BBB Accredited Business since

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Phone: (601) 984-3504 Fax: (601) 984-3550 View Additional Phone Numbers 1625 Eastover Dr, Jackson, MS 39211 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ptk.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Honor society for two-year colleges


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1918 in MS Business incorporated 01/14/1977 in MS
Type of Entity

Non-Profit Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tria Cohen, Key Services Manager Ms. Saralyn Quinn, Senior Director of Operations & HR Dr. Rod A. Risley, Executive Director Member Services
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tria Cohen, Key Services Manager
Principal: Ms. Saralyn Quinn, Senior Director of Operations & HR
Principal: Dr. Rod A. Risley, Executive Director
Business Category

FRATERNAL ORGANIZATIONS

Alternate Business Names
Phi Theta Kappa

Additional Locations

  • 1625 Eastover Dr

    Jackson, MS 39211 (800) 946-9995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a college student and I joined Phi Theta Kappa with the promise that I could get scholarships and grants to pay for school. I paid $*** to join but I was told over and over again through letters and emails from Phi Theta Kappa that I was going to get so much more money back in scholarships. My college was never notified that I joined PTK so I never received emails about becoming involved and going to events at my school. I waited weeks and never got even one email. I called PTK and they said that I had to call my school. They basically kept sending me in circles because then my school would tell me to call the PTK headquarters. When I went to apply for scholarships, every single one wanted to know how involved I had been with PTK. I was not involved at all because PTK never notified my school that I paid the $*** and joined the organization. Therefore, I never got any type of school aid on behalf of the organization because I was not involved. After months of trying, I got tired of trying to get a hold of someone and I decided to request a refund. At this point PTK said that they have a 30 day refund policy and that I could no longer receive a refund. I tried explaining that it was not my fault that THEY never confirmed my membership to my school and that all they did was rip me off $***. One day I finally got a hold of someone and they said due to the circumstances they would speak to their supervisor about getting me a refund. I didn't hear back from them after an entire week so I called again and they said that there was nothing that they could do any more. I am very upset because I am a broke college student and I am transferring this fall to a 4 year university and all PTK did was lie to me to get my money and then they did absolutely nothing to even try to help me. They will continue to lie to other college students all over the country, giving them false hope just to steal their money as well.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the $*** that I paid to join the club.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

First of all, I do want to apologize for not acknowledging this complaint from the Better Business Bureau sooner.  ******* *****, brought this to my attention yesterday, August 27, 2014, and I immediately started gathering the information needed to respond.  I see now that emails were sent to me on August 5 and 20, but I very well could have mistaken them for spam as I do receive quite a bit and go through these daily.  I will now pay more attention for emails from the Better Business Bureau.

Below I have outlined a timeline of events and a rationale for our response to *****.  Supporting documents are also attached for your reference.

***** ********, joined Phi Theta Kappa on December 11, 2013, by paying via credit card on our website.  The local Phi Theta Kappa chapter at ********* ******* had identified ***** as being eligible for membership and the chapter extended the membership invitation.  Once ***** accepted online, a member welcome email was sent to her.  The chapter advisor at the time she accepted membership in December 2013 was ******* ***** and he was also sent an email confirming that her membership had been processed online.  Phi Theta Kappa chapter advisors also have access to pull lists of their members at any time via our website using their advisor log in.  ***** has been listed as a member since December when she accepted online.  All further communication in regards to local chapter activities is handled by the local chapter advisor and not from Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters.

*****’s first contact with Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters was over 4 months after accepting membership on April 28, 2014.  See attached ticket number - ****************.  She noted that she wanted to confirm membership because she continues to receive invitations from the college, but she is currently a member.  I responded to her the same day confirming that we do have her membership on file, but I would recommend that she contact the local chapter to make sure the college has her flagged as a member.  I provided her a link to find out who her advisor on the college was.  ***** provided no response until 3 months later in an unrelated ticketed email.

On July 23, 2014, ***** contacted Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters in regards to wanting a refund.  See attached ticket number – ****************.  This was a new email ticket and was not tied to the previous email about her membership not being on record at the college level.  ******* **** responded the same day and outlined that our refund policy is 30 days, explained further the extensive list of membership benefits, and provided the chapter advisor’s contact information.  ***** did not respond to this email ticket.

On July 25, 2014, ***** contacted Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters to ask for a refund and noted that she did not receive a response back from the email several days ago.  See attached ticket number ****************.  ******* responded the same day, apologized, and noted that the email could have gone in the spam or junk folder, and again, outlined the 30 day refund policy, explained the list of member benefits, and provided the advisor’s contact information .  ***** did respond and was angry that she could not be given a refund and admitted that she waited 6 months to even hear anything from the chapter before contacting Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters.  ***** requested to talk to someone else because she felt ripped off.  Given her message was received on a Friday, the ticket was not assigned to ******* until the following Monday on July 28.  ******* needed to talk to me as her Key Services Manager in regards to this and I was out of the office on Monday, and in a meeting the full day on Tuesday.  ******* and I had our regularly scheduled meeting for Wednesday afternoon which is when she brought this issue to my attention.  ******* also recalls talking to ***** on the phone and reiterating our refund policy and the benefits of membership.  This date is not firm as we do not have phone records documented, but it was during the week of 7/28 – 8/1.  Since ***** had mentioned wanting to talk to someone else, I called ***** on Monday, August 4 to confirm *******’s response of holding firm to the 30 day refund policy.  When I talked with *****, she was very short and only said “ok” and hung up.

We are sorry that *****’s experience with her membership has not been a positive experience.  Given that *****’s concerns and request to cancel membership were not brought to our attention for 7 months, the decision was made to stand firm to our 30 day refund policy.

If you have any further questions about resolving this complaint, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
**** *****
Key Services Manager
Phi Theta Kappa
601.********

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an invitation to join a supposed honor society. The information I received is posted below: "Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society serving two-year colleges around the world with nearly 2.5 million members and 1280 chapters in nine nations. Privileges of membership are unparalleled. Access to $87 million in scholarship opportunities for completion of studies at community and senior colleges and for participation in the Society's innovative, award-winning programs. Membership is a privilege earned and is by invitation only. " When I paid my membership fee and created my online account, I discovered that the "Society's innovative, award-winning programs" involved taking tests and performing activities that required me to join more pay-to-access websites in order to be able to apply for any scholarships. In my opinion, one should not have to pay $** to become a member of a group that makes you pay more fees to more websites just to apply for scholarships. This is misleading. I would not have paid $** of my federal pell grant money that I desperately need if I had thought I wouldn't be able to apply for additional scholarships that would cover the cost of membership in this group as well as to help me achieve my academic goals.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund for the full $** that I paid and for the company to delete my membership, my credit card information and my contact information from all of their records.

Business Response: Our Key Services Department will contact the student today and provide more information about membership and offer a refund if an understanding cannot be reached.  The student is misinformed about membership in Phi Theta Kappa.  Thanks, *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. I was contacted by the company and I find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ****

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)