BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Serving ND and MN, Innovative Basement Systems offers expert basement waterproofing solutions, crawl space encapsulation, and foundation repair solutions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Innovative Basement Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Innovative Basement Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Innovative Basement Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 01/19/2005 in ND
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108, State Capital, Bismarck ND 58505
www.state.nd.us
Phone Number: (701) 328-2900

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Jim Laven, Marketing Director Keith Johnson, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Jim Laven, Marketing Director
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Basement Waterproofing Windows - Egress Mold & Mildew Inspection Radon Testing & Service Radon Mitigation Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Mold Consulting & Testing Contractor - Crawl Space Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Sump Pump Contractors Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Contractor - Insulation Contractor - Spray Foam Insulation

Service Area
Innovative Basement Systems provides their services in MINNESOTA & NORTH DAKOTA.Innovative Basement Systems provides their services in ABERCROMBIE, ABSARAKA, ADAMS, ADRIAN, AGATE, ALAMO, ALEXANDER, ALFRED, ALICE, ALKABO, ALMONT, ALSEN, AMBROSE, AMENIA, AMIDON, ANAMOOSE, ANETA, ANTLER, APPAM, ARDOCH, ARENA, ARGUSVILLE, ARNEGARD, ARTHUR, ARVILLA, ASHLEY, AYR, BACKOO, BAKER, BALDWIN, BALFOUR, BALTA, BANTRY, BARNEY, BARTON, BATHGATE, BATTLEVIEW, BEACH, BELCOURT, BELDEN, BELFIELD, BENEDICT, BENTLEY, BERGEN, BERLIN, BERTHOLD, BERWICK, BEULAH, BINFORD, BISMARCK, BLAISDELL, BLANCHARD, BONETRAILL, BORDULAC, BOTTINEAU, BOWBELLS, BOWDON, BOWESMONT, BOWMAN, BRADDOCK, BRAMPTON, BRANTFORD, BREIEN, BREMEN, BRIARWOOD, BRINSMADE, BROCKET, BUCHANAN, BUCYRUS, BUFFALO, BUFFALO SPG, BUFFALO SPRINGS, BUFORD, BURLINGTON, BURNSTAD, BURT, BUTTE, BUXTON, CALEDONIA, CALIO, CALVIN, CANNON BALL, CARBURY, CARPIO, CARRINGTON, CARSON, CARTWRIGHT, CASSELTON, CATHAY, CAVALIER, CAVALIER AFS, CAYUGA, CENTER, CHAFFEE, CHARLSON, CHASELEY, CHRISTINE, CHURCHS FERRY, CLEVELAND, CLIFFORD, CLYDE, COGSWELL, COLEHARBOR, COLFAX, COLGAN, COLGATE, COLUMBUS, CONCRETE, COOPERSTOWN, CORINTH, COTEAU, COULEE, COURTENAY, CRARY, CRETE, CROSBY, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL SPGS, CRYSTAL SPRINGS, CUMMINGS, DAHLEN, DAVENPORT, DAWSON, DAZEY, DEERING, DELAMERE, DENBIGH, DENHOFF, DES LACS, DEVILS LAKE, DICKEY, DICKINSON, DODGE, DONNYBROOK, DOUGLAS, DOYON, DRAKE, DRAYTON, DRISCOLL, DUNN CENTER, DUNSEITH, DURBIN, DWIGHT, ECKELSON, EDGELEY, EDINBURG, EDMORE, EDMUNDS, ELDRIDGE, ELGIN, ELLENDALE, ELLIOTT, EMBDEN, EMERADO, EMMET, EMRICK, ENDERLIN, ENGLEVALE, EPPING, ERIE, ESMOND, FAIRDALE, FAIRFIELD, FAIRMOUNT, FARGO, FESSENDEN, FILLMORE, FINGAL, FINLEY, FLASHER, FLAXTON, FLORA, FORBES, FORDVILLE, FOREST RIVER, FORMAN, FORT CLARK, FORT RANSOM, FORT RICE, FORT TOTTEN, FORT YATES, FORTUNA, FOXHOLM, FREDONIA, FRONTIER, FRYBURG, FULLERTON, GACKLE, GALCHUTT, GALESBURG, GARDAR, GARDNER, GARRISON, GASCOYNE, GENESEO, GFAFB, GILBY, GLADSTONE, GLASSTON, GLEN ULLIN, GLENBURN, GLENFIELD, GOLDEN VALLEY, GOLVA, GOODRICH, GORHAM, GRACE CITY, GRAFTON, GRAND FORKS, GRAND FORKS AFB, GRAND RAPIDS, GRANDIN, GRANVILLE, GRASSY BUTTE, GREAT BEND, GRENORA, GUELPH, GWINNER, HAGUE, HALLIDAY, HAMAR, HAMBERG, HAMILTON, HAMLET, HAMPDEN, HANKINSON, HANNAFORD, HANNAH, HANNOVER, HARLOW, HARVEY, HARWOOD, HASTINGS, HATTON, HAVANA, HAYNES, HAZELTON, HAZEN, HEATON, HEBRON, HEIL, HEIMDAL, HENSEL, HENSLER, HETTINGER, HICKSON, HILLSBORO, HONEYFORD, HOOPLE, HOPE, HORACE, HUFF, HUNTER, HURDSFIELD, INKSTER, JAMESTOWN, JESSIE, JOHNSTOWN, JOLIETTE, JUANITA, JUD, JUDSON, KARLSRUHE, KATHRYN, KEENE, KELSO, KEMPTON, KENMARE, KENSAL, KIEF, KILLDEER, KINDRED, KINTYRE, KLOTEN, KNOX, KRAMER, KULM, LAKE WILLIAMS, LAKOTA, LAMOURE, LANDA, LANGDON, LANKIN, LANSFORD, LARIMORE, LARK, LARSON, LAWTON, LEAL, LEEDS, LEFOR, LEHR, LEITH, LEONARD, LEROY, LIDGERWOOD, LIGNITE, LINCOLN, LINTON, LISBON, LITCHVILLE, LOMA, LORAINE, LOSTWOOD, LUDDEN, LUVERNE, MADDOCK, MAIDA, MAKOTI, MANDAN, MANDAREE, MANFRED, MANNING, MANTADOR, MANVEL, MAPES, MAPLETON, MARION, MARMARTH, MARSHALL, MARTIN, MAX, MAXBASS, MAYVILLE, MCCANNA, MCCLUSKY, MCGREGOR, MCHENRY, MCKENZIE, MCLEOD, MCVILLE, MEDINA, MEDORA, MEKINOCK, MELVILLE, MENOKEN, MERCER, MERRICOURT, MICHIGAN, MILLARTON, MILNOR, MILTON, MINNEWAUKAN, MINOT, MINOT AFB, MINTO, MOFFIT, MOHALL, MONANGO, MONTPELIER, MOORETON, MOTT, MOUNTAIN, MUNICH, MYLO, NANSON, NAPOLEON, NASH, NECHE, NEKOMA, NEW ENGLAND, NEW HRADEC, NEW LEIPZIG, NEW ROCKFORD, NEW SALEM, NEW TOWN, NEWBURG, NIAGARA, NOME, NOONAN, NORMA, NORTH RIVER, NORTHGATE, NORTHWOOD, NORTONVILLE, NORWICH, OAKES, OBERON, ORISKA, ORR, ORRIN, OSNABROCK, OVERLY, OXBOW, PAGE, PALERMO, PARK RIVER, PARSHALL, PEKIN, PEMBINA, PENN, PETERSBURG, PETTIBONE, PICK CITY, PILLSBURY, PINGREE, PISEK, PLAZA, PLEASANT LAKE, PORTAL, PORTLAND, POWERS LAKE, PRAIRIE ROSE, PROSPER, RALEIGH, RAUB, RAWSON, RAY, REEDER, REGAN, REGENT, REILES ACRES, REYNOLDS, RHAME, RICHARDTON, RIVERDALE, RIVERSIDE, ROBINSON, ROGERS, ROLETTE, ROLLA, ROSEGLEN, ROSS, ROTH, RUGBY, RUSO, RUTLAND, RYDER, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT JOHN, SAINT MICHAEL, SAINT THOMAS, SAN HAVEN, SANBORN, SANISH, SAWYER, SCRANTON, SELFRIDGE, SELZ, SENTINEL BUTTE, SENTINL BUTTE, SHARON, SHELDON, SHERWOOD, SHEYENNE, SHIELDS, SIBLEY, SILVA, SOLEN, SOURIS, SOUTH HEART, SOUTHAM, SPIRITWOOD, SPRING BROOK, STANLEY, STANTON, STARKWEATHER, STEELE, STERLING, STIRUM, STRASBURG, STRAUBVILLE, STREETER, SURREY, SUTTON, SYDNEY, SYKESTON, TAGUS, TAPPEN, TAYLOR, TEMPLE, TEMVIK, THOMPSON, TIOGA, TOKIO, TOLLEY, TOLNA, TOWER CITY, TOWNER, TRENTON, TROTTERS, TURTLE LAKE, TUTTLE, UNDERWOOD, UNION, UPHAM, VALLEY CITY, VELVA, VENTURIA, VERONA, VOLTAIRE, VOSS, WAHPETON, WALCOTT, WALES, WALHALLA, WALUM, WARWICK, WASHBURN, WATFORD CITY, WEBSTER, WERNER, WEST FARGO, WESTFIELD, WESTHOPE, WHEATLAND, WHEELOCK, WHITE EARTH, WHITE SHIELD, WHITMAN, WILD RICE, WILDROSE, WILLISTON, WILLOW CITY, WILTON, WIMBLEDON, WINDSOR, WING, WISHEK, WOLFORD, WOLSETH, WOODWORTH, WYNDMERE, YORK, YPSILANTI, ZAHL, ZAP & ZEELAND, ND.Innovative Basement Systems provides their services in ADA, ADOLPH, AH GWAH CHING, AKELEY, ALBERTA, ALBERTVILLE, ALBORN, ALDRICH, ALEXANDRIA, ALVARADO, ANGLE INLET, ANGORA, ANGUS, ARDEN HILLS, ARGYLE, ASHBY, AURORA, BABBITT, BACKUS, BADGER, BAGLEY, BAKER, BARNESVILLE, BARRETT, BARRY, BATTLE LAKE, BAUDETTE, BEARDSLEY, BECIDA, BEJOU, BELTRAMI, BENA, BENEDICT, BERTHA, BIG FALLS, BIGFORK, BIRCHDALE, BIRD ISLAND, BIWABIK, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BLUFFTON, BORUP, BOVEY, BOWLUS, BOWSTRING, BOY RIVER, BRANDON, BRECKENRIDGE, BRIMSON, BRITT, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BROOKS, BROOKSTON, BROWERVILLE, BROWNS VALLEY, BUCKMAN, BUFFALO LAKE, BUHL, BURTRUM, BUYCK, CALUMET, CAMPBELL, CANYON, CARLISLE, CARLOS, CASS LAKE, CHAMPLIN, CHISHOLM, CHOKIO, CLARISSA, CLEARBROOK, CLIMAX, CLINTON, CLITHERALL, COHASSET, COLERAINE, COMSTOCK, COOK, CORCORAN, CORRELL, COTTON, CRANE LAKE, CROOKSTON, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, CRYSTAL BAY, CULVER, CUSHING, CYRUS, DALTON, DANUBE, DAYTON, DEER CREEK, DEER RIVER, DELLWOOD, DENT, DILWORTH, DONALDSON, DONNELLY, DORAN, DOWNER, DULUTH, DUMONT, E GRAND FORKS, EAGLE BEND, EAST GRAND FORKS, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, EFFIE, ELBOW LAKE, ELDRED, ELIZABETH, ELLENDALE, ELMDALE, ELY, EMBARRASS, ERHARD, ERSKINE, EUCLID, EVANSVILLE, EVELETH, EXCELSIOR, FAIRFAX, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARWELL, FEDERAL DAM, FELTON, FERGUS FALLS, FERTILE, FISHER, FLENSBURG, FLOM, FLOODWOOD, FORBES, FORT SNELLING, FOSSTON, FOXHOME, FRANKLIN, GARFIELD, GARY, GATZKE, GEORGETOWN, GHEEN, GILBERT, GLENWOOD, GLYNDON, GOLDEN VALLEY, GONVICK, GOODLAND, GOODRIDGE, GRACEVILLE, GRAND RAPIDS, GREENBUSH, GREENWOOD, GREY EAGLE, GULLY, HACKENSACK, HALLOCK, HALMA, HALSTAD, HAMEL, HANCOCK, HARDING, HAWLEY, HECTOR, HENDRUM, HENNING, HERMAN, HERMANTOWN, HEWITT, HIBBING, HILLMAN, HITTERDAL, HOFFMAN, HOLMES CITY, HOLT, HOPE, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HOYT LAKES, HUMBOLDT, INDEPENDENCE, INTERNATIONAL FALLS, INTL FALLS, IRON, IRON JUNCTION, JACOBSON, JENKINS, JOHNSON, KABETOGAMA, KARLSTAD, KEEWATIN, KELLY LAKE, KELSEY, KENNEDY, KENSINGTON, KENT, KINNEY, LAKE BRONSON, LAKE GEORGE, LAKE ITASCA, LANCASTER, LAPORTE, LASTRUP, LAUDERDALE, LENGBY, LEONARD, LITTLE CANADA, LITTLE FALLS, LITTLE SAUK, LITTLEFORK, LOCKHART, LOMAN, LONG BEACH, LONG LAKE, LONG PRAIRIE, LONGVILLE, LORETTO, LOWRY, MAHNOMEN, MAKINEN, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARBLE, MARCELL, MARGIE, MAX, MCINTOSH, MCKINLEY, MEADOWLANDS, MEDFORD, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MELRUDE, MENAHGA, MENTOR, MIDDLE RIVER, MILLERVILLE, MILTONA, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MIZPAH, MOORHEAD, MORRIS, MORTON, MOTLEY, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, MOUNTAIN IRON, N SAINT PAUL, NASHUA, NASHWAUK, NAVARRE, NAYTAHWAUSH, NELSON, NETT LAKE, NEVIS, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW YORK MILLS, NEW YORK MLS, NEWFOLDEN, NIELSVILLE, NIMROD, NO OAKS, NORCROSS, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHOME, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOYES, NYA, OAK ISLAND, ODESSA, OKLEE, OLIVIA, ORLEANS, ORONO, ORR, ORTONVILLE, OSAKIS, OSLO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, OTTERTAIL, OUTING, OWATONNA, PARK RAPIDS, PARKERS PR, PARKERS PRAIRIE, PARKVILLE, PEL RAPIDS, PELICAN RAPIDS, PENCER, PENGILLY, PERHAM, PERLEY, PIERZ, PILLAGER, PINE RIVER, PINEWOOD, PITT, PLUMMER, PLYMOUTH, PROCTOR, RADIUM, RANDALL, RANIER, RAY, RED LAKE FALLS, REMER, RENVILLE, RICHFIELD, RICHVILLE, RL FALLS, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROLLAG, ROOSEVELT, ROSEAU, ROSEVILLE, ROSS, ROTHSAY, ROYALTON, S INTL FALLS, SABIN, SACRED HEART, SAGINAW, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT HILAIRE, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT VINCENT, SALOL, SAUK CENTRE, SEBEKA, SEDAN, SHELLY, SHEVLIN, SHOREVIEW, SIDE LAKE, SOBIESKI, SOLWAY, SOUDAN, SOUTH INTERNATIONAL FALLS, SPRING LAKE, SPRING PARK, SQUAW LAKE, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, STAPLES, STARBUCK, STEPHEN, STRANDQUIST, STRATHCONA, SWAN RIVER, SWANVILLE, SWATARA, SWIFT, TACONITE, TALMOON, TENNEY, THIEF RIVER FALLS, THIEF RVR FLS, TINTAH, TOGO, TOIVOLA, TOWER, TRAIL, TWIG, TWIN VALLEY, ULEN, UNDERWOOD, UPSALA, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERGAS, VERNDALE, VIKING, VILLARD, VINING, VIRGINIA, W SAINT PAUL, WADENA, WALKER, WANNASKA, WARBA, WARREN, WARROAD, WAWINA, WAYZATA, WENDELL, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST UNION, WESTPORT, WHEATON, WHIPHOLT, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLIAMS, WINGER, WINTON, WIRT, WOLVERTON, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIM, MN.
Alternate Business Names
Dr. Energy Saver by Innovative Innovative Egress Windows, Inc. Innovative Foundation Supportworks Total Basement Finishing by Innovative
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Innovative Egress Windows, Inc., this company offers installation of Egress windows, basement waterproofing, crawlspace encapsulation, and foundation repair.

Industry Tips
Attic Radiant Barriers Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Innovative Basement Systems has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Innovative Basement Systems installed the Water Guard System in my basement on March 30, 2015. When I inspected the completed work I noted several concerns. I immediately emailed ***********, System Design Specialist. Over the next 2 weeks, *******, Project Mgr and **********, ND Branch Mgr came to inspect the installation. Both agreed that the Port was not installed per the Contract and there were issues with the quality of the work. In addition, as we talked, ND Branch Mgr indicated that I had been misinformed about the Water Guard System and GeoLock anchor system. He stated it was because the Design Specialist was new. Both the Project Mgr and Branch Mgr agreed to address the concerns, however follow-up and communication has been poor.My concerns are as follows:1. Failure to complete the work as outlined in the Contract as they "forgot" to install the Port. This means they have to cut into the basement slab again.2. Poor Quality work: - Cement was spilled over the flange between the system and the wall- They didn't completely cement the seam between the existing slab and where they cut the slab, leaving cracks in the floor- System is installed very inconsistently around the perimeter and is not straight- Cement surface is rough and not feathered at the seams. This outcome was not explained.- Small piece patched in corner3. Branch Mgr indicated the info I received about the system was not accurate as the Design Specialist is new4. Poor Customer Service/Unresponsive to ConcernsThey were notified the day of the install regarding the concerns. When Branch Mgr inspected the issues he said he was not aware the complaint had been made 2 wks earlier. They agreed to remedy the issues. He is aware I needed this done ASAP as I've placed a new furnace install on hold pending repair of the Water Guard System due to the cement dust that is created. They scheduled the repairs during dates I had informed them I was out of town unavailable. I've rec'd no further communication Product_Or_Service: Water Guard System Installation Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I believe Innovative Basement Systems should install the Port as identified in the Contract and for which they received payment in full. This should be done immediately.I am very unsatisfied with the quality of the work that was done and want a full refund of the cost, as well as, refund of the deposit made for the GeoLock anchor system.I've had to place other contract work on hold because of this issue. Their unresponsiveness to customers is concerning. Their priority is sales, not service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/24) */ Our Service Tech has met with ****** to address and fix the concerns she has with her system. We will have our Branch Mgr, ********** follow up with her to make sure she is completely satisfied. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Service tech installed the port and addressed issues of poor quality work. However, when they tested the system, the discharge pvc pipes they installed from the sump pump leaked. Service tech indicated they did not have time to fix the issue and would schedule a time to return. This is supposed to be completed on April 27th. On 4/15/15, Branch Mgr agreed to immediately reimburse deposit for GeoLock anchors. That has not happened as of this date. I believe a full refund is in order. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Service tech installed the port and addressed issues of poor quality work. However, when they tested the system, the discharge pvc pipes they installed from the sump pump leaked. Service tech indicated they did not have time to fix the issue and would schedule a time to return. This is supposed to be completed on April 27th. On 4/15/15, Branch Mgr agreed to immediately reimburse deposit for GeoLock anchors. That has not happened as of this date. I believe a full refund is in order. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/05/29) */ This case has been resolved with the customer. Please let me know if you need any more information. Thanks, *** ********** Marketing Director

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor customer service and unwillingness to accept any responsibility for damage of foundation as effect of installation of drainage system. Complaint: Innovative Basement Systems (IBS) claims to have a set of core values. My complaint addresses a few of these areas. 1) Not Striving for Superior Performance IBS installed the flowguard full perimeter system in my home on 2/28/14. This system leaves a gap between the flange around the floor slab and the wall. In two months, this gap had closed along 25% of my west wall. The wall at the footing level was moving in! The floor slab had been supporting lateral load from the walls. Now that the contact to the floor slab had been removed, walls can move inward until the gap is closed. It's now five months later and two walls have moved inward and has closed 20-30% of the gap along the wall lengths. There are 5 new cracks in the walls. One wall has even moved enough to require re-plumbing of water lines to avoid busting them! The installation of the flowguard system has caused a reduction in structural support for the walls to resist the hydraulic pressures. IBS needs to be advising customers of potential risks of the systems they sell. They claim that they have done thousands of installs and have never seen this issue. This claim seems impossible. During my correspondence to them, I point out recommendations to improve the system design and the feedback I get is "there is no risk, so why change anything". I have not been able to get return calls or emails from IBS since June....that is poor integrity. 2) Poor Customer Service They sent out professional looking information and sent a System Design Specialist (SDS) out right away. They were also organized at setting up an install date. But that is where it ended. The contract to install flowguard system was signed on 11/22/13. Installation occurred on 2/28/14. I was desperately trying to contact the SDS. The crew foreman was not aware of the agreed upon details of the install,causing an awkward situation where the crew was irritated that the install was more complicated. When issues of the walls moving in at the floor were communicated to IBS, it took 27 days for them to show up to review the problem. In my opinion, new problems are the ones they come running too; both to fix things and to improve the product being offered. Instead, IBS is taking no responsibility. They do require payment in full on the day of the install, so I know where at least one of their priorities lie. The installation crew was professional-my complaint is not with them. 3) Not Treating the Customer with Dignity The average response from any email or phone call was approx. 5-7 days. I find this unacceptable. I should have gotten call from the upper manager or owner much sooner. This brings me to my main complaint of customer service. It took over a month before the owner/partner of IBS finally contacted me. It was a miserable discussion. This individual began the conversation very defensively and insulted my intelligence multiple times during the call. There were some hot spoken moments, and overall the call was completely unproductive. There were claims of multiple post-install visits by the specialist to my home, which were not true. There were also no solutions offered. It was surprising to me that a first call to a customer could go so poorly. I am still upset. 4) Pricing I spent over $7500 for the system hardware and install. The install crew spent approximately 24 man hours to complete. Taking hardware and travel into account, this equates over $200/hour labor rate. Seems high to me. Again, this is not my main complaint. 5) Warranty On June 19th, I had water on my floor! The gap had closed up completely in one location and water was on my floor! I asked if I had a legitimate warranty claim. I have gotten no response. This is not acceptable. In conclusion, I wish I had my old basement back. I'm out $7500 and still not gained floor space. I now plan to install vertical I-beams along the entire perimeter, but this involves a lot of time and money.

Desired Settlement: If IBS wants to honor the warranty, then I would like to know that they address the gap closure issue. The gap needs to re-open (walls pushed back top and bottom). If they don't want fix the real problem, then I deserve my money back. At a minimum, IBS should be responsible to pay for my time and materials for installation of the whole home I-beam installation. If they have a proposal, it would be great to hear, because I've been asking for months and nothing has been brought forward yet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ We have contacted this homeowner and had about a 30 minute conversation to address his concerns. The homeowner is currently out of town and will be back on 8/21/14. Our Sales Manager and the Specialist will be meeting with him at 7pm on 8/21/14 to find a resolution to the problem. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/10/24) */ When I read the attachment, the only response that I can see is this: "RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : We have contacted this homeowner and had about a 30 minute conversation to address his concerns. The homeowner is currently out of town and will be back on 8/21/14. Our Sales Manager and the Specialist will be meeting with him at 7pm on 8/21/14 to find a resolution to the problem. I was hoping that Innovative would submit details of their proposal. To date - the only proposal that I have from them is that they would send me a quote to fix the problem or they would come in and relay the system is the two areas that I have water issues (warranty). I have communicated to them that relaying the system doesn't solve the problem because it may create more risk to my basement's structural integrity. I guess what I've gotten from them is not really a desire to fix the real problem, or even compromise ....it's either I pay them more or I get nothing. I would like to see a response that addresses my desired resolution below: Consumer's Desired Resolution: If IBS wants to honor the warranty, then I would like to know that they address the gap closure issue. The gap needs to re-open (walls pushed back top and bottom). If they don't want fix the real problem, then I deserve my money back. At a minimum, IBS should be responsible to pay for my time and materials for installation of the whole home I-beam installation. If they have a proposal, it would be great to hear, because I've been asking for months and nothing has been brought forward yet. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/10/31) */ We have been in contact with this customer and have provided a couple different options to address his concerns. At this time we are waiting to hear back from the customer to see what direction he would like to take concerning his project. Once we hear back from the homeowner we will take action to schedule this project as soon as possible. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/10/24) */ When I read the attachment, the only response that I can see is this: "RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : We have contacted this homeowner and had about a 30 minute conversation to address his concerns. The homeowner is currently out of town and will be back on 8/21/14. Our Sales Manager and the Specialist will be meeting with him at 7pm on 8/21/14 to find a resolution to the problem. I was hoping that Innovative would submit details of their proposal. To date - the only proposal that I have from them is that they would send me a quote to fix the problem or they would come in and relay the system is the two areas that I have water issues (warranty). I have communicated to them that relaying the system doesn't solve the problem because it may create more risk to my basement's structural integrity. I guess what I've gotten from them is not really a desire to fix the real problem, or even compromise ....it's either I pay them more or I get nothing. I would like to see a response that addresses my desired resolution below: Consumer's Desired Resolution: If IBS wants to honor the warranty, then I would like to know that they address the gap closure issue. The gap needs to re-open (walls pushed back top and bottom). If they don't want fix the real problem, then I deserve my money back. At a minimum, IBS should be responsible to pay for my time and materials for installation of the whole home I-beam installation. If they have a proposal, it would be great to hear, because I've been asking for months and nothing has been brought forward yet. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/10/31) */ We have been in contact with this customer and have provided a couple different options to address his concerns. At this time we are waiting to hear back from the customer to see what direction he would like to take concerning his project. Once we hear back from the homeowner we will take action to schedule this project as soon as possible. Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/11/21) */ Just checking to make sure that this complaint is still open. I am waiting on a response from IBS on some additional questions that I had. Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/12/01) */ We have sent an updated estimate of repairs per customers request and are waiting to hear back from the homeowner. Business Response /* (2000, 28, 2015/01/23) */ ****, I have been working with *** ****** at IBS and am feeling more comfortable that we will come to a resolution on my basement issue. *** had contacted a Structural Engineering company (*******) to assess my home and this assessment took place on January 6,2015. We just received the evaluation summary yesterday, 1/22/15. So, they have been proactive in addressing my complaint. *** and I spoke this morning and we are in the process of laying out a few possible options to resolve the complaint. I am confident that in the next few working days we will have come to a resolution and will be outlining the timing to get things addressed for good. Please follow up with *** if you have any question or concerns on the status of the complaint. Thank you. P.S. - I've also left you a message . Thanks, *************** ComDel Innovation Inc. P: ************ C:*************

8/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hired company to mud jack my drive way and made it worse and wont fix promlem last june agreed to fix the cracks in my driveway for $800 when job was done the cracks were wider then before and the slabs were uneven i had discoloration of my driveway and foam sticking out of cracks. They were going to fix it in August but they said machine broke done and were not able to do it. I have never been contacted by this company,the only response i get is when i contact them,which is horrible customer service. tried to contact them last couple weeks but they wont respond

Desired Settlement: I want my driveway repaired or replaced because of the damage they did to my driveway

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ We have contacted **** and had him meet with one of our managers to discuss the issues he is having with the installation. We are now sending out our Production Manager for the PolyLEVEL division on 8-4-14 to fix the problem. We apologize for not addressing this problem sooner and we are doing an internal audit to see where we can improve in this area so this will prevent this from happening again.

6/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company demonstrated poor communication, poor quality of work and revocation of agreed upon warranty work. Contract to install waterguard system signed on 6/27/13. Deposit of $1514 submitted 6/27/13. Work started on 10/4/13. Warranty contract signed 10/4/13. Warranty work declined 10/17/13. There are three specific areas of concern: communication, cost and quality of work, and warranty. First, the advertising and on-hold messaging tout the organization as keeping the customer informed. This definitely was not our experience. We waited 3 months for the work to begin. Three weeks prior, we emailed the salesman to confirm our appointment. We received a response indicating he would double check. We did not hear anything after that email. One week prior, we received a letter requesting us to call to confirm the date. We called and were told they would begin sometime Monday morning September 30th. The crew did not show up. We called the office on Tuesday and the operator indicated that they did not know where the crew was. We talked to the sales manager on Wednesday. He indicated that he would call us again on Thursday to confirm a start date of Friday and a discussion about the cost. He did not call. The crew arrived sometime between 7:30 am and 10:00 am and left around 7:00 pm. They were not aware of any warranty work to be completed. We have requested multiple times to have the cost reviewed. Received an email on 11/1/13 with a revised invoice reflecting a %5 discount of $351.20. Second, the quality and cost of the work are wildly out of alignment. We were told this job would take three to four days with a crew of three for a cost $7,024.00. The crew spent approximately one day or approximately 25 to 30 hours to complete the work, which equates to about $230 per man hour. We were also told that the crew would cut out one foot sections on both sides of the cracks. The total width of the finished work was approximately 8-10 inches. The surface of the work is rough and not feathered at the seams. Also, during the installation we asked the crew to test the existing system. This was again agreed upon prior to the work being completed but not communicated to the crew. They determined that the existing system did not work properly. Yet, the new system was tied to it. We asked multiple times if this should be done without a response. Why was this permitted, even with the sales manager present? Since they denied the warranty work, how can the new work function correctly if it is tied into the existing system? Finally, the decision to not uphold completion of the warranty work after multiple indications that it would be covered is totally unacceptable!

Desired Settlement: Have remaining balance of $5158.80 waived and be paid $14,000 to complete the warranty work.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Innovative Basement Systems
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart