BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/2003

Window World Twin Cities

Find a Location

Phone: (651) 770-5570Fax: (651) 770-0495View Additional Phone Numbers2211 11th Ave E Ste 130, North Saint PaulMN 55109-5177 Send email to Window World Twin CitiesView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/2003

BBB has determined that Window World Twin Cities meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Window World Twin Cities' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Window World Twin Cities

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Customer service is apparently lost on the siding portion of this company.
I signed a siding agreement on July 25th, 2014. I was told by the sales person that it would be approximately 6 weeks before install. I was fine with that, however, I was trying to reach out for updates between that date and the day they actually started the install, November 17th, and my calls were not returned. Even now, after waiting all this time for siding, when trying to get an ETA on the completion of the project they are not getting back to me in the time frames they promise me. I work in the service industry and I am appalled at their lack of customer service. I have been very patient just wanting updates along the way and apparently that is too much to ask for. I was originally told that the project would be completed 11/20, but they are just now starting on my house. I have done previous business with Window World for my windows and I was very happy with the service, but the siding part of the business is clearly run in a totally different fashion. All I want is people to acknowledge that I am a paying customer, manage my install appropriately with daily updates, and be compensated for the lack of service that I have received thus far and that I continue to receive. Nick Lorentz, the sales guy, said he would keep my informed, but I have not heard a word from him. Tim, they never gave me a last name, is apparently managing the project but I am not sure where he learned about project or customer management because he just lies about when he will call back.

Desired Settlement
I would like a discount applied to my account for the lack of service I have received. I think that a 10% deduction is fair compensation.

Business Response
We apologize for the delay in communications and start of project. Our project manager was on the job site today to assure that our high standards of workmanship were being met. Upon completion of the project, we will meet with the customer and address any remaining areas of concern.

12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Windows are leaking after 1.5 years and after three phone calls and e-mail, none are being returned.
We had windows installed in July 2, 2012 by Window World. That winter, we had one person come out to check the windows because they were leaking...not just normal condinsation...LEAKING. They found that certain seals were not placed in the windows, so they added them. Now, again, we have leaky windows on the insides of the frames and on the wood supporting our bay window. We have written one time, called three times, and still no response to getting someone out here to check. We have a 30 year warranty on these windows, yet it seems no one wants to help. Now as of November, 2013, we have 2 Lite Slider Series 4000 with full screens that is leaking on the frame and bottom of the window, 1 patio door that was replaced and leaking by the opening at the bottom (the lock also doesn't work properly), and 1 bay window with full frame replacement that is leaking on the oak wood on the bottom and also up the sides of the frame. These are all vinyl windows that we paid over 7,000 for.

Desired Settlement
We just want the windows to be fixed or replaced. We did not spend this much money to be losing out on heat costs, etc... Windows should never leak this much after being new!!

09/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Window World failed to inform me when my windows were ready, did not install by date agreed upon and then failed to show up for the later set install
Before placing an order, I was promised by ******* that the install would be done before the last week in August which was the main reason I went with this company. I was also told, by ****, that my front window would be wrapped for free to match the others. Then later **** told me they would have to charge me for that. I had not heard anything from the company by August 20 so I called to find out where my windows were and when they were going to install. Of course, they could no longer install my windows before the fist week in August (again, the reason I went with them) and I had to make accommodations for them. I rearranged my schedule for August 30. I was called just minutes before I was expecting them and told they would not be installing because 2 of the 3 installers did not show up for work. At this point, I just want my money back ($2500 deposit) but was told this was not an option by ****** but they would wrap my front window for free. She said that she would speak to the owner and get back to me. I have called her and have left a message but have not heard back at this point.

Desired Settlement
I simply want the $2500 I sent in July back so that I would work with a more reliable company.

Business Response
Unfortunately we were unable to meet the customers desired install date. We will work to find a resolution to the situation through phone calls.

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Ordered sliding glass door, waited 5 1/2 weeks door came, removed old door and frame then installer relized he had 2 different doors.
Ordered sliding glass door 4/25/13. payed 1/2 then by check need to pay rest when job completed. installers came on 6/7/13 a Friday removed old door and frame went to install new doors and realized that the doors were different. 1 was 6" wider and shorter and white in color than the other which was the 1 that belonged to us. the installer checked the boxes which had my address & name on them but they were wrong. they checked all the other boxes from other orders but didn't have the right door. installer called his bosses who said to get a tarp and plywood to seal the hole that was now in my house, however after talking to him and telling him that would be unacceptable and very unsecure both from the weather, and intruders he put the doors in with plywood in the 6" gap and expansion foam & caulking around the entire framing. the room is air tight and secure it can't be exited at all. the installer was very nice trying to help resolve the problem, he told management to order a completely new door & frame and asked they to put a rush on it because he said it's the factories fault and for as long as he has worked there this has never happen, I said well now it's happened to 2 people not just me but the person whom has my other half of the door cuz I got his. I also asked that somebody from management contact me and let me know what is being done to resolve this matter as to how long this will take and will it be right if they are rushing it. the other complaint is with over charging me I was charged 300.00 for a building permit and after looking at the permit window world only payed 30.00. then I was charged a disposal fee of 75.00 and I am keeping the old door so there is no disposal of old product. so that's 345.00 have was over charged. I'm asking that this job be done right with the right product that I thought I was sold. I realize accidents happen but things could have gone a lot smoother with customer service or management of some kind calling to keep me informed as to what is happening, the installers were great with making things in a bad situation not so bad. but all they do is install, its not there job to make the over charging and they no phone calls right it falls on the higher ups. at this rate I had no other option than to let you the BBB know about window worlds current job with me

Desired Settlement
I would like the right doors installed.
I would like a status report once a week or so, some kind of an update on any progress being made.
I would like my 345.00 refunded that I was over charged.
I would also like some type of compensation made to the final payment being cut in half or forgotten completely.
this whole situation has been very disheartening, like I said accidents happen but as a company try and resolve the situation instead of ignoring it. I had 5 other companies come in and give me estimates I went with this company because I thought they had a good product (don't know yet), a good value (now not so much), I'm a senior citizen on a fixed income trying to keep my home running and looking it's best, I feel as if I was taken advantage of. without people like me buying your product you don't have a business window world should really take care of the people that keep them in business.

Business' Initial Response
Dear ******,

I'm sorry for your inconvenience and frustration. A new door has been ordered and we will be installing it as soon as it comes in. Sometimes the factory makes an error. They are only human like we are you know. I will be happy to discuss your billing if you call me directly.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
6/17/13 received a call from widow worlds ***** she apolijized for the problems and said this was not the fault of the companies or the warehouse. she then informed me that window world would be getting a replacement as soon as possible. I then asked why nobody could call until I contacted the BBB to let me know what was going on to which she replied that they have hundreds of customers and I'm not the only customer window world has and they don't have the time to be contact each and every one. I then asked about being over charged 300.00 for the permit when it was only 30.00? ***** told be that it was for the salesman to come and talk to me and to have another man come and remeasure the door. I told her that I was told when I first called to have somebody come out it was a free estimate and after talking to the sales man and agreeing to go with window world he said they would come and remeasure and he never said I would be charge for it. ***** then said she would have to call me back because she had to talk to somebody.
6/17/13 2nd call from *****. she informed me that window world would offer me 312.00 compensation for my trouble. to which I replied that doesn't cover the 345.00 I am already being over charged. I told her I was also charged 75.00 for removal of the old door that is in my garage that window world did not have to get rid of. ***** told me she would call me back she had to go talk to some people.
6/18/13 never heard back from ***** or anyone else from window world. I called from 9am to 5pm trying to get in contact with somebody but nobody would answer the phone. must be talking to all the hundreds of other customers they have.
6/19/13 still no call or contact with window world. they spend millions of dollars on advertisments trying to get business, I give them my business but get over charged, ignored, and am still waiting for some kind of resolution to this situation. this is not how a business should treat people especially a widowed senior citizen on a fixed income. shame on window world.

Business' Final Response
you the BBB said I have until 7/4/13 and I was waiting until today 7/3/13 to give a response to the last input from window world, because window world said they were going to be here on 7/3/13 to install the new doors and to let you the BBB how the install went. but window world went back on their promise to have and install the doors today 7/3/13 because they didn't show and didn't call to say they weren't coming. window world called on 7/20/13 and said they would have the doors and would be here on 7/3/13 but no show no call. thank you window world for being a business that stands behind there products and keeps their word and does what they said they will, not.

06/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

defective window. have called 3 x's last 2 years. wish in home service instead of verbal instructions for repair.
ineffective communication over the phone especially if you are not knowledgeable about mechanical jargon. what about the people who are physically challenged to do what is instructed over the phone?
re: removing window from frame if mobility is restricted to only one are?

