Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/11/2011

Minnkota Windows

Phone: (701) 282-7025Fax: (701) 282-7435

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/07/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Double hung windows that leak air. Are not energy efficient.
Purchased windows Minnkota Windows and a door from ******** Lumber of *****************, MN, March 2011. Work order # *****. Cost $13,322.00. Professional contractor installed windows and a door June, 2011. Home owner noticed the laminate curling up on windows sills. Contacted ******** Lumber and Minnkota Windows they sent out **** ******** service request form SR # ******* work dates 7/26-27/11 and 8/17/11. Fall of 2011 home owner notice the double hung windows leaking air bad. Informed ******** Lumber, he sent out ******, sales representative from Minnkota Windows she came on a calm day. She stated, " the windows don't leak". Home owner informed her that they do when it's windy outside. She said they didn't leak and left. Winter of 2012 home owner again notice on a cold windy day that the windows leak. Home Owner called Minnkota and informed ******** Lumber, ***** ******** **** from Minnkota Windows about window leaking air. Again they sent out ****** from Minnkota Windows, she told the home owner that all windows leak when it's really windy out. Home Owner asked her why they didn't put that in their sales pamphlet that the window leak if it's really windy out? If they would have, we wouldn't never bought them. She left. Informed ***** ******** from ******** Lumber, he said he could do any more for us. Winter 2012 had the original contractor come over on a windy day to evaluate windows, he verified that the window leak. He evaluate his installation of the window and said they were all level and could not see any installation error. After his findings we informed **** from Minnkota about the air leakage and the contractor's evaluation. Spring 2012, **** an independent contractor came and replace the weather stripping on all the double hung windows. Winter- Spring 2013 home owner notice the windows leaking cold air into the house. Called ****, of Minnkota, June 2013 he suggested to have **** who began working for Minnkota Windows and the home owner and their contractor do a evaluation together, to help figure out why the window are leaking air. They met on June 19, 2013. During the evaluation **** could not prove or explain to the home owner or contractor what the contractor did wrong during the installation of the windows. Contractor and home owner left, **** did more evaluations and left. Six to eight weeks later the home owner is still waiting to hear back from **** or anyone from Minnkota Windows. No word for Minnkota we finally had to called ****, he told us to call ****. We called **** he said it was the installer error and he had picture to prove it. We asked for the pictures to be sent to us. We never did get the pictures or written proof that the contractor was at fault. Three to Four weeks passed we finally had to called **** and ask him what going on and why no one has gotten back to us, he told us to call *** ******, sales manager for Minnkota Windows. Called *** and informed him about the situation. He told us he would get a hold of **** and then call us back. To this day, he has never gotten back to us. We do not have any written documentation or any proof from Minnkota Windows that the installer had put the windows in wrong. They have given us the run around for over two years. They do not even have common courtesy to call us back, we have always had to call them.

Desired Settlement
To have Minnkota Window replace and install all the Double hung windows on order # ***** with one that do not leak air and that are energy efficient. With no cost to the home owner.

Business Response
We are aware of the air infiltration complaint filed by the ********* and, unfortunately, we must dispute these claims.
On our initial visit regarding the air infiltration concerns our Service Representative noted the installation problems and made an effort to reduce the air infiltration by replacing weatherstrip on 16 windows. This effort was above and beyond any warranty requirements. We were simply attempting to make the home more comfortable until the units could be installed properly. Despite these efforts an abundance of air infiltration was still occurring and the ********* requested another service call. Minnkota requested that the homeowners and the contractor responsible for the installation would be present at this meeting. Our Rep began to point out that the most basic installation requirements were not met. The windows were out of level and not shimmed properly. Both these conditions were very apparent and are directly responsible for the air infiltration problem. Our Rep again pointed this out to the homeowner and showed it for the first time to the contractor, the contractor took immediate offense and refused to listen to our analysis. Our Rep proceeded to take photographs of the windows that clearly point out the improper installation. We can not be held responsible for windows that are installed improperly. Our inspections and pictures show these problems very clearly and we are offended by the claims made in this complaint. We will provide, again, our Installation Instructions and a copy of our written Warranty, to the homeowner. We will also provide all the photographs taken, along with notes, that document the problems with the installation. The Desired Resolution requested by the ********* is totally inappropriate. These windows need to be installed properly.

