BBB Accredited Business since

Minnesota Rusco, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (952) 935-9669 Fax: (952) 935-9544 View Additional Phone Numbers 5010 Highway 169 N, Minneapolis, MN 55428 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.minnesotarusco.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

MN Rusco serves about 850 Minnesota consumers a year with a 98.5% satisfied customer rating. We specialize in Windows, Doors, Bath Remodeling, Four Seasons Sunrooms, Siding and General Remodeling. We've been family owned since 1955. Call us now


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Minnesota Rusco, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Minnesota Rusco, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Minnesota Rusco, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1955 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business under new ownership as of: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 02/25/1955 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mike Hazelwood, President Jay Deems, Vice President Mel Hazelwood, Founder
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mel Hazelwood, Founder
Principal: Mike Hazelwood, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Bathroom Accessories Doors Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Egress Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs

Service Area
Minnesota Rusco, Inc. provides their services in MINNESOTA.Minnesota Rusco, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, ARLINGTON, BAYPORT, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, DAKOTA, DAYTON, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FORT SNELLING, FRIDLEY, GAYLORD, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREEN ISLE, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HENDERSON, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROGERS, ROSCOE, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAVAGE, SCANDIA, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WASECA, WATERTOWN, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE, WOODBURY & YOUNG AMERICA, MN. Twin Cities and Collar Counties except for Sunrooms which is the whole state of MN and Western WI.
Alternate Business Names
Four Seasons Sunrooms Rusco
Products & Services

We specialize in selling and installing Windows, Doors, Bath Remodeling, Four Seasons Sunrooms, Siding and General Remodeling both interior and exterior. We have a full time production and service staff and serve approximately 850 homes each year.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Minnesota Rusco, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5010 Highway 169 N

    Minneapolis, MN 55428

  • 5558 Smetana Dr

    Minnetonka, MN 55343 (651) 646-1687 (952) 935-9669

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They start our bathroom on March 17, 2016, they told us the work will take two day as of April 24, 2016 it still not complete. When we call they don't get back to us it take then a few day. It will cost me more money to complete.d my bathroom, If they're not will to complete my bathroom , I will need your assistance to get back my funds that I pay to Minnesota Rusco. There is problem with the work that they have done.

Desired Settlement: Complete the job, and billing adjustment for all the inconvenience .

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******

 

We sincerely apologize that you are unhappy.  While the bulk of the bath work was done in 2-3 days the installation of the customer purchased shower door and a transition strip from the tub to the existing floor had to be re-ordered and took additional time.  I also understand that you wanted the transition strip to be flush with the existing floor and that took additional time since the sub floor had to be adjusted.  This is not the normal manner in which transition strips are installed but it is our policy to got the extra mile for the customer…. even if it takes longer! 

 

Just to be clear your bathroom was 95% done and useable. However, I understand that you met with Jason our production supervisor and were unhappy that the shower pan that was spec’d at 30” was manufactured at 29.75” and you were very disappointed in that fact.  As a result Jason re-ordered a complete new shower pan 32” along with three new Onyx walls.  He and you decided that was best to completely satisfy you.   While I thought this was an extreme solution to a small difference in size, I give my supervisors great latitude to satisfy a customer even if it means replacing everything! The fact is a 30” shower pan is actually manufactured between 29.5 and 29.75. 

 

However, under the circumstances since you now want compensation for some inconvenience, I will be happy to negotiate a financial settlement with you.  I will however, not replace the shower and walls and provide you compensation in addition.  Therefore, you can choose whether you want compensation for some inconvenience or a shower pan that is two inches larger. Please understand that even though you and Jason agreed on a 32” shower pan the actual size from the manufacture will be approximately 31.75”. 

 

Please let me know how you would like to proceed or give me a call directly at ###-###-####.  If I am not available please leave a message as to a good time to call you back and I will do my best to comply.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

Jay *****

Minnesota Rusco Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  NO  We're working with Jay ***** @  Minnesota Rusco.

4/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not honor what was promised by salesman. Salesman promised the Windows would not frost if we left the blinds up about a foot. The Windows had thick frost on them even when we left the blinds all the way up. He also said if we bought that night we would get money off. He said if he walks out the door the deal is off. I feel we were scammed by MN Rusco. I emailed the owner, he said we have too much humidity. This was not mentioned before. He suggested leaving the window open a little...its way to cold for us to do that.

Desired Settlement: Windows that will not frost.

