This business is not BBB accredited.

Gibbon Auto Sales

Additional Locations

Phone: (507) 834-6299 View Additional Phone Numbers 442 13th St, Gibbon, MN 55335 http://www.gibbonautosales.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gibbon Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gibbon Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 2009 Business started: 07/29/1997 Business started locally: 07/29/1997 Business incorporated 05/29/1992 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar St Ste 133, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.dps.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-7000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Marilyn Messner, Owner Bill Messner, Husband and Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Marilyn Messner, Owner
Business Category

Truck Dealers Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Gibbon Truck Sales Myrna Properties, Inc.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Gibbon Auto Sales, this company offers used truck and car sales.

Industry Tips
BUYING A USED CAR USED CAR WARRANTY LAW

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    442 13th St

    Gibbon, MN 55335 (507) 834-6299

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34

    Gibbon, MN 55335 (507) 834-6291

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mileage 730,000 mi Less Than 150,000 Miles On Engine Overhaul And New Transmission, New Radiator,Turbo,and Injectors, Fresh Paint. Clean Title!Never been Wrecked! 2000 PETERBILT 379 Cummins N-14 Engine,550 H.P., Engine Brake, RTLO-18918 Transmission, 3.55 Ratio, Air Ride With Dump Valve, Power Steering,Less Than 150,000 Miles On Engine Overhaul And New TransmissionAbove is a portion of his advertisement. The mileage stated is only half of the actual 1,350,000. Both the transmission torque and the engine H.P. are also misstated. The transmission is a RTLO 16718B which is a light duty transmission. The computer module was taken and scanned at Cummins in Minot ND and I have a copy of this to prove mileage and horsepower. I am trying to lease on to a company that hauls hazardous material(7 axles 102,000 lbs.) and this truck in reality is inadequate for this purpose. Product_Or_Service: 2000 Peterbilt

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I paid $71,930.00 cash and that is what I want refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/22) */ Received business response via e-mail from **** ******* (1-21-14) and subsequent follow-up phone call (1-22-14). Note: Response includes approximately 9 pages of e-mail correspondence between **** ******* and ***************** (apparently writing on behalf of Mr **********). (Scan of original is attached.) Mr ******* says that Mr ********** had all relevant information on the truck at the time of purchase, and that mileage indicated on the truck was as provided by the previous owner, and taken from the vehicle's odometer. (Says Gibbon Auto Sales leaves it to the customer's discretion as to whether they wish to verify mileage via ECM.) Mr ******* explained that Gibbon Auto Sales cannot allow return of the truck and refund Mr **********'s money outright, due to the custom equipment installed on the truck, and the labor necessary to install it. But he adds that he has extended an offer to Mr ********** to sell the truck for him on consignment, as shown in the e-mail exchange below from Jan 8 - 10: "From: ************ (mailto:GIBBONTRUCKS@CENTURYTEL.NET) Sent: Friday, January 10, 2014 12:02 PM To: '******************' Subject: RE: 2000 Peterbilt Hello *******, I believe we can resolve this issue. After analyzing all the custom work done to the truck it prohibits many perspective buyers but I'm confided we can find a buyer. I could take this on as a consignment and I would do the all the advertising, paper work and selling for you at no cost to you. Tell what price you want and we will sell it for you. It would be better to have the truck on our lot but we can sell it from your location. Let me know if you want to move forward on this. Thank You, **** ******* Gibbon Truck Sales ************ www.gibbontrucksales.com From: ****************** (mailto:**************@hotmail.com) Sent: Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:43 PM To: gibbontrucks@centurytel.net Subject: 2000 Peterbilt ****, I am confident we can still get this problem resolved. I have not done anything with the truck, it simply isn't going to work for me. In fact I have ordered a new one. You can still get your money out of this truck. You need to be in contact with with me so we can work this out. The mileage descrepency alone is reason enough for you to want to take care of this. Thank you, ******************"


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gibbon Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)