BBB Accredited Business since

A & Z, Inc. Restoration, Renovation & Painting

Additional Locations

Phone: (601) 835-1902 1241 Highway 51 NE, Brookhaven, MS 39601


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & Z, Inc. Restoration, Renovation & Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A & Z, Inc. Restoration, Renovation & Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & Z, Inc. Restoration, Renovation & Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1978 in MS Business incorporated 12/07/2000 in MS
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Asem Zeini, President Ms. Joanna Etheridge, Secretary/Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Joanna Etheridge, Secretary/Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Asem Zeini, President
Business Category

PAINTING CONTRACTORS BUILDING RESTORATION & PRESERVATION

Alternate Business Names
A & Z, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1241 Highway 51 NE

    Brookhaven, MS 39601

  • PO Box 634

    Brookhaven, MS 39602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Client (me) and contractor (A&Z) negotiated and agreed upon a price to complete services. The contractor is requesting additional money that was never communicated or agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: To pay the price that was initially communicated and agreed upon.

Business Response:

I gave ******* an estimate of $11,850.00

They asked if I would reduce the price.

For $2,000.00 less, I will eliminate a few things.

Well, they decided to do it all, and added a few more areas to be painted, plus replacing some cabinet hinges,

vent registers, changing switch and receptacle covers to a snap on type, and second coating some rooms and painting additional ceilings.

$11,850.00 original quote (completed) and the extras ran $1,416.00 (completed) per my prior email to them.

They did not want to pay for the extras and did not even pay the initial contract figure, so I presented all the correspondence including the contracts

to my attorney for collection; so in retaliation, they decided to make a false report to the BBB.

**** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The initial estimate was for $11,850 to paint the entire interior of the home including all labor and materials. I communicated to **** that the price was too high. **** reviewed the estimate and reduced the price $2,000 to $9850 by eliminating painting some of the ceilings and the back of doors to closets. This is the price we agreed to. The kitchen and living rooms ceilings were included in the $9,850 estimate.

**** later provided a quote of $685 to paint the remainder of the ceilings. The only additional ceiling painted was a small hallway that is a continuation of the living room ceiling. 3 bedrooms, the laundry room and 2.5 bathroom ceilings were not painted. I agreed to pay $320 for the painting of that hallway ceiling.

There were a few hinges that needed to be replaced. I couldn’t find the correct hinge and **** offered to buy them and I would reimburse him. The cost of the hinges was $44.66.

**** also requested $245 for a few rooms that required a second coat of paint. I agreed to that cost as well.

All of the aforementioned costs were clearly communicated. However, I received a final bill with an additional $2,293.54 in charges that were never mentioned. **** was able to communicate the charges, I listed and agreed to above but tacked on an additional $2,293.54 onto the final bill without any notification or suggestion that the price would be vastly different from our agreed upon quote.

Some of the additional costs include additional labor fees to remove receptacle covers, switch plates. I was under the impression that this is part of completing a professional paint job since that was first thing the painters did when they prepped each room.

Furthermore, the paint job was extremely poor and was never completed. There are drip marks on cabinets, vent covers that haven’t been replaced, crooked paint lines, paint on tile and mirrors in the bathroom, unpainted surfaces, and cracks in the paint.

I was left cans of paint and told I can touch up the paint job myself.

None of my claims are false. I’ve included documents and photos as support. 

 

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

The United States court of law requests that we make an oath prior to speaking, " I swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, so help me God".

******* is actually telling the truth, part of the truth and has added a few words of her own to manipulate the facts.

We did agree to eliminate some of the work for a lesser price, however, ******* decided to do them anyway, as was quoted on the original; and we got them all done. We painted all the ceilings in the house; we initially agreed on two ceilings only. Then, she asked for more work to be done, changing wall colors that required more coatings and gallons of paint... voila! Somehow they did not feel they should pay the full price as initially agreed on, and did not want to pay for the additional work they had requested. Well, if our work was not satisfactory as she stated in those very poor looking pictures, I wonder why she asked us to do additional work. We also offered to go back and do whatever is needed to make her happy; it is all documented on my email to her.

Any way, we have it all down on emails, and they will ALL be provided, not partially like ******* has done.

I am not going to waste more time discussing and trading facts with untruth. 

So... Let's just let the legal system take its toll.

I am not going to disclose any emails due to the ongoing legal process; this matter is being handled by my attorney at the present time.

Blessings,

**** and staff 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A & Z, Inc. Restoration, Renovation & Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)