This business is not BBB accredited.

AG Blinds & Shutters, LLC

Phone: (651) 890-2760 333 10th St NW Apt 218, New Brighton, MN 55112

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


According to the information provided by AG Blinds & Shutters, LLC offers sell & install blinds, shutters, and shades for residential and commercial customers.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AG Blinds & Shutters, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AG Blinds & Shutters, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2007 Business started locally: 07/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Tim Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Tim Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Venetian Blinds - Dealers Window Shades Home Improvements Shutters

Additional Locations


    333 10th St NW Apt 218

    New Brighton, MN 55112 (651) 890-2760


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shades purchased in Dec,cords too short for transom windows.Finally replaced cords in May and returned shades had hole in material, soiled, shortened. Nine Hunter Douglas Silhouette (3 inch easy rise A40, Parasol 601) shades purchased Dec. 13, 2013 by credit card for $4603.92. Jan. 10 shades installed with 4 transom window cords too short and required stepladder to open/close shade and ************, owner and sales for AG Blinds, said he would replace the cords. I requested final invoice and rebate confirmation. No bill invoice or cords Feb. or March. April 4th *** called wanting to be paid in which credit card information was given at time of order and was informed I was still waiting for cord correction. Call to Hunter Douglas on April 4th and they did not have record of the $450 rebate to me. Hunter Douglas will honor rebate if *** would call and confirm purchase. He picked up the 4 shades with the value of $2210 to make the correction on April 4th. April 7th *** found charge card info and submitted the Dec. purchase amount. April 16 I called Hunter Douglas if *** called to correct the rebate but no call from *** but did honor the rebate. Appt. had been made for April 18th at 1000 but *** did not make the appt. nor call to cancel. Left msg. to *** to reschedule apt to return repaired shades. April 29 recalled *** to make appt. to return shades via his voice mail, no communication from ***. On May 1st email sent trying to get an appt. to return shades. *** did respond and shades rehung when I was at work and husband home. He stated to my husband the ends of the shades had to be broken off to replace the cords. When I came home from work I saw hole in shade and another one soiled. We also noted the shades were shorter. On May 8th we emailed *** again reporting the damage. He did respond back saying to submit photos of damaged shades. May 13th photos emailed to ***. May 20th follow up email from us to *** to check on status. May 23rd email from *** stating he was waiting verification of photos from Hunter Douglas. No further communication from ***. On May 30th, I emailed Hunter Douglas customer service to see if they could help me in this matter. Per their customer service rep, ***********, Hunter Douglas started a case #-******* and requested the phone number for************ at AG Blinds since there wasn't anything in their files about this matter. On June 6th *********** emailed me back stating the company phone number is no longer in service and voice mail is full. I then sent her the further requested information of alternative methods of reaching AG Blinds which is just an email. When I received the invoice on April 4 it is handwritten and no invoice number present.

Desired Settlement: I have been so frustrated over the lack of communication and poor business practice of *********** of AG Blinds that I want the 4 upper shades reordered and replaced with correct length of cord (they are now too long). I would like a knowledgeable Hunter Douglas rep to make an appt. with us and help us rectify this problem.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered Hunter Douglas shade for large window and sent two other large shades for repair May 8. No response to repeated emails,calls and website. Ordered Hunter Douglas Archibella Elan 3/4 Light filtering shade with ultra glide TBB4 Linen C22-953 on 5/8--friday. "***" told me the repairs would be done the next week and the new shade would be in 3 weeks. I gave him nearly $500 as 50% downpayment. After repeated calls, emails and notes on the AG Shutters, website, I get no response, no product and no service. I have sent a letter to the address on my receipt indicating that I have no choice but to contact the police as today's phone voice mail message indicates the box is full. This is the address/phone I have: A.G. Blinds % Shutters ********************* Forest Lake, MN 55025 ************

Desired Settlement: I want three Duette shades on my 3 windows immediately! I was upgrading for a family event that is friday!!! If this will not happen, I want my shades returned along with my money immediately so that I can find another vendor asap.

3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been referred to AG Blinds/***********. When hiring him, I had stated that excellent service was as important to me as good product. *** had been in communication, came over to suggest window covering and do the detailed measuring, and he put together an order to which I then made adjustments. On February 5, 2014, *** came over as planned to pick up the deposit. I gave him $2400.00 cash as my 70% down deposit. He was not feeling well, left me a copy of the "order" that he wrote on (re: the deposit), and stated that he would email me a final order copy that night. He did not follow through and email anything. The order sheet that *** left at my home on 2-5-14 was NOT correct and he acknowledged that. I have left multiple voicemails and have sent multiple emails to *** since that time. My messages started with concern about the inaccuracies and my need to know that an accurate order would be placed. I have never received this confirmation; nor have I ever received any further emails or phone calls from ***. He has simply stopped communicating with me since he received my cash deposit. Given the 9 days that have passed since I gave him a deposit, and given that he has not returned one message, my trust in him has eroded. Please note that I actually reached him by phone on 2-10-14 and expressed my sincere concern. He stated he would send me an email copy of the order that day and again, has not followed through.

Desired Settlement: I have sent him both emails and phone messages stating that I want my order cancelled due to his poor communication and service. Also, that I want my cash deposit returned immediately. He has not returned any messages nor has he returned the deposit. I hope that you can help resolve this situation. I have let *** know that simply because he will not communicate with me, does not mean this order is to continue. Should you need copies of the emails I have sent to him (and received from him), please advise.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AG Blinds & Shutters, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)