Business Response: We are terribly sorry that you are unhappy with your windows. If there was something we could do to either the window or the method of installation, be assured, we would. Condensation and the reasons for it have been discussed with you at length. It is not the fault of the product and in this case our service technician inspected the installation and found it to be both installed correctly and insulated properly by our top installation crew.

If you wish to investigate the real reasons for the excessive humidity we would be willing to come to your home and investigate some possibilities. You could also have an HVAC expert take a look at your heating and ventilation system, which is often one of the primary culprits and solutions.

Please let us know if you would like additional help.
(Casement Warranty.pdf)

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

The reason we bought the Windows was because the salesman GUARANTEED us we would not have this problem. The is why we got new windows as I have said before. We have the same problem as the old windows. He said to leave the shades up about a foot, which we did. It did



Sincerely,

******* **********

3/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terrible customer service, communication, misleading, poor quality products and didn't follow inspection rules 4/20/2015-MNRusco Came out to our home and gave a amazing speech and presentation on their service and products.We were told that the whole project(windows and siding) would take 6-8 weeks. 4/27/15- They came and took measurements Mid June I had called since I have not heard anything,they told me that one of my windows was on back order,and they will call me in a week to let me know when it was in.I did not receive any phone call.A week later I called them for the second time, once again they said it would be another week.And again no call so I had to call them again. They finally came to my home on 7/1/15 and installed the 6 windows.When this product was advertised to us in the initial consult they showed how you could take the sash out very easily to clean.When I checked all my windows I could not get any of them out.Two of the windows the locks did not line up and one of the window handles was scratched down to the metal.I spoke with the installers that day and they said I can't remove the sashes because of the wheels on the bottom, so they super glued the piece that holds the wheels. Then they painted over the scratch.I called Jason at MNRusco and told him about the situation. He came out the following week, took notes and said that the production will come out and fix the issues. Giving me about a two week window. Since there was issues since the beginning Jason insured me that when our siding comes Pablo will take care of things and is great.7/15/15- 7am a dumpster was delivered. 8:30 the supplies were delivered. I assumed that Pablo was coming also.Around 10:30 I called to asked when Pablo was coming and they said that they were finishing a previous project and will come the following day.7/16/15 I assumed that Pablo would have been her around 7-8 in the morning. No one was here by 10 so I called and they said he should be at my house around 10:30.About 10:45 a father and son from V&B construction and siding came to my door and I was told they it was them who was putting up the siding.I called for Jason and left a voicemail.He returned my call the following day and explained to me that these guys work for Pablo and they subcontract siders.I was under the impression that Pablo was coming him self and that I hired MNRusco to do the work.The siding was finished 7/18/15.As far as I knew the guys did a good job and were very friendly.7/20/15 I assumed that the huge dumpster would have been picked up.It was not and a week (7/27/15) later I again had to call MNRusco to remind them it was still in my drive way.It was picked up later that day.Now I was waiting for the production guy to come look at my windows.It was about 3 weeks since Jason said he was going to be there. I gave a friendly call to see what was happening since I have not heard anything yet.He told me he would call when they would come out.At the end of August production came out and replaced most of the sashes and fixed the locks.One of the window sashes still did not work so he ordered another one.He told me that it may take month for the order and placement.9/7/15 I assumed it was ready to call and make a appointment with inspections. When I called they asked if MNRusco took photo's before placing the siding.I believe they did not and then was asked to call MNRusco and have them contact Virgil at the inspection office to schedule a time so that they all can be there to answer any questions that Virgil may have.I then called MN Russo, left a message and explained.9/18/15 the guy from production came and replaced the last sash.We talked about inspections and he said he was the one nominated to be there for inspections, he was never apart of the install process.I also have not heard from Jason regarding inspections so I called him that day.He thought he already called me and discussed it.Which he did not, then said he will call Virgil and schedule.9/23/15inspection day,unknown to me. Virgil requested they now take off siding and reschedule. Who knows what's next.

Desired Settlement: I don't really know what I'm looking for but I am very upset and uncomfortable paying so much for something I'm not happy with. I really wish it was something I could return.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/08) */ Dear ******, We are terribly sorry for your experience with our staff. We had a surprisingly stronger start to 2015 than we anticipated. As a result my staff got overworked and what suffered was the good communication that we are typically known for. I have been informed that the window issues have been addressed. If that is not the case please let me know. In addition, our siding installer Pavel is Ukrainian as is his crew. He has been working with us over 15 years and I can assure you the quality of his work is impeccable. Unfortunately, he did not take enough photos of the house wrap and insulation underneath the siding therefore the inspector wants a few pieces of siding removed to prove that the workmanship was done correctly. I understand the inspection is schedule for Tuesday, October 13th at noon. I am confident the inspector will find the work to have been done properly. However, should there be any issues they will be taken care of immediately! Again, I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience with our company. I can assure you while the communication with you suffered greatly, the workmanship and quality of products did not suffer. Your workmanship and product warranties are in full force and should there be any concerns going forward please contact me directly. Mike ********* President ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I don't really have a choice, what else is going to happen? I'm unhappy with my experience but most of all the windows I am unhappy with. I don't feel they are worth the money I have to pay but will have to live it. I will speak with Mike personally and would like someone to come out and look at my windows, I guess I expect them to be flawless

