BBB Accredited Business since

American Waterworks

Phone: (800) 795-1204 Fax: (507) 356-6021 View Additional Phone Numbers 829 Rolling View Ln SE, Pine Island, MN 55963 http://www.american-waterworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Waterworks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Waterworks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Waterworks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 01/01/1987 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Steve Breland, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kendra Von Wald, Office Manager
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Dehumidifying Equipment Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Egress Radon Testing & Service Radon Mitigation Contractor - Crawl Space Drying Service Mud Jacking Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Drainage Contractors Sump Pump Contractors Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling

Alternate Business Names
Breland Enterprises Inc.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by American Waterworks, this company is an interior waterproofing company for residential and commercial foundation repair, stabilizing, and lifting.

Industry Tips
Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Waterworks has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 829 Rolling View Ln SE

    Pine Island, MN 55963 (507) 388-3448 (800) 795-1204 (608) 784-9862 (515) 423-7111 (507) 285-1672 (507) 356-6020 (952) 894-6062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Waterworks shared internal pictures of home to prospective buyers without our consent or knowledge. This pictures resulted in no home sale We had prospective home buyers visit our home on Friday, July 3rd. On Tuesday, July 7th they contacted me directly and told me they were very interested in our home, and wanted to get their realtor involved. On July 8th, they toured our home again with our realtor, and their realtor texted our involved realtor an offer would be coming soon. We where up front with these folks, and told they we had water in the basement, but have since fixed thru the work of American Waterworks - there was a warranty, and the warranty was transferable. On July 9th, the prospective buyers called American Waterworks and talked with Forest ********* ( Service Manager ). For unknown reasons, Forest forwarded pictures of the work area to the prospective buyers - whom we don't know if he knew or not - and again without our knowledge or consent. A couple of the pictures where questionable, and the prospective buyers asked Forest more about the job. From the buyers realtors feedback, Forest told the prospective buyers this was mold, and they ( American Waterworks ) told us, and we did nothing about it and "covered it up". This a very strong and insulting comment - again, without any of our knowledge and consent. We do have children's bedrooms in this area, and to claim we covered up a "mold" problem - yet let our children live and sleep in this area is completely unbelievable. The prospective buyers realtor contact our realtor and relayed this information to her, and she passed in onto us. We were in shock of such allegations,and to find out personal information was forwarded out without our knowledge. I immediately called Jeremy, the sales man who sold us the American Waterworks product - and asked what had happened. He did not know. I asked Jeremy specifically how American Waterworks treated confidential information, and he said it is personal property and should not be shared with others. Again, I asked Jeremy -"this should not forwarded to anyone?", Jeremy again replied this was correct - this information is private and should not be forwarded. I asked Jeremy who his boss was as I wanted to talked to him right away. Jeremy provided me with the name of Bert ***** ( General Manager ). About 1 hour later, Bert called me and I re-explained the situation. I specifically asked Bert should private information be forwarded to others - he responded with no. I told Bert I wanted to know what Forest sent and said to the prospective buyers, as it was later in the evening on Thursday, July 9th, Bert said he would have to check with Forest the next day ( 07/10 ). Approx. 9 AM on 07/10, Bert called us back, and said he had talked with Forest and he did forward pictures of the job to the prospective buyers. Bert claims Forest did not tell the prospective buyers the imagine in the pictures were mold and we where "covering up ". Again, and I have real issues with Bert now speaking out of both sides of his mouth, I asked Bert this pictures where private - Bert responded with yes, yet when asked why Forest sent the picture and asked if this should not have been done - Bert claims he doesn't think Forest did anything wrong. We where getting no where with Bert at this time, and told Bert we need this fixed - Bert offered to call or write the prospective buyers clarifying any issues - we said the damage was already done. We again told Bert we wanted something, he said they ( American Waterworks would discuss and get back to us ). Later on Friday ( 07/10), we called Bert and asked what they where going to do. Bert had no answer. We told Bert due to their error,we wanted re-imbursed $$ for the work performed. Bert said we would have to talk to the owner on Monday,and would get back to us. The following Thursday & Friday, I called and left messages with Bert what they decided.On Monday ( 07/20), Bert finally called and said he talked with the owner and American Waterworks feels as if they have done nothing wrong. We asked to talk to the owner,

Desired Settlement: continuing from above. Information was supposing given to the owner Steven from Bert to call us and Steven has not called us. This was on 07/20. On 07/28 my wife called Bert and asked to have the owner to call us, Bert said he had given our information to Steven. On Monday,08/03 we called American Waterworks again, and asked to speak with Steven - and left a message again with Steven. Again, no call. We are asking for a settlement of re-imbursed for the work American Waterworks did ( $7807.25 ) plus to cover the cost of the American Best to perform a mold inspection of our home ( $ 350 ). Final bit, the mold inspection came back with test results of the home being lower than clean levels.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/09/28) */ American Waterworks was hired to install a permanent waterproofing system, to eliminate a basement water problem, that the customers had. We did exactly that, from the installation date until now, their basement has been dry. The complaint submitted, had nothing to do with our system that was installed, it is based on the fact that one potential buyer walked away. We took no personal or confidential pictures of the homeowners belongings, only closeup pictures of our system being installed, and the finished project. We submit pictures for real estate transactions quite frequently to help future home buyers that are not familiar with our systems to better understand how are products work. Furthermore, our service manager never mentioned that he knew that there was mold in the customer's basement, that interpretation was all hearsay, from the potential buyer, and the two realtors involved. Lastly, American Waterworks, offered to contact the potential buyer and answer any questions or concerns about the basement waterproofing project, but the homeowners told us that they did not want us to contact the potential buyer. American Waterworks believes that the system installed had nothing to do with the house not selling, and that our system added value to the home, and made a wet basement dry, and a more usable space for the homeowner or any potential buyers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We agree we hired American Waterworks to install a permanent waterproofing system. However, we did not hire them to be our real estate representative. They did not contact us nor did they contact the representative agent to confirm the request of an un-known 3rd party. Pictures taken inside our house is confidential, and personal items where submitted with the pictures. Steve, owner of American Waterworks claims the finally returned our initial calls over 1 month after many requests ( and after the complaint submitted thru Better Business Bureau ), and claimed the pictures definitely showed mold, yet no one at American Waterworks ever told us - the home owner - of the potential health risk to our family. Steve & I ended our phone conversation with Steve asking how this can be done? I responded with we want some type of re-imbursement. Steve said he would take to his group and let us know; we never heard from Steve again. To me, in this process thru the Better Business Bureau & personal contacts, American Waterworks continue delay to respond, and finally submitting a response after a certified letter ( submitted post deadline ) shows their lack of respect to the Better Business Bureau and the customers - they have completed their work and received payment - they were done, echoed in their continued failure to respond. We are still requesting settlement of $ 8157.25 ( American Waterworks cost of $7807.25 & Mold tests of $ 350 ). Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/10/14) */ American Waterworks is sorry for the misunderstanding from this project, but we did install a perfectly acceptable waterproofing system for the homeowner so we will not not refund the money for that system. American Waterworks has been an accredited business with the BBB and an A+ company for over 16 consecutive years. We were not sent any initial notices about the complaint until the certified letter arrived, we then immediately responded, and contacted our BBB rep and explained this and they said that they would look into the issue, and we have not had an instance since. As for the pictures that are in question, we took a few pictures of our WaterGuard system being installed, nothing personal was ever photographed and leaked to anyone. We have since forwarded our installation pics to the BBB as proof.

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business said they could fix my sinking corner of my house. Still sinking and walls cracked with their "repair". Main Gasline hit- I was blamed Construction crew lead said problem not solved. Total cost. $10,300 for a problem not fixed that required my needing gaslines repaired X2 at additional expenses of mine

Desired Settlement: Would like a $5000 refund as the dirt is sinking around my house and the corner wasn't fixed and now my counter tilts and my walls are cracked due to their "repair".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/09/02) */ American Waterworks has installed the products and services required to fix the corner of this house, but the house has other areas of concern that need fixing that is not related to the work that we do, but the homeowner is not willing to look into the other concerns, hence the reason, the counter is tilted and certain walls are cracked. We have offered to check back and see if extra dirt is needed for the corner that we worked on, and also look at the cracks which the homeowner claims are new. Homeowner has not tried to contact us with any of these concerns, they are new to our company. The gas line damaged was a private line, and is stated in our contract, "homeowner is responsible for any damages to private underground lines if not marked by homeowner." We have no way of knowing where private lines are, we always contact utility locate services, and they mark all public lines before we do any digging.

10/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A bill was given and paid upon completion of work and now they are attempting to collect $1,600 more with no explanation. We had them repair our basement in early September. At the end of the job, their employee figured the total payment of around $6,400. They called the next day saying we owed an additional $1,600 but refuse to provide an explanation or itemized receipt claiming, "they don't provide this." I can been in contact with them for weeks trying to get this figure but keep running into the same issue.

Desired Settlement: We wish to have the final total removed from what we owe them or have them provide a detailed explanation of the services that have yet to be paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ Customer has been emailed & spoke to several times regarding the balance due and the reason for the miscommunication at time of completion and according to this complaint they do not understand. This is contrary to the reason we are being told by them why we have not been paid in full. Something about escrow money and their lawyer and so forth. We have offered to talk to their lawyer and are were told no. This letter was send via email to ******'s wife ****** as well as a copy in the mail today. Their contract they agreed to states balance due upon completion and they know full well what was due & when. No further communication will be had with this customer and a mechanics lien will be filed. September 22, 2014 **************** **** *************************** Lake Crystal, MN 56055 RE: Final payment due To Whom It May Concern: Upon completion of the waterproofing and foundation repair project at the above mentioned address there was a miscalculation of the final amount to be collected by the job foreman. The mistake was immediately found and brought to Mrs. ****'s attention. During the phone call with Mrs. **** on 09/05/14, it was explained that there was a miscalculation due to the way our software splits the project between waterproofing and foundation repair and is presumably the reason for collecting the wrong amount. There was also an adjustment in price made for the sidewalk that did not have to be disturbed to install the discharge line in the amount of $67.12. This adjustment changed the overall project cost from $8,998.00 down to $8,930.88. The waterproofing portion of the project equals $6,178.86 (with the $67.12 credit applied) and the foundation repair portion of the project equals $2,752.02. The ****'s made a 10% deposit of $899.80 and a partial payment of $6,431.14. The balance left on the project equals $1,599.94 and is due now. The open balance can be considered owed for the foundation repair, but for our accounting reasons is considered owed on the overall project total. Please remit final payment to American Waterworks as soon as possible to avoid any finance charges or a mechanics lien. Sincerely, ************** Office Manager American Waterworks


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on American Waterworks
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart