BBB Accredited Business since

Hollis Shoemaker, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (601) 853-5060 525 S Pear Orchard Rd, Ridgeland, MS 39157 http://www.shoemakerhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company also provides land development.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hollis Shoemaker, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hollis Shoemaker, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hollis Shoemaker, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1971 in MS Business incorporated 12/08/1971 in MS
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Mississippi State Board of Contractors
P. O. Box 320279, Jackson MS 39232-0279
http://www.msboc.us/
Phone Number: (601) 354-6161
The number is 00049.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Shoemaker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Shoemaker, President
Business Category

HOME BUILDERS

Alternate Business Names
Shoemaker Homes

Additional Locations

  • 525 S Pear Orchard Rd

    Ridgeland, MS 39157

  • PO Box 986

    Ridgeland, MS 39158

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shoemaker Homes was contracted to build our home in Madison, MS. We did not own the home until the day of closing on April 2, 2015. When they laid the sod in March during a drought, they neglected to water it, causing it to die before closing on our home. The sod remains dead and because of that, is now overrun with only unsightly weeds and crabgrass. Because of their absolute negligence during the time that they were responsible for the home and all things included in the contract, we are now faced with possibly having to completely resod our entire yard.

Desired Settlement: We would like for Shoemaker Homes to accept responsibility for their oversight and do what is right by having our yard resodded or at the very least, have a reputable landscaping company try to repair the yard.

Business Response: We wish for all of our homeowner's to be happy with their new home.
The sod at *** ********* ** * in Madison was watered adequately prior to closing.
After closing while in transit to nearby job sites of other houses we have under construction, it was noticed that ******* and *******'s yard was not being watered adequately. We do not warranty sod for this reason. Our policy is noted in our New Home Orientation.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
     The sod was dead before we even closed on the home. Please note the attached photo which was taken on April 3rd, the day after closing on our home. It did not die after closing because WE did not water it. It was dead before we closed, during which time Shoemaker Homes was responsible for it, and the photo is proof of their negligence.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: The yard was adequately watered prior to closing.  We have pictures, documentation and water bills to illustrate this.  Shoemaker Homes does not warranty sod because we have no control over how the sod will be cared for after closing.  Also please see attached punchlist where there is no mention of dead sod.
Unfortunately we simply disagree.


Sincerely,

***** *********
sales@shoemakerhomes.com
601-********

1/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hollis Shoemaker, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)