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If they advertise a sale before they start a project, I feel they should honor their ad to the consumer. A salesman from Minnesota Rusco said they never had a negative review on the Better Business Bureau site. They have one now. I had a very, very bad experience using Minnesota Rusco. I am very dissatisfied with my experience using them. I started out at the end of December 2014. The salesman said if I did not sign a contract that ­weekend before the end of 2014, the prices would go up 4% to 6%. I signed. Shortly into 2015, Rusco started advertising their 60 years in business sale. 60% off on labor. They had not started my shower project yet. They said they would talk to their financial department and adjust later. Later in January they took measurements of my shower. They said it would be a couple of weeks. When the man came and TORE APART my shower he discovered the measurements were wrong and they needed a new wall piece. Three more weeks wait. When the piece came, it was cut wrong. A few more weeks went by. After the pieces came, the installer gutted the shower and put in the new pieces. There were 1/4 inch gaps that did not meet the ­corners. Also, the next day, water was leaking from the shower down into my rec room on the ceiling below. They had to call in a third party plumber to fix the leak that their original person caused. Also they had to call in an third party repair person to repair and respray the ceiling in my rec room. Again I asked about Rusco's 60% off labor and what they could do for me. They were still thinking about adjusting my bill. The shower doesn't work as well as my old shower. Rusco did not do anything about the 60% off sale. The account was turned over to a bank that was going to charge me 29% ­interest if I did not pay. I paid off the bank. Rusco said they couldn't do anything about my shower not being as good as my old one. They only could give me $300 in Target coupons. I paid over $10,000 for the 43" x 37" shower to be redone . The project that was to have taken less than a month finally got finished the first week in MAY. The shower took 4 and a half months to finish. I feel that their TV advertising about their 60% off did not apply to me even though they advertised the sale before they started work on my project. I feel I would never let ­Minnesota Rusco to do anything ever for me again. I am sorry but I personally can't recommend their ­workmanship or their word.

Desired Settlement: I do not know what settlement would be appropriate. I feel this business should have offered a much lower cost because of the sale they claimed they had and for my inconvenience of not having my shower for 4 months. I think other potential customers should know their workers may not be completely qualified and consumers should be compensated adequately not just some Target coupons. I feel I had no choice but to accept their coupons in light of the fact that I already paid off the project.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/26) */ Dear Mr. ******, I am deeply saddened that you're unhappy with Minnesota Rusco. It is important to me that we go the extra mile when we have an unhappy customer. Jason, our production manager, informed me that he went over these points with you and thought there was an understanding. He must have been mistaken. With that in mind rather than discuss each point in writing, I would like one of the owners to come to your home with Jason and see how we can come to some reasonable resolution. At the same time we can take a look at your bath project and make sure all is well. If okay with you I will have Jason or Mr. ********* call and set a time that works around your schedule. Thank you for making me aware of your dissatisfaction! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My dissatisfaction is not with the way the shower now looks. It looks fine. Finally. My problem is that after 4.5 months and me asking about the 60% off sale after 60 years, no one commented about it. Jason said all they could do would be to give me some Target coupons. I am sure you give them out to customers occasionally. My shower pressure is less than before. Jason said he couldn't do anything about that. I signed a contract in December 2014 because the salesman said after Jan. 1, 2015, the prices were going up 4%-6%. I signed. After Jan. 1 Rusco said they were having their 60% off sale. I asked before the project started about that. I think the person's name was Greg. He said the finance department would look into it. Later I asked again. They said they would adjust later. After 4 months of my shower being inoperable all they came up with was some Target coupons. No mention of the 60% off sale. If I was inconvenienced in some other venue, the customer service might cut me some slack on the project. Russo had a bank take over my payment and would have charged me 29% if I was late. I paid the bill in full. Russo didn't care about customer service. They figured they were done. My shower LOOKS good. It does not work as well as the old shower. I bought a better shower nozzle because the one Rusco put in was the cheapest I have ever seen. It works a little better now. I am still not happy with their customer service after my shower took so long. Howard ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/13) */ I understand you have a meeting with Mike, our president this week. I am glad the end result was good and again apologize for the process. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/07/15) */ Russo came out to my house and personally showed me their costs. I am satisfied with their response.