Desired Settlement
come and fix the window

07/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had a window installed back in August of 2012. It has been leaking air (notice in winter) on one side. I have had them out SEVERAL times, some have been their staff, some from the main company in New York. They have tried several times to repair it and even did a test where they take all the air out of our house and found that yes it did have a leak. They come out put a little filter here or there take the window in and out and still not fixed, we are going on three years. I sign a sheet when they come out except the last time and have asked SEVERAL TIMES for copies, still nothing. Now the "maker" of the window is coming, I asked for a new window (crank out) that they say might help or my money, when is enough, enough!!! They keep sending all these different people out and NO ONE fixes it, Im done playing games.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back, I have asked for a new window or my money back, im done playing games, I want my money back.

Business Response
Neither Window World nor the manufacturer have been able to identify any leaks. Because Window World strives for complete customer satisfaction, we have upgraded Ms. ******'s window to triple pane at no cost to her. However, since the window does not meet her expectations, we will refund all of Ms. ******'s money and pick up the window at her convenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Window World is WELL aware of the leak and TIM is very much aware, in fact he is the one who ordered the new test to take all the air out of our house and when this was done they DID find a leak in the window where we have been complaining about and yet even since then they have not fixed. *** himself said that some houses they need to have a crank out, I find it interesting that the first time they had the "New York" employees out they had three others in the twin cites that were having problems. I should not have to put plastic up on a window since you put it in. *** you told me that the next thing was to do a crank out, now why are you going back on your word and why cant you or anyone else in your office give me copies of everytime you have been out. Also Josh from AMI when he was scheduled to come out called 15 min prior to tell me he was in ER could he come later (he was in Burnsville we live in Coon Rapids then he rescheduled and was in the house for literaly 5 min how can you examine a window in that time. And when the window was to be installed originally the guys truck broke down and you called 15 min before to say no one else could do another wasted vacation day plus all the times you had to come out i used vacation time because you could not come out after 3pm (this wasnt only ***). *** should not have told me then when I asked what did I want a crank out or my money I said I still want to work with WW and if you can do a crank out and fix, great otherwise I want my money back. I feel (and if you look at how many times you have been out you would work with me) *** even had that little device to check for leaks and could see it was leaking again even after the study. All I have asked for is to fix it obviously it is not our I would not waste anyones time including my own. Simply the Best is your motto, you really should try and keep customers.

Final Business Response
Window World and the manufacturer have determined that the window and installation meet industry standards. In addition the window and install have also passed a third party inspection through the city of Coon Rapids.

Window World believes that changing to another window will not resolve the issues with Ms. ****** and we have elected not to switch to a casement style. We have agreed to Ms. ******'s original request of a full refund upon return of the window. Arrangements to pick up the window can be done at her convenience.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On September 3, we put a down payment on our windows. We bought windows for our entire home, about 18 of them. We paid 3874.00, chk# 5308, September 3, as a downpayment, which also locked us into a contract with them. Very shortly later, they measured our windows. They told us in 4-6 weeks they would be installed. Six weeks passed. I called. Their customer service is terrible. You never get ahold of a human. When they called me back a few days later, they told me they would be installed by end of October. It is now November 1. I called, again, today. When I called their number, I was trying to get a human. I choose option 1, it said I choose an incorrect option. I choose option 4 for accounting, got a voicemail, left a message. I choose zero, for a person, and it rang and rang, it stopped for a brief second and I actually heard female voices talking,(and this is no joke) then it rang me back into the vru again, where I had to choose zero again, and over and over this happened. I called the sales man, ***********, left him a message, as I got his voice mail. The customer service from this company is JUNK. It is sad, because the price was just a little less than another company that I almost choose instead. After choosing them, my neighbor actually warned me. She said they installed their windows too. She said she had hoped I had better luck with them. She said she was happy with her windows, once she got them in, but getting ahold of them for customer service, after they get your money, and get you into a contract, is impossible. It is now winter. I am very dissatisfied. I want my windows, or my money back, and out of the contract, to go elsewhere.
Product_Or_Service: windows

Desired Settlement
I would either like my windows put in immediately, or I want out of the contact to go elsewhere, and my money back.

Business Response
Ms. ********'s job was sold 8/23/14 and her windows were measured 8/29/14. Our eta at the time of purchase was 5-8 weeks not 6 weeks. We circled the 8 on the checklist to let her know we were running long and she initialed it. I have a copy if need be.

We apologize that there was difficulty with getting through to us. However, Ms. ******** was trying to reach us on Saturday and we are not open Saturdays we just have a call center who books appointments for us. Her sales rep did get her message and contacted managers at their homes.

Ms. ******** has been scheduled for her install on 11/13, which puts us out one week longer than the initially eta given to her.


Window World Twin Cities

10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Colors specified in contact were substituted without prior approval from us
The color we selected for the fascia and the soffit as listed in the contract was not what was installed. When we realized there was a problem we were told by the installer that whenever a customer orders American Terra the company sends London Brown instead. That substitution was not approved by us and is not acceptable. We called our salesman to report the problem and he never called back. The installer completed the job and Window World is now expecting the final payment saying the colors aren't that different. The color comparison they are making is between the American Terra they have in their back room and the London Brown they sent. The comparison should be between the American Terra shown in the color samples we selected from and the London Brown as installed. The difference there is much greater. The company has offered us a $1,500 discount or they are willing to change the soffits to Maple and change the fascia to the American Terra they have in stock. Neither is acceptable to us. We have been told that the discount is limited to $1,500 to ensure they make a profit. The problem is Window World's entire making and we are the ones left with the problem. We have paid the first half of the job and unless they can complete the job with the American Terra we originally selected we do not feel we should have to pay any more. In addition in the contract for the garage window they are asking us to pay for a permit. The first contact includes the cost of a permit and only one was pulled. We should not have to pay twice.

Desired Settlement
Significant price reduction and removal of the mechanics lien filed against us for non payment

