BBB Accredited Business since

Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, Inc.

Phone: (952) 594-0671 26148 Newton Cir Unit 7, Elko, MN 55020 http://www.eriksrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2012 Business started: 07/23/2012 Business started locally: 07/23/2012 Business incorporated 07/23/2012 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Erik Karlsen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Erik Karlsen, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Radiators - Automotive Towing - Automotive

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, this company offers full service auto repair facility specializing in transmissions new or rebuilt with towing services available.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • 26148 Newton Cir Unit 7

    Elko, MN 55020 (952) 594-0671

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my truck into this shop for transmission rebuilt. Erik stated he would be able to do the rebuild. After the first time he told me it was done there was still problems and I brought it back to the shop. At this point he it was two days later and I had to bring it back as I was still having problems. I picked it up after he said he had it fixed again. One week later I was still having problems and I brought it back. He told me he would rebuild the transmission again. I picked it up and I hooked up to my trailer and it still had problems. The transmission went out right away again. I then called him and he asked if there was another shop I trusted, I told him there was. He then told me he would put $1000.00 towards the rebuild of my transmission AGAIN! The bill to rebuild my transmission again was over $3000.00 Erik told me he would warranty the original transmission he had put in previously. When I told him that I was still having problems he told me to bring it elsewhere and he would PAY $1000.00 towards the cost. I feel like I have paid between him and the other shop way more than I should have considering he was paid by me and the previous person who had the truck prior to me owning it. I am very unhappy due to him saying he would warranty the transmission and I had to have it completely replaced by another reputable shop and he refused to pay for the cost of that. He said he did things to fix it and when the other shop was working on it they realized that he did not do even half of what he said he did. I would like a negative mark put on him for these business practices. This truck is how I make my living and I was out of it for quite some time due to all the problems with this.

Desired Settlement: I would like the difference of what was paid by me and the previous owner for the work that was not obviously correct or complete.

Consumer Response:  Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11297050, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several failed attempts of repair, poor customer service and extended repair times. Transmission was brought in for initial rebuild and lasted only 2 moths (2,700 miles) before going out. Truck was brought back to the shop at my own cost where it took an additional 2 weeks to repair again. Mechanic said the vehicle was working properly and again less than a week later transmission would not shift. Returned for repair, mechanic claimed it was a cracked valve body. Took 17 days for the repair, owner was never at the shop and was communicating false information of the progress on repair. Vehicle was returned after being fixed only for the original issue to continue. At this time the vehicle was being brought back to the shop when the rear drive shaft fell out due to the shop overlooking an existing issue or improperly installing the shaft after the previous repair. The vehicle was picked up by Erik and repaired in 7 days only to still have a shifting issue. Truck was than returned to the shop to have the 2-3 shift solenoid replaced and was returned in 4 days. At this time the mechanic said it was not a transmission issue but it was an issue he was unable to diagnose with the engine due to not having the correct diagnostic tool. I brought the vehicle to Apple Valley car clinic to have it looked over and was told it was not an engine issue but a transmission issue. At this time i brought the vehicle to Master Transmission in Rosemount for a free diagnostic and again it was found to be a transmission issue presumed to be a valve body or shift solenoid but could not be confirmed without further work at my cost.

Desired Settlement: At this time I would like a refund for the repair costs that I have into it so I can bring it in for repair elsewhere or I would like a new GM certified replacement transmission.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2016/03/22) */ Talked with the owner today and made arrangements to have the issue fixed at another shop at his cost.

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that my car was taken in because the transmission went bad and it was to be replaced and fixed by Eriks Transmission in March of 2015. The car was returned to me and by the next day it failed. It was returned to the mechanic and he stated he looked at it and he had repaired it. The car was returned to me and that evening it failed again and I was on the highway when it broke down. The car went back to the mechanic he had it for 3 weeks and later was told by him that he could not duplicate what was going on and returned the car to me as is. The car again failed and the transmission kept failing. I again had the car in for repair and again returned to me with the same issue. I have tried repeatedly to contact the mechanic asking that he pick up the car with no return call or reply. Lastly I had tried to start the car and take the car to see if it will run and again the transmission failed and I had to have it towed off the street as it failed again this was January 1st 2016. In all honesty the car will only run for possibly 1/2 a mile but you can hear the transmission slip and finally fail the entire time.

Desired Settlement: I want the Mechanic to replace the transmission, I have contacted GM motors and was told that he was not to use aftermarket parts and to use OEM parts when replacing the transmission. GM stated that when a transmission is replaced they are to reset the sensor or replace it including the torque converter as that is also what fails when the transmission fails.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2016/02/09) */ The vehicle is at the dealer and is being taken care of. Should be done within the week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2016/02/17) */ I do not have my car fixed yet and I don't have,my car. The mechanic does NOT answer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2016/02/29) */ Customer has vehicle and this has been resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Erik's Transmission & Auto Repair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)