BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Mississippi

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cowboy Maloney Appliance Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cowboy Maloney Appliance Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1952 in MS Business incorporated: 08/24/1990 in MS
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Maloney, President Mr. J. Con Maloney, Chairman Mr. John A. Maloney, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Schneeberger, Corporate General Manager
Business Category

APPLIANCES - MAJOR - DEALERS ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES - DEALERS FURNITURE - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Cowboy Maloney's Electric City Riverwood Home Appliances, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1107 Highland Colony Parkway  Suite 113

    Ridgeland, MS 39157 (601) 707-5378

  • 1313 Harding St

    Jackson, MS 39202 (601) 948-5600

  • 1444 Old Aberdeen Road

    Columbus, MS 39701

  • 1800 S. Frontage Road, Suite C

    Vicksburg, MS 39180 (601) 630-9813

  • 3869 N. Gloster Street

    Tupelo, MS 38804

  • 4700 Hardy Street, Suite J

    Hattiesburg, MS 39402 (601) 264-8955

  • 5465 I 55 N

    Jackson, MS 39206 (601) 956-5323

  • 572 Bonita Lakes Drive

    Meridian, MS 39301 (601) 482-0033

  • 600 Grants Ferry Road

    Brandon, MS 39047

  • 645 S. Pearson Road

    Pearl, MS 39208 (601) 932-6900

  • 910 Sawmill Road, Suite 205

    Laurel, MS 39440 (601) 649-1303

  • 941 Highway 80 E, Suite A

    Clinton, MS 39056 (601) 924-1313

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (601) 992-5028(Phone)
  • (662) 327-1365(Phone)
  • (662) 642-1365(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought a refrigerator, and we were told the as is was or dents on the floor. It had a year warranty, and it was a good name brand. We bought it with the understanding that we could pay it off in 4 months. We wanted to help *** to build up his credit. We had it 3 months and it stopped working. We called them, and they were not friendly at all, and give us the repairman's name. We called the repairman, and he said he did not have good service from them. We also were told after a month we had to pay it off on their payment. I told them you lied to us. They got ugly. There was three of us that heard her say we could pay it off in 4 months. Getting back to the problem. He came out and the part is on a huge back log for the computer board. The repairman said it would be better to exchange the appliance, because he did not know when he would get the part in due to the backorders. Cowboy Maloney's still would not work with us. We were eating out of coolers. My husband did manage to get them to give a loaner that is small. All we want is a good appliance. We pay them and now we have nothing. Thank You, ******* *** and *** ***

Desired Settlement: We just want a new fridge to replace our new one, but in a different brand. We also want to go to our original agreement. Thank you, ******* *** and *** ***

Business Response:

Financing is done by a third party not Cowboy Maloney's.Customer will have to contact the finance company to resolve that issue .As for the product,if the part is on back order for an extended period of time they can return it  and select another product.Note the unit was purchased "as is" at a discounted price. No guarantee that another one at same price will be available

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The extended warranty provided is worthless with the Bosch dish washer we bought. The sprayer detached and the warranty company did not respond and then denied the claim. The warranty service is horrible and we wasted our money on this service.

Desired Settlement: The business needs to provide better extended warranty product.

Business Response: we are contacting customer and warranty company to see if we can assist----

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/1/2013 I purchased a Whirlpool Gas Dryer from ******* ****** at Riverwood Home Appliances (aka: Cowboy Maloney's Electric City) in Pearl, MS. Before purchase was completed I asked at least twice if the LP Conversion Kit was included in with the product. Both times I was assured it came with the Dryer. I live 125 miles from the location of purchase so I wanted to be assured I would have all necessary parts needed for the installation of the dryer. Needless to say, I had to make a 250 mile round trip to purchase the LP Conversion kit from another company that is not affiliated with Cowboy Maloney's. This caused an increase of at least $150 on the product. Before two weeks of actual use of the dryer - approximately 5 or 6 totals hours of operation of the appliance; the dryer failed to heat. Cowboy Maloney's said that I had to contact the manufacturer. The company refuses to try and exchange the product, nor refund my money; which with the additonal part and additional fuel I have spent over $150 over the purchase price. I have to contact the OEM to get approval to return a product; I feel this is an extremely unjustified reaction on the part of Cowboy Maloney's Electric City. I feel the company has sold me a product, and now will not stand behind their products.

Desired Settlement: I either want a complete refund of all monies that I have spent at this time; or I want a prompt exchange of the product and the additional part that is needed for the LP conversion. I would at least expect the company to do the above or have it repaired immediately. I should not have to arrange for repair for a product that I just purchased, nor should I have to try and negotiate and have no resolutions available to me. I feel that this company has sold me a defective product and now that they have my cash - they are no longer concerned with me or my problems.

Business Response: will contact customer and offer to exchange the product

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution was satisfactory to me.  But before I had gotten this response from ******* ****** - I had already contacted The Whirlpool OEM Repair. 

HL&M Repair in Greenwood, MS repaired the dryer promptly.  So return and exchange of the appliance was not necessary; but the offer of exchange was very much appreciated.  

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1