BBB Accredited Business since

Dent Air Conditioning Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (601) 366-5338 Fax: (601) 366-5382 200 Sheppard Rd, Jackson, MS 39206 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


As Jackson, Mississippi's oldest air conditioning company, Dent Air Conditioning has been a family-owned and family-operated enterprise since 1954. We expanded in 2000 to include an Electrical Department and again in 2007 to add a Plumbing Division. With almost 60 successful years in the business, we've gained the long-term experience and expertise to deliver exceptional HVAC services. The Dent Air Conditioning company staff consists of seasoned professionals with years of NATE-Certified training and hands-on experience that includes everything from heater and air conditioner repair to HVAC product installations. At Dent Air Conditioning, we're licensed and qualified to do it all. From simple residential air conditioner repair to complex HVAC installations for new construction, our comprehensive service roster of HVAC specialists, electricians and plumbers allows us to take on multifaceted residential and commercial jobs. With other HVAC companies, you have to outsource for electrical and plumbing services. Because Dent Air Conditioning offers all three trades, we can provide everything from air conditioner repair to boiler installation, simplifying many projects.
•Air conditioner repair, replacement and new installation
•Heater repair, replacement and new installation
•Duct work
•Indoor air solutions
•Electrical and plumbing services
•Hot water heaters
•Preventive maintenance
•All equipment makes and models
•Whole House Water Filtration System

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dent Air Conditioning Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dent Air Conditioning Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1954 in MS Business incorporated 12/10/1982 in MS
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Mississippi State Board of Contractors
P. O. Box 320279, Jackson MS 39232-0279
Phone Number: (601) 354-6161
The number is 17563-MC.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thomas N. Dent Jr., President Ms. Pam Allen, Vendor Relations/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas N. Dent Jr., President
Business Category


Products & Services

Dent Air Conditioning Company sells the following brand(s): Bradford White, Carrier, Chief, Generac, Rinnai

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Card

Additional Locations

  • 200 Sheppard Rd

    Jackson, MS 39206

  • PO Box 4461

    Jackson, MS 39296


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dent Air was contracted by me with authorization to replace my water heater to be paid by home warranty company with the non-covered charges as my expense. On 11/18/15, the company plumber, **** arrived to my residence to install the new water heater. Which I had problems with his service as he arrived at my home demanding that I pay my non-covered charges first before any services was rendered, he stated the office told him to collect.. I gave **** my credit card and called Dent Air at 9:48 a.m. to speak with a manager there. I spoke with Mr. ***** ****. I asked him about do they collect first before they render services and he told me no, they collect after services has been done., I told Mr. **** that his plumber stated that his staff told him to collect my money before he render services. Mr. **** stated he know nothing about that and I asked him to look into the matter because it was offensive to me as being a client and to give me a call back about the status of this matter. Dent's plumber showed up at my residence with a gun visible in Dents service vehicle. I called Dents office again to complain and ***** **** was out so I talked with ****, a manager there at 11:57 a.m.. He stated he know nothing about this and took a message for ***** **** to handle my concerns. Mr. ` ***** **** at 1:47 p.m. as he stated that they don't have a problem with their techs having guns with them, but I stated that I do as a person client and a person that works in an entity of law enforcement. **** completed the replacement of my water heater, but I still had billing concerns with Dent Air and 2-10 warranty about being charged for expansion tank that wasn't installed but charged for. At 5:46 a.m. on 11/19/15, my husband and I woke up to water on our kitchen floor, the ceiling had water dripping from it. I made an immediate call to Dent Air 24/hr service at 601.******** and 601.********, where I left messages stating water on my kitchen floor from my attic and kitchen ceiling. I received a call from **** at 7:58 a.m. that **** was coming back out to my house. **** arrived and stated he was sorry and went up in the attic to fix the leak, but the leak wasn't the major issue. While **** replaced my water heater on 11/18/15, he knocked a hose out of a drain from my furnace. We showed **** what happen, he went back in the attic where he stated that he fixed the problem and removed the insulation for the water collected there could dry. He tole me husband first that he was so sorry for the inconveniences and he would personally handle this matter on his own. He stated that he would personally come and paint our ceiling and not to involve the company. I entered the kitchen where **** was talking to my husband and he apologized to me as well for all of the problems caused and he will come back out in a couple of days to fix the ceiling water damage problem. **** never showed and on 11/23/15, I called Dent Air requesting an itemized statement for charges rendered for services from Mr. ***** **** as well as advised him about the water damage to my ceiling that his plumber **** promised to repair. Mr. **** stated that nothing was reported to him about any damages and he would have the problem looked into. On 11/24/15 at 10:53 a.m., received a voicemail from Dent Air from a ****** to call her. I called ****** back as she stated that ***** wanted her to look into my ceiling claim and she talked with **** about it and he denied everything. I told ****** the conversation that my husband and I had with ****. He didn't want them to know. The brown water ****s in my ceiling is an eye sore and it is causing me not to showcase my home as it has been on the ****et to sell since August and for the holidays gatherings. I told ****** that their company need to come up with a solution to this problem as **** is an employee of theirs and has caused additional damage to my home from him servicing my home. ****** stated for me to contact my insurance and file I claim and I told her no. Then, she stated she would refer my concerns to *****. As on 12/9/15, I still haven't heard from Dent Air. I have pictures of the water damage take at 5:45 a.m. on 11/19/15. I have pictures of my ceiling taken before any repairs and my home has been shown before any repairs were made with no ceiling water damages.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting Dent Air to repair my ceiling water damage or any other compensation as soon as possible before the end of December 2015, as I have taken my home off for showing which is causing me additional monetary damages for my home because it can't be shown to buyers.

Business Response: Dent has visited the site and talked to the Ms ****** and agreed to patch/repair her ceiling as requested.

6/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dent Air Conditioning Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)