This business is not BBB accredited.

CSC Exteriors

Phone: (952) 300-2635 8444 Pillsbury Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55420 http://www.cscexteriors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a Home exteriors company based out of Bloomington, MN


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CSC Exteriors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CSC Exteriors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 2011 Business started: 02/20/2008 Business started locally: 02/20/2008 Business incorporated 02/20/2008 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Bruce Clausen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Bruce Clausen, Owner
Business Category

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Contractor - Home Performance Doors - Repair Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation Deck - Repair Deck Builder Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Installation Doors - Rolling

Refund and Exchange Policy
Please refer to our contract for this information.
Service Area
Twin Cities and surrounding suburbs
Products & Services

According to the information provided by CSC Exteriors, this company offers installation of doors, siding, windows, roofing and Insulation. Also remodels kitchens and decks.

Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8444 Pillsbury Ave S

    Bloomington, MN 55420 (952) 300-2635

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After canceling work CSC Exteriors has not refunded the rest of my deposit, $1,018.75 even though no work was done and they did not buy any materials. I bought an Angie's List deal from CSC Exteriors to come to my house and give a consultation and a design service where they use a computer program to put different colors on your house so you can see how different products look. They also give a consultation on possible work that is needed. Pat ******* came out to my house and I paid for the design service. There was also work suggested. On May 12, 2015, I signed a contract to replace some siding on our house. I paid a deposit for $2,037.50. The verbal agreement was for $3,000, but on the contract they added wrapping windows and disposal and permits for $1,000. We have Anderson Renewal windows with vinyl cladding. I asked about the extra charge for the windows at that time and the salesman told me that they had to be wrapped and kept the added charge. Before any work could proceed, I had to pick a color for the siding so nothing progressed on the job. I started looking into wrapping our windows and I believe that wrapping the windows would void the warrantee. A person from CSC Exteriors came out to measure and he told me that the windows could not be wrapped and do not need to be wrapped. I asked several more times about the charge and I could not get resolution. I was getting nervous about this company working on our house and at the same time we had some unexpected medical bills. I did not want to proceed with work under these circumstances. At that time I informed them that I wanted to cancel the job and asked for my deposit money back. I was told that the boss had to handle it, Bruce *******. When I finally spoke to the boss, I was told that there is a clause in fine print on the back of the contract saying that they can keep 25% of the money if I cancel the work. I said that I did not agree to paying $1,018.75 for a guy coming out to our house and measuring. I had already paid for the design consultation through Angie's List. Since they had not purchased any materials and they had not started any work I wanted a refund of my deposit. I was not even shown that there was writing on the back of the contract and was not informed about such an unfair business practice. I also read the front of the contract. It states that the contract is only valid when signed by CSC Exteriors and myself. My copy is not signed by anyone from CSC Exteriors. At the end of the conversation he said that he would mail a check for a refund. The check did not come. I e-mailed Bruce and was told that he would send a check. It did not arrive. Bruce stopped responding to my e-mails and I called the office and left a message. I did not get a response. After I submitted a complaint through Angie's List, he sent a check for half of my deposit. He kept $1,018.75 of my deposit even though no work was started and he did not purchase any materials. I have put more effort into getting my deposit back from CSC Exteriors than they put into the potential work on my house. They also kept my money from May 12, 2015 until mailing a check for part of the deposit in October 8, 2015. I should charge them interest.

Desired Settlement: Since I was eventually mailed a check for $1,018.75 I would like a refund of the rest of my deposit, $1,018.75. This would mean that my whole deposit of $2, 037.50 would be refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/20) */ The contract is signed and has always been signed. We did purchase materials for this job. This is the main reason for the stipulation in the contract. We refunded the appropriate amount, and they continue to go against a contract that they signed. They had 3 business days to cancel which also states in the contract but waited 2 weeks after to cancel. By that time with man hours, and materials we actually lost money, but refunded them the 25% of there deposit which we are entitled to do. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) CSC Exteriors is keeping $1,018.75 of my deposit when they did not buy any materials and they did not do any work on our house. I did not pick a color for the siding so they could not have bought the siding. They are keeping over a thousand dollars based on this expense and it is not valid. They are also saying that the fine print on a contract allows them to keep my money but my copy of the contract is not even signed by their representative. And if they want to keep my money based on a technicality, the lack of a signature makes the contract void. I do not believe that this is good business to keep my money without doing any work and I do not believe that it is right. I was hoping that filing a complaint would help to resolve the issue. I am planning to continue trying to resolve the issue including exploring legal options.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CSC Exteriors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)