BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Window Company of Minneapolis, LLC

Phone: (763) 574-2054 Fax: (763) 574-2044 View Additional Phone Numbers 5100 Highway 169 N Ste B, New Hope, MN 55428 http://www.championfactorydirect.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Window Company of Minneapolis, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Window Company of Minneapolis, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Champion Window Company of Minneapolis, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/01/2003 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Todd Trabant, Division Manager Kathy Johnson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Todd Trabant, Division Manager
Business Category

Windows - Repairing Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors

Service Area
Minneapolis/St. Paul Metro area
Alternate Business Names
Champion Windows, Siding and Patio Rooms
Products & Services

According to information provided by Champion Window Company of Minneapolis is a Manufacturer and Installer of maintenance free home improvement products. Our four factories are located in Cincinnati and Denver.

Industry Tips
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Champion Window Company of Minneapolis, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5100 Highway 169 N Ste B

    New Hope, MN 55428 (763) 574-2054 (612) 326-5440 (612) 284-2979 (612) 284-7259

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion applied a charge of $500.00 to our account without providing any service and have yet to substantiate the dollar amount of $500.00. The following is a brief description of the experience my wife and had with Champion Window. My wife and I signed a contract for new windows with Champion in mid September. Before signing the contract I asked the factory representative about the cancelation policy. He told both my wife and I all we had to do was call in and cancel the project if we could not go through with the sale for any reason. He never referenced a 3 day rescind period. After I signed the contract in mid September, I filled out an addendum requesting Champion replace more windows than we originally agreed upon. Burke, the factory representative who came to our home for the original "free" estimate stopped by my office in Hopkins to pick up the contract addendum. Two weeks later the measurement of the windows took place. Upon the date of the measurement, Friday 10.2.15, it came to our attention that the contract was only for a retro fit window and not a full replacement. Andy told us he would order the windows the following Monday 10.5.15 after my wife and I discussed whether we wanted to full or half screens. We considered this over night as well as the fact that we were not going to receive the full window replacement but only a retro fit model. This became the major disconnect between us and Champion Window. My wife and I agreed that we were seeking a different solution to our windows, not a retro fit, and that we should no longer pursue the order that had been placed. To avoid any windows being ordered on our behalf I reached out to Champion Window. I called Burk (the factory representative) and sent him an email telling him to hold off ordering the windows, which he acknowledged. This took place on Saturday 10.3 and Sunday 10.4. I also called approximately 3 times on Monday 10.5.15 to confirm the order was canceled and only after a 3rd call at 4:30pm was I assured a call back the same business day. During my conversation with the sales manager Dan ******* on 10.5.15, he and I we were not able to come to an agreement about terminating the contract. He acknowledged there had been no order placed for my windows as of 10.5.15. He also suggested that since I was canceling after the 3 day period that I was breaking the law, that lawyers would also acknowledge that fact and that my only option was to forfeit 1/2 the job cost of $5,500.00 or move ahead with the full job. It seemed like he was threatening me with litigation if I didn't chose one of these options. Dan also told me that Burk had no recollection of the discussion which took place before I signed the contract regarding the buyer's ability to cancel the project. I called and left a message 10.7.15 Wednesday for Dan. I asked the Office manager Deborah if she could answer a couple questions about the status of my project to which she replied that she was instructed by Dan not to discuss any details about my project. Since no windows had been ordered, no work had taken place at our home and we do not wish to conduct business with Champion Windows I requested that the full amount charged to my account be refunded immediately and the contract nulled. Champion has canceled the order and refunded some of the money to our account, however there still resides a $500.00 balance. I've asked for a list of services or products that have been exhausted by Champion on our behalf to account for this $500 but still have yet to receive it. Their only explanation for this arbitrary charge their 3 visits to our home. However, they only visited our home 2 times. Once for the free estimate and once to measure the windows.

Desired Settlement: I will compensate Champion Windows for the one visit they made to our home to measure the windows, which lasted all of an hour. Their literature lists a nominal fee for a service call under their warranty for the windows. I recall that amount being $58.00. I consider this a fair settlement since no products or services provided by Champion to date will have gone uncompensated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/31) */ Mr. ****** decided to breach his contract with Champion well after his legal right to rescind had passed. In an effort to accommodate Mr. ******' wishes and provide our consumers with the best customer service possible, we honored his request with a small charge of less than 5% of his contract amount to cover administrative and field expenses incurred. There are many expenses that are rolled into "the cost of doing business" which are not itemized and charged as a singular expense to the consumer including: critical measure, lead and EPA testing, permitting and code compliance, accounting, administrative, etc. We have estimated the costs of these services and passed only that estimated cost on to Mr. ******. I am disappointed that the consumer is not appreciative of our efforts to accommodate him and his desire to continue to believe he has little or no obligation to honor the terms of the contract which he set forth. We consider the matter closed at this time. Respectfully, Dan ******* Division Manager Champion Windows Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The costs associated in the list of services provided by Mr. *******'s response would certainly warrant some charge had they taken place. I have seen no material proof that any Lead or EPA Testing has taken place for my residence, or that any code or permitting compliance efforts were rendered. No invoices were sent to my home. The windows were never created. No installation ever took place. I believe the $500.00 charge Champion Windows is applying to my account to be arbitrary and immeasurable by the standards provided in Mr. *******'s response. The only service provided at my home by Champion Window provided at my home was the critical measure which lasted 1 hour. Until a fair sum for this service is reached this complaint will remain on the BBB. It's unfortunate that Mr. ******* and Champion Window are unwilling to acknowledge the fact that their factory representative explained to both my wife and I that we could cancel the contract by simply "calling in." Burke, the factory representative from Champion Windows and our original contact was clear that should we need to cancel we could call in and end the deal, adding "we don't win customer service awards by forcing people to work with us." I assure that every part of this review is true, and I recommend thinking twice before getting involved with Champion Window for any level of business. Sincerely, Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/01/21) */ Again, we already honored customer's request with a small charge of less than 5% of the contract he chose to breach. This matter was supposed to be settled at the time we honored his request, which was prior to customer's original complaint to BBB. We are disappointed that the consumer is not appreciative of our efforts to appease him and his continued belief that he has no obligation to honor the terms of his legal contract with us. We consider this matter closed.

12/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two windows and payment was suppose to be a one time charge. Instead Champion decided to take payments off my cc card to pay for the fees. In September 2015 I decided to start replacing windows in my house. My house was built around 1953 and still has single pane windows. My heating bills average $300 to $500 per month every winter even with shrink wrapping all of them! I'm a single parent with 2 kids and work multiple jobs around the clock to make ends meet. I work very hard for what little I have. In 2013/14 I visited their showroom in New Hope, MN and learned that each window would cost me on average $400 to $600 per window. And I could pay for them one at a time. This year I'm in a position to purchase one window at a time per paycheck. So I called them up. I was looking for American made windows with a lifetime warranty. After a lot of research I settled on Champion Windows. My mistake. I wanted the bathroom window replaced first due to all the mold/mildew around the window and frame. The bathroom came with no exhaust fan and the window freezes shut in the winter time. When Burk, the sales person, arrived he informed me that the minimum job accepted by the company is $1500. I was NOT informed that AT ALL when I visited the showroom. I specifically told them I needed to pay one window at a time and the person I spoke to a year or so earlier said that would be fine. In fact, the company tried to get me qualified for financing that day I visited the showroom, but I was a no go due to my credit. So I settled for replacing the two windows in my daughters room instead. I wanted to have them replaced ASAP before the snow came this year. I also needed the whole window replaced frame and all due to the lead based paint in the window sills. Which Burk tried to talk me out of, but I wouldn't allow it. The whole entire frame and window needed to be removed and replaced. This doubled the price of the windows. Burk said he'd call me when he returned to the office. He NEVER called. A week and a half later the measurement guy finally called to schedule an appointment. And that took even longer to get! At this time I was very frustrated. The measurement guy informed me that they don't schedule new appointments until after the last appointments had been completed. Really!!! Talk about dragging out the time line! I'm totally disgusted with this Company's service standards. The measurements were finally taken and I was informed that the windows would take 5-8 weeks to arrive. I asked about speeding up the process so that I could have them in before winter, and was told NO! I was so disappointed in this company. How can they be an American made company and treat customers like this? My contract I signed states $1600 one time charge. Instead Champion Windows took it upon themselves to take payments of $480 per month to cover the credit card merchant fees and administrative costs. Who do they think they are? Is this even legal? When the Manager called me I was informed that lump sum payments were not allowed. Why? I'm still waiting to find out..... The bank has already refunded my money. Now I feel Champion Window Company needs to refund my bank. I personally consider this FRAUD!