Business Response
Dear BBB,
I apologize that the color is not to Mr. ******'s liking. Here is what I see as the facts.
1. Mr. ****** chose American Terra for his fascia/soffit/window wraps.
2. Manufacturer does not produce soffit in American Terra
3. Siding Supplier shipped out London Brown as a substitute for the fascia/soffit/window wraps because the soffit is not manufactured in American Terra and London Brown is a close match
4. London Brown is a couple of shades darker than American Terra and compliments the siding and window color on Mr. ******'s home. An exact match for his window color is not possible anyway because of the sun bleaching of his older windows.
5. Mr. ****** noticed the color substitution in the driveway and alerted the subcontractor siding crew early in the job.
6. Mr. ****** allowed installers to continue with installation and did not notify WW.
7. Job finished a week later and Mr. ****** then claims that the wrong color was applied.
8. WW has offered to change out soffit color to other available colors, but Mr. ****** will not negotiate or choose a different manufactured color.
9. WW has offered $1500 off his bill because of the substitute color.
10. Attempts by the Salesman and staff to resolve the issue have resulted in Mr. ****** saying he will not pay any balance due on the job and hanging up.
11. Mr. ****** has broken off all communications with WW.
12. The total amount due is much greater than the items with the substituted color
13. Mr. ****** owes $7871 on his siding/fascia/soffit/window wraps.
14. Mr ****** also owes $428 on his window job that finished with no issues
15. Total due is $8299 plus lien filing fees and interest.
16. Mr ****** may choose either #8 or #9 and pay his bill to have the lien removed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let me start with - this is not a problem of me not liking the color. The problem is the color I picked was not installed. I will address each of the businesses "facts" in order
1. True though the American Terra I selected was the one shown in the color book provided by our salesman.
2. I don't represent the manufacturer and can't verify the claim, however the color book used by our salesman included American Terra so how were we to know it was not longer available. Our salesman did not provide that information.
3. Correction the American Terra in the color book our salesman allowed us to select from is not a close match to London Brown. In fact the production manager who came to inspect the job agreed with me. Also while it may match our siding color it does not match our windows.
4. The American Terra in the color book matched our window trim. London Brown does not
5. I did not notice the color substitution in the driveway. The material came wrapped and I did not feel it was may job to verify the right colors were delivered. I noticed the problem when the contractors were about 3/4 of the way done. They had gotten that far because I was not at home to monitor the work.
6. Correction. When I noticed the color problem I first talked to the installers who told me "they don't make American Terra, this is what they send out when it is ordered. If you have a problem you better contact your salesman". I then called my salesman ***********. He did not return my call. I then called WW spoke to a production manager who asked how far along are they? I told him they were 3/4 of the way done. He told me to let them finish and WW will make everything alright and agreed that the manufacture does send out London Brown and WW didn't know they didn't make American terra anymore. Seems odd if they knew that London brown was often substituted WW didn't know it was manufactured.
7. It is true the job was completed a week later However that is not the first time WW learned of the problem. Please refer to issue #6
8. WW has offered to change the soffit color. However the change they offered was to redo our soffits in Maple, the same color used for the siding. That look is not acceptable to us. In addition, the installers provide by WW, advised us against doing that because of the damage it could cause. WW also offered to change our fascia from London Brown to the shade of American Terra they have in stock.. It is important to note that their shade of American Terra is not the same as the American Terra offered in the color book we choses from. In addition we chose the colors based on the look we wanted to achieve. Changing bits and pieces does not create the look we were after. If WW wants us to change colors we would want to start over completely.
9. True, however they capped the reduction at $1,500 because they wanted to be sure to still make a profit. That is not my concern. I'm left with a house that does not look like what they had promised so why should they profit?
10. Correction. I have said their offer is unacceptable, however I have never hung up on them. I have said that we are fine the way it is and they have not offered a larger reduction.
11. Correction. I have contacted the business office as instructed on each weekly bill that comes to my home. They do not return my calls. I spoke to the person that WW hired to file the lien, they assured me they would call back with an offer to settle and they have not. I have been bullied and yelled at and have continued to try to contact them. WW has not responded.
12. I don't know if that's true but I'm not sure it matters. The issue remains WW is using bait and switch tactics and needs to be held accountable.
13. $7,871 is the balance due on a contract that specified American Terra for the fascia and soffits.
14. Correction. the balance due of $428 includes a $299 charge for a permit cost that was included in the siding contract per the second sentence in the additional instructions. One permit was pulled and we paid for it with the siding. We are not going to pay twice.
15. The job has not been paid for because of the actions of WW. Costs incurred for their failure to honor the contact should be their responsibility.
16. #8 or #9 are not acceptable. We are willing to pay WW an additional $2,500.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My response to Window World's letter dated September 17th 2014 is below. I appreciate Window World's desire to work with me to resolve this issue however the options provided do not solve the problem.
Option 1 offers the Maple color for the soffits. If I wanted the soffits to match the house color I would have ordered it that way. Also if they can get the fascia from the manufacturer in American Terra why don't they get the soffits as well and do the job according to the contract.
Option 2 offers an accent color. Again if I wanted an accent color I would have ordered one.
Option 3 is the same offer they have made in the past. A credit of $1,500 is not sufficient.
Option 4 - I agree that this would not be wise
My problem is they did not honor the contract I signed with them and when I notified them of the problem with the color I was told to let the installation continue and they would make sure I was satisfied. They claim they didn't know my color selection wasn't available yet the installer on the job told me this was a normal substitution. I have spoken with the siding manufacturer and was told the color American Terra hasn't been available for years. I believe they sold me a product they knew couldn't deliver and promised anything just to get the first half of the money, knowing they would just file a lien if I didn't pay. Window World's practices are fraudulent and they should be taken to task for their behavior. I have paid the first half and have offered to pay an addition $2,500 bringing the total amount paid for the job to $10,800 or 65%.

Final Business Response
Window World is committed to helping Mr. ****** find a color combination that he will find satisfactory. We apologize that American Terra, while available in fascia, is no longer available in soffits from the manufacture.
We are not notified by the manufacture when certain colors are discontinued. When a certain color falls out of favor, the manufacture will often discontinue that color. Normally the manufacture would have notified Window World at the point of an individual order, but this unfortunately did not happen. Window World never attempts to deceive a customer regarding color choices. That would benefit no one.
We have offered Mr. ****** various logical and reasonable options to resolve his issue. The only solution that Mr. ****** says that he will accept is a reduction of his bill by $5799 (or 35% of the total job). This isn't logical or reasonable for two reasons: 1)The soffits and fascia are a much smaller percentage of the job than 35% 2)Mr. ****** will still have the colors on his house that prompted his initial complaint and we do not believe that he will really be satisfied.
We will continue to explore other possible solutions for Mr. ****** and hope that he will reach out to us with a logical and reasonable solution.

10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Replace one window and fix all the screens so they seat correctly.
Installers drilled a hole in the sill of one window and put a screw in it to correct the misshapen concave window. Screens on all windows do not seat correctly. Gaps in screens allow large insects to pass through easily.

