BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/21/2008

Crystal Canyon, Inc.

Phone: (800) 699-9148Fax: (651) 528-716710500 Ideal Ave S, Cottage GroveMN 55016-4446 Send email to Crystal Canyon, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/21/2008

BBB has determined that Crystal Canyon, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crystal Canyon, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Canyon, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
06/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: DO NOT EVER GO WITH THIS COMPANY!! We have had a flood in our house after they changed our filters, a $900 water bill because of their faulty water so
DO NOT EVER GO WITH THIS COMPANY!! We have had a flood in our house after they changed our filters, a $900 water bill because of their faulty water softner that is still not fixed. It is now depositing calcium in our dishwasher and shower. WE need a new dishwasher now. Still waiting to hear from the owner who has been finding excuses for the past two months. I wrote my story on their facebook page and its gone. They have not taken responsibility for anything at this point

Business' Initial Response
An appointment has been scheduled with our customer to resolve this matter, and we will be able to provide a final response by June 5th, 2013.

Consumer's Final Response
i paid $ 4600 for the whole system the drinking water system and the water softner from crystal canyon water.

Business' Final Response
Crystal Canyon
**** did called me and came to my house on Tuesday and meet with me he told me he was sorry for not getting back to me and taking to long because of all the meeting and the customers he has.He cut me a check for my water bill and fixed my water softener we are really happy .**** his a good guy I am telling all the customers if you have a problem with crystal canyon talk to **** he get things done he will come to your house and meet with you and solve the problem for you.Thank you CRYSTAL CANYON.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: Wrong charge on Credit Card
I have attempted contact several time to find out what they charged to our credit card (they made a wrong charge) Person who responded did not know and referenced me to another person who has not called back

Business' Initial Response
The billing was reviewed with the customer and it was determined to the customers satisfaction, that our billing was correct. Our records also indicate that we did attempt to contact him many times, but due to his restricted hours, it made reaching him difficult. We consider this issue closed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Crystal Canyon did not show up for an appointment, no phone call to cancel. Then I was treated poorly when I called to inquire.
Crystal Canyon called me to schedule an appointment to come out and change 2 filters and check the lines. The day of the appointment no one showed up. After 30 min I called to inquire. *****, an employee answered when I asked about the missed appointment he asked his boss said the van broke down. Then ***** said they could just ship us the part and it would be cheaper anyway. At that point I was confused because I didn't understand why they called me to set up an appointment that would cost $125 then tell me that they would ship it and we could do it ourselves cheaper.
Then *****'s boss **** got on the phone and asked me what they were coming out to do. I said I didn't really know that the company called me to set up this appointment. When I started questioning the business, he said started becoming condescending to me by saying that I didn't hear the whole conversation so I don't know what is going on. I ended the conversation at that point. I felt that **** was very unprofessional and I would never recommend this company to anyone.
We have had problems with customer service for the 2 years we have had their products (water softener and filtration system)

Business' Initial Response
Our customer states they have had customer service issues for two years. Our records indicate otherwise. In December 2010 they called to say their filters were clogged. We sent a service guy to change all the filters and included a sediment filter all at no charge to the homeowner. Typically this is not warrantied work because it was the condition of the water that resulted in the filters being clogged. Our service records then indicates that there was no additional concern until it was time for their next scheduled service for filter changes. Which, on 10-10-2011 another set of filters were mailed for them to install themselves at their request. On 11-7-2011 we were informed that our customer's filters never arrived. At our expense we shipped out a second set. It is true that it is more cost effective for a homeowner to change their own filter if they are capable and that was the option presented to them. The servicing of their equipment should be done as follows: Their reverse osmosis filters should be changed yearly unless the condition of their water dictates otherwise. All our customers are very important to us and we take full responsibility for their continued satisfaction and hope this resolves the issue.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/06/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Charged our bank account for services not rendered. We canceled our service in July with Crystal Canyon Water.
My name is************* and I am the office manager at ****************************.
We stopped using Crystal Canyon Water Company after many months of problems with deliveries. We had to call them numerous times to get our water delivered. With every phone call we received very poor customer services from the employees answering the phones. They would tell us the water would be delivered tomorrow and the next day no water would show up. We finally had enough in the end of June beginning of July when we were completely out of water for over two weeks, with no water being delivered. We called and canceled all our services in July.
Today I checked out our bank account after the weekend and see a charge pending from Crystal Canyon Water Company. I don't know why they are billing us when they are no longer our water supplier. We have not had any water delivered since the beginning of July and now it is September.

We also called them last Tuesday August 28th 2012 to see when they where going to pick up all the empty bottles we have in the back, and the women who answered the phones said " Tomorrow Wednesday August 29th 2012" . They did not show up to pick up the empty water bottles; they are still sitting in the back employee area. Once again another example of the company telling us they are coming and not showing up. The same thing we experienced the whole time with our water delivery.

Business' Initial Response
I do see that a credit card was charged, and I believe that was a glitch in the system as it shouldn't have been charged. I will be sure our accounting department refunds that charge right away, so please watch for the credit. I also see someone from the business spoke to a customer service rep in our office on Tuesday to inform them we will stop by to pick up the empties when we are in the area. I will be sure that refund takes place right away, and the empties will be picked up when we are in your area. I do apologize if this has caused any inconvenience and I am sorry this had to go to the BBB, instead of being handled through our office directly.

Business' Final Response
We I left a massage with Crystal Canyon and told them I was writing a letter to the BBB, they got right on our refund and I actual got two phones calls back.( they have never returned a massage before) That is the most I have ever received from them. So they are working with us on getting a refund now. Thank you for your help on this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: The products I purchased from this company do not perform in the way I was told they would, in fact they have caused problems with my water and air.
I received a phone call from a person whom I thought was from the St Paul Water Dept. offering a free water analysis. He did not say this was a sales call of any kind. When he arrived on 2/4/12 and said he was from Just Water I did agree to let him test my water due to problems in the past with cloudiness and smell. He brought out all these little bottles and testing drops and by the time he was done ofcourse my water was full of all sorts of chemicals and bacteria. We sat down to discuss my problems First off I needed a Reverse Osmosis Purified Drinking Water System model#C6725 on my kitchen sink. Second and third a Wholehouse Ultra Violet Water Disinfectant System model#CC7801 which would attach to my Entire House Water Refiner Filtration System model#C24505 and finally a Whole House Air Purification System model#CC8901 that combined ultraviolet energy and ozone to purify the air and eliminate odors extremely effective against micro-organisms such as dust mites, mold spores, viruses and bacteria such as Seratia Marcescens, by up to 100%. I questioned the cost $11,400 and laughed in his face he quickly told me that if I would write a letter saying how much I liked these products he would lower the cost down to $8400.00.He said that they do financing through his company which was actually through Aqua Finance. He thought it would be better if I got my cousin who lives with me to put her name on the credit app to because I am disabled and receive only SS. I called her upstairs and we went over everything again. She agreed that if these products do all the things he stated they would be worth getting . He went on to fill out the credit app. himself as well as the Retail Credit Agreement-NY Credit Sales Contract-HI which just gave the description of goods and a price, Notice of Cancellation that gave us 3 days to change our mind and away he went but came back the next day with a re-written credit app by someone in his office and the other part of the app which was not attached to the original stating it was a revolving credit agreement and disclosure statement. We were also told our monthly paymnt was going to be $148.00 at 13% interest but now find out it's 17.99%. I was also told at this time he needed a copy of my deed showing Just Water I owned the home. I called on 2/6 with resevations and Gary came right over with Mike who wore an Eco Water uniform. For 3 hours I sat and questioned why I needed all of this stuff and asked what if I decided I didn't like something and didn't want it, would I be SOL? They just kept asking why I wouldn't like something that improved my health?I caved and on 2/7 the equipment was installed. This was before I was contacted by phone from the finance company to go over the credit app which wasn't approved till 2/13 and also the purchase date. I only received a short letter with my acct# 02-00274182 monthly payments of $210.00 and that my credit report set the terms for the APR which comes out to 22.75% my credit is perfect and this is a sham. I found out this went through Time Investment and not Aqua Finance as well. Less than a month later we were questioning the softness of the water which seemed nonexistant, my skin and hair are still dry cracked scally and brittle. The laundry is hard and stiff.I have environmental and seasonal allergies as well as asthma and have not noticed any difference in the air or orders in my home actually I have more dust than before their product was installed which causes me increased breathing problems. There has also been no change in the odors. I started calling on 3/2 no one called back, my water turned brown on 3/11 on 4/11 I finally spoke with Brandy sent a tech on 4/12 the problem got worse and now there is something growing in my toilet. Left numerous messages to get their products out of my house on 5/30 got a call from Christine saying they can't take it back I own it and even if they did remove them I'd have to pay for them anyway.

Business' Initial Response
We have made arrangements to meet with the consumer on Monday July 9th 2012 at 2:30 pm to see if we can get the issue resolved. Thank you!

Brandi DeBates
Just Water- EcoWater- Crystal Canyon
10500 Ideal Ave. S
Cottage Grove, MN 55016
651-528-7164 Office
651-967-7758 Fax
bdebates@crystalcanyonwater.com
www.crystalcanyonwater.com

Complaint Resolution: Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
03/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: I was told to give a credit card number and issue a service date and as long as I cancel before the service date I would not be charged. NOT True!
I had a representative come to my house on Nov. 30th 2011 for a free water inspection named ***** to test my water. He talked about our water and potentially getting a reverse osmosis system filtration system and I was interested. I told him that I was currently involved in redoing my basement and was not sure I wanted to add this expense right now and needed to think about it ***** was nice and did not push us but mentioned that if we filled out paperwork and left a credit card number that as long as we scheduled a service date and canceled before the service date there was no way they would charge us. We agreed on a service date of the 12th which would give us time to decide whether or not we wanted to cancel. I called Crystal Canyon on Dec. 7th and canceled and was told that ***** was not available but that they would go ahead and cancel our service. I checked our credit card over the next couple days and saw no charge nor did I receive a call from anyone from Crystal Canyon. On Dec. 30th I was looking at my credit card bill and noticed a charge of 3468.20 had been processed on Dec 13th. I called Crystal Canyon and asked why I was charged they told me that they had notes saying I wanted to wait until Spring to install but did not cancel. I asked them why would I pay interest on a credit card for 4 months and not install? I informed them this was totally inaccurate and needed the charges reversed. I also told them that I canceled the service via my cell phone so I could verify time of call and date that I called in to cancel. They told me that they ordered equipment for my house already, and I asked how could they custom order for my house without measuring or seeing what they needed. They told me it was Universal so then I told them then you did not custom order for me. Also why would you order equipment for me when "according to you was not to be installed till spring" which was not true but still did not make sense. Finally, I got a call back saying they have a binding contract and will try and hold me to it even though ***** agreed that he did tell me as long as I cancel before the service date I would be fine. I also spoke with **** their Sales Manager who told me that he was there to help and would have ***** call me and when I explained to him and told him why does ***** need to call me, is ***** authorized to credit me back? He said yes, then ***** called me and told me all the info I mentioned above, said he had to ask **** and then told me they believe they have a binding contract. Keep in mind they charged my credit card on Dec. 13th and did not call about an installation that they were charging me that they were ordering anything, they charged me and did nothing that would make be believe there was a misunderstanding of service they were going to provide. They charged the money and did nothing hoping enough time would pass that my money would be unrecoverable. I filed a dispute with *** and they reversed the charge but Crystal Canyon tried to swindle and keep the money from me. I even mentioned prior to the lies from them that I may decide to do it later in the year. I can assure you I will not use them and do not trust them at all.

Business' Initial Response
Regarding our customers concern of contract dated November 30, 2011. There was an order placed November 30th for water treatment equipment that was to be installed December 12th. We did receive a phone call on December 7th cancelling the install for December 12th based on the homeowner's wishes for a spring install. That is accurate and true. Our customer's right to cancel ended midnight of 12-5-11. So when they called on the 7th push the install, we naturally assumed it was not to cancel the contract since the contract cannot be cancelled at that time. The goal was never to bill for work not done. When our accounting department billed his credit card on December 13th, they did so assuming the original install date of December 12th was completed. Not realizing the install was pushed to spring. We do take responsibility for our accounting department not receiving proper information from our service department. We are prepared to pay the interest charged on the contract amount up until an early spring install. He also mentioned some confusion regarding custom manufactured product. All our orders with the factory are considered just in time delivery. Which means we only order products based on incoming contacts. So, although the product itself is not custom manufactured, it is custom ordered. Based on our contract dated November 30, 2011 and the right to cancel being of midnight of December 5, 2011, we do feel we have a valid contract and look forward to fulfilling our end of the contract hoping our customer upholds their end. We do regret any misunderstanding due to the possibility of a lack of communication but still look forward to servicing him. We are prepared to help him for this inconvenience as best as we can, which could include an additional discount. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with our customer hoping that we can prove to still be the company he originally thought we were when he went into contract with us.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Water Analysis, Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies, Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2000Business started: 03/01/1997
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Health
PO Box 64975
Saint Paul, MN55164-0975
(651) 201-5000
http://www.health.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1999, MN

Business Management
Principal: Bryan Trabert (Owner)
Business Category

Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Water Analysis, Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies, Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Crystal Canyon Water, this company offers delivery of bottled water to homes and businesses. They also sell, service and install residential and commercial water softening and filtration systems.


If you choose to do business with Crystal Canyon, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crystal Canyon, Inc.

10500 Ideal Ave S

Cottage Grove, MN 55016-4446

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10500 Ideal Ave S 

    Cottage Grove, MN 55016-4446(800) 699-9148

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crystal Canyon, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.