Desired Settlement: Even though my bank refunded me back my money, I feel Champion Window Company needs to reimburse my bank.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/30) */ We apologize that this customer perceives that she had a bad experience with our company, but are confident that several of her claims are either misconstrued or simply did not happen. To answer the charges against us, I would like to point out some facts about our company's processes and policies in relation what we know of this transaction. *While we allow full payment at the time of contract, this customer's signed contract states that she agreed to two payments - one down payment and one final payment. We do not understand precisely what customer is unhappy about, but we do not "take payments" of any kind except what is spelled out on the contract. Further, customer signed an authorization for payment by Credit Card form for the amount of the down payment. Again, we're not clear about the complaint or customer's unhappiness with the terms of her contract. *We cannot speak to the customer's heating bills or personal status, nor if she actually visited our showroom in New Hope, MN. We get many prospective customers into the showroom weekly, so she likely did. However, it is company policy to not give prices in that manner and our reception staff is not trained in the pricing of our products. It is also company policy to not give any pricing without actual window measurements. Therefore, we are fairly confident that the pricing was not given to her during a showroom visit. *Customer is correct that we have a minimum order of $1500.00, but one window can be as much, depending on size and customer preferences. Until we see the window that's being replaced and speak to the customer about their needs and wants, we cannot determine the price of a window However, the customer states that she chose a different part of her project for this contract, and we believe our Factory Representative did his best to fit her with the product and pricing she desired. *Our windows are all custom-made and the time frame is clearly stated on the face of our contracts, so we are unclear what she means by "ASAP". Further, her critical measure appointment(the next step of our process) was made the same day as contract signing, so we are confident that her windows would have installed "before the snow came this year" per customer's desire had the measure taken place. In fact, the Measure Technician was not allowed to take measurements, because customer was very angry that we took the stated down payment instead of the full payment(?), which, as previously stated, was different from the contract she signed. *After the failed measure appointment, our Manager phoned customer, attempting definition and resolution for customer. Customer was hostile, belligerent and eventually hung up on our Manager, still upset about not paying in full for her window at start of contract. *We have made several attempts to reach customer with no response, eventually learning that she reported the charge of her down payment as a fraudulent charge. Understand that we have a signed contract defining the amount of the down payment that was charged, and a signed credit card authorization form that customer instructed us to take out of her account. *Customer's desired resolution has already been achieved before she contacted BBB. Had she wanted fully payment up front, we could have easily done it for her. We find it unfortunately that the customer did not understand the terms of her contract nor give us opportunity to correct the payment situation to her satisfaction. Respectfully, Deborah ****** Office Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Attached is a copy of my contract. The contract states amounts in full. If the company has a document that states I'm paying a down payments, then I'd like to see it in writing! Can anyone show me on any document about a down payments amount? Because I don't have a copy of it! The measurements were NOT taken the same day at all. The appointment was a week and a half later. The manager did call me just one time after I filed a complaint and I stop the charge card amount thru my bank. I have NOT heard from the company at all since that call. During the call I was informed that they were doing payments due to the merchant fees. I do NOT care to be lied too! This company sets a bad example for American businesses! ******

