BBB Accredited Business since

Cowboy Maloney Appliance Center

Phone: (601) 948-5600 Fax: (601) 949-8930 1313 Harding St, Jackson, MS 39202 View Additional Email Addresses http://cowboy-maloney.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cowboy Maloney Appliance Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cowboy Maloney Appliance Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cowboy Maloney Appliance Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1952 in MS Business incorporated 08/24/1990 in MS
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Schneeberger, Corporate General Manager Mr. Edward Maloney, President Mr. J. Con Maloney, Chairman Mr. John A. Maloney, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Schneeberger, Corporate General Manager
Business Category

APPLIANCES - MAJOR - DEALERS ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES - DEALERS FURNITURE - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Cowboy Maloney's Electric City Riverwood Home Appliances, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1313 Harding St

    Jackson, MS 39202 (601) 948-5600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a customer who purchased a 24,000 BTU air conditioner in 2014. It has stopped working properly and our house and the temperatures in Vicksburg, MS are up to 100 plus degrees. My husband is disable with diabetes, high blood pressure and COPD. He takes at least 14 pills a day and as of Monday, 20 Jul 15 - we have been jerked around between the warranty company and Cowboy Maloney in Vicksburg, MS on a year one air conditioner that has a warranty and has only been used about 4 months out of one year. We are suppose to be getting a replacement and for whatever reason - authorization is slow on approving that issue as well. My question is this if my husband God forbids dies due to the heat and medical problems - who will be held responsible?

Desired Settlement: Replacement or Refund so we can purchase another ac unit like yesterday!

Business Response:

WE REPLACED THE UNIT

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased an LG 47" Class 120HZ Smart TV on 11/16/1913 from Cowboy Maloneys in Clinton. The salesman tried to sell us an extended warranty but we declined because we had previous bad experience with extended warranties that did not cover everything and had to pay for services and we had read articles about extended warranties advising not to purchase them because they were just another way to get money out of you. The first part of June, 1915 this TV stopped working. When I called Cowboy Maloney's where I purchased it and talked to the salesman, he said we should have purchased the extended warranty because it was only under warranty for one year and we had owned it 18 months. He said we should take it to Cowboy Maloney's off I-55 and Briarwood Drive in Jackson and that the service department would charge us $62.50 to check to see what is wrong with the T. V. and then whatever it costs to repair it. I called Con Maloney an owner of Cowboy Maloney's and he said I should have purchased the extended warranty and gave me all these analogies such as life insurance was not worth it unless you died or a car extended warranty, etc. I told him that I did not think they should charge $62.50 just to analyze and tell me what was wrong with the T. V. He said they had to charge because the equipment costs so much. He asked if they had my T. V. and had charged me the $62.50 and I said no that we did not bring it to them. He said that if we had he would give me the T. V. back and the $62.50 back but that was all he would do. He later called me back and said that he had informed his service department to give any information requested by a T. V. repair service I chose as if that would help me out. I think he didn't want me to file a complaint or tell my neighbors and friends about the bad experience I had with him.

Desired Settlement: I don't think they should charge to tell me what is wrong with the T. V. A $730.00 television should last longer than 18 months. I also think they should offer a replacement or repair at a reduced cost.

Business Response: MANUFACTURER WARRANTIES LAST 1 YEAR FROM DATE OF PURCHASE---THIS IS STANDARD POLICY---ADDITIONAL COVERAGE IS AVAILABLE IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSES TO PURCHASE SUCH COVERAGE---THIS IS ALSO STANDARD POLICY---WE WISH CUSTOMER HAD PURSUED THIS OPTION THEREFORE WOULD INCURR NO OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE TO REPAIR----THE SERVICE CHARGE TO EXAMIN THE PRODUCT IS CONSISTANT WITH ANY SERVICER REPAIRING ANY PRODUCT---WE WILL REPAIR THE TV AS INEXPENSIVELY AS POSSIBLE ONCE IT HAS BEEN DETERMINED WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE 

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a couch was told it would take 2 weeks to come in it took 2 months when it did come in the couch was damaged and the loveseat was not what we ordered and didn't receive the wedge at all. The manager of the Clinton store acted as if he were doing us a favor by leaving the furniture until they could reorder what we ordered. The new furniture come in after a month, in the process of this all we had to get involved with the General Manager (***) to get any answers. *** promised us he would mail us a $250.00 check for our troubles after weeks of not receiving we called and were told that Tower Loan was mailing one in a day or two. That was two weeks ago, I called tower loan to see about the check and they infact don't mail checks they only do a credit. Problem is that no Cowboy Maloney employee we have dealt with has actually done what they told us they were going to do. This is the second purchase from there in three years we have made that we have had problems with damage when the item was delivered and have gotten the run around each time.

Desired Settlement: All I ask is that we receive the $250 we were promised in check form since we have it set through tower loan for 24 months of no interest to finance this furniture. I would rather have the money up front instead of credited to the account.