6/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The MN Rusco representative continues to call repeatedly. When asked to stop calling, he is rude and nasty. I have blocked their calls again. On June 22, 2015, we received a call from MN Rusco***************. They continue to call even after many attempts to stop them politely. We do not need any services from them. Today at 4:48 PM they called yet again. When asked to stop the gentleman stated they have never called us before. That is a lie - same as all other calls. I just want them to leave us alone.

Desired Settlement: Simple settlement request. Leave us alone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/29) */ Mr. *******, As you know from speaking to Angela, our marketing manager, we are very sorry for the actions of one of our employees. The employee in question has been reprimanded and suspended. I only hope his actions do not reflect on the 26 other fine men and woman I employ! You have been placed on our DNC and should not get a call again. Sincerely, Jay **** GM/Owner Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I could not be more pleased by their understanding call from Angela. Until that day I had sung praises of Minnesota Rusco and the work they did for us. I WILL CONTINUE TO LET PEOPLE KNOW about their excellent work but now I will also let my friends and family know that they really care and continue to be a genuine company that is considerate, responsive, and thorough. My experience and complaint was with a person - not the Company. Bravo Rusco. Well done.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had a sunroom and deck installed in 2011, the deck and sunroom have lifted causing damage to walls, and sliding door. *** L has been notified we had a sunroom and deck installed in 2011. we were told that the glass used would reflect heat and UV rays. The room gets unbearably hot in the summer and we are unable to enjoy it when it does get that hot. Also the rug and furniture are fading due to the rays. (Strike one). The room gets way too cold in the winter, below 30 degrees at times, Its about the same temperature in the room as it is outside. during the winter months the footings have shifted/lifted causing part of the deck and room to shift. this has caused ill fitting sliding door. i have stuffed the gap with rugs,towels, paper to block out wind, snow. Also this lifting of the footings has caused cracks in two of the walls.(strike two) I have notified ********* several times over the past 2 years to have him come and assess. He was out here last fall and tried something, not sure what, but it did not work. this spring when the weather got warmer the gap in the door was still there and the cracks along the two walls were still there. the deck is uneven. which is quite obvious. i emailed *** to inform him that what ever he did last fall did not work. He told me he was going to contact atlas foundation to check out the situation and see what could be done. I have not heard from *** for over two weeks now.(strike three) A sales representative called last week and wanted to know if we had any new projects for Rusco, I informed this caller of the above situation and he told me he would make sure that this got passed on. well today guess what, another sales rep calls. I let her recite her speech and then told her that i was quite surprised that she was even calling, when less than a week ago i spoke with a sales rep about my dissatisfaction and was waiting for some repairs on a job that Rusco has already done and that i would never hire them again,

Desired Settlement: I want a usable room, at least for three seasons. I want the walls and door replaced along with the footing of the deck. I want windows in the room that will reflect the heat and UV rays as i was promised. I want the deck level and not have to worry every winter if the door will not shut correctly,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ Dear *****, I am so sorry you are unhappy with the Four Seasons Sunroom. The glass used by the manufacture does reflect both UV rays and has many other properties to make the room livable year round. However, it does not reflect 100% of the UV rays nor does it keep out 100% of the cold in the winter or heat in the summer. Auxiliary heat and air conditioning will need to be used during certain times of the year. If you do not choose to use auxiliary heat or air conditioning then the room will be less usable. You have had this conversation with me as well as Jay. I am sorry that the room is not perfect in this way. Even a conventional build room similar to your home needs heat and air conditioning during certain times of the year. We are well aware of the frost heave with your post-hole footings. I have been in regular communication with ***** on this issue. I am sorry you may not have been aware of this! It is unfortunate that it has happened, but as I explained in great detail to *****, your footings were built oversized with the proper depth and were inspected by your local city inspector and passed the inspection. However, it appears that an unusual amount of ground water has caused the soil conditions to become unstable. There is no way Minnesota Rusco could have been aware of this ahead of time. Even the city of St. Michael was not aware of this issue. During my visit last fall I cut down two main supports that had heaved the previous winter and did not return to level. When I left your home the door and window were level and plumb and working. It was not known whether this was going to be a temporary solution or a permanent one. ***** was informed each step of the way and appeared to agree with my approach. When you contacted me by email on Tuesday, March 8th and let me know the remedy did not work, I immediately contacted ****************s to have them do an on sight inspection to see if helical peers (mechanical steel peers that go down as deep as 20-30 feet to hit bedrock) would solve the foundation issues. I am sorry that they have not yet done that on sight inspection as of today. They are overwhelmed with business and are simply behind. I have spoken to them multiple times and have been told you are on the schedule for this week. Please accept my apologies for the delay. When I get the report from them I will stop up and meet with you and ***** to chart out a course of action. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) we have used both portable heating & cooling devices in the room with some relief but its not very economical, on some days we have to run them continuously if we want to use the room during the spring, summer, and fall months. Would there be any way of insulating the room? would this even be helpful? When you say that you have "been in regular communication with *****" I not sure what you mean by "regular" could you please clarify this for me. from now on I would like all communication to go through me, either with email or in my presence. When you were out to the house prior to any construction you saw the condition of our prior deck and the lifting/shifting that occurred. I commented on the problem and you assured me that that would not happen. and now you are saying that there was no way you could have been aware of this ahead of time. In the summer of 2014 you were out to the house to check out the decking and room after shifting and lifting during the winter of 2013, things appeared to have settled and you said you would be back out in August.. I emailed you Sept 15 because you did not get back to me in August. you told me you would be in Lewisville for 2 weeks and would address our issues when you were done. I emailed you Oct. 10 because I didn't hear from you. your response was Wednesday. You came out and cut two of the post. Winter came and again we were filling in the gap in the door. In March 8 i took pictures and sent them to you. You said at that time you were going to contact ***** about Helical pier footing. march 28th I ask if any progress march 30th you said you planned on meeting **************** at our house and that you would be in touch. April 19th I ask for any updates, no response from you April 26th I ask again for any updates April 27th You said you will be contacting *** (*****) and that you would let me know. May 8th Again you said you would be contacting *** from ***** to see what is required for the helical piers. By this time, I am frustrated and I contact the BBB. Your response does not even mention repair and/or replacement of the sliding door and walls which are a result of the lifting of the deck. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/01) */ *****, Again, I am so sorry you are unhappy with the room. We will not resolve these issues by simply communicating through the BBB. I have received the foundation analysis from **************** this morning and would like to meet with you one day the week of June 8th. I will email you my availability and we'll see if we can find a time that works for all parties. Since most of the communication has been with *****, it is important he be present if at all possible. I hope this will suffice as a first step in an attempt to resolve these issues. Thank you. *** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am willing to accept this response at this time. We have a meeting scheduled with *** for next Wednesday.

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 81 year old woman is being refused refund of cancellation of contract. My mother wants a new bathroom. On 2/13/15 a salesman of MN Rusco came out to show what they had. A contract was signed on that day and a check for $4,741 was given to the salesman. On 2/19/15 she contacted the salesman to cancel the contract because she changed her mind and was told that she could cancel but no refund would be allowed. She's 81, has mobility issues and has diabetes. She deserves to be able to change her mind before anything got started on the job and to really get the bathroom that will help her and what she absolutely likes. This company should show some integrity and compassion and refund her money.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking the $4,471 down payment refunded to her for the cancellation of the bathroom remodel. It was only days since the signing of the contract which was signed on 2/13/15 and the request for cancellation was made on 2/19/15, the Presidents Day Holiday was in that time frame and a weekend also. In addition, nothing had been started on the project yet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/04) */ I too have an elderly mother so personally I understand your concern. In this case however, you were present during the complete presentation and even provided us your email so we could keep you informed during the projects process. Our company goes to great lengths to make sure that we respect the elderly and try our best to have another family member present during our transaction. It's just what good companies do. And despite your accusations to the contrary you, her daughter, were present the whole time. As to the better price if you purchase tonight, the fact is our staff has a limited amount of time. For those customers who can make a decision on the first visit we provide them an additional discount. If not, our price is usually good until the next price increase! In this case you and your mother decided to take advantage of the additional discount and signed the contract. You could have said no and we would have been just as gracious. Our 60 years in business has proven that fact. Despite you canceling well after the rescission period, not to mention the time my staff has invested in your project we are going to cancel your purchase and refund your deposit. We wish all the best life has to offer and hope your bath project goes well.

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continued telemarketing calls after several requests to be placed on their Do Not Call list. I have asked during each phone call for 3 years to be removed from Minnesota Rusco's telemarketing list. I make it clear every time they call that I am not interested in their products, and ask again to be placed on the Do Not Call list. When they called again a couple of months ago, I asked to speak to a manager who assured me that they did indeed actually have a Do Not Call list, and she told me she would make sure my name would be placed on it. I have received yet another call during workings hours after that request.