Consumer Response
This document is from our contractor that installed the windows.


October 27, 2013

Regarding the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and the response by
Minnekota window company.
I was hired in June of 2011 to remove 11 existing windows and reinstall 11 windows for **** and ***** ********. The windows were purchased by the ********s at ******** Lumber in *****************, MN.
At **** ********'s request I was present during a meeting on June 19th of this year at the ********s. At the meeting were **** and *** ******** and **** representing Minnkota Window Company. I did become offended when ****'s analysis began with the following.
***** informed me when there problems with windows it is 90% of the time due to installation
*The shimming of the windows was causing the windows to bow
*That I must of dropped the windows on the corners when they were installed
*That he knew how you guys put windows in
I did attempt to ask **** some questions but it was obvious that my questions were not going to be answered. I did leave when it became apparent that Minnekota windows had no intention of trying to satisfy their customers but were going place blame on the contractor.
As mentioned in the complaint filed by the ********s it was noted that the laminate on the extension jams on the windows was peeling. ******** Lumber yard in ***************** was contacted. Minnekoata windows "sent out **** ******** service request SR # 7,5,112 work dates 7/26/11 and 8/17/11." According to **** ******** extension jams were replaced on all the windows. In doing this the window trim had to be removed, the extension jams were removed which means the insulation and the shims would fall out. I was not present when this was done. If ****s analysis is correct regarding shim placement how can I be held responsible when the windows were altered after initial installation.
Regarding dropping of the windows on their corner; The windows were loaded at Minnekota company for shipment to ******** Lumber company then unloaded at ******** Lumber yard. The windows were loaded onto ******** Lumber yard truck for delivery to the ********s and unloaded at the ********s. According to **** I must have dropped 11 windows during installation. The windows were not dropped at any time after they arrived at the ********s.
I am a licensed contractor with 37 years of experience. I have installed windows from various manufactures, too numerous to count. My employees who assisted with installation of windows at ********s had at least each 15 years of experience. I am acquainted with ****** who is mentioned in the ********s complaint. She worked with me when I was contracted to install 52 Minnekota windows in a government office building in Red Lake Falls.
With knowledge that these windows were defective shortly after installation I do not understand how Minnekota can hold the customer or contractor responsible for present condition of the windows.

Business Response
November 7, 2013

Minnkota Windows requested the contractor be present during this most recent meeting. The goal was to discuss the obvious installation concerns. Our Service Representative is an American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) Certified Installer and had already done an analysis of the situation on previous visits. When he showed the contractor the level - the contractor left. This did nothing to help satisfy the customer. The windows are not level nor are they shimmed properly. During an initial visit he tried to compensate for the installation problem by re- weather stripping the units with a larger weatherstrip than is required if the units are installed properly. That effort, in itself, is above and beyond the requirements of our warranty. Unfortunately that effort did not alleviate the problem to the ********'s satisfaction. We did this to try to satisfy the ********s without "blaming" anyone.

The de-lamination and replacement of the extension jambs is a completely separate and unrelated issue. Jamb extensions do not have an effect on the air infiltration of a window. We acknowledged that there was a problem with delamination and addressed it promptly, without affecting the original installation. Shims are intended to be snug and fiberglass insulation is friction fit. Had either of these items fallen out they would have been replaced. The fact that we replaced defective jambs has nothing to do with the installation of the windows. No installation fasteners were removed, no additional shimming was done, and the level of the window would most certainly not have been affected. At that time our representative was there to replace jamb - not to re-install windows.

We have documented the problem, we have provided pictures to the ********s and we have attempted, unsuccessfully, to have a meeting with the contractor. We have tried to satisfy the ********s but we cannot be held responsible for windows that are clearly out of level and improperly shimmed. The Desired Resolution is completely inappropriate. These windows need to be installed properly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Doors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.