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to meet reasonable customer service expectations based on a 2nd window install in 2015, with the first being 1-yr prior. EE Debbie ignored me. A recent install of 4 windows left my wife and I totally shocked, as the vinyl clad aluminum wrap of my outside windows was done both completely different from the 9 windows I had installed last year and also had some areas of the wrapping material of the windows missing and left the windows exposed to the elements. Champion could not understand why I would want the final 4 windows they just did to match the 9 windows done last year. They also downplayed the fact that parts of the windows outside wrap was exposed to the elements. Also, the inside calk was not only sloppily applied, but cracked in 2 of the 4 windows. The installation crew for the recent install was demeaning to my wife and did not encourage communication and clarity about the process and what they were doing, unlike the crew from 2014. They also left cigarette butts in the yard which we had to ask them to clean up. When I asked them to come back out and first look at the problem and then to send a repair technician to fix the issues inside and outside, they never arrived at the times clearly agreed upon. There was no common decency or courtesy to meet even simple customer service that anyone would expect. This included Andy the measurer and the repair person who did the outside adjustments. When I spoke to Debbie at Champion regarding the issues and that these things are common sense and they should have matched the 4 windows installed this year with the 9 windows installed in 2014, she tells me that they did a great job because they came back to address the concerns in such a timely manner. When I asked her what they were going to do to provide a customer accomodation, she tells me the only thing they will do would be to provide us some cleaning bottles of Champion Windows's famous window cleaning solution. I told her thanks, but no thanks. That's not what I was looking for. In 2014, I gave this company a sterling review for the quality of the product and service provided when I was contacted by phone by an independent rating bureau. However, this year I was sadly disappointed in their customer service, which is part of what I am paying for, like anyone else (as well as their product quality). It has been an agonizing and frustrating experience with no apologies. I could only give this company a negative review and would not suggest that anyone use their services. It is only customer service that makes a company stand out in a crowded field. I thought this company realized that, but they simply don't. If you want to avoid headaches, I do not recommend this company until they provide a pattern of change, stating with Debbie in the front office, Andy, and the management of Chamption Windows.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a credit of $800 to $950.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ Mr. ******** is correct when he states that he had windows installed in 2014, with another window installation in 2015. The second installation took place on Friday, July 24, 2015. On Saturday morning, Mr. ******** called me regarding 20-30 cracks in the window caulking and wraps outside the window being backwards from the 2014 job. Within a half hour I arranged for the Window Installation Manager to come out to the customer on Monday, July 27th between 8:30-9am. Our Manager showed up at 8:20am and re-caulked where needed. He offered to have a technician to come out and re-wrap the new windows to match the 2014 job that same day. Mr. ******** refused immediate service and instead set it for Saturday, July 1, 2015 between 10am and 10:30 am. On Saturday, July 1, 2015 our technician showed up at 10:35am. He rewrapped the windows per instructions, and did not leave until Mr. ******** was satisfied. Mr. ******** can attest to this. Please note that the window wrapping was not installed incorrectly (we have photos to show that there were no "gaps" or exposed windows). They were, however, wrapped differently from the prior installation. Champion acted swiftly, respectfully and completely to satisfy the customer. Also note that the customer has not complained about the repairs or any other part of the installation, and has even stated that he loves his Champion windows since the service was performed. As for statements that the customer was being "ignored" by me, our installation crew being "demeaning" to Mrs. ******** or that "Champion