Desired Settlement
Replace window with screw in it and all screens or full refund

Business Response
Window World had a service tech out to the customer's house on Monday Sept 22 to evaluate the issue. New window frames are being ordered to correct the issue (the screens will fit correctly with new frames). The customer was contacted today (Tuesday Sept 23rd)and indicated satisfaction with the plan.

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Wrong size bay window, installation not to code or as advertised. Poor quality finishing inside and out.
Bay window is smaller than promised, they didnt know exactly what I was getting and was vague before it came in. No cable ties to roof, finishing nails to mount window. Extension jams too short. Overall size of window is too small for opening. Finish nails to mount 2 x 6s and not construct adhesive or nails to anchor window to rough opening. Insulated incorrectly, damaged soffit, poor finish job on inside with oversized casing to hide the smaller fit of window. One side of finish trim came loose with slight pressure. Gouge in one sash.

Front upper and lower 3 panel windows leak, no foam in voids, poor trim finish with exposed nails in trim, silicone on walls and on unfinished oak trim and on finished wood. Caulking all over everything to try to hide poor install.

Patio door installed without extension jams and now no threshold on exterior. Mounting screws put in too tight distorted door sealing are and it now leaks.

Building inspector has now tagged the job, it wont pass code.

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Mr. ***** ordered windows from us on 3/17/2014. The contract was for a patio door, bay window and 8 other windows. Mr ***** provided a picture of a bay window he liked and we provided that to him. Installation of the windows were on 5/13/14. At the time of the installation Mr. ***** sent an email saying he was happy with the install but his wife was not happy with the bay and it was smaller than what she expected. We again confirmed with him that we provided a window exactly like he had shown us he wanted. When the installers were at the house Mr. ***** said everything looked great and nothing was wrong until his wife returned to the house and then she was not happy so he started to complain about the size of the window. After the install the initial inspection passed. Mr. ***** then called the inspector back. The inspector then said we had to fix three issues. These issues will be fixed by our Service Dept. within a week. Mr. ***** signed the contract without his wife and seem to be happy with the work until she arrived home. He called us to tell us he was not going to pay for the bay window which he had signed the contract for.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are many discrepancies in the response from Window World. First they were installed over 2 days, 5/12/14 and were finished on 5/13/14. I did question the installer about the size of the bay/bow prior to it going in, but was assured it would be just fine. They had my old one out before I could compare them closer. My wife saw them on 5/12/14. As for my email it was send at 6:11 am on 5/13/14, long before they were done with the installs and finish work. In my email to them that morning I was referring to the slider windows as "love the windows". My email stated:

"My wife saw the bay/bow window and hates it. For a completely new window (not a replacement) the window area is much too small. The original Marvin was much bigger. The rough opening had to be narrowed for the new bay/bow to fit. She said it looks like a jail house window. We both love the other windows and the guys installing are great and are doing a great job. This isnt a reflection of them or their work. But that bay/bow isnt close to what we were led to believe what we were getting. **** never followed up to detail what exactly we were supposed to get or send us some picts to detail it. Just assured us it was like what we had only vinyl. At this point we would rather have a plain slider window Like the rest of the windows than that bay/bow, it is too small. My house is scheduled to have the siding installed tomorrow. Please let me know what we can do on this asap."

The verbal berating I got on the phone from the salesperson was totally unacceptable when I complained. His voice was raised and was telling me what I was going to do etc. When I told him I wanted that window out his response was "well you will just have a hole in your house" I told him that he was angry and I didnt want to continue with the conversation. This is NOT customer service. I didnt fare much better with the manager. Not the best company to have a problem with.

Even Window World's production person didnt know exactly what they were going to get for a bay/bow. They did NOT provide me with a window exactly as I wanted. The window pict I provided was for the trim detail under the window. They didnt even make it look like that. I was never provided ANY sample pict or details of the bay/bow window or how it would look. The salesman kept the brochure when he left. The one I did see was a multiple pane bay. Not indicative of the window we were going to get.