Desired Settlement: Permanent placement on their Do Not Call list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ Dear Mr. **************, I sincerely apologize for the bother. Our marketing manager was able to track down and identify why you were called recently after being put on our DNC registry in November of this year. We acquired a list from a defunct company. Unfortunately, you were on that list as well. We should have updated both databases and it was our error that it did not happen. Therefore our sincerest apologies. You were officially put on the DNC for the other DB on 01/05/2015. In addition to the DNC we also placed you on the Do Not Mail list. I hope you understand it is not our intention to call someone who does not want or is not in need of our products. Best Regards, ********* GM/Owner

10/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple recurring issues with the windows and components provided. We had 20 windows installed starting the week of 5/19. 1 window was cracked and took 4 weeks to replace after the installation was complete. Another window(garden window) was ordered incorrectly and took several weeks to get the correct window. 2 sashes on a slider window had a defect. The replacement sashes were ordered and took another 4 weeks. Once those sashes came in, they were incorrect. It took another 4 weeks to get the replacements for those. An owner of the company came out personally to help install these sashes. These sashes were also incorrect and the owner did not understand why. The product issues have not been addressed by the company as seen through the issues of this project. These sashes have been ordered again. Another window sash has also been ordered due to a defect. It is currently 9/26 and we still haven't had our windows completed to satisfaction as the next round of sashes is expected 10/7.

Desired Settlement: The signed contract states that payment is due upon completion of the work. The work has not been completed, but I have paid for the work through loans. Because of this, I have paid back $2917 in loans. I requested this amount in reimbursement from the company but they have been unresponsive in the matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/09) */ We are terribly sorry Mr. ******* is disappointed. The facts are his window project was completed and signed off on by Mr. ******* on June 19th, 2014. The Completion Certificate clearly states, Do not sign this certificate until you are completely satisfied. In addition, the building department of Golden Valley also signed off on the project as completed on July 21th 2014. To state that the job is not done is inaccurate and disingenuous. It was a very large window/door project with approximately 40 sashes. Three (3) sashes were in need of replacement after the job was completed. We accidentally ordered the wrong sash the first time and on the reorder the manufacture made the sashes with rails instead of handles. Both were unfortunate mistakes that delayed completing the service. We have the correct sashes now and have called and emailed Mr. ******* in order to schedule the service. While I cannot agree to the customer's request, I will agree to have the owner of Minnesota Rusco Inc. deliver the sashes personally and work something out with the customer that is reasonable. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the completion was signed under pressure from the installer so that he could leave, stating "I need you to sign this before I leave and I will take it with me," it was not realized that two of the sashes were defective until a later date when the windows were being cleaned. At the time of "completion," one sash was cracked and it had been ordered for replacement. It was assumed in good faith that our windows would be taken care of quickly. The fact is, it took 6 weeks to have 40 sashes ordered and produced for install on our house as the business states. But it took 8 weeks to get the one cracked sash replaced, 6 weeks to get the other two sashes ordered only to find out they were ordered wrong, and another 6 weeks to get the wrong sashes again. It has been 5 months since the start of my window install, and we are continuing to have problems with the business. I have not been explained to on how or why our sashes are incorrect and why this continues. The owner stated he didn't know what happened and I still don't have a reason and how they are going to ensure this doesn't happen again. As I have been contacted to schedule replacement of sashes, again, I continue to have to take time out of my personal and professional life to ensure they are completing my project when this should have been complete 5 months ago. I should be reimbursed for my time to manage a project that the company was paid to do and complete within a reasonable time frame. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/20) */ Minnesota Rusco is more than willing to work something out financially for the time Mr. ******* took out of his day to meet us for service. His request for thousands of dollars is simply unreasonable. I believe we visited the house three times for service in Mr. *******'s presence. Each appointment took less than 30 minutes. We have one remaining sash to replace. Mr. ******* can speak directly to one of the owners, ************** regarding what reasonable compensation he would like for those three visits. Again, we are terribly sorry for the frustration this has caused Mr. and Mrs. *******.

10/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested they remove me from their call list almost a dozen times over the past 5 years - BASTARDS keep calling! I made the mistake of giving my number to them at a costco demo 5 years ago, and the they have called me every few months every since. Every time they call I tell them to take me off their call list and then they call again a few months later. I'm thinking class action since they do this to everyone!

Desired Settlement: if they don't stop calling - I will take them to court and sue them for every cent I can get!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/16) */ We are terribly sorry for calling Mr. **********. He is on our DNC since 2011. However, when we converted to a new database system it did not convert over. Again, our sincerest apologies. We only desire to call people who want to hear from us and it is usually past customers. This issue has been corrected. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) since their calling pattern has been 3-6 months, I will not accept the response until a year has past and I have not received any more calls. Only then will I conceder this issue resolved. I am however printing all of this out so if the issue is not resolved, I will have documentation to take to court.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several windows were installed in 2009. I am currently having my stucco replace in the front of my home. The contractor discoved water damage. Several windows were installed in 2009. I am currently having my stucco replace in the front of my home. The contractor discoved water damage after the stucco was removed. The contractor stated the windows were not installed correctly and not by code. A rep from Minnesota Rusco and my contractor meet at my home on Monday, October 21, 2013 to discuss this issue. We were told by this rep that the windows were installed correctly. However, my contractor who has been in business for years and is the past president on the Minnesota Home Builders Association. The rep was rude and very nasty to my wife. There is a lot of water damage to my home. The company should pay for the stucco removal, repair the front windows. The stucco had to be removed because it was falling off by the 2 new windows that were installed by Minnesota Rusco.

Desired Settlement: The company should pay for the stucco removal, repair the front windows and re-stucco the front.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/28) */ The fact is we pulled a building permit, installed the windows and had the permit signed off on from the city inspector. It is true that my service tech was rude to the consumer. That is never acceptable no matter the situation. I deeply regret his behavior and how it portrays our company. Our service technician is trained and excels at fixing windows and doors. He obviously needs training on how to deal with confrontational individuals and situations. He felt accused and cornered by both parties and reacted inappropriately. His inappropriate behavior has been dealt with! I personally met the contractor and consumer after being made aware of the contractors issues. At that meeting I reiterated that a permit was pulled and approved by the city. I did however, ask the contractor to detail what portion of the damage he believed was from our installation and that I would look into it. The fact is the previous windows installed when the home was built had been leaking for 13 years causing some of the damage. This was acknowledged as very possible by the contractor. I asked him to determine what he believed to be our responsibility and I would take a look at it. I expect to receive something from the contractor soon and will respond fairly. Sincerely, *** ***** Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/04) */ We wrote a letter to Minnesota Rusco dated in July 2014 and have heard from them about installing windows which affected the Stucco in our home. We wrote a letter to Minnesota Rusco dated July 2014 about a refund from the windows that were installed in our home in 2009. The windows were not installed correctly. They cause the Stucco on our home to peel and had to be replaced. We have contacted Minnesota Rusco and they have refused to admint fault and pay for partial damages. A letter was sent to them in July 2014 asking them what amount would they pay. We have not received any letter from them at all. *** ***** came out to our home and told my wife that we will do something to make it right. Once he returned to his office, thing changed. They have refused to pay for any thing. Our contractor was present when *** stated what was said above. Our contractor, who who has been in business for years and is the past president on the Minnesota Home Builders Association notified us that the windows were installed in-correctly. This caused the Stucco to peel and fall off. We had to pay for the removal of the Stucco and installed Hardi-plank. Minnesota Rusco refuse to admit they did anything wrong. We are asking Minnesota Rusco to pay a partial amount. A letter was sent to them in July 2014 and we have not received any thing from them.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple marketing calls after a request that I not be contacted. Hi! In or around 2005, I requested a quote for new windows from this company. Because of the extremely high price quoted, I did not purchase the windows. Since then, I have received at least 10 solicitation calls from this company, despite asking at least three times that my phone number and name be removed from their list. I thought the phone solicitation harassment had ended,until Saturday morning (11.30.13) when I received ANOTHER call. When I asked AGAIN that my name and phone number be removed, the woman caller said, "oh, how nice are you!?" and hung up on me. I would NEVER do business with this company based on their relentlessness (and rudeness) and am angry that they continue to ignore my request to leave me alone.

Desired Settlement: I want them to confirm that they have removed my name from their telemarketing list, and if they do inadvertently call me again, they will pay me $50,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/10) */ We sincerely apologize to ********* ****** for the unwanted phone calls. I also apologize for any rudeness by one of our employees. I have spoken to the group to make sure nothing like this happens again. Ms ****** was put on our Do Not Call on Nov. 30th the day of the incident. We have no record of her requesting this in the past. However, we take her at her word that she did and we neglected to take action. It is unfortunate, since we have no desire to call anyone not wanting a call. She will not be receiving any more calls from us.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid in full for my bathroom and window renovation only to have MN Rusco fail to update me on the status of my orders. The MN Rusco sales man prided himself on the service and communication that MN Rusco provides. I agreed to have my bathroom and bay window redone and paid in full for those renovations. It has been 64 days and i have heard nothing from my sales man or a team member regarding my install. I called today only to find out that my bay window has been sitting in a MN Rusco facility. I am disgusted with the service i have been provided and have yet to have a department manager call me back. I feel that this company has taken advantage of me as a vulnerable senior citizen. I would never recommend this contractor to anyone!

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded as winter is upon us and i do not want my bay window exposed in the cold temperatures. I am a senior citizen and would not do well in the cold.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ I spoke with *******'s daughter ***** who I believe made the complaint. Her Bay window just arrived the week we spoke and is being installed today, November 18th. Her bath materials are arriving as we speak and should be installed either this week or next. Our normal expectations for both bath and windows are 6-8 weeks during this time of the year. It will have taken 9 weeks and for that we are deeply sorry. The customer has agreed to let us install the windows and we are in the process of scheduling the bath work.

11/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MN Rusco installed a shower for us. They did not complete the job to our satisfaction and ADA Guidelines. Upon return to fix issue damage occurred. We contracted Minnesota Rusco back in May 2013 and made a down payment to install a shower w/a bench for anyone handicapped. We discussed installing handicap hand rails but were told that those could be easily added at a later date. They started the install on July 10-13, 2013. Upon completion, with the exception of some trim pieces that had to be ordered, I told the installer (******) that the shower seat appeared to be too high. ****** said just try it you will get used to it. I also asked him about the scratches that were left on the back panel by the shower caddy he said he could not repair those. After using our new shower, we still felt the seat was too high and repeated that we wanted it for anyone handicapped in the future. We also noticed water leaking on the bottom of the door trim out onto to bathroom floor after each use. When the trim pieces were installed, approx 2 weeks later, I asked ****** to repair the water leak (he attempted but it failed to stop the leaking). At that time we again asked ****** about lowering the bench and was told it was installed now and that we would just have to live with it. We contacted MN Rusco and left a message for **** regarding this. In the meantime, we checked the ADA Guidelines for shower seat requirements and found out that it's between 17-19" (our seat was installed at 22.5"). **** called back approx 2 weeks later & we discussed the issues we were still having. **** wanted us to sign off and send back the contract since the shower was installed but we were told several times from folks at MN Rusco to NOT sign the contract until the work was done to the customer's satisfaction. We told **** repeatedly that we were not signing and returning the contract until the bench was lowered to the ADA Guidelines (as previously requested and promised). **** told us that he would have ****** come back and lower the seat and stop the water leak. After several calls, the appointment was made for Friday, Sept. 27th, first thing in the morning. **** assured us that he would have someone here (either ****** or someone else)to fix these issues. At noon on the 27th, no one had shown up or called so I called **** and was told that he wasn't in. Another gentlemen did call later that day and confirmed what needed to be done with the seat and said that no one could make it out that day and that he would have **** call us back when he returned that following Tuesday. **** called me back on Oct 9th or 10th and told me that ****** would come out at 5:15pm on Monday, Oct. 14. Again no one showed up or called. I called **** Oct. 15 and told him ****** was a no show and did not call. **** didn't return my call, I called him again at 3pm on the 15th and had him paged. At this point I was told ****** had left a message for me (he called on the 15th at home at 8:30 a.m. and said we should call him for an appt.) **** said I should talk directly to ******. It took 3 phone calls and I got a hold of ****** on Oct. 16th and arranged for him to come Saturday morning, Oct. 19. ****** showed up this morning and he didn't say much--just went to work. After a few minutes of making some noise, he said he was leaving b/c he was done. He said he had "marked" the shower wall and there was nothing else he could do. He said he doesn't work for Rusco & he hasn't worked for them for over a month. ****** said that I have to call **** @ Rusco and have them deal with this b/c he's done with us. After ****** packed up and abruptly left, we discovered that ****** had left the shower seat hanging loose and he had cracked the shower wall. I then called and left a message for **** telling him what had just happened and to please call me so we can get these issues taken care of.

Desired Settlement: We want them to fix it so the bench to meet ADA guidelines; replace the broken wall panel; repair the scratches in the back panel or replace it and do whatever is necessary to prevent water leaking on the floor when we shower. Or refund our Money so we can hire a different company to tear it out and replace it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/04) */ We are addressing the customers concerns. A visit to the home by our Production Manager and technician has resulted in a solution that should be completed by Friday Nov 8th.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Minnesota Rusco, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart