BBB Accredited Business since

Hostopia.com, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 467-8674 Fax: (954) 463-3822 View Additional Phone Numbers 3680 Victoria St N, Shoreview, MN 55126 http://www.hostopia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hostopia.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hostopia.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hostopia.com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2011 Business started: 12/01/1999 Business started locally: 12/01/1999
Business Management
David Smith, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Chris Miersch, Partner Relations
Principal: David Smith, Owner
Business Category

Web Design

Alternate Business Names
Aplus.net
Products & Services

According to the information supplied by the company, Hostopia provides web and mobile hosting, e commerce stores, logos, support services, online fax and email services for small businesses.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 E Broward Blvd Ste 1650

    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 (866) 467-8674 (800) 322-9438

  • 3680 Victoria St N

    Shoreview, MN 55126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: APlusn.net refuses to fix a problem with the statistics for my website and refuses to stop billing me for incomplete/unsatisfactory services. Four 4 months, the statistics on my website hosted through APlus.net have been horribly wrong. Data for several months is gone entirely and as these stats are vital to the operation of my site in terms of being able to judge its reach and appeal to possible advertisers, I contacted APlus seeking resolution. I also refused to pay for the months the services they are UNDER CONTRACT TO PROVIDE were not completed as mandated, but they have continued billing me and refuse to stop "until the problem is fixed." This asinine and offensive and I am demanding the immediate refund of the past four months' fees and a cessation of billing until the issue is fixed.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of past four months' fees and a stop to billing until the issue is fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/29) */ We are aware of the issue with our clients web statistics and are working to implement a fix however do not have an exact date on when this will be resolved. This is a legacy application which we are working to phase out as we have a new web analytics application available for customers to use. We will continue to work towards a resolution however we will not be providing refunds or adjustment to there billing as our web analytics/statistics applications are provided as a courtesy.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Secretly shutting down my company's outgoing emails. Over the last couple of months I have changed my email password three times under the direction of Aplus due to me reporting unauthorized use of my email. I was getting undeliverable notices on emails I did not send. About two weeks after the last episode my outgoing email stopped working. I called Aplus and was told a block had been placed on my outgoing email. I changed my password and Aplus removed the block. I asked why Aplus had blocked my email and why Aplus had not informed me of this action, especially since a review of the account would have shown the issue had been reported and hopefully resolved. I made it clear secretly shutting down my company email was unacceptable. I did not receive a satisfactory explanation; I was promised a supervisor would call me that was on 8/25, I have not received said call. This type of high handed arrogant action, coupled with a, don't care how much damage your company suffers, indicates Aplus needs a wake up call. It is unacceptable to advertise how great you are when your actions defy your rhetoric so blatantly.

Desired Settlement: Communicate fully, openly and proactively. Commit to always informing their customers prior to shutting them down. Develop innovative procedures to resolve spoofing issues. Meet commitments, specifically return telephone calls in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/25) */ This customer is setup on our shared hosting platform. Due to how these services work we can not always notify customers prior to disabling certain services. In this instance it appeared the customers account was compromised and being used to send out spam from our servers. This act can damage the reputation of our email servers which could affect email services for all our customers. It is our policy to immediately suspend these services and notify the customer as quickly as possible after the fact. We apologize if communication was not satisfactory in this scenario however we appreciate the feed back and will be reviewing this case and looking for opportunities to improve.

8/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My domain name was moved from my account to another persons and then when I finally got my domain back, they deleted all the content from my website I purchased a domain name and a web hosting plan from this company. When I purchased it they said the credit card system was down so they would have to do everything manually. I said no problem and purchased the domain. The domain name appeared in my control panel the next day and I installed the wordpress plugin and built the database. At that point I began logging into wordpress to build my website. A few days later I logged into Aplus.net control panel to upload my sitemap and realized the domain was missing. Customer support kept telling my that it was my cookies and I assured them that was not the case, I had checked. Finally a week later a person online discovered they had moved my domain and website to another one of their customers account. After another week of mostly horrible customer support my domain appeared back in my control panel except now my entire website and database had been deleted. I now have customer and clients which I was in talks with asking me what happened to my website as they wanted to show it to people. This is ruining my business and costing me money. All I keep being told is that things are being escalated. I also have been hung up on 3 times in chat and given attitude by a number of people in cusotmer support. I have had only one person support me on the phone that acted like they even cared this was impacting my business.

Desired Settlement: I want the website restored asap and some sort of reasonable compensation for lost business and reputation. (not a couple months free hosting at 9 bucks a month)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Due to a system error our customers domain was separated into another account. This was corrected as quickly as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience this issue caused however we do not compensate for any loss of business opportunity. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The domain was not just separated my entire site content was deleted and the customer service was terrible. Nobody seemed to care at all and they still do not. I had to build my whole site from scratch. I lost accounts and reputable to from this. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The domain was not just separated my entire site content was deleted and the customer service was terrible. Nobody seemed to care at all and they still do not. I had to build my whole site from scratch. I lost accounts and reputable to from this.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was billed for and paid for Domain Name and E-mail service, after payment Aplus cancelled service. Reference Domain name RMprofiles.com and e-mail service for ****@rmprofiles.com. There was a several email between aplus and myself about who was the contact person for this domain name. My partner sent an email to aplus releasing the domain to myself as the primary contact. Aplus has billed me for the past 5 years for this account thereby having knowledge of my ownership. Around 5/3/2014 the e-mail account stopped working. I contacted Aplus by phone and was told that I would hear from someone in 24-48 hours. I continued to call and was given an Ticket number for service.#******* and followed up daily with call's and e-mails. After a two week period I was told that they released the domain name and I would have to re-purchase it from an outside agent. This after they had accepted payment for the 2014\2015 year.

Desired Settlement: To reinstate domain and e-mail service immediately and pay me $100 a day for lost business that the e-mail for my business was down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/10) */ The domain was paid for to be renewed however it was brought to our attention that there is incorrect contact information listed for the domain registration. Under ICANN policy and the terms of your registration agreement, listing incorrect contact information on the domain registration record can be grounds for cancelling your domain registration. To review the ICANN policy, please visit: http://www.icann.org/en/whois/wdrp-registrant-faq.htm. On 4/17/2014 we sent an email with detailed instructions on how to update this contact information to the email address we have on file. This information was not updated within the allotted 15 day time frame so the domain registration was revoked per ICANN policy. No compensation will be provided and if our client wishes to reinstate the domain then they will need to contact our domain services team to acquire the domain from our monetization account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No email from 4/17/2014 was ever received. The person that was listed as the contact person sent an email to the webhosting company listing me as the contact person. If your statements were true why when I called in May was your support team unable to tell me why. Instead they told me time and time again the my issue had been sent to another department and would be fixed shortly? It took over a month for someone to finally contact me and that was not until 6/10/2014. Problem has still not been fixed. Worst customer experience ever from someone that has taken payment for over 5 years from a customer and can't pick up a phone or follow up before shutting down their business. Why would anyone want to trust these folks with registering their domain or email accounts. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/06/12) */ We will not be able to provide the desired resolution or compensation, our position is final on this matter. It's the responsibility of the account owner to maintain accurate contact information for their domain and account. We provide our clients full access to update this information at their convenience through the control panel. Our customers can also see a copy of all system generated emails we send through the message center of their control panel.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A ticket in regards to an FTP issue was created 2014-05-08 13:36:13 and the company has not responded to my support issue When Deluxe purchased the company Aplus.net awhile back, they changed the interface for web hosting and the like. Much information previously available was not accessible after that point. My IP address to FTP to my web hosting area was one bit of info that I could not access anymore. When I called support to get it, they would act dumb like they needed to research the matter before they could help with the info I needed. (I.E. the ip address)My area was apparently in a special place that confounded the techs at Aplus.net. I called May 8th 2014 to get the info and was told they needed to investigate. Today, the 21st of May 2014 I called back and was informed they sent me 3 emails so they could investigate. I never received any of their 3 emails they allegedly sent me. I had the tech on chat send me an email to the same address they claimed to use previously and it came to me fine. They are lying about sending 3 emails to me previously, they have done this before and impacted my business as a result with no compensation to me whatsoever other than "I am sorry" I DON'T NEED THEIR "IM SORRYS" I am paying them money to support my site and they have failed to produce any reasonable form of intelligent customer support. Looking on the web, people are infuriated with their support.

Desired Settlement: I want the money back I paid during the time I was poorly hosted by Aplus.net and for the time I wasted talking to their non-english speaking techs who would sometimes take ten minutes to resolve my identity when I gave them my last name ****. They employ people who do not think out of the box and are obviously not capable of providing the tech support they advertise!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/04) */ We made several attempts to reach out to our client in accordance to our standard policy which sends an email to the address we have on file. We have spoken with our Customer to explain the ftp method for a utility domain and advised on features. Customer was satisfied with explanation and advised that a refund was not longer warranted. "After speaking to the refund issue with an Apus.net representative, I have agreed a refund is not due me."

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requesting a refund of $69.65 for cancellation of yearly hosting plan (109.45) after 4 months (9.95 monthly rate). Refund based off of monthly rate. Account: ******* Username: ********* Customer: ********* On November 29, 2013 an automatic renewal was charged to my card at 109.45 for a yearly hosting plan. On March 2, 2014, I requested that plan to be cancelled. Marion S cancelled my account on March 3, 2014. After cancelling my account, I was informed by ******* that I would not be refunded any money for my cancellation. Yearly rates are lower than monthly rates and I conveyed that charging me 4 months at the monthly rate is fair. In roughly 4 emails between March 4th and March 11th, ******* explain that it is Aplus.net's policy is to not refund money after 30 days from date of charge. I contend that Aplus.net's TOS of Service is not legal. How can any policy justify the holding of funds for services never to be rendered. Their TOS agreement goes straight against the concept of a good faith contract. I understand under certain circumstances, companies need to make accommodations for opening/closing accounts, which costs money. The fact of the matter is that Aplus.net has monthly plans, so those setup costs are not substantial. In addition, I cancelled my account 3 months and 2 days into the contract, and I am asking to be charged for 4 months, which should negate any setup/termination costs.

Desired Settlement: Requesting a refund of $69.65 for cancellation of yearly hosting plan after 3 months and 2 days of usage. 109.45 - Charged to me for yearly hosting plan. 9.95 - Monthly hosting rate 39.80 - 4 months at monthly rate. Final calcuation 109.45 - 39.8 = $69.65

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/03) */ While a refund like the customer is requesting is outside our standard policy we have agreed to provide the customer with the prorated refund they've requested in this instance. Client can expect to see the fund deposited back into the account we have on file with in 7 business days.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hostopia.com, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)