I was called after I ordered the windows and told I wasnt getting a bay, I was getting a bow window. I contacted Window World on that, but was met with they werent sure and this is the email I got:

I talked with **** earlier. I actually gave you some wrong information earlier, I apologize. The bow window we're putting in will have a similar look as your current bay. It will have an angled look, not a rounded look. The reason being is we ordered a 3-sectional bow window with 45 degree flankers, which is essentially the same as a bay window. The only difference is in the terminology; since the window is small we had to order it as a 3-sectional bow (bows usually have 4 or more sections). I hope this clears up this issue and look forward to getting you on our install schedule."

The window we got has rounded corners, not angled.

The "finished" trim job was flimsy and looked cobbled together and nothing like the pict I provided. My soffit was sagging, held only in place by globs of caulking, it was bent from the installers as well. They had removed the pieces from a section of soffit that I was having replaced by the sider, they didnt even tack them in. I pushed up on one and they fell down! Four 2x6s were used to fill in the window on the sides to make it fit and poorly supported. Then trimmed with 1x6s flat. I found a mass of fiberglass insulation, no cable supports and little foam and lots of shims. It took me 2 hours to get all the caulking off that window. This window is unacceptable.

The picture I had shown to Window World as a sample of what we wanted for the trim on the bottom. It was not what we got. The 2x2s were used to hold 2x6s with finish nails then wrapped poorly with the white trim, when I touched it, it would wriggle. When I barely pulled on it it came down.

The bay window is too short and too narrow and we are expected to accept this because they installed a bay/bow window as per the contract. But it was measured wrong and they want us the accept this terrible looking window. They have all kinds of excuses, but none of them hold up. It was a mistake from the beginning.

I questioned the installer about the patio door and was told its fine, he said the siding will go up under the flashing he caulked in there. It just covered up the sheathing and the exposed sub-floor. The brick mould doesnt look finished or does the missing threshold. He even used a piece of my base trim to fill up the gap under the door without even cleaning up the debris. No foam, no insulation that I saw to seal it under there. I now find that the door is out of square and the screen binds halfway though the track.

The three issues that the city inspector said needed repair was the bay window is only supported by 8 finish nails and no cable supports, no threshold on patio door, it was inset into house too far, and insulation on bottom of a window.

Most of the slider windows need some weatherstripping, the front window did not have any and leaked water. We do like the looks of the 5 bedroom windows and I think they did a good job with them except for the weatherstripping, but the rest were rushed and poorly installed. The cut-off exposed nails and chipped and ill fitting miters, mismatched trim and caulking all over the bare oak. This isnt acceptable work for the money we spent.

I was also got this email from Window World titled "Please read below" it states: "We just got off the phone with the City and you are incorrect . The city passed the inspection. We also have the emails from you in on 5/13 stating how happy you were with the work. SEE BELOW IN GREEN.
Also see attached inspection from the city.
Hi ****,

My wife saw the bay/bow window and hates it. For a completely new window (not a replacement) the window area is much too small. The original Marvin was much bigger. The rough opening had to be narrowed for the new bay/bow to fit. She said it looks like a jail house window. We both love the other windows and the guys installing are great and are doing a great job. This isnt a reflection of them or their work. But that bay/bow isnt close to what we were led to believe what we were getting. **** never followed up to detail what exactly we were supposed to get or send us some picts to detail it. Just assured us it was like what we had only vinyl. At this point we would rather have a plain slider window Like the rest of the windows than that bay/bow, it is too small. My house is scheduled to have the siding installed tomorrow. Please let me know what we can do on this asap."

I did see the inspector later that day after 2 contractors looked at the job and he issued a correction order which WW seemed to know nothing about until I responded to the "Im incorrect" email. Window World knew I was having my house sided and this was a factor in forcing me to accept the poorly fitting bay window. As for the building inspector I did not call him back the siding contractor did that, I did mention the missing cables while he was there, and he wrote that down but I had left and he must have talked to the other contractors there for the other issues that they pointed out to me as well.

As for my wife not being there has nothing to do with the poor workmanship and not delivering what we contracted for.

I found the subcontractor has let his LLC expire as well, Renewal due date was 12/31/2011. It is inactive. The sub had said to me in a conversation that when he built his house he had someone else do the finish work as he wasnt that good at it. But it seems window World finds his work acceptable. I dont.

Window World made a mistake on the window. I can provide picts if needed of the window I was inquiring about and the finished window, Window World says its just like that one.

From what I could see no construction adhesive was used on anything, just clear silicone and some WW soft caulking and from the barely working, taped up, cordless finish nailer they had to bang to get to work to install everything.