could not understand why (I) would want the final 4 windows to match", they are simply not true. However, Mr. ******** has been combative and adamant that he will pursue and receive 25 to 30% off his job, and has spent much time and energy in attempts to do so. He threatened to file a complaint with you if I did not give him the money he feels is due, and so he has. We regret that we cannot satisfy this customer with the money he asks for, but it is against our policy and further, there is no justification for it. To restate, we treated this customer quickly, respectfully and effectively at all times. We will continue to offer respectful customer service and honor all agreements we have with Mr. ********. Please contact me if further information is needed. Deborah ******* Office Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It was just such a let down from the first install in 2014. A business separates itself from competitors by customer service that goes above and beyond. The product I bought included not just the windows but the manner in which a customer is treated. The office manager literally told me that I should have been happy with the customer service that I received from Champion (referring to their response to their initial shortcomngs, which is simply not true. They either came too early in the morning when I was sound asleep and the next time they were 35 minutes late. Deb ****** tells you part of the story (responding promptly, but never on time). If they could have been also more empathetic to someone who has now paid over $11,000 for windows and reflect an attitude of let's get it completely right the 2nd time, I could let the fact that they treated my wife poorly (demeaned her) and rushed the job (left window parts exposed to the elements) go. But they never did that on the follow up, thus I have no reason to let the matter go. The installation manager Andy comes to my house and all he can tell me is, "well technically they are allowed to wrap the windows the way they did (although they did not match my installed windows from 2014) As I said, I'm paying for service as well as the windows. Ask Champion what they are selling and they will tell you their service is the best in the business and their window are second to none. As is typically the case, this is an example of a company that does not know when to cut their losses. They loved my glowing review of what they provided in 2014, but now that I am unhappy with their service, and as Deb ****** further told me, they've done nothing wrong. I thought she was kidding when she says, "We can offer you two bottles of our world famous window washing fluid!". As I told Ms. ******* I'm open to a reasonable offer, but their glorious window washing fluid was not it. Perhaps she's manipulated customers in the past, but not this time. It's because of people like her that use selective hearing and try to minimize your points and elevate their own, that eventually means you have to push a little harder. You will note as well that she never once says anything courteous or appreciate about me as a customer, whereas I've mentioned on several occasions that they did a great job in 2014. Unfortunately for all, they sent the wrong crew to our house in 2015. As we all know, you have to take the good with the bad. Learn from your mistakes. You might be here today, but as they say, gone tomorrow! It's too bad as well, since siding on our house would have likely been the next capital expenditure I would have made. As the expression goes, they've left the barn door open too long, and now the chickens have all run out. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/04) */ We appreciate the opportunity to restate our position. We contracted with Mr. ******** and completed the installation professionally. When service was called for, we set an appointment and completed the service professionally. Of the two items the service was called for, one was legitimate and one was not; however, we performed both services without debate and to the complete satisfaction of Mr. ********, who has not called for further service on those two items or any other item since. We treated him promptly, respectfully and effectively at all times. Again, we regret that we cannot give Mr. ******** the money he is seeking. It is against our policy, and there is no justification for it. We will continue to offer respectful customer service and honor all agreements we have with Mr. ********. Thank you, Deborah ****** Office Manager Champion Window Company of Minneapolis