Business Response: CUSTOMER WAS TOLD TOWER LOAN WOULD FORWARD THE CHECK SINCE HE FINANCED HIS PURCHASE THROUGH THEM---WE WILL FOLLOW UP WITH TOWER LOAN

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 27, 2015, Cowboy Maloney delivered a "new" Samsung side-by-side refrigerator to our new home, which was paid for by our home builder. Both doors on the refrigerator were damaged. Why did they deliver a damaged refrigerator? The delivery man made a note on the ticket that new doors would be ordered and they would call to make an appointment to install them. After 3-4 weeks and no call, I began to leave messages with ***, our salesman. He finally called back after about the several messages. He got the serial number and said he would order the doors and call to make an appointment to install. Why had they not already been ordered? A week or two passed, then *** calls back to tell me the number I gave was wrong and he needed the correct serial number. I called back and gave the number again, even offered to email it because I had taken a picture of it from the side of the refrigerator. *** said he'd call and try to order the doors again. After a few more weeks and no word, I called to speak with one of the owners, Maloney Brothers, he assured me we would be taken care of and handed me off to *****. ***** called and got the serial number again, I emailed it to him. He said he would order the doors and someone would be in touch to install. He said allow 2 weeks. That was on 05/18/2015. I have not heard a word from them. I sent ***** an email today that explained my frustrations (again, he already heard it one time). And never heard from him or anyone at the store. I didn't even go into the problems we had even trying to buy the refrigerator from ***. It was dreadful, I felt like he couldn't care less about selling a product, I even spoke to one of the owners about that problem during the time (early February).

Desired Settlement: At this point, I don't feel like we deserve to wait on the "new doors" anymore, I would request that Cowboy Maloney come as soon as possible and pick up this refrigerator and replace it with one that is not damaged. I like to do business local but will rethink that when I purchase my next appliance.

Business Response: WE ARE CONTACTING SAMSUNG ON THIS ISSUE---IT IS UNDER MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY AT THIS POINT---SAMSUNG HAS THE RESPONSIBILITY TO RESOLVE

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Cowboy Maloney has said they are contacting Samsung for weeks now. They should have never delivered a damaged product. Not acceptable.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: WE CONTACTED SAMSUNG AND THEY HAVE AGREED TO REPLACE---THE CUSTOMER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  If I have not heard from Cowboy Maloney in a couple of weeks, which has been my past experience, I will notify you and request that this complaint be reopened.
Thanks,

**** *******

 

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dryer on July 19, 2014. It was a new product. Within 1 month of owning the dryer, it quit working and would not start. We thought there was something wrong with the breaker, so we had a friend who was an electrician come by 4 days after it broke and see if that was the problem. He indicated to us that it looked like a problem with the front electronic board. I contacted Cowboy Maloney to see about returning the item or having it fixed and I was told that the warranty is with Whirlpool and that it cannot be returned or replaced without consent from the Whirlpool Co. In other words, Whirlpool had to decide if it needed to be returned. I contacted Whirlpool and they told me it would be 2-3 weeks before they could see about the dryer and gave a date of October 1 (today). I have patiently been waiting for the service man to arrive for WEEKS and missed more than a half a day of work today to be here when he arrived. I was told by the servicing man that the electronic board was defected and that another board would need to be ordered and that I was looking at a minimum of one more week (maybe more) for the part to be ordered and for him to return to replace it. I do not feel I should have to wait almost an entire month without a dryer for this issue to be resolved, so I called Cowboy Maloney back while the Whirlpool service man was still at my home and he told the manager the electronic board was defected. He also told the manager that I was upset about being without a dryer for weeks and that I had clothes mildewing and piled high. The Cowboy Maloney manager told the service man that they would take care of it and he left the house handing the phone back to me. However, the manager proceeded to tell me that he would have to get approval above himself to allow me to return or replace the defected dryer. My request was to get a new non defected dryer even if it meant I had to pay more money and that they could wait for the part to be ordered and replaced through Whirlpool. The man said he would call to get permission above himself and call me back. He returned a call at 3:30 today to tell me that I have no choice but to wait another week for the defected part to be replaced by Whirlpool because I bought the dryer in July. He said if the dryer had broken within the first two weeks they would have replaced it, but it's been 4-6 before mine broke. I feel I have been treated unfairly and that I as a customer of Cowboy Maloney can be sold a defected item and then just told to “deal with it” and then place all the responsibility on Whirlpool who does not seem to have enough service workers to manage the area since it takes several weeks to get them to look at the defected item. I have a full-time job and operate my own business in evening hours and I do not have the time to take several loads of laundry to the Laundromat. I purchased this dryer within a day of my old one braking because I can't go without it. I feel I deserve a properly function dryer that I did pay for and then paid Western Auto pick up and deliver to my home. The seller of the defected appliance and not the buyer should be responsible for having it repaired. I am completely dissatisfied with both Cowboy Maloney and Whirlpool on how this situation has been handled. I've had to buy close to $50.00 in towels, I had family visiting for an entire week and did not have a dryer while they were here (nightmare), and we have clothes and other towels that I'm afraid are ruined because of mildew. I was laying the wet towels out to dry all over the house until company arrived. I am at my breaking point and all I would like is a dryer that I just paid for to work or simply replaced with one that does work. No one has suffered nor taken responsibility for the defective item other than me, the buyer. If something breaks within a few months of purchasing, then there is something wrong and it should not be left up to the buyer to suffer the consequences. It should be the seller of the item or the company in which the warranty is under. Neither one has done anything good for me on this situation. I will never buy a Whirlpool product and definitely will not purchase an item from Cowboy Maloney's based on their return policy for defected items.....nor will any of my family members, friends and anyone else I can tell.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a properly functioning dryer and I want it a.s.a.p. I've already been weeks without one. This was NOT an old worn out dryer. It was defected to break within a month of purchase. It was not a used dryer, so there is no excuse for the electronic panel going out within the first month. My only fault in this was waiting 4-5 days for our electrician friend to see about our breaker and not calling on the day it broke, however, it would still have been on the forth week of purchase and not the 2nd, so Cowboy Maloney would have still not taken care of us, the customer on this purchase.

Business Response: THE PART HAS BEEN ORDERED AND SERVICER WILL RETURN TO CUSTOMERS HOUSE TO PERFORM REPAIR AS PER POLICY----IF REPAIR PROVES UNSUCCESSFUL IN RESOLVING ISSUE THEN WE WILL CONTACT WHIRLPOOL SEEKING REPLACEMENT

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought a refrigerator, and we were told the as is was or dents on the floor. It had a year warranty, and it was a good name brand. We bought it with the understanding that we could pay it off in 4 months. We wanted to help *** to build up his credit. We had it 3 months and it stopped working. We called them, and they were not friendly at all, and give us the repairman's name. We called the repairman, and he said he did not have good service from them. We also were told after a month we had to pay it off on their payment. I told them you lied to us. They got ugly. There was three of us that heard her say we could pay it off in 4 months. Getting back to the problem. He came out and the part is on a huge back log for the computer board. The repairman said it would be better to exchange the appliance, because he did not know when he would get the part in due to the backorders. Cowboy Maloney's still would not work with us. We were eating out of coolers. My husband did manage to get them to give a loaner that is small. All we want is a good appliance. We pay them and now we have nothing. Thank You, ******* *** and *** ***

Desired Settlement: We just want a new fridge to replace our new one, but in a different brand. We also want to go to our original agreement. Thank you, ******* *** and *** ***

Business Response:

Financing is done by a third party not Cowboy Maloney's.Customer will have to contact the finance company to resolve that issue .As for the product,if the part is on back order for an extended period of time they can return it  and select another product.Note the unit was purchased "as is" at a discounted price. No guarantee that another one at same price will be available

 

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The extended warranty provided is worthless with the Bosch dish washer we bought. The sprayer detached and the warranty company did not respond and then denied the claim. The warranty service is horrible and we wasted our money on this service.

Desired Settlement: The business needs to provide better extended warranty product.

Business Response: we are contacting customer and warranty company to see if we can assist----

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/1/2013 I purchased a Whirlpool Gas Dryer from ******* ****** at Riverwood Home Appliances (aka: Cowboy Maloney's Electric City) in Pearl, MS. Before purchase was completed I asked at least twice if the LP Conversion Kit was included in with the product. Both times I was assured it came with the Dryer. I live 125 miles from the location of purchase so I wanted to be assured I would have all necessary parts needed for the installation of the dryer. Needless to say, I had to make a 250 mile round trip to purchase the LP Conversion kit from another company that is not affiliated with Cowboy Maloney's. This caused an increase of at least $150 on the product. Before two weeks of actual use of the dryer - approximately 5 or 6 totals hours of operation of the appliance; the dryer failed to heat. Cowboy Maloney's said that I had to contact the manufacturer. The company refuses to try and exchange the product, nor refund my money; which with the additonal part and additional fuel I have spent over $150 over the purchase price. I have to contact the OEM to get approval to return a product; I feel this is an extremely unjustified reaction on the part of Cowboy Maloney's Electric City. I feel the company has sold me a product, and now will not stand behind their products.

Desired Settlement: I either want a complete refund of all monies that I have spent at this time; or I want a prompt exchange of the product and the additional part that is needed for the LP conversion. I would at least expect the company to do the above or have it repaired immediately. I should not have to arrange for repair for a product that I just purchased, nor should I have to try and negotiate and have no resolutions available to me. I feel that this company has sold me a defective product and now that they have my cash - they are no longer concerned with me or my problems.

Business Response: will contact customer and offer to exchange the product

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution was satisfactory to me.  But before I had gotten this response from ******* ****** - I had already contacted The Whirlpool OEM Repair. 

HL&M Repair in Greenwood, MS repaired the dryer promptly.  So return and exchange of the appliance was not necessary; but the offer of exchange was very much appreciated.  

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service