BBB Accredited Business since

American Factory Direct Furniture Outlets

Phone: (228) 452-5950 9064 County Farm Rd, Long Beach, MS 39560 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.afd-furniture.com


Click for BBB Rating on American Factory Direct Furniture Outlets

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Factory Direct Furniture Outlets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for American Factory Direct Furniture Outlets. BBB of Greater New Orleans Area has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for American Factory Direct Furniture Outlets.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1937 in LA Business started locally: 02/01/2006
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Ashley Madigan, Assistant Manager Ms. Flo Malone Ms. Billie Comeaux, Owner Ms. Corrinn Fisher, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ashley Madigan, Assistant Manager
Principal: Ms. Flo Malone
Business Category

FURNITURE - RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 9064 County Farm Rd

    Long Beach, MS 39560

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 13, 2013 we purchased a leather Sofa from American Furniture Direct in Long Beach Mississippi. The sofa was delivered on or about the 19th of June. When the sofa was placed in our home, we immediately noticed many discolorations and creases in the leather that should not have existed on a new sofa. We told the delivery driver about the problem and reported it the store. The delivery driver told us he thought the defects could be corrected by a furniture repair technician from American Furniture Direct. In hind site we should have not accepted the defective sofa. We were contacted the next day to schedule a visit by the repair technician but he could not come until July 3rd. On July 3rd the technician did arrive worked for an hour or so to fix the defects. He was successful in correcting some of the problems but he informed us that the discolorations could not be corrected since they were ingrained in the leather. This was not acceptable to us since the defects were readily visible. Since this was not an inexpensive couch we certainly expected a much higher quality product. We then contacted American Furniture Direct, told them of our problem and that we were very disappointed in the defects in the Sofa and we wanted to return our purchase. They quickly informed me that after three days I could not return the sofa. I explained to them I would have returned it immediately but was told the problem could be fixed. I complained to the manager and they gave us to options. Either they would take the sofa and provide store credit minus 25% of the purchase price -or- they would send out another sofa. I told them I wanted a full refund but they flatly refused and said they actually did not have to do anything since it was a close out item. Since they refused to provide a refund or even full store credit, we chose the replacement option rather than lose $450 on a new purchase with store credit. Another sofa was delivered on July 24th of 2013 but the replacement was in much worse shape then the defective one we had. It was extremely dirty, the leather was severely stretched out and looked like it was used. We rejected the delivery and told the delivery people we would be filing a complaint with the Mississippi Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: It is obvious to us that all of these sofas are defective and they are trying to get rid of them to unwary consumers. We want a refund for the full amount of our purchase. American Furniture Direct should provide customer service.

Business Response: I have attached a copy of the back of our sales Invoice clearly showing our Policies and Procedures. Our "Merchandise Return Policy" is at the top and clearly shows our 25% re-stocking fee applied after delivery. It also shows that any refund amount will be applied as a store credit. Leather as a material is subject to inherent flaws as leather is the skin of an animal. - Again, we are willing to allow the customer a full re-select with no re-stocking fee. I spoke to the owner and he is willing to refund the customer, but ithe refund would be less the 25% re-stock fee. SIncerely, *** ******, American Factory Direct. Warranty Service Manager

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

Due to the stores return policies, our dissatisfaction with the product and the lack of concern for their customers, we will take our business elsewhere.   We desire the complaint against American Furniture Direct to stand and be posted. 

 

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

Business Response: Our return policy was stated on the back of the sales Invoiice that the customer signed at the time of purchase. We have not been unresponsive to the customer. We sent a service technician to the customer's home, sent a replacement sofa for exchange and have offered a re-selection waiving our stated policy of a 25% re-stock fee. or a refund of all but the 25% re-stock fee. In addition, the customer received free delivery. The customer seems unwilling to compromise which we regret - *** ******, American Factory Direct Warranty Service Manager

7/11/2013 Delivery Issues