7/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought tempered windows for our bathroom, as required by law, but tempered windows were not installed. Champion is not fixing the issue. Over the last 11 months, we've dealt with every type of problem imaginable from Champion. We spent $18K to replace 11 windows. We ordered them in August and were told they would take 4-6 weeks to come in. When they finally came in Oct, one was the wrong size so they left us with plywood covering a front window for a month in winter. They finally fixed that at the end of Nov. They never contacted the city to set up an inspection, so the city called us in April to set up the inspection because the permit was about to expire. When the inspector came, he determined that the main bath window had to be tempered according to code. They had not put in a tempered window, even though we paid for one. The inspector also noted that one of the other bedroom windows was cracked. We contacted Champion and they sent someone out (mid-April). They told us we would have replacement windows within 4-6 weeks. We followed up after 6 weeks and they told me the windows were in, but they would be in touch to install. After another 2 weeks, we called again and shortly after, someone came out and measured the window (mid June). Because they had to measure it, it was obvious that they did not have the window and had no date when they would. We have now been told it will be 8-10 weeks for the windows to come in. We are frustrated with this company in that they installed product that was not what we paid for and didn't pass code. I'm also frustrated that they seem unwilling to put an emphasis on fixing the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the windows we paid for. In the case of the bathroom window, we would like the tempered glass windows that we purchased. In the case of the cracked window, we would like one that isn't cracked. And we would like both of these in a timely manner (before the end of July).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/02) */ We agree, Ms. *****, that your window order has not been up to par with our usual standards, and appreciate the opportunity to explain / correct the issues with your job dated 7/31/14 for the amount of $15,824.00, comprised of 12 windows. It is true that your windows took longer than usual to arrive from our factory. While it is not an excuse and as you may recall, each window is custom-made to fit its opening. Still, we apologize for that lack of getting your product into our location in a timelier manner. We started the job on 10/21/14 and found that one of the windows did not fit its opening and had to be reordered. While unfortunate, we covered the window properly and the new window arrived on 11/25/14. It was installed on 11/28/15 and the problem was solved. Regarding your concerns about the permit inspection, please know that it is normal for city inspectors to check for proper fire / smoke detectors in the home whenever certain improvements or renovations done. The Inspector must get into the home to do so. We can be present at the inspection if needed, but the homeowner must be present. We ask our customers to set up the appointment at a time convenient for them, and to then let us know if they need us further for this part of the process therefore, it is not part of our policy or industry standard to schedule inspections for customers. Our customers receive their own copy of their permit and call-in instructions for the city in a plastic folder at the end of the job for their convenience. I cannot confirm or deny that you received your plastic packet regarding permitting, but I can say that this is the first time we have received a complaint from a customer who appears not to know the inspection process. We are sorry if we caused any inconvenience with this item. Regarding the April 8th service: The proper parts were ordered as you described and received in our office late May. Customers are scheduled for services in the order we receive their parts. The amount of time it takes to complete the service can vary drastically depending on customer location, time required to perform service and service backlog. It is our goal to provide service as expeditiously as possible but it is not always possible for it to be as quick as we, or the customer, would like. Upon scheduling the service, our service technician became dubious regarding the size of one of the replacement parts and chose to re-measure before attempting to replace. This proved to be a good decision as one of the glass packs was too large and would not properly replace the existing glass pack. Since you have written this complaint we have completed the service for the bathroom window and re-placed the order for the cracked glass. We have done all that is possible to expedite the part order and you will be prioritized upon the parts receipt. We appreciate your business and apologize for the inconveniences that occurred. We look forward to completing the service and assisting you more efficiently in any future needs or concerns. Please contact me personally if there are any additional problems in the future. Respectfully, *********** Division Manager (763) ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While I am thankful that we finally received the actual windows we paid for in one of the 2 rooms, I'm beyond frustrated with the way Champion chose to do business. The response to my complaint never even acknowledges that they put in the wrong window that wouldn't pass code (tempered is required above a bathtub). We were told by the salesperson as well as the installer that Champion would notify the city of Plymouth when the work was done and we would get a call from the city to schedule an inspection. As I stated initially, that wasn't done. There are a lot of areas that need serious investigation within the company. We received 3 different stories regarding the window that was just installed in the 2 days leading up the installation (i.e. it was just being ordered because it had fallen through the cracks, it was on a truck in Chicago and you were waiting for it to arrive, it was in the wearhouse all along). If you really were in a state where you didn't know what was going on, I'd rather hear that truth. I'm sure we'll hear many more stories regarding this last window that needs to be replaced. This window was supposedly ordered on April 8th and it's now July 15th and we have no indication of when we are going to receive the window. That's not good business.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion installed new soffits and fascia on our home. Almost two years later the poor workmanship has not been corrected. I had Champion replace the roof, soffits, and fascia on my home. The work was completed near the end of 2012 for a total about $10,100.00. Since the completion of work Champion has been out at least 5 times to rectify workmanship issues. The roof had a ridge vent that was not installed center to the roof. That was corrected to satisfactory condition. The soffits and fascia have never been corrected to satisfactory condition. On the sides of the house the new fascia on the rakes was wavy 6 months later. Champion came out and installed new fascia over the rake boards. The soffits and fascia on the back of the house that Champion installed would not permit the kitchen window to crank open. The new soffits and fascia that were placed over the existing soffits and fascia was too low. The attempted repair modified the fascia and soffits by cutting and bending them over and around the window, but not centering them over the window. It looks so incredibly horrible. I have called Champion more times than I can remember and left messages for ****. **** has returned my call once. I told him my concern about my dissatisfaction with the repair/improvement attempts. I was told someone was going to come out and make it right. It is still not the way it ought to be. Anyone who looks at this would think "amateur do-it-your-selfer repair." This is not professional workmanship. It is nearly two years since I hired Champion to do the work on my home. I am fed up and disgusted.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ Dear Customer, We've received your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau. The purpose of this letter is to provide resolution for the soffit and fascia that interferes with the operation of a casement window. I've reviewed the problem with our Siding Installation Manager. We agree that this is a problem that needs to be addressed, and resolved in a more timely fashion. After reviewing the pictures of your project, we've decided on a few different solutions to rectify the situation. At this time, we have a meeting scheduled with you on Monday, September 29th at your home. I am confident we can satisfy your concerns. I apologize for the frustration we've caused for you. We will follow through to ensure you are completely satisfied. Sincerely, ************ Division Manager Champion Windows, Siding, Sunrooms & Roofing


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Champion Window Company of Minneapolis, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart