BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Intelligent Design Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Intelligent Design Corporation include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Intelligent Design Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Intelligent Design Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2009 Business started: 02/20/2002 in MN Business started locally: 02/20/2002 Business incorporated 09/04/2007 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Stan Bodnar, President Inna Bodnar, Manager Ryan Guttormson, Manager Larry Roepke, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Stan Bodnar, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Storm Windows & Doors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Fire & Water Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Windows - Repairing Snow Removal Service - Roof Soffit & Fascia Contractor - Flat Roof Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Restoration & Preservation Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Contractors - Gutters Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - Insulation Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services

Service Area
Intelligent Design Corporation provides their services in MINNESOTA.Intelligent Design Corporation provides their services in AFTON, AITKIN, ALBANY, ALBERTVILLE, ALMELUND, AMBOY, ANDOVER, ANNANDALE, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, ARLINGTON, ASKOV, ATWATER, AVON, BAXTER, BAYPORT, BECKER, BELGRADE, BELLE PLAINE, BELLECHESTER, BELVIEW, BEROUN, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BIRD ISLAND, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOMKEST, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BOCK, BOWLUS, BRAHAM, BRAINERD, BROOK PARK, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BROOTEN, BROWERVILLE, BROWNSDALE, BROWNTON, BRUNO, BUCKMAN, BUFFALO, BUFFALO LAKE, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, BURTRUM, BYRON, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CARVER, CASTLE ROCK, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTER CITY, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, CLARA CITY, CLAREMONT, CLARKS GROVE, CLEAR LAKE, CLEARWATER, CLEMENTS, CLEVELAND, COBDEN, COKATO, COLD SPRING, COLLEGEVILLE, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COMFREY, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COSMOS, COTTAGE GROVE, COURTLAND, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, CUSHING, DALBO, DANUBE, DARWIN, DASSEL, DAYTON, DE GRAFF, DEERWOOD, DELANO, DELAVAN, DELHI, DELLWOOD, DENNISON, DODGE CENTER, DUNDAS, DUQUETTE, E GULL LAKE, EAGAN, EAGLE LAKE, EAST BETHEL, EAST GULL LAKE, EASTON, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELGIN, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, ELLENDALE, ELMDALE, ELROSA, ELYSIAN, ESSIG, EVAN, EXCELSIOR, EYOTA, FAIRFAX, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FINLAYSON, FLENSBURG, FOLEY, FORADA, FOREST LAKE, FORESTON, FORT RIPLEY, FORT SNELLING, FRANKLIN, FREEBORN, FREEPORT, FRIDLEY, FRONTENAC, GARDEN CITY, GARRISON, GAYLORD, GENEVA, GIBBON, GILMAN, GLENCOE, GLENWOOD, GOLDEN VALLEY, GOOD THUNDER, GOODHUE, GRANDY, GRASSTON, GREEN ISLE, GREENWALD, GREENWOOD, GREY EAGLE, GROVE CITY, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMMOND, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HANSKA, HARDING, HARRIS, HARTLAND, HASTINGS, HAWICK, HAYFIELD, HECTOR, HEIDELBERG, HENDERSON, HENRIETTE, HILLMAN, HILLTOP, HINCKLEY, HOLDINGFORD, HOLLANDALE, HOPE, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, IRONTON, ISANTI, ISLE, JANESVILLE, JORDAN, KANDIYOHI, KASOTA, KASSON, KELLOGG, KENYON, KERKHOVEN, KERRICK, KETTLE RIVER, KILKENNY, KIMBALL, KINGSTON, KLOSSNER, LA SALLE, LAFAYETTE, LAKE CITY, LAKE CRYSTAL, LAKE ELMO, LAKE HENRY, LAKE LILLIAN, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LANSING, LASTRUP, LAUDERDALE, LE CENTER, LE SUEUR, LESTER PR, LESTER PRAIRIE, LEWISVILLE, LINDSTROM, LINO LAKES, LITCHFIELD, LITTLE CANADA, LITTLE FALLS, LITTLE SAUK, LONG BEACH, LONG LAKE, LONG PRAIRIE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MADELIA, MADISON LAKE, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MANTORVILLE, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLETON, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MARKVILLE, MAYER, MAYNARD, MAZEPPA, MC GRATH, MEDFORD, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MEIRE GROVE, MELROSE, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MILACA, MILLVILLE, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA LAKE, MINNESOTA LK, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MOOSE LAKE, MORA, MORGAN, MORRISTOWN, MORTON, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, MURDOCK, N SAINT PAUL, NAVARRE, NERSTRAND, NEW AUBURN, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW LONDON, NEW MARKET, NEW MUNICH, NEW PRAGUE, NEW RICHLAND, NEW TRIER, NEW ULM, NEWPORT, NICOLLET, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH REDWOOD, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NORWOOD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, OGILVIE, OLIVIA, ONAMIA, ORONO, ORONOCO, OSAKIS, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PAYNESVILLE, PEASE, PEMBERTON, PENNOCK, PIERZ, PILLAGER, PINE CITY, PINE ISLAND, PINE SPRINGS, PLAINVIEW, PLATO, PLYMOUTH, PRINCETON, PRINSBURG, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDALL, RANDOLPH, RAYMOND, READS LANDING, RED WING, REDWOOD FALLS, REGAL, RENVILLE, RICE, RICHFIELD, RICHMOND, RIVERTON, ROBBINSDALE, ROCHESTER, ROCK CREEK, ROCKFORD, ROCKVILLE, ROGERS, RONNEBY, ROSCOE, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, ROYALTON, RUSH CITY, RUTLEDGE, SACRED HEART, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT CLAIR, SAINT CLOUD, SAINT FRANCIS, SAINT JAMES, SAINT JOSEPH, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT MARTIN, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAINT STEPHEN, SANDSTONE, SANTIAGO, SARGEANT, SARTELL, SAUK CENTRE, SAUK RAPIDS, SAVAGE, SCANDIA, SEARLES, SEDAN, SHAFER, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SILVER LAKE, SKYLINE, SLEEPY EYE, SOBIESKI, SOUTH HAVEN, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPICER, SPRING HILL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, SPRINGFIELD, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, ST ROSA, STACY, STANCHFIELD, STANTON, STEWART, STEWARTVILLE, STILLWATER, STURGEON LAKE, SUNBURG, SUNFISH LAKE, SVEA, SWANVILLE, TAYLORS FALLS, THEILMAN, UPSALA, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VERNON CENTER, VESELI, VICTORIA, VILLARD, VIOLA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WABASHA, WACONIA, WAHKON, WAITE PARK, WALDORF, WALTERS, WALTHAM, WANAMINGO, WARSAW, WASECA, WATERTOWN, WATERVILLE, WATKINS, WAVERLY, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WELCH, WELLS, WEST CONCORD, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WEST UNION, WESTPORT, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE, WILLMAR, WILLOW RIVER, WINSTED, WINTHROP, WOODBURY, WYOMING, YOUNG AMERICA, ZIMMERMAN, ZUMBRO FALLS & ZUMBROTA, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Intelligent Design Corp., this company offers windows, siding, roofing, room additions, and decks.

Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Intelligent Design Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10550 County Road 81 Ste 210

    Maple Grove, MN 55369 (612) 919-2596 (763) 315-0745

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They took several months and many phone calls for them to complete the job. They said the delay was because they had to match our facia. The installed it and it did not match. Our roof had certainteed shingles our neighbor had there contractor they work with file the claim with certainteed and got 1000 dollars back. IDC was suppose to do this they have not. I have called many many times to resolve these issues. Left many messages and have never been called back.

Desired Settlement: Made a big mistake hiring this company. If I knew then what I know now I would run away. Just because they filed a claim with my insurance company does not mean you have to hire them as a contractor. Find the best company with a strong track record. This company is not it. I would like someone to call me back and resolve my billing issue so I never have to deal with company ever again.

Business Response: This was from two separate insurance claims in which we make the homeowners fully aware of their responsibility, their deductible. We will be happy to provide the two separate claims in which the homeowners are responsible for their $1,00.00 deductible on each claim. After a grueling negotiation process with the insurance company to get them to agree to all repairs needed, we had completed all repairs in accordance to the insurance companies scope and in a timely fashion after all details were finally agreed upon by them. It is the homeowners who have to apply for any monies available through the Certainteed claim. The homeowners were already being paid out to replace their whole roof and any additional money would have been deducted from the insurance companies responsibility. If these monies were collected and not submitted to the insurance company that is considered insurance fraud and we take no part in such actions. We have tried many times to collect from the homeowners. Per our contract we provided our services and completed the project and had to apply interest charges after several months of the homeowners ignoring our numerous phone calls and collection letters.

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business did faulty siding work around chimney. As a result, there was leak in the roof which I repaired. Requested refund with receipts to no avail. Company did siding and window work on my home about 2 years ago. The siding around the chimney was not done properly. We began to experience leak last year but thought it was due to condensation. But the leak got worse this year damaging ceiling. Got a roofer who determined it was leaking around the chimney just above where the leak was happening. He said the siding around the chimney was not done properly. There was an all day rain expected in a few days to I asked the roofer to fix the damage. He took photos before and after the work. It cost me $400. I contacted company with receipts and photos and requested reimbursement. They refused on grounds that I should have notified them and they would handle the repair. I also told them of other problems I had noticed on the siding and needed someone to come over to take a look; I have called and left messages and have not seen anyone. I called and spoke the the Operations Manager Jonathan. He had promised to come over, but I have never seen him. I called the office and the office person told me she would contact Jerry who was the sales rep on my account. It's been over a week and I have not heard from Jerry.

Desired Settlement: I spent $400 to prevent the leak from the chimney. I need a refund. I have the photos and receipt which I presented to the company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/12) */ The complaint really doesn't make a lot of sense. We fixed the siding on Mr. ******** home and had nothing to do with the roof or Chimney cap in question. We IDC have tried to come up with a time to meet Mr. ******** at his residence and that time seems hard to come by as our schedules apparently do not coincide with one another. If there is any damage done by IDC we will by all means fix our issues. I left a message for Mr. ******** today 11-12-2015 @ 12:20 P.M. to get together to get this matter looked at and handled once and for all. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2016/03/18) */ Per a phone call from the customer, he stated that the company has resolved all of his concerns.

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Intelligent Design held funds for a job they did not complete with no contract and after multiple attempts on our end to communicate with them. On 8/14/2014 my husband solicited Kerry from Intelligent Design to look at potential roof damage to our property since he was already at our neighbors home. we already knew we had siding damage. Kerry did come back the following day to assess damage and confirmed with us there was damage and encouraged us to open a claim with the insurance company. An adjuster came out and Kerry asked that he could also be there so I notified him as well. After a walk of the property damage was confirmed. ID stopped by multiple times awating the claim from our insurance company. When it arrived, they stopped showing up and stopped picking up their calls. From Aug to Feb 5, 2015 we made some progress but the company would not produce anything. So we finally told them we no longer wanted to proceed with them as a company and requested our money back. Larry (OM) told me on 2 seperate calls that I would be reimbursed. Ron then called me and told me I was entitled to nothing as I was under contract. I informed him I was not under contarct as I solicited their business and they not mine and he said he would need to call me back. Stan (owener) called instead and said he was entitled to employee salary as he had already paid these out. He agreed to meet with us at the Shakopee Police Station and said he would bring the employee in question and if we could prove his neglegence than he would return our money. He and Larry arrived without employee and would not provide us a full refund. Instead, they returned $5442.16 of the $8000.00 they had and said the remainder was for employee wages and an eagle view. They asked that we would sign something indicating we are essentially agreeing to settle. We told them that is not our intent and that we will not sign anything. We asked that they send an invoice for withholding funds and they initailly said they would but later said they were not giving us anything. We filed a police report. We fully intent to take this to small claims if necessary but hope to resolve the balance issues here. There were no materials ordered nor any work completed on my home and under the statue, we are not under contract as only one party signed the contract and both parties must sign in order for it to be valid when our business was not solicited. We were told they would start our job the same time as our neighbors and that did not happen. We didnt get a call until weeks later from their production guy to order our supplies. I was also not comfortable with the amount of suppliments that they requested of my insuarnce company. My insurance company denied their claim until all work is complete. This brought in a gentelman named Corey that told me if he could get additional money from my insurance companythat they could then use some of that money to help us pay for our out of pocket window upgrade costs. I didnt find out until later that this comment and process was fradulent. The company still owes us the balance and their business practices make me feel very uneasy. They are no longer allowed on my property. 2 additional neighbors had lack of communication issues with this company and one witnessed our experiances first hand.

Desired Settlement: I want the remaining $2557.84 refuned to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/10) */ This complaint was already settled with the customer and discussed with same customer as to the signed contract. I don't know what else to say but Case Closed! Please let us know if we need to show receipts of payment or breakdowns of the contractual agreement as the complainant really came out on the great end of the stick as we did not enforce the whole 25% as written on the back of the contract. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never agreed to a settlement and in fact asked in an email for the balance owed. They even asked us to sign something if we were selling to settle and we refused. We instead filed a police report once our conversation was over. We only agreed to meet because Stan said if we could prove negligence of his employee who would also attend the meeting, he would provide a full refund. When he showed up, the employee did not. We were not contacted as we solicited their business and they didn't sogn the contract. Additionally, they have refused to put in writing why their keeping the portion they think they are entitled too. This company did no work, not pave any orders for work on our home. We ate not, and will not accept a settlement. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2015/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never agreed to a settlement and in fact asked in an email for the balance owed. They even asked us to sign something if we were selling to settle and we refused. We instead filed a police report once our conversation was over. We only agreed to meet because Stan said if we could prove negligence of his employee who would also attend the meeting, he would provide a full refund. When he showed up, the employee did not. We were not contacted as we solicited their business and they didn't sogn the contract. Additionally, they have refused to put in writing why their keeping the portion they think they are entitled too. This company did no work, not pave any orders for work on our home. We ate not, and will not accept a settlement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/09/29) */ Per our contract.. after getting you the desired money from your insurance company and after the 3 day rescission period, there is a 25% fee for terminating the contract outside of the rescission period. This is standard procedure. However, we were very lenient on this case as e did not take 25% of the total as we just payed the fees that were accrued to the sales staff and office. This is our last comment on this case, any further communication should be directed through our lawyer. Thanks

6/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Intelligent Design is refusing to perform the work detailed in our signed contract, after 3 weeks of inaction and cashing our down payment. On May 7th, 2014 we signed a contract and put down a 50% deposit ($2,325) for contracting services with Intellignet Design. Repairs to our front step were to begin on May 15th and take 2 days. We were asked to be home while the job was being done, and took 2 days off work. After 2 weeks and many phone calls and voicemails left we were able to speak with the business manager on 5/28, after blocking our phone number prior to making the call. The manager came to our house, re-measured our front step, and guaranteed us a start date of 6/2. On 5/29 we received a call from Intelligent Design saying they have decided to not honor our contract. 22 days later we do not have our front step repaired and now have to find a new contractor to do the work.

Desired Settlement: Intelligent Design needs to : 1. Repair the step as outlined in our contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/06/10) */ IDC did have a contract to do repairs to the interior of the home as well as repairs to front steps. The contract was signed on May 7, 2014. $2,500 was for interior repair work and $2,150 was for the repair of the steps. We received a down payment of $2,325. Work on the steps was held up until we had final design plans worked out. We immediately organized a crew to look at the interior repairs and then they proceeded to do those repairs. We completed the interior work and between weather, design issues and availability oif subs,the steps did not proceed as fast as the customer wanted. It ended with the customer requesting their money back if we did not think we could get the work done within a couple days. IDC decided to see if we could make that happen. In the end we decided that we were not going to be able to get it completed within their time frame and also that the relationship had suffered. IDC decided to comply with their request for a refund. The interior work was completed and there was a balance due of $175 for that. Instead of having them pay for that we decided to refund that amount to them as compensation for their frustration with not having the steps done as fast as they had hoped. IDC will not be doing any further repairs for this customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) IDC is listing the bid price incorrectly, per our contract and final invoice which was recived on 6/3/14 signed by*************. $2500 for front step repair, $2150 for interior repair. The $175 refund was called out in the final invoice as over-charging for the interior, and did not address the front step. This was hand written by IDC in the final invoice on their letterhead, which can be provided should proof be bid price and refund details be requested. The above description by IDC for this refund is complete fiction. The $175 refund is a separate transation, and resolution for the front step repair still needs to be addressed. The refund we outlied with IDC when they decided to reneged on our contract is the same IDC outlined for us as consumers should we back out of the contract. 25% of the bid + any materials purchased -> $625 in the case of the front step repair. Weather issues can delay any job, and we understand that. However, there were no weather issues communicated to us when IDC kept insisting the job would be started 'the next day' or 'the next day' each time we called after finding no work had been completed under the timing described to us by the experts we had hired. IDC was at our house 2 separate times prior to signing the contract to configure the design work. Between the 5/7 contract signing to the planned start date of 5/15 all design issues should have been resolved by IDC as the experts in home repairs. In any regard, design issues were not mentioned once to us as reasons IDC was unable to start the job. *****, our main contact, had complete confidence in the design as he told us several times 'this is the year for step repairs' and they were doing 'the exact same repair' to another house in the metro. This does not sound like a company that was struggline with design issues. Yes, we set a date for IDC to have the step completed after 21 days of no work being done. At that time (5/28)************* agreed with our timeline and said repairs would start 6/2. A significant duration from the original start date of 5/15, but was a date we accepted as we wanted the repair completed. IDC can either send their contractors to our home and complete the contract as outlined in our signed agreement for $2500, or can pay us $625 for backing out of our contract after 22 days of inaction. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/24) */ The original complaint never mentioned that part of the contract was for interior work as well. The complaint made it appear that we basically took the customers money and skipped town with their down payment. In fact the down payment covered the interior work that we completed. It is our contention that libel may be in order. They have not paid for any work not done. If the customer feels that they have cause to collect any money for damages then IDC requests that they contact us directly and we will settle this through our attorney. IDC will not have any further contact via the BBB in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Intelligent Design Corporation
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart