design is to hold water to the
point it surfaces above the pool water lever. 
Once the conduit is extended above the water level, it will not leak.  The customer overfilled the pool, resulting in
water coming out of the pipe.  Once this
pipe was extended above the water line there were no more issues.LadderI personally have no knowledge that one of the
ladder treads was broken.  JetsWhen the pool was started up after the new pump
and filter was installed, the deep end jet did not have any pressure.  We identified the issue and fixed it.  The jet is now completely operational.Slide and water lineThe slide purchased does not require water.  It has a surface that is somewhat slippery on
its own.  However, we prefer to have a
water connection.  Our opinion is that
the water makes for a better slide experience. 
The water connection was to be supplied or stubbed up right next to the
slide, outside the concrete deck.  There
would have been no issues with the connection. 
We explained why we did not stub the pipe through the deck.  However the customer simply did not except or
understand our explanation.  At this
point they did not want to understand anything.  The internet again became their authority.I do not know why the customer thinks the slide
was never ordered.  It has been in our stock
since July 1, 2015.  Fence Posts Two metal fence posts were damaged during the
remodeling process due to the extremely tight confines of the backyard.  A front end loader, excavator, and a tractor
with box blade and front loader were all needed to accomplish the job.  During the maneuvering of the equipment the
posts were bent.  The customer was
informed by me personally that the post were damaged and informed at the same
time that we would replace them.  At the
time he completely understood why and how the posts were damaged.  He even seemed grateful we offered to fix
them at no cost.  Again we discussed how
tight the backyard was.We offered to fix these post despite the access
clause in the contract.  (Contract
states, “It is understood that Paradise Pools and Spas will be permitted free
and ready access to the pool site and adequate working room.  Any damage to landscape is the responsibility
of the customer.”)The fence post were to be fixed at the time the
slide was installed.  Materials were
purchased and delivered to job.  The post
were in process of being fixed when the customer informed us he would be not paying
any more money on this job despite owing $4269.00LandscapingAs already mentioned the customer was informed
that any landscaping in the immediate area was subject to damage to the
extensive excavation and remodeling being done. 
The azalea bushes are within 10’ of the pool water and right next to the
deck that was removed and re-poured. 
Only minor damage occurred.Again the contract states, “It is understood
that Paradise Pools and Spas will be permitted free and ready access to the
pool site and adequate working room.  Any
damage to landscape is the responsibility of the customer.”Breach of ContractAccording to the contract signed by the
customer, “any materials and/or equipment used in this job will remain the
property of the Dealer until final payment is made by the customer.  If final payment is not made upon completion
as agreed, customer agrees to allow dealer full and ready access to property
without fear of trespassing charges or other reprisal from customer so that
dealer may retrieve any and all materials and/or equipment for which payment
has not been fully received.”As previously stated, the customer informed us
that he was not going to pay the final payment or any other money for any
reason.  Thus we feel that the customer
is the one in Breach of Contract.We have not attempted to retrieve the pump,
filter, chlorinator, or Frog sanitation system despite these items not being
paid in full.  According to the contract
these items still belong to us.  In
addition the slide belong to us as well for the same reason, non-payment.Desired Solution 
The customer currently owes $769.00 for services
and equipment installed upon their request. 
Due to their unreasonableness and unwillingness to understand basic
remodeling and construction issues, we do not wish to pursue this matter
further and are willing to let the customer keep the $769.00.  All warranties for the equipment and
materials used on the job are through the manufacturer and they are free to
contact them should any warranty issues occur. 
However, there is no warranty through Paradise Pools and Spas if the
balance is not paid in full.The $3500.00 for the slide was not paid.  Therefore the slide does not belong to the
customer.  It will be put back into our
inventory and sold. I hope this clarifies the issues with this job and
customer.  We feel saddened that we could
not please this customer and come to an equitable arrangement.  Despite our best efforts to fix what needed
to be fix, or simply appease the customer due to their misunderstandings or
unrealistic expectations, we were unable to satisfy this customer.  However, it is our experience that some
customers simply cannot be pleased.  We
feel that this is one of those customers. 
 Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to tell our side
of the dispute.  For years we have been
members of the Better Business Bureau and value the efforts you put into
protecting our community.  If you have
any further questions concerning this or any other project, please do not
hesitate to contact us. 

Sincerely yours,  
*** *****
PresidentParadise Pools and Spas
Pearl, MS













































































































































Tell us why here...


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Paradise Pools and Spas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)