Im not sure about the install of the patio door after inspecting it closer, I will be calling the building inspector out and go over these issues further as I now have cracks in the sheetrock above almost every window they used the sawzall on.

There were two contracts, one for the windows and patio door and one for the bay/bow. They were both paid in full on May 14th.

Choosing Window World was a mistake I wish I had never made. No I dont want another window from them.I want that bay/bow window removed and

Final Business Response
Second Response 5/27/14

To Whom It May Concern,

It is our full intention to resolve the issue at hand. We had been in correspondence with Mr. ***** to try and work out a resolution to the items that need to be fixed and also his dissatisfaction with the bay unit that was purchased however he has stopped working with us.

It was on good authority that we had passed the City of Cottage Grove building inspection. We have a signed copy of the permit and the city administrator assured us everything is complete. At no point did the City inform us that there had been a second inspection and that there were corrections. It took me three calls into the city and speaking with the inspector himself before we learned there were corrections. Here is what he stated:
1. Bay window needs cables harness or documentation that it is not required.
2. One window on the front of the house needs more insulation on the bottom side.
3. No pan flashing under the patio door-
door set to the interior instead of exterior.

These are all minor fixes that can be done in one day's times. After being informed of the corrections my production dept. attempted to resolve the issues immediately. We had the installer available to fix the situation on Friday 5/23/14. Mr. ***** said that date would not work for him; he would also be gone the entire following week. He continued to inform us that we are no longer allowed to contact him and that he would contact us when he was ready to schedule.

Window World would like the opportunity to resolve the issues stated by the inspector and which Mr. Scott is adamant on having fixed. However, when we offer to do the repairs he would not allow us to do so. We are at a standstill until he allows us to make these minor corrections.

In response to the idea that Mr. ***** was uniformed of the window he was receiving we do not believe this to be true. We were in correspondence with him the entire way through. He sent us an example picture of what he was looking for and ours is very similar. At no point in our discussions did he choose to cancel the window and accepted all explanations of what the window would look like.

This window was not mis-measured or poorly installed. The inspection notice does not mention anything in regards to size, poor caulking, wrapping or trim work. It was installed to their standards as well, except for the exterior cables, which we are happy to install when given an opportunity.

The installation of the entire job was up to Window World standards. And upon completion we received a positive review from Mr. ***** himself:

"My wife saw the bay/bow window and hates it...We both love the other windows and the guys installing are great and are doing a great job. This isn't a reflection of them or their work."

However when Mr. ***** was informed we would not be refunding his money on the bay unit simply because he didn't like it, his entire story changed and is now tearing down the good work he praised before.

Window World would be happy to resolve any issues the inspector noted. However it is our assertion that after multiple correspondences with Mr. ***** about the nature of what the window would look like he was well informed and we have meet the expectations of the contract. We are sorry to hear that in the end he does not like the look of the window but this does not change the fact that he did receive what he paid for. We are unable to refund any money on the window unit.

If Mr. ***** would like the flagged permit items fixed he just needs to contact us and we will schedule an appointment and a re-inspection for the same day.

Thanks and be well,


(P.S. pictures of the example window he sent us and the installed unit can be submitted upon request. I would have included them but they are not compatible with this program.)

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/19/2002Business started: 01/01/2002New Owner Date: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344
(651) 284-5012

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344
(651) 284-5005

Contact Information
Principal: Terry Derosier (President)
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Window World Twin Cities (ProBuilt America, Inc.), this company offers remodeling in siding, roofing, window replacements and installation, rain gutters, additions, decks, garages, kitchens, baths, architectural drafting, storm damage inspections, and free estimates.

Alternate Business Names
ProBuilt America, Inc., Window World, Window World and Siding
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration
Remodeling your home

If you choose to do business with Window World Twin Cities, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Window World Twin Cities has received 4.01 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Window World Twin Cities

2211 11th Ave E Ste 130

North Saint Paul, MN 55109-5177

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2211 11th Ave E Ste 130 

    North Saint Paul, MN 55109-5177(612) 859-3930
    (651) 770-5570
    Fax: (651) 770-0495
    Fax: (651) 770-0495

  • 538 25th Avenue North 

    Saint Cloud, MN 56303(320) 255-5525

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Window World Twin Cities is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (612) 789-3195
  • (612) 859-3930

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

Attic Radiant Barriers
Storm Damage Repair/Restoration
Remodeling your home

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.