BBB Accredited Business since

Culligan Water Conditioning-Buffalo

Phone: (763) 682-2762 Fax: (763) 682-9540 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 1st St NE, Buffalo, MN 55313 http://www.culliganwater.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Culligan Water Conditioning-Buffalo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Culligan Water Conditioning-Buffalo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Culligan Water Conditioning-Buffalo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1970 Business started: 02/01/1946 Business started locally: 02/01/1946
Business Management
Mike Bogatzki, General Manager Jeanne Zitzloff, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Bogatzki, General Manager
Business Category

Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Culligan - Buffalo Culligan Soft Water Services Company
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Culligan Water Conditioning, this company offers sales and service of water treatment systems.


Additional Locations

  • 1100 1st St NE

    Buffalo, MN 55313 (763) 682-2762 (800) 972-8340

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were paying for a system to filter arsenic from our water and the company failed to install this filter in our reverse osmosis system. We were clear with Culligan that we needed an arsenic filter in our new home due to high levels and were ensured over & over that they could take care of it. This is the only reason we installed any type of filtration system. We installed the REVERSE OSMOSIS system only to find at the 15 mo.mark for replacement that there was NEVER an arsenic filter installed. I drank this water throughout my pregnancy and while breastfeeding as well as gave this water to my 2 year son. We were heartbroken that we had been unknowingly giving our family unsafe water. Culligan then did not impress us with their customer service & attempting to fix the issue. They made a big issue out of bringing us bottled water while we attempted to resolve the issue and brought up personal obligations when it should have only been about the companies customer service and our satisfaction with the product. We asked about being creditied for our payments and were told we were paying for the service and would not be reimbursed. The service was for clean water which we were not getting.

Desired Settlement: We would like the money back for installation and monthly service charges as we were not getting the service we requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/12) */ Culligan did the annual maintenance on the reverse osmosis system at the *********'s home on 6-15-15. The customer asked the service tech about the arsenic removal from their water because they knew it was present in their water. The service tech made the water consultant aware of the customers concerns and he contacted the *********'s. On our initial visit to their home before installation the customer had a water test that they communicated the results of to our water consultant. There are 2 different types of arsenic in water, arsenic 5 and arsenic 3. The test we were provided by the customer did not differentiate between the two. We offered to do a no charge arsenic test to show which types were in the customers water. We completed the test and the amount of arsenic 3 in their water was above EPA standard and would require special filtration, only arsenic 5 was being removed through their current system. We communicated this to the customer and they became upset because not all of the arsenic was being removed. I spoke with **** ********* and explained that the test we were supplied with did not have a breakdown of the 2 different types of arsenic we would not have known they needed additional filtration. Our water consultant dropped off a case of small pack water until the new system could be installed the following week. We offered to install the new system at no charge. I spoke with **** ********* on 6-25-15 and he told me they would not be putting in the new system from Culligan and they were going with another company. I apologized for the confusion. We picked up our equipment on 7-1-15. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We had a water test done prior to purchasing our home and contacted Culligan explaining that we needed a system specifically for arsenic removal. We were assured that is what we were getting by putting in a reverse osmosis system with an arsenic filter. At the time of the annual filter change **** asked to make sure that filter had been replaced and at that time we were told we didn't have one in our system. We were extremely upset that the last year and a half we were under the assumption that we were having he arsenic removed from our water. The person doing the replacement said that the system may have been taking "enough" out. We said we wanted the water tested then to see how much the system had been doing in order to know how much arsenic our children had been ingesting over the last year and that we were not about to pay for the tests as this was their mistake. A gentleman came out to the home to give us the water test results and discuss a solution. One would think that as a courtesy they would have brought wTer at that time knowing we were unsatisfied. Instead we had to request to have drinkable water while we were waiting for a new system. The gentleman then said he would see what he can do but it may not bet he next day because he had other obligations. This is when the conversation became heated between my husband and the saws rep because it should have had nothing to do with his personal obligations and more about professional customer service. We decided because of this that it was better for us to go with another company. The response from Culligan does not accurately reflect what happene and is not a satisfactory solution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/07/17) */ Cullligan installed equipment based on the information in the water test supplied by the *********'s. Unfortunately to Culligan's knowledge their test did not contain a breakdown of the 2 different types of arsenic that could be present. At the time of service the *********'s requested an arsenic test be completed. Culligan had their lab complete the $40 total arsenic test at NC. Upon getting the results it was discovered the *********'s had arsenic 3 in their water and would need additional filtration. This type of arsenic is not removed with their current reverse osmosis system, as is arsenic 5. The test showed that the arsenic level was 2.34 part per billion over the EPA standard of 10 parts per billion. We offered to install the new system, a $165.00 fee at NC. Prior to the installation date I spoke with **** ********* and he informed me they were going with another company. Culligan feels they have made a good faith effort to address the issues. We also understand their viewpoint and would be willing to provide them a one time credit for half of their total payments/installation in the amount of $283.00. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2015/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The main problem with this is that is has nothing to do with the recent test results that you keep referring to. The only reason that test was done now by your company was to find out how much we had been ingesting over the last year and a half (because it could do a small amount) We knew when we hired you to install a system that we had arsenic over the EPA limit and wanted to filter ALL of it out of our water. We had no other reason for wanting any of your services or systems. The issue is that what we asked for and were told we getting was NOT installed. We asked for an arsenic filter at the original visit and were told that is what were getting. I understand that this came about based on our talk with your sales person (Bill) that we worked with and then somehow the service person failed to install the correct system and filter. That is the issue. This was a mistake that your company made that was irresponsible and detrimenmental to our families health. Your disregard to taking responsibility for that mistake and not even apologizing to us is unprofessional and leaves a really bitter taste in our mouths with our Culligan experience. Not trying to make amends leaves is telling our family and friends about this and you loosing ours as well as others business. I feel others should know that you took advantage of us and when we thought we were being safe drinking your water and arsenic filter system we were consuming over the limit the entire time. This water I was joyfully giving to my unborn child and toddler thinking how wonderful it was that they were getting clean water without any arsenic. When the truth was I was feeding them poison the entire time. At the time of my babies birth he was very small for his gestational age (my first child before we lived in this home was right on target for his gestational age). The doctors didn't know why this was. Speaking with them now they say there is a really serious possibility it was due to arsenic exposure. Who knows what damage this has done that we won't find out for years to come.

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized Service I am extremely upset. I cannot believe horrible service I have received from Culligan!!! They came into my home WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION!! And now I was charged for salt I did not want. I have been a customer for several years and have tried cancelling salt delivery for years and they refuse to cancel the service and now they entered into my home without prior authorization. This is ridiculous. I feel completely violated. I have contacted Culligan regarding this and no response back. This is a serious matter that they are refusing to resolve.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation on why they entered into my home without prior authorization and a refund for salt I did not want and at least 1 month credit on account for inconvenience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/11) */ Good afternoon. In response to the unauthorized entry to Ms. ******'s home. The agreement for salt delivery service we have on file for was signed and initialed by Ms. ****** that it was ok to enter the home or leave the product if not home on delivery days. If the customer would like a copy we will be happy to supply one. Regarding the cancelled delivery for April 13th sale delivery: We received her email over the weekend of April 11th. Unfortunately she was one of our drivers first stops on Monday April 13th and we did not get the information to him before making the delivery, and that was our issue. We then received Ms. ******'s email about being upset, cancelling service, and the unauthorized entry. Our office manager followed up with Ms. ****** via email because that is how she wished to be contacted. Our office manager apologized for the incident and told Ms. ****** we would take her off of delivery service. In regards to the resolution requested: We have already credited back the delivery of salt made on 4-13-15 and we will also credit her account for one month of rental service as requested. If Ms. ****** would need anything else or if she would like to be contacted please let our office know. Thank You. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is very said that I had to send such a bad email to get salt service cancelled, when I have been cancelling by phone for years. Every time since I became a customer. I have called and cancel salt delivery and asked to have delivery service cancelled permanently which never happened. I am very disappointed in the lies posted here. Office Manager has NEVER connected me regarding this issue. I have checked email and spam boxes and nothing. Very rude customer service. As of 5/15/2015 I do not see any credits to my account. Looks like I have to cancel my service permanently!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/05/19) */ We did respond to Ms. ****** via email which she requested, unfortunately we cannot explain why it was not received. We apologized for the inconvenience, told her we would remove the delivery service from her account, and credit back the salt that was delivered. As requested by Ms. ****** we have also credited back in addition to the salt delivered one month of rental services. We have credited back a total of $98.86 and the account is showing a $0 balance. Ms. ****** has not received her June statement yet so the credits that were given in May will not be reflected until the June statement, but the account is at a $0 balance. If Ms. ****** would like an account reconciliation sent to her we would be happy to email one to her or if anything additional is needed please contact our office. Again we apologize for the misunderstanding regarding Ms. ******'s salt delivery service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Culligan Water Conditioning-Buffalo
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)