BBB Accredited Business since

Howard Wilson Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Phone: (601) 914-2277 Fax: (601) 914-4080 View Additional Phone Numbers 4000 Lakeland Dr, Flowood, MS 39232 http://www.howardwilsonchryslerjeep.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howard Wilson Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Howard Wilson Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Howard Wilson Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Howard Wilson Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1979 Business started: 05/01/1979 in MS Business incorporated 05/11/1979 in MS
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission
1755 Lelia Drive, Ste. 200, Jackson MS 39216
www.mmvc.state.ms.us
Phone Number: (601) 987-3995
day@mmvc.state.ms.us
The number is 643.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Wilson, General Manager Mr. Brad McMahan, Internet Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Wilson, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING

Alternate Business Names
Howard Wilson Chrysler-Jeep, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary, bad service from a 100K checkup, did not preform services requested, billing in the wrong name, never responded to calls when I was told I was going to be called back, and reviewing the work done, can not tell if it was complete properly since old parts are still in place.

Desired Settlement: Just want to make aware there are issues and the service department is not giving good customer service.

Business Response: Thank you for the notification that we delivered less than satisfactory service to one of our customers.   We always want to know when we don't measure up so that we can improve. 

Mr. ***** brought his Jeep in on October 9th.  We preformed an oil and filter change, tire rotation and a tune up.  We gave him a quote on replacing the front and rear brakes and rotors, servicing the transmission, brake lines and coolant system.   We did not do this work. 

From what I understand, Mr. ***** got angry because we did not go ahead and do the extra work that we quoted.   We always give an estimated cost of repair and get approval before we do the work.  We want our customers to know exactly what the repairs cost and either approve them or budget them for a future date.  It was late in the day before we actually talked with him and we did not have time to do the remaining work.  Obviously we want to do the work but we certainly don't want to do anything against our customers wishes. 

I do not know why we did not respond to his calls.  That should never happen and I assure you it will be addressed with the service advisors.  Also, they are supposed to immediately verify the information in our computer system.  Our computer still showed the previous owner's name and address and it should have been corrected when Mr. ***** first arrived.  I am very sorry that we did a poor job in communicating with him.  Additionally, I will be happy to meet with Mr. ***** personally to inspect the repairs if there is any doubt that we did not do the work we charged him for. 

We sincerely want all of our customers to be happy with their cars and our service.   I am very sorry we did not meet that objective in this case.  Please feel free to call if I can help in any way. 

**** ******























?

Consumer Response: I made a mistake going to Wilson's for service.  By **** ******'s reply, I noted there is not a shred of concern about the customer or correcting the issues that starts at the top.  Management, sets the tone and it is rotten as far as I can tell.  In his message, Mr ******, states, I can contact him, yet leaves no contact information.  Well that spoke volumes.  Side note:  I tried to contact the management at Wilson's before I responded to and rejected the reply, only to get the same overall treatment from the supposed General Manager.  I called asking for the service or general manager, routed to the voice mail of the general manager, left my information, and same as staff no return call.  This has been several days past now.


As a paying customer, I have the ability to choose.  With other dealerships who excel at the customer care and provide superior support, and even take care of the smallest details like a courtesy wash, vacuum and explain what was done showing and explaining the who, what, and why...well I learned my lesson.  Not all dealerships are the same and Wilson fails in comparison, I only went there cause I made the assumption they were the experts in this vehicle.  I did not ask for anything beyond what I needed for service and was willing to pay for it.  What I got was a lot of excuses, questionable work, and low brake pads that needed servicing.  All in all not a good day. 

Business Response: I am very sorry I did not leave my contact information.  A simple oversight.  Normally I write on stationary that has the info printed on it.   My direct line at work  is 601.******** and my personal cell is 601.********.  One note: I turn off my cell around 8:00pm and it is on around 8:00am everyday.  Otherwise, I am available. 

I have voice mailboxes on both and I return ALL of my phone calls.  And I expect our employees to do the same. 

I am sorry we have done such a bad job in With Mr. *****.  We try very hard to take care of all of our customers and will continue to do so with him.

11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck in for repairs and the service department proceeded to further damage my trucks motor. By over filling the crankcase with oil Howard Wilson Dodge caused a catastrophic engine failure. They have since refused repairs as well as lie about the facts of this matter. I have proof of these facts.

Desired Settlement: I would like a fair settlement and a refund of the money I spent or reimbursement for the repairs, a refund would be $*******, reimbursement is $*******

Business Response: Good Afternoon Thank you for the opportunity to address this concern. We have discussed this issue with Mr. *** on a number of occasions. Several months ago, Mr. ***'s truck ran hot. He brought it in for this problem and we advised him to replace the engine. This engine has a lot of aluminum components and will not tolerate overheating. After further discussion he authorized us to do repairs to the cooling system and to replace one of the heads. This is the bulk of the expense he has incurred. Several months and 3000 miles later he advised us that he experienced internal engine failure while traveling in Anniston AL. He alleges that this engine problem was due to the engine having been overfilled with oil. We strongly disagree. First off, I do not believe that we overfilled it with oil. Second, he drove the truck over 3000 miles after he mentioned this to us and finally, in over 30 years in this business, I have never heard of catastrophic engine failure caused by overfilling the crankcase with oil. His engine failed due to the damage done when he originally ran it hot. It should be noted that the truck has high performance equipment which will reduce the lifespan of the engine. Also, it has over 155,000 miles on it. Most recently, we discussed putting a used engine in the truck and we made substantial discounts to do this. He declined. Subsequently, I decided that this is not the best way to repair the truck so we have removed that offer. A used engine is not guaranteed and we have not very good success repairing vehicles with used engines. We have quoted him a discounted cost to repair it with a remanufactured engine. It is unfortunate that Mr. ***'s engine failed, but we have done nothing to cause it. We have tried to be very fair in correcting his problem. Please let me know if you need any additional information. Sincerely,**** ******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The comments in reply to my complaint are not the facts of the matter. I was told from the first visit that my engine  was fine and only the coolant system needed to be replaced. I asked that the cylinder head be checked and either machined or replaced, I was told by the people working in the service department that the head was fine and the truck needed only a coolant system. When I came to pick the truck up after spending over $******* on the coolant system, I discovered immediately that my truck was still having the exact same problem, it had not been repaired. It was then that I was told that I needed an engine. I asked that some of the money I had just spent by applied toward an engine. I was then advised that all the truck needed was a new head and not an engine. I was prepared to replace the engine from the beginning if I had been advised to do so, however after spending almost $******* based on good faith that this dealership would deal honestly and having nothing but trouble I was not willing to spend over$******* more for a problem that should never have happened. In addition, overfilling a crankcase with oil can and will cause extreme pressure to build up leading to precisely the type of engine failure that has occurred. I will be happy to provide evidence to support all of my statements as well as proof that Howard Wilson Dodge has and continues to make false claims concerning this matter.

***** 

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Business Response:

Good afternoon and I appreciate the opportunity to further address this concern. As Mr. ****** previously stated, it is unfortunate that Mr. ***’s engine has failed, but after fully looking into this we have done nothing to cause the engine failure. Mr. *** did have us do repairs to the cooling system and one of the heads. He was given a discount on the bill for those items at the time it was done. After 3000 miles being put on the truck and an engine failure, Mr. *** brought the truck back in to us (from Anniston AL) and we have offered him a remanufactured engine at a reduced cost. The retail cost of the remanufactured engine including labor is $***** plus tax – we offered Mr. *** this remanufactured engine at a discounted price of $***** plus tax, which he declined. We feel this is the best way to repair the truck, due to the lack of guarantee that is inherent to a used engine being put in his truck. We have thoroughly taken all factors into account in this matter and we have attempted to offer a fair resolution to Mr. ***’s issue. We offered the remanufactured engine with a discount of $***. In addition, at this time we are willing to offer that same discounted price of $***** and are willing to further discount $*** which is the amount that Mr. *** paid for the head work. He still retains the benefit of the cooling system work that he paid for. That would put Mr. *** having to pay $***** plus tax for a remanufactured engine to be installed in his truck. All factors considered, we believe this to be a most fair offer in correcting his problem. Please contact me if you need any more information in regards to this. 
Sincerely,
**** *******
General Manager

Consumer Response:   Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

When I brought my Dodge Ram 1500 truck to Howard Wilson due to the engine overheating I asked that the right side cylinder head be checked for damage. I left the truck at the dealership for any needed repairs. After a few days I was told by the service department that the head was fine and my coolant system needed to be replaced, I was assured that this would fix the problem. Howard Wilson Dodge proceeded to replace my coolant system and charged me over $******* for a new coolant system. After paying almost $******* for what turned out to be an unnecessary coolant system replacement, the truck was still not fixed. I Realized this as soon as I picked the truck up( obviously no one had test driven the vehicle) because the truck was still in the exact running condition it had been when I first brought it in, which is to say that although the vehicle could always crank it had not been repaired. The Engine was running no better at all. I Made a U-turn and immediately took the truck back to the service department, no more than 5 minutes had gone by since I had paid and picked the truck up. I was then told that the truck may need an engine, I asked that some of the nearly $******* that I had paid just moments before be applied toward the new motor. I was immediately advised that all the truck" really needs  is a new cylinder head". I was prepared to replace the engine from the beginning, but I was told it was the coolant system, I was prepared to replace the engine again , but I was told all it " really needs is a new cylinder head" , so once again I took the advice of the dealership and paid for a new head. After paying out an additional $***+ I again was assured that the truck was repaired. It was not. I had to return to Howard Wildon Dodge a third time because the truck was not running properly. It was then that I noticed the oil level had been grossly overfilled, along with not running properly there were several other issues with the 'repair' work. The truck was taken back to the service department for the Third time in a couple of weeks. I addressed the issues and literaly showed the serv. dept. manager as she stood with me looking at my engine, in person. The engine had been overfilled by at least several quarts of motor oil, This was never drained to to appropriate level I later learned. I was prepared to do whatever needed to repair the vehicle, I was not expecting to be milked or fleeced. The so called "reduced" price of an engine replacement is a continued insult. I have a letter written by the service department manager that I believe directly contradicts the statements made to the BBB regarding this matter. I also have copies of my service record as well as photographs all of which, in my opinion, contradicts the replies to my complaint. I believe that Howard Wilson Dodge owes me an apology as well as a refund of my money.




 

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Business Response:

Good evening.  With all factors considered, we did repair the main cause of initial concern as listed in Line A of the repair order #******.  This was an overheating problem. It was noted on Lines A, B, E and D of that same repair order that there were still engine problems. The truck was then driven 3,000 miles before the engine failed. For that and other reasons previously stated, we feel that nothing we did caused the engine failure. We maintain that Mr. *** still will still retain benefit of the cooling system work that was done once he has another engine put in his truck. While the initial work was being done, as listed on Line E of repair order ******, the valve cover was removed and the rocker reinstalled at a charge of $***. The offer we have made is a discount of $***** off the retail price of the remanufactured engine and installation. $*** of that discount is equal to the amount Mr. *** paid us for engine head work(repair order # ******). The discounted price we have offered up to this point is $***** plus tax. We are willing to make a final offer to Mr. *** of an additional discount. The last and final offer we are able to make in hope of resolving this issue is that we will discount an additional $*** - Making the price Mr. *** would have to pay for a remanufactured engine to be installed in his truck $***** plus tax. We believe that, all factors considered, this final offer is fair to Mr. ***.

Sincerely,

**** *******, General Mananger

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The vehicle never needed the entire coolant system replaced, the water pump and other components of the coolant system, except for possibly the thermostat, never needed to be replaced. The only reason I authorized this work was because I was told by the service department manager that this was the only problem with my truck and I was assured that replacing the coolant system would fix the problem and repair the truck. I was also told that the cylinder head was fine and did not need to be repaired or replaced. All of this turned out to be incorrect. After paying Howard Wilson Dodge over $**** based upon the assurance that this was the problem, replacing the coolant system did absolutely nothing to repair the vehicle. The truck was not in any way fixed or repaired after replacing the coolant system. I was then told that the cylinder head needed to be replaced (this was my initial concern and the reason I brought the truck in to begin with) although I had been told from the beginning that the cylinder head was not the problem and did not need to be repaired or replaced. I have a letter written by the service department manager in which several false statements are made, I included a copy of this letter in my past statement. I have not been dealt with or treated in a fair and professional manner by this company. My truck has been repaired by a different service department. I do not need nor would I necessarily want to have Howard Wilson Dodge do any more so called 'repairs' to any vehicle I own after the way I have been treated by that particular dealership. I would like an apology and a refund of the money I spent on the coolant system due to the fact that this work did nothing whatsoever to repair my truck, in fact after this unnecessary expense my vehicle was still in the exact same condition as when I first brought it in. I gave the people at Howard Wilson Dodge every opportunity and benifit of dought in the hope that at some point I would be dealt with fairly, fairness was all I ever asked of them. I do not believe that asking to be treated fairly is asking too much. I will settle for a refund of the $******* that I spent on the coolant system, since this did nothing to repair my vehicle. That is the least amount that I will settle for, either by check or cash not in the form of "discounted" services.

 

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Business Response:

As we have maintained, due to an overheating concern, the cooling system work was both needed and done and it was approved and paid for by Mr. ***.  As previously stated the repair order noted that problems did still exist after the cooling system work and the truck was driven with no further complaint for 3,000 miles before the engine failure occurred. Regardless of where any further work is done, Mr. *** still has the benefit of the new cooling system components. We feel we have been more than fair in the offers we have made and we also believe that we have all treated Mr. *** and this issue with professionalism and attempted to address his concerns in a timely manner. We reject Mr. ***'s request for a $***** refund.

Sincerely,

**** *******, General Manager

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

The information provided in response to my complaints continues to disregard the facts of this matter. The fact is my truck ran hot. The fact is that I took my Dodge Ram 1500 to Howard Wilson Dodge and told the service department manager that I felt my truck needed the Right Side Cylinder Head repaired or replaced. The fact is that after leaving my vehicle with the service department I was advised that the cylinder head was fine and the truck needed a new coolant system. This was what I was told so I approved the work. After paying over $******* for this coolant system my vehicle was in no way repaired. The truck was still in the same running condition after the coolant system work and after a bill, which I paid in full, as it was when I first dropped the truck off. I made an immediate u-turn back to the service department. it was then that I was told that I needed to replace the cylinder head. Why would I have paid over$******* and then tried to pick my truck up if I had not been assured that a coolant system was all that was needed? It makes no sense at all to pay that much and not have my cylinder head replaced. I am amazed at the lengths to which a large dealership such as Howard Wilson Chrysler Dodge has gone to conceal the the facts about this matter. To say that I was advised to have more work done after they replaced the components in my coolant system is at the very least misleading. This company took my hard earned money time and time again. They told me that I did not need to repair or replace the head, and after paying for the coolant system, they told me I did need a new head just moments later. They overfilled my crankcase with motor oil and claim that it never happened even though I have the photos to prove that it did. The facts support every statement I have made and refute the claims of Howard Wilson Dodge and its representatives. The only fair resolution to this matter is a refund of the money that I paid for unnecessary work, that amount being no less than $*******

 

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Business Response:

In the times Mr. *** has brought any concerns to us, we feel we have been both timely and fair in addressing them. We believe the offer we have made is fair in this circumstance.

Sincerely,

**** *******
General Manager

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Howard Wilson Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart