Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/24/2010

Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC

(320) 630-0841View Additional Phone Numbers15606 Jewel Rd, Little FallsMN 56345-5724 Send email to Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/24/2010

BBB has determined that Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damage to new steel siding---owner failed to take a look at damages.
Thursday, 9-5-13, Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC out of Little Falls, Mn, trimmed my trees. I was in my bedroom awake when they were on top of my roof. A very loud sound occurred which sounded like a limb falling and hitting my roof just above me. Working the night shift & trying to sleep, I hesitated to check right away with them. When I was up in the later afternoon and they were doing the neighbor's trees, I asked a worker what that noise was. He said "Oh, I almost stepped off your roof". Three weeks later the week of 9/23-27/13 I was going to wash my siding & windows on the East side of my house where my bedrooms are. I noticed damage to my new steel siding alongside the conduit going to my electric meter box. The siding was dented in and had particles of wood fibers on it and its color shading. I had not checked above the roof as I do not have a ladder of sufficient height. There was a broken shingle and scuffed up shingles on the edge of the roof on the front of the house on the North side where they leaned their ladder. I got up on a step ladder to see that much. They may or may not have been responsible for that as I told Brad. However, I don't recall anyone having been on my roof since it was shingled 6 years ago.

I left a voice message on Brad Hoheisel's phone as I can never get ahold of him directly. He called back the next day or so & said he would take a look at it Tues, 10-1-13, because he was taking his wife to Two Harbors, Mn for the weekend. I preferred him to come the same day he called me back.

Brad has not come over to take a look at the damages to my knowledge. I did have an appointment that Tuesday afternoon, but I have not heard from him.

The Sunday they came around the neighborhood giving proposals they parked their truck on the edge of my front lawn and left a rut in it. It took awhile for Brad to get back to me on that, but he did say he would give me $40 to repair it myself or he would fork it loose. It got better, so I forgave & forgot the matter.

Desired Settlement
I have not been able to get ahold of Brad Hoheisel to get this matter settled. He does not answer my calls.

Business Response
In regards to this complaint, customer was right that I was slow in responding to his call, do to vacation and not being in close proximity to him. The contact has been made. Damage to the siding has been looked at by myself and a siding contractor. It is in the process of being repaired.

Thank you
*************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Brad seems sincere in his responses to BBB, but I have yet to hear directly from him on when he intends to repair the siding or how he intends to go about it. By this time I could have hired someone to do it and sent him the bill and it would have been a whole lot easier to deal with, especially since "he is not able" at the moment. Now winter is settling in. He says "as soon as able"---that implies his tree cutting services take priority over correcting damages from previous work done.

It is true we have not reached either by phone, but I only noticed 2 calls from him when I sleep during the day. I do have an answering machine, but it is full of messages which I have not deleted or telemarketers fill it up. I left messages for Brad when to reach me, right off in the morning or later in the afternoon or evenings or even weekends, none of which he calls me during. It seems really eerie that for a business owner I can never reach him. Most business owners also have a cell phone line or surely would not be that difficult to reach or they wouldn't generate any new business. I don't even have an email of his to contact.

He also has my address to send a letter to. They had no trouble finding me or my neighbors when they needed income to cut my lower dead tree branches, one of which was missed and now hanging loose from a tree ready to fall on someone's head.

I am typing this at 7:11 in the morning after work. He never calls at that time and he would surely be up and ready to do tree service at this time. If I were to call his number all I'd get is a recorded greeting and a "God Bless". He likely has caller ID. I only have the service, but no caller ID on my phone. I have to dial *69 when I get up to only get the last calling number. His showed up only twice.

I work 10 PM to 6:30 AM, sometimes a little overtime in the morning, and am almost always up before 7:30-8 AM before I turn the phone ringer off. Then I turn it on in the later afternoon when I'm up. On an occasional morning after work I will get groceries or gas. Saturday nights I am up late and Sunday mornings and late Sunday evenings again. During the winter I will also be working Sunday nights. I could call him in the middle of the night, but don't think he'd appreciate that.

The siding I have is from Matthew Hall Lumber and $75 a square, so there would be some left over for this repair job. It is Wickertone and they can still get it. If he wants me to have one of their guys do it I can do that if he wants to just pay them since he is "not able" now.

Brad is not in the siding business anyhow and I have been overly patient for 3 months giving him an option to have his friend do it to save himself from using his insurance. But that's why he's insured anyhow. I asked when they started if they were insured. If this kind of thing got around, he'd be losing business and new customers really fast.

Final Business Response
In regards to the above matter, I have every intention to repair the siding on the home as soon as able. I have tried to contact the homeowner on several occasions, but he works nights and has no answering machine to leave a message. He called me back and we are playing phone tag a the present time.


Thank you,
*************

01/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They target and take advantage of the elderly and way over charge.
The salesman showed up to my elderly stepdad's house who has dementia and has an activated POA. They talked him into removing 2 tree stumps from the back yard while he was home alone. He doesn't have the ability to make finacial decisions any longer. When we arrived he told us an about the guys that had come and did work and was told he had to pay them at the time. We were even more shocked to find out they asked him for $900!!! That is 3 times the amount those serivices go for in this area. After investigating more, we then saw the compnay was from out of state and were curious how they even ended up at the house when we hadn't planned on having them removed or even asked anyone for an estimate as of the time they came knocking at the door. With the way they cames across this job and the outragous amount they got my elderly/dementia stepdad to pay them, I have no choice but to feel they are scammers.

Desired Settlement
Since this service was not solicited by our stepfather or our family, we feel that a full refund would be appropriate. Neither our stepfather nor the family had intentions of having the stumps removed. Our plan was to leave them in place and just have the trees removed. Our stepfather did not have a good or full understanding of the services proposed to him before they were completed. He thought he was paying the person that had cut down the trees.

09/10/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold a tree trimming job to my grandma who has dimentia and alzheimers.
On Friday, September 24, around 12-12:30 p.m., three gentleman came to door and asked my grandma(by her first name- how did they know her first name?) if she would like a stump removed from our yard for $300 - she agreed. (She's 90, has dimentia/alzheimers) When my husband came home, the three gentleman were in the midst of removing the tree stump. My husband told them she doesn't have the authority to agree to these services. They argued and they demanded the $300. Once we threatened that we were going to call the police and have them settle the dispute, they agreed to $150. They also accussed us of neglecting my grandma and leaving her alone if she couldn't make these decisions. When we were clearing all the mulch the next day, it was clear that they didn't complete removing the stump. I guess I am concerned that this company which is located in Northern Minnesota comes over to Wisconsin going door to door to see if they can remove stumps. Their referrals are elderly and vulnerable adults as they just came from our neighbors who is also 90 years.

Desired Settlement
Either they need to come back and finish the job or

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern:
In regards to the complaint posted concerning stump grinding, I believe there has been a misunderstanding on both parties. I wish to have no arguments or hurt feelings. It was never my intent to take advantage of anyone. I will be returning the money, and hope my apology will be sufficient in settling this matter.

Sincerly,

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service, Tree Service - Pruning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/24/2010Business started: 08/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N
Saint Paul, MN55155-2538
(651) 201-6000
http://www.mda.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Brad Hoheisel (Owner)
Business Category

Tree Service, Tree Service - Pruning

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Brad Hoheisel Tree Service LLC this company offers tree trimming & removal and stump grinding.

Alternate Business Names
Brad Hoheisl Stump Grinding
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Before Hiring a Tree Service

If you choose to do business with Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC

15606 Jewel Rd

Little Falls, MN 56345-5724

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15606 Jewel Rd 

    Little Falls, MN 56345-5724(320) 630-0841
    (612) 865-3489

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brad Hoheisel Tree Service, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (612) 865-3489
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

Before Hiring a Tree Service
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.