BBB Accredited Business since

Kirkland Development, Inc.

Phone: (601) 982-7381 Fax: (601) 982-9454 605 Steed Rd, Ridgeland, MS 39157


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kirkland Development, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kirkland Development, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kirkland Development, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2003 Business started: 08/28/1991 in MS Business incorporated 08/28/1991 in MS
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Mississippi State Board of Contractors
P. O. Box 320279, Jackson MS 39232-0279
http://www.msboc.us/
Phone Number: (601) 354-6161
The number is 00180.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce C. Kirkland, President Ms. Paula King, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Paula King, Administrative Assistant
Principal: Mr. Bruce C. Kirkland, President
Business Category

HOME BUILDERS


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cheated of security deposit refund. Received less than half of the deposit after inquiring about when refund would be received. Once received, I contacted the apartment manager as to why the amount was less when the apartment was left in good condition and cleaned. Per the apartment manager, *** *********, the apartment had to be cleaned because it was left dirty including the bathrooms, stove, and a ceiling fan. She stated, I could have used some Comet! This is untrue. The apartment was thoroughly cleaned with bleach and the floors vacuumed. The bathroom was thoroughly cleaned with bleach and mirrors with glass cleaner. The oven was sprayed with oven cleaner which set over night and cleaned the next morning. When a tenant moves out, the complex automatically cleans, replaces the carpet, and paint. I feel my deposit was used so the complex would not pay the cleaning fee. In past times on several occasions my apartment was used for viewing by visiting managers per the apartment manager's request because it was "always clean". It is odd that if it was clean enough to view, I would leave it dirty upon leaving. My apartment was spotless when I vacated, and the amount charged was for a cleaning fee not stated in the lease. The accusations of the apartment not being clean are false, and the remainder of my deposit should be refunded.

Desired Settlement: Refund remaining deposit $***

Business Response:

We have received your letter concerning a recent complaint about our business.

 

Upon move in our managers advise all tenants that they should leave the apartment clean upon move out.  The former resident who made this complaint did not do this.   I contacted the manager and had her send me the file.   The manager had taken pictures of the bathtub and the oven.  The pictures clearly show that neither were cleaned.   In regards to the statement from the manager that the former resident should have used comet, the manager stated that she told Ms. ******** that the tub had been cleaned with comet before she had moved in.  The manager stated that the oven had been sprayed with comet buy not wiped out. 

In regards to the statement that the apartments are automatically cleaned, painted and the carpet replaced upon move out is not correct.   We do paint the apartments before move in and a light cleaning is performed to take care of any mess that was made getting the apartment ready, but we do no replace carpet upon every move in. 

Also, the manager stated that at no time was the apartment used to show visiting managers.  

 

It's unfortunate that Ms. ******** is not satisfied.   Our managers are instructed to walk the units with the residents upon if the resident requests it.   This was not done.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

**** ******
Property Supervisor

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 In response to this letter, the information you received from your manager is simply not true. The apartment was cleaned, there was nothing left in the stove or bath tub. In regards to the pictures taken of the apartment, it is interesting that pictures would  all of a sudden surface after 4 months, that happened to show a dirty oven and tub in a routine move. Any pictures the manager supposedly supplied you with are not from anything that I left. I too have pictures that show a clean apartment, very different than what your manager has come up with. 

 

Again, there were visitors that came to my apartment during inspections. The apartment manager, *. *********, requested to bring them to my apartment. Included in the visit were: Ms. *********, her boss, who was an ******* ******** female, and 2 ********* men, one older and one younger. The men took pictures as they walked through the apartment while Mrs. *********, her boss, and myself stood by the door. Ms. ********* told them I was in school, and her boss stated her daughter was also in school. I gain nothing by making up such a story. 


I refuse to continue going back and forth with this company as I previously stated. This company misrepresented themselves, and the more correspondence received, more untruths are told. Ms. *********'s comment was "all you had to do was use a little Comet".  Her statement was unprofessional, and simply unnecessary. 


The truth is, the apartment was clean when I left. The oven was sprayed with Easy Off oven cleaner, and not Comet, and there was nothing left on the racks. The racks were removed from the oven and cleaned and placed back in the oven. Why would anyone spray an oven with any cleaner and not clean it? The bathrooms were also cleaned. The floors were swept and mopped, and carpet vaccuummed. 


This is a simple case of an apartment manager taking a security deposit, and using a cleaning fee as an excuse. She did not expect a response disputing this as this is something that is most likely routine for this company. Had the apartment been left dirty, she would be right to charge that fee. However, that was not the case. My family assisted in the move, and we made it a point to ensure it was clean.  As stated before, I do not want to receive any further correspondence from this company unless it is a refund of the unlawful amount taken from my security deposit of $******.


Regards,

******** ********

 

 

Business Response:

In accordance with Ms. ********'s request that there be no further contact, we will consider this matter closed. 

I am sorry that Ms. ******** was not satisfied, and wish her the best.

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new construction home, August 30, 2013. The home is still under warranty and I have trying to resolve some issues that have occurred since moving in with the builder. My first initial attempt to contact the builder was in February 2014. Then in March 2014, I mailed certified letter and called twice. In the email and certified letter, I attached pictures. I have yet to receive a response. This morning I noticed I had a leak in the roof.

Desired Settlement: As stated in the homeowner handbook, it is the builder's responsibility to fix certain issues. Some issues include (1) roof leak in master bedroom (2) entry garage door needs adjusting (3) master bedroom toilet is not secure/rocks when you sit on it (4) paint peeling off wall in hallway bathroom (5) sink in hallway bathroom is not secure/porcelain breakage (6) stopper in tub keeps coming off/repaired and replaced several times (7) crown molding on ceiling is coming apart (8)master bathroom countertop is cracked all the way across bottom of mirror (9)defect in wall in master bathroom (10) cracks in ceiling in utility room (11) paint falling off on ceiling in master bedroom (12) closet door in bedroom will not close and (13) garage door keeps coming off track (contacted repairman to fix on 4/14/14)

Business Response: This is ***** ********** with Kirkland Development Inc., my phone number is 601-********. I gave Ms. ***** a complete list of every single person that did work on her home. She used the list to schedule the final touches on her punch list last fall. I thought that I was very clear that she could call any sub-contractor if she had any problems with anything during her one year warranty period.  I am very sorry that there was some confusion, but I have contacted her directly and what has not been taken care of will be completed  Monday the 28th of April. She has scheduled everyone for that day and she says she has talked to each contractor. Her schedule does not let her meet during the business day with people and it has been very difficult to enter her home to complete everything. I also told her that if she has any more problems or if everything is not done Monday to please let me know. It is important that she text me or leave a message if she does not reach me.  I am sorry that this happened and she felt she needed to file a complaint, but I will take care of everything and make her happy.

 
thank you,
 
***** **********
Kirkland Development Inc.
Vice President

5/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues