Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1990

Standard Water Control Systems, Inc

Phone: (763) 537-4849Fax: (763) 537-1882View Additional Phone Numbers5337 Lakeland Ave N, CrystalMN 55429-3115 Send email to Standard Water Control Systems, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Since 1977 basement waterproofing, water control and wet basement repair services from Standard Water Control Systems have given homeowners greater peace of mind by keeping their basements dry and safe. Our Basement Health Association certified and state-licensed* teams have helped homeowners throughout Minnesota, Western Wisconsin, Iowa and the Dakotas solve leaky basement emergencies while protecting their homes from moisture seepage in the future.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1990

BBB has determined that Standard Water Control Systems, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Standard Water Control Systems, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Standard Water Control Systems were the recipients of the 2003 BBB Integrity Award.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Standard Water Control Systems, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upon completion of drain tile and sump pump installation, water continues to enter basement floor via foundation. Installed system is failing.
Installation date: 6/4/2014
Payment amount: $5100.00
Payment Method: Credit Card

Water continues to enter basement via seepage over the top of installed floor system. Standard refuses repair this failure unless homeowner removes all plaster from walls in order to attach "plastic sheeting." Removal of plaster will add substantial cost to homeowner to have plaster professionally removed.
Lifetime warranty states coverage of seepage through top of cove/floor system.
I believe that the necessity for removal of plaster should have been anticipated by contractor before leading us to believe that water would not enter basement post installation, or that system should have been installed without risk of continued seepage.

Desired Settlement
Partial refund or continuation of work to eliminate continued water entry.

Business Response
Since 1977 Standard Water Control has worked on nearly 30,000 homes. In that time we have had very, very few complaints. Our percentage of BBB complaints compared to total jobs is less than one tenth of one percent. That being said, we take all complaints seriously.

The homeowner refers to the seepage he is experiencing as a failure. We politely disagree. A failure would mean our system is not allowing for the free and unrestricted flow of water from the base of the block, across the footing, into the drainage field, and on to the sump where it is then pumped away from the house. This is not the case; our system is working as it should.

This homeowners issue is an additional complication in the home that was not evident at the time of installation as it was hidden behind plaster with no outward sign of water intrusion. Without that evidence there was no need to increase the homeowners costs by asking him to remove the plaster; which is the sole responsibility of the homeowner as explicitly stated in the contract the homeowner read and signed:

ITEM #4 TERMS & CONDITIONS:

"... Owner is to make the walls and floor bare to the foundation walls in the area to be treated and otherwise make specified areas accessible to Contractor. The Owner is responsible for making the specified floor and wall areas accessible to Contractor by moving, or removing items, including, without limitation; appliances, furniture, laundry tubs, toilets, showers, tubs, floor coverings, interior walls, baseboard, trim and other obstructions."

We surmise the water is the result of an obstruction in the hollow concrete blocks higher up on the wall. The fix for such an issue requires the installation of a moisture barrier to direct the seepage into the system. However, as clearly stated in the signed contract, the walls are not bare; there is plaster in the way and removal of the plaster is the responsibility of the homeowner.

We completely understand the homeowners frustration and are sensitive to the additional costs; going so far as to offer moisture barrier installation free of charge when the walls are bare to the concrete blocks. At first the homeowner said he could do that but has since changed his mind.

Further, we cannot simply add the moisture barrier over the plaster as the seepage will eventually cause the plaster to deteriorate, fall off the wall and render the moisture barrier ineffective. There is no way we can warranty that work for the life of the foundation.

As for being able to anticipate the obstruction of the normally hollow concrete block higher up on the wall with no evidence of water intrusion; this would require a level of technology (and resultant cost) few homeowners would bear.

Once again, we are more than happy to install the moisture barrier completely free of charge. However, the walls must be bare to the concrete block as agreed to by the homeowner when he signed the contract.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Replacement of sump pump has resulted in interference in drain tile draining in adjacent room - now floods & and didn't before work by Standard
In 1996 we added a large addition to our home. At the time, drain tiles were installed by the contractor in the new cement floor in the new room that was part of the addition. Up until the time I had Standard Water install a new sump pump in an adjoining room, those drain tiles worked well at addressing the water issues inherent in our neighborhood. They direct the water to an interior wall next to a storage room in which a sump pump was installed. The storage room did not have drain tiles installed at the time we did the addition.

This system worked well and the basement was finished in 2008 (carpeted, oak wainscoting) and the room has a pool table in it.

In March 2012, the old sump pump failed and due to frozen exterior ground, extensive rain and broken/plugged/frozen discharge pipe, the storage room flooded through an exterior wall. I retained Standard Water Control to install a new sump pump and install drain tiles in the storage room. They were supposed to perform the work in such a way that the existing drain tiles in the pool table room would continue to feed in to the new sump pump.

They performed the work at a cost of $2430.00. However, in May of 2013, the pool table room sustained water damage due to the high levels of moisture we were having weather-wise. The flooding was in the interior corner of the room where the drain tiles direct the water to flow into the sump pump (NOT on the exterior walls). I called Standard Water and told **** of my concerns. He had **** ******** come out to look and see if there was an issue with their work. **** came out on May 20, 2013 (I had to pay a call fee of $100.00), looked at the system and said there was nothing wrong with their work and that my only solution was to replace all the drain tile in the pool table room at a cost of $3105.00. **** looked inside the sump pump and said it was fine and that they didn't warranty any one else's work. I and a contractor-friend had taken the lid off of the sump pump and felt inside and the contractor noted that one of the tubes that was to direct the water into the basin was loose and had gravel in it. I asked **** about that and he indicated it wasn't a problem.

At roughly the same time, my downstairs bathroom tile (in the shower) had leaked (about 20 feet away and up 2 stairs) and so I didn't press the Standard Water folks at that time.

However, on May 2, 2014, the pool table room again flooded in that interior corner. I again called Standard Water and spoke with ****. I expressed my dissatisfaction and questioned why this was happening in the wet springs when it hadn't happened before they replaced the sump pump. I indicated my opinion that something in what they did has either impeded the flow from pool table room to the sump pump or that they did not tie it in correctly. **** again had **** stop out to my house that same day. Again, ****, opened the lid on the sump pump looked inside with a flashlite, said it seems to be working fine (because water was dripping) and again my only solution is to redo the pool table room with new drain tile.

I asked Standard Water to please repair or redo the sump pump connection as that has clearly been done incorrectly or inadequately as it has resulted in interference or damage in some way to the existing drain tiles in the adjacent room. They have indicated that they only warranty their work and the problem is with the original drain tiles in the other room. They have ignored further requests for an appropriate solution. It seems ludicrous that I have to repair a problem (for $3500) that didn't exist until Standard did their work in an adjacent room and tied into the existing system. I have had to rip the carpet up, have it cleaned and re-stretched twice let alone the disruption, mess and hassle of dealing with all of this.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to come out and repair or redo their workmanship that created the impediment to drainage from the pool table room drain tile into the new sump pump. I do not think it is fair that because of their work in one room I now have to replace drain tile in another room. If they can't repair or redo their work sufficiently, I would like them to install new drain tiles in the pool table room at least in the one corner that has been damaged or detrimentally effected by their below standard work.

Business Response
Since 1977 Standard Water Control has worked on nearly 30,000 homes. In that time we have had very, very few complaints. Our percentage of BBB complaints compared to total jobs is less than one tenth of one percent. That being said, we take all complaints seriously.

We were originally out to this home in 2007. The owner reported no water but stains on walls. However, in September of '07 she told **** she was getting water in the space where the floor and wall meet. It must be noted the original drain tile system has not been functioning properly since, at least, 2007 and the claim that it was working well in 2008 is, therefore, suspect.

In March of 2013 we installed a sump system and added drain tile as requested by the homeowner. Notes from our crew foreman clearly state the original drain tile installation was sub-standard; there weren't enough weep holes in the blocks and there was no gravel field surrounding the tile to keep it from plugging up and causing trouble.

In May the homeowner reported a water issue. We sent a representative out to look at the problem and discovered the water was coming from an area where we had done no work. As this wasn't a warranty issue, the homeowner was charged for a service call.

We concluded the original drain-tile -- installed by a different contractor -- had failed. The solution to a problem like this is sufficient weep holes in the block and drain tile that won't plug up and cause problems, which is what we suggested to the homeowner.

In May of 2014 we were again called to the home for the same problem. Again our conclusion was the homeowner needed more drain tile.

The homeowner, however, came to a different conclusion. She decided because our work and her new water problem occurred in sequence that our work caused the water problem. As we all know, coincidence does not equal causation in all events. The new water problem was also coincidental with heavy rainfall seasons ... this year especially with historic rainfalls (14" above normal so far) and this fact must also be taken into consideration.

The homeowner was insistent so, at our own cost, Standard Water hired a plumber to run a camera through the drain tile system; both old and new. The video clearly shows our system butted up to the existing system and water is able to flow freely from the original to the new unimpeded.

Further, as the camera reached the far end of the original drain tile it dead-ended against the interior wall; this shows there is no drain tile at all along the area where the water is intruding and the installation of drain tile should solve the problem. Beyond that, the original contractor had failed to cap the tile and mud was intruding into the system.

As there was a water problem pre-existing in this home since 2007 and video evidence clearly shows no impediment to the free flow of water from the original, improperly installed, drain tile to ours and the revelation that no drain tile exists along the area of new seepage, our position remains the same.

The solution for this homeowner is to have drain tile installed along the affected area. It would also be advisable to replace all of the original drain tile as it is appears to be incapable of handling the volume of rain our area has been experiencing these past few years. Additionally, she should look for a contractor she feels more comfortable with.

The homeowner has requested the video footage. We would be happy to provide it for the cost of the service fee charged to Standard Water.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner refused to send staff to my house to assess my concern of appearance of water seepage into floor and wall. Refused walk-through after install.
3/31 completion date. 4/30/14 Contacted**************- President of Standard Water. Asked that someone come to my house for follow-up examination for water seepage was appearing in basement. He insisted he knew what was wrong and that it was condensation. **** refused to send anyone out to examine the concern I had unless I paid a $200 service fee. I literally begged to have someone stop by for 10 minutes. I was shocked, for this job was just completed. I have email documentations of his denial of me having any problem and requiring 200.00 service fee. Not knowing what to do, I hired an independent contractor to come to problem solve/assess what is going on with my basement since **** would not provide follow-through and problem solve as to why my walls are wet, damp floors in the basement and try to determine what is going on. Turns out that the discharge pipes on the outside of my house are
connected for discharge incorrectly with the main pump discharge pipe blowing water out, right outside my house, puddles, and it sinks right back into my basement. (Simple problem/simple fix) My basement walls are wet about 2 feet up the wall and increasing daily,my outside foundation block is saturated, floor seeps moisture and amount increases daily.
**** would not send anyone out to walk me through and see what was going on. Insisted it was just condensation, he had experience and knew exactly what my problem was. How could he? He didn't see it. He has also been less than polite and I have been agitated.
I then called the city inspector to see when he was coming out to inspect the completed job, thinking he could give me some answers since Standard Water would not follow up on a job completed within the past month. It turns out a permit was NOT pulled with the city either and it said on Standard's contract I signed that a permit would be pulled if required. I am assuming the permit fee was added into my cost for the drain tile and it was not even paid for or pulled.
I have written, called, begged to have someone come and fix this. My exchange with **** and Standard Water has been going on since April 30th and today is May 3rd. My correspondence has been ignored since May 1st. No phone calls returned, no emails returned. I have all my documentation of communication in writing and will provide that if requested that shows **** and my exchanges, my requests, frustrations, reports of what the other contractor discovered etc, and **** refusing to budge on sending someone to my house, insisting there was no problem. I asked for 10 minutes of a person to stop by. **** kept insisting my problem was not covered by their warranty. This was not a warranty issue to me, it was something was not right. I have now discovered it is a pipe installation mistake that just needs the out-put pipes reversed. They will not come fix it and I paid $7,000 approximately for this service and cannot get them to come out, look at the workmanship and fix it without me paying $200 on something they did incorrectly? How can I get this man to stand up to their work and just change the pipe discharge, redo some of the caulk where pipe is going into house, (It is cracked and water will go into my masonite siding, fix the grade slope of the pipe also so it runs correctly. The pipe they have running 15 feet into my back yard is not the main discharge. It is the back up pump which will only run if my electricity goes out. The main pump dumps right outside my house. My brand new pump is running constantly which is over working my new pump and my basement walls and block are wet, which may harbor mold, water marks, which will then make me need to repaint and it will appear that I had major water flood with the marks on the wall when I try to sell my house.************** is not working with me and will not back his crews installation and so on and I am so frustrated with this and also do not like it that I am getting damage in my basement. Please help me resolve this.

Desired Settlement
I want my pipes vented out correctly for proper water discharge. I want the the caulk fixed leading into my house. I want the wobbly discharge pipes stabilized and secured and angled correctly for proper drainage flow.
I want financial compensation for wall paint If my walls are stained and I don't know if they are until they dry out. If I get mold, I want them to remedy that too.
I want a new pump replacement since my pump is currently running 3 times every 5 minutes for the numerous days we have had this excessive rain. I think it rained about a week.I feel that I have had more wear on my pump than would have been necessary. None of this would be requested if they could have just come out and taken a look at this.
I just want it fixed and not be required to pay a $200.00 service fee when this is an error on the part of the Standard Water crew. I want it done in a timely manner. It should have been No big deal. I am dumb-founded and can't believe this escalated with no resolution when there was a simple resolution.I have never seen business done this way and especially with such a large company.

Business Response
Over the past 36 months Standard Water Control Systems has installed 2,349 basement waterproofing systems. In that time we have had only 3 BBB complaints, including this one. Keep in mind we're only counting the drain tile systems we've installed and left out egress windows, radon mitigation systems, and more.

Standard Water faxed the application for permit to the city on March 21st, 2014. The city never sent the permit out.

Damp spots in the concrete seam where the new and old cement meet are commonplace. Unless the homeowner paints or seals the floor the damp spots will reappear, this is clearly stated in our literature as I tried to explain.

Standard Water does not warranty against damp spots. A quick reading of our contract clearly shows Standard Water warranties against further seepage. In fact, no one in the industry warranties against damp spots.

When informed of potential service fees the homeowner chose not to have Standard Water Control come out to look at her problem. Instead the homeowner called another contractor. It is, of course, the homeowners right to have other contractors to their home any time they choose. However, the cost of the other contractor must be borne by the homeowner.

We replied to an email to inform the homeowner we would have a technician stop by on Monday the 5th. He dropped off the permit from the city, which finally arrived, and re-connected the discharge pipes to discharge farther out into the yard.

It is important to note the homeowner is responsible to remove the discharge pipes in the cold weather and reinstall them when things warm up again. This is a regular maintenance issue not an installation issue. The homeowner can find this information in the literature we left with her after the job.

As none of the issues perceived by the homeowner are related to our system, installation or warranty we cannot reimburse her for expenses incurred or anticipated.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regarding
Case # ******** Standard Water Systems
Rebuttal to response from **** ********- President of Standard Water Systems
His Response to BBB
SW:Damp spots in the concrete seam where the new and old cement meet are commonplace.
I plan to seal the concrete. That was before any of this came about and I have to wait until it dries out to seal it. I would wager it is not commonplace practice to Standard Water to make a mistake on the discharge pipe configuration so that water dumps out next to the house and drains back down along my foundation wall. Easy fix, had it been assessed, discovered, and attended to in a timely manner. I had to find someone else to assess, and discover the problem.
These were not just damp spots. It was a wet wall and increasing moisture on my basement floor.
Please see attached pictures.
SW: said "we could put a hole in the floor to prove water is not coming up through the floor and if there was there would not be the cost. But if it is not, the cost would be $200.00".
This was not a warranty issue. Something was wrong with my system or installation or something, and I was getting water in my basement. Since I did not want a hole in my floor, nor did I want to pay $200.00, nor did I think drilling a hole in the concrete was the answer, it was necessary to get another contractor to come out and PROBLEM SOLVE. This Drain Tile $7000.00 job was completed on March 31st. I asked that someone stop by my house for about 10 minutes to look at my basement. **** refused this without a service charge. He was insistent it was condensation. I was not concerned about the seams. I was concerned about what you see on the pictures.
I read the warranty. **** states that he told me a potential service fee. I was told there would be a fee.
Once the other contractor was out for quite some time, and puzzled by my wet walls, it was discovered that Standard Water had connect the discharge pipes incorrectly. The main discharge pipe should have been piped out into my back yard. The battery back-up pipe was to be the short pipe and dump water outside my house should electricity power ever be lost..
The other contractor discovered the main discharge pipe was blowing water out along right outside my foundation and it was draining back into my basement along my concrete wall. This is an error on the part of standard Water Company.
Standard did not/would not come to my house to fix this problem until Standard received a letter from my City Inspector stating that the permit had not been filed (I believe they were fined) and that there was a potential that the concrete would need to be removed for the inspector to examine the system installation in my USPS mailing or I can request the City Inspector to verify this. I can provide concrete information on this and will attach a copy of the letter the City Inspector sent Standard Water.To the best of my knowledge a permit was not applied for.That is the information I had from the City Inspector and also I would think that the installation team would know that a paper permit is to be hung on the house when work is in process. I am not certified in these areas though.
The work was completed March 31st 2014. Standard did not apply for the permit until May 5th after they were ordered by ************* the City Inspector of Columbia Heights to come and get a permit. Inspector also said my basement floor may need to be busted open for him to see if the system was installed correctly.
**** ******** stated:
We replied to an email to inform the homeowner we would have a technician stop by on Monday the 5th. False statement. There was no email. There was no communication anyone was coming out.
He dropped off the permit that finally arrived. This is a false statement implying they had to wait for the permit. There is no waiting time for a permit. The permit was not applied for. The drain tile installation work started March 30th and completed March 31st. There would not have been a permit pulled had I not contacted my City Inspector in an attempt to get assistance to determine what was going on with my basement walls and floor.
I asked for someone to stop by for 10 minutes to figure out what was wrong. Standard would not problem solve and denied there was any problem. This was not condensation. This was a simple fix. But **** would not demonstrate support of his product or positive customer service.
Plus again, it was stated on my contract that a permit would be pulled it was not. It was not pulled until they were ordered to pull it by the city. Had the city not ordered it, I don't think my pipes would have been re-connected as of yet.
False statements:
No permit was pulled and it was not due to a necessary waiting period from the city. Again we are talking March 30th work started, March 31st completed. Pulled permit May 5th after receiving letter from City.
Homeowner was informed technician would be out...Did not inform me anyone was coming to my house on May 5th. Had I not heard noise outside my house, I would have no known anyone was at my house. No one knocked on my door to announce they were at my house and what they were doing. It was not until I walked outside to see what was going on that I saw pipes being configured differently/switched.
Again, a technician coming to my house did not occur until Standard received a letter from my city inspector. On May 5th a yellow paper was taped was to my window of my front door. I asked the technician what it was and he told me it was a permit for the work being performed today (which was May 5th ) I wasn't understanding why they would need a permit to reconfigure the discharge pipes. Actually after I examined it, I discovered it was the permit that should have been pulled prior to, or on, March 30th.
"None of the issues perceived by the homeowner are related to our system". (I thought they did good work and was pleased with the workers while at my house, their organization, neatness, process etc. I had called Standard at the completion of the work with my praises)
After this water issue began, I did not know what my problem was and they needed to help me figure it out. I am not supposed to be the one to figure out what was wrong. I am not an experienced drain tile person.
The issues were related to incorrect discharge configuration (WHICH I HAD NO IDEA THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. How was I to know?) I was to know it by having another contractor stop by. It was in my desperation of trying to determine why my walls were suddenly wet and visible water where the wall met the floor. It was in desperation I went to the city inspector asking if he could help me determine what was the problem was.
It was Standard Water's responsibility to come out and look at what could be causing seepage through my walls and into my floor, and determine why I had my wet walls which had not been an issue before installation (within a month after their job had been completed). Over the telephone **** said it was condensation and commonplace. This was not condensation. He wouldn't send someone out to look.
Basically, please look at my pictures sent to CM. Please observe the progression area of dampness by the Standard Water stamp branded into my concrete.
I want it on record that this is a valid complaint and that ****'s responses to my concerns did not relate to or address what the problem was and were not accurate. I want it on record that a permit was not pulled although it was stated in my contract a permit would be pulled, nor would it have been pulled had I not gone to the inspector.I want it on record there is no waiting period for a permit and implying there was a waiting period is inaccurate. I want it on record that **************- Building Official #**** wrote **** a letter on May 1, 2014 and it stated as follows:
Dear ****:
It has been brought to my attention by the homeowner that you have installed a drain tile system for the above referenced property and no inspections have been performed. In looking through my records, I do not have a I permit application or issuance of a permit on file. You are therefore ordered to file a building permit application and obtaining a building permit from the City of Columbia Heights for the work performed by May 15th 2014. There will be also be an investigatory fee applied to your building permit at time of issue
I want it on record there is no waiting period for a permit and implying there was a waiting period to the best of my knowledge is inaccurate.I will ask the city inspector to address this again. Also I do believe, and ask that I be reimbursed for the fee that I had to pay for my other contractor to come over and assess what could be going on. I could not seek solution, until I knew what the problem was.
I will mail all documentation via US Mail or to my Case Manager -Thaddeus Lewis-Mediation
Coordinator via email, that I am unable to download onto this form.
Thank you.

Final Business Response
Since 1977 Standard Water Control has worked on nearly 30,000 homes. In that time we have had very, very few complaints. Our percentage of BBB complaints compared to total jobs is less than one tenth of one percent. That being said, we take every complaint seriously.

There is no need to wait for concrete to dry when using the recommended sealer in our documentation. It can be sealed right now, if the recommended product is used.

Regarding the "mistake" made on the discharge pipe configuration:

There was snow on the ground at the time of installation therefore we did not connect any discharge extension pipes due to the probability of freezing. We have a picture date stamped March, 2014 clearly showing no extensions were installed when we left the job site.

Upon completion of the job, we sent a "Paid In Full" pack to the homeowner (also found on the website) that clearly explains the homeowners responsibility to maintain the discharge pipes and how they should do it. It is the homeowners responsibility to attach the extensions in the spring and remove them for the winter.

On May 4th we received a picture from the homeowner showing the extension pipe connected to the backup discharge system not the main discharge. When we left the job site in March there were no discharge extension pipes attached as evidenced by our picture. In May the picture reveals someone, other than Standard Water, had attached the extension pipe. As this is the case, it is inappropriate to hold Standard responsible.

As we noted before, we offered to have a technician come out to look over the issue and, if it was a warranty issue fix it at no charge ... but if it turned out the problem wasn't covered under warranty there might be as much as a $200 service fee. We believe the homeowner misunderstood our position, an easy mistake to make especially when one is upset.

In any case, the homeowner chose not to have Standard Water Control come out to look at her problem. Instead she called another contractor. It is, of course, the homeowners right to have other contractors to their home any time they choose. However, the cost of the other contractor must be borne by the homeowner.

Standard Water faxed the application for permit to the city on March 21st, 2014 and is date stamped in our system. The city didn't issue the permit; an oversight by both the city and Standard Water -- but it was easily corrected and on May 5th we dropped off the permit and are addressing the city's clerical error. In either case, the permit was granted and the issue is resolved for the homeowner.

We have a date stamped email on May 3rd, from the homeowner, to which we replied (the reply is also date stamped). **** clearly told the homeowner to move the discharge extension from the backup to the main discharge (which would have solved the homeowners main complaint immediately). In that response we also informed the homeowner someone would stop by on Monday the 5th. Our technician went out, as a professional courtesy, to move the extension pipe from the backup discharge to the main discharge.

Finally, the sump pump is doing it's job properly and the cycling the homeowner experienced with not shorten its life. Plus there is a three year warranty (the longest in the industry) in case of pump failure. Most companies only offer a one year warranty. If the homeowner experiences a problem with her pump she should call Standard Water and we will send a technician out to help.

Summing up; when our crew left the job site in March there were no extension pipes on either discharge. We have a date stamped picture showing that. The homeowners picture from May shows someone -- other than Standard Water -- had attached the discharge extension pipe to the backup discharge instead of the main discharge. In a date stamped email we notified the homeowner she should move the extension pipe from the backup discharge to the main discharge and the problem would have been solved. It is clearly stated in our documentation that the homeowner is responsible for this simple maintenance.

As none of the issues brought forward by the homeowner are related to our system, installation or warranty we cannot reimburse her for expenses incurred or anticipated.

01/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Est. cost of vapor guard omitted by co. from "Payment Terms" on contract. We paid stated charge on contract. Co. demands omitted chg. be paid by us.
On July 31, 2013, we contracted with Standard Water Control Systems, Inc. (referred to as "Std.") to install drain tile in our basement. The deal included a vapor guard for an area of crawl space, which has cement block walls and a dirt floor. The work commenced on Oct. 11, 2013. While breaking up the floor, the workers broke the drain clean-out .
We had not read the contract thoroughly and didn't realize that we were responsible for ALL damages caused by Std., as the contract exonerates the company from any and all liability. We appealed to ************* to pay the damages, but he flatly refused and referred us to the contract. We hired a plumber to repair the damage and we paid that company $418.00. Std. returned on Oct. 21 to finish the job. At that time we paid the full amount stated on the contract (minus the down payment). On Oct. 23, our check cleared our account. We considered the contract paid in full and satisfied.
The next week we received a phone call from *************. He apologized for an error on the contract, made by the salesman, and demanded payment for the omission of $240.00 for the vapor guard. It was listed in the estimate, but omitted from the "Payment Terms". We referred him to the contract and told him we paid the bill in full, but he is still demanding payment for their omission.
Questions:
Why wasn't the error caught and corrected sooner?
Why did **** wait a week after cashing our check to contact us with this demand?
Why did they even cash the check if it wasn't the right amount?
Are we legally obligated to pay the omitted charge when the company made the error of omission?

Desired Settlement
We seek to be absolved from having to pay the $240.00 charge which was omitted by the company. We feel that we have satisfied the terms of the contract.

Business Response
Standard Water Control Systems, Inc. apologizes for the clerical error.
We do our best to minimize them and appreciate our customers' understanding when they occur. That being said, this particular customer was fully aware of the cost of the vapor barrier installation as it is clearly written on the front of the contract as an option. He requested the vapor barrier knowing fully well it was an additional $240.00 for it and expected to pay for it. There was no indication verbally or on the contract that it was free or included.
Audits are done monthly to find mistakes and correct them. This should answer the customers' questions at the end of his complaint. During these audits we occasionally find that a customer has mistakenly overpaid as well as missed charges for work items we were requested to perform. We refund over payments immediately. We have not had any problems with collecting money owed to us for work requested and completed. In most cases the customer notices the error or omission on the proposal or invoice before we do and pays it. The fact that there is a clerical error on the contract and on the invoice does not negate the actual work that was requested and completed. We did the work he requested at the price quoted to him. We feel we are entitled to payment.
The customer also claims we broke a sewer clean out cap. This is true. What he didn't mention was that the clean out cap was covered and encased within the existing concrete floor. It was hidden and inaccessible. The concrete was poured around and over the cap. Concrete was within the pipe around the inside threads. We are aware where properly placed plumbing would be. There was no way we could have been aware of this rare and improper situation. Even if we were, we would have required the customer to hire a plumber at his expense, to correct the situation before we could do the required work. Item 7 of our contract's "Terms and Conditions" states "Standard Water Control Systems, Inc. will not be responsible for any damages to hidden or unknown installations under the floor or under or behind the walls.
The customer has twisted and misstated facts concerning this job. The customer was never told it was their fault for not catching the error. He was never told we would turn the matter over to our attorneys to "prosecute" him. He was never told the pipe was already broken, but rather it appeared to be as concrete was present inside the threaded tight cap.
In addition, our contract does not protect us from "any and all liability".

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not twist facts or misstate what the president of the company told us. As a matter of fact, we just received a summons today to appear in court for payment of the $240.00 plus $80.00 in court fees, just like he promised us.

We mailed our check within a week of his threat and it cleared our account a few days later. We called the co. pres. after receiving the summons today and he said it must have crossed in the mail. He claims he has canceled the court summons.

In our estimation, the co. pres. does not conduct his business ethically. He has covered himself from head to toe so that he and the company are not responsible or liable for anything.

We are not happy with the outcome of this, but we are glad to be done with it and move forward.

We ask the BBB to consider this issue unresolved, fully realizing that it never will be resolved to our satisfaction. We are done.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Waterproofing Materials, Basement Waterproofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1979Business started: 03/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Michael Hogenson (President)
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors, Waterproofing Materials, Basement Waterproofing

Products & Services

According to information supplied by Standard Water Control Systems, Inc, our award winning services include: Basement Waterproofing, Crawl Space Encapsulation, Sump Pumps and Battery Back Up Pump Systems, Foundation Repair, Egress Windows, Radon Mitigation, and Discharge Systems.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Service Area

Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota


If you choose to do business with Standard Water Control Systems, Inc, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Standard Water Control Systems, Inc has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Standard Water Control Systems, Inc

5337 Lakeland Ave N

Crystal, MN 55429-3115

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5337 Lakeland Ave N 

    Crystal, MN 55429-3115(763) 537-4849

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Standard Water Control Systems, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (515) 965-2266
  • (651) 776-6581
  • (952) 894-4107
  • (320) 252-0766
  • (218) 727-1495
  • (507) 285-6549
  • (800) 978-7867
  • (651) 776-6581
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Waterproofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.