BBB Accredited Business since

Schmit Towing, Inc.

Phone: (763) 253-1568 Fax: (763) 253-0257 92 43rd Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55421 http://www.schmittowing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schmit Towing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Schmit Towing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Schmit Towing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 01/01/1986 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Stephen Schmit, President Sue Schmit, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Stephen Schmit, President
Customer Contact: Sue Schmit, CFO
Business Category

Towing - Automotive Towers Locks & Locksmiths

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Schmit Towing, Inc., this company offers towing in the metro area, transport long distance 5 state area, lock out, tire change, and jump start.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Schmit Towing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 92 43rd Ave NE

    Minneapolis, MN 55421 (763) 253-1568

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car after hours that the lot was "open" leaving me with no way to get my car out, forcing me to pay their fees. I had needed, prescribed medication in the trunk of my car, along with all my over night things in a bag as well as my purse. My car was parked at my boyfriends apartment complex in the visitor parking area. We left right away to attend an event so I left my things in the car and was going to grab them when we got home that evening. Multiple other cars were parked there as well, only my car and my boyfriends brother's car were towed. Needing my medication and overnight things, we tried to get in touch with the (advertised as 24 hour) company to gain access to MY needed things. The girl who was working that night was EXTREMELY rude, and we had to get the police involved to get my items. She only allowed me to get the medication from my trunk (after making us wait 20 minutes with a squad car while she "finished what she was doing) and then finally showed up on the property. Nothing was mentioned about a $50 fee to access MY thingson in MY car until the next day when we were finally able to get the car out. Daytime staff was horribly rude as well. Overnight girl claimed that the apartment management had called and requested the cars be towed. Daytime staff said they search the lot and admitted only ours had been towed. Got even more rude and more of an attitude when we said the $50 fee for getting my (needed and prescribed) medication was not once mentioned to us. Shady business practices. Charged us over $600 to get our two cars back, at 1pm when they opened their "24 hour" business. Both cars have scratch damages.

Desired Settlement: Refund storage fees and the $50 fee for getting my medication. Clarify in advertising that they will only tow cars 24 hours a day. Don't be so rude when people need things from the cars you took and stop lying about why you towed them.

Business Response: I am sorry the customer is upset. I will need more information to be able to investigate further. Where was vehicle towed from? Year, Make and Model of vehicle. What date was the vehicle towed? Who did she speak with at Schmit Towing, what date and what time? Some of the calls are recorded and our lobby is video and audio recorded so we may be able to look that up. Also to address the 24 hour subject. We are open 24/7 for towing and service calls, but our impound release hours are limited as is common in our industry.  Our release hours are well posted on our website, our front gate and are also part of our police contracts. Please help me to investigate further by answering these questions. Thank you

1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was towed & stored my fault. When trying to get it out would not accommodate any form of phone payment (they were closing . open 24 hours) I was in Waseca MN ... Loaned car to friend. It got towed. Try to get car out before closing 1/16 same day of tow. Friend didn't have enough, so I wanted accommodation of any over the phone payment. Steve refused. They say they are Open 24 hours a day... But were closing about 5 PM.

Desired Settlement: 1st no extra storage fee. Plus any damages to car. They still have it as of 1/17/15.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/17) */ I am sorry that this customer is unhappy. To clarify, we are open 24 hours for Towing Service but our release hours are 8am to 6pm. We clearly explained this to him. We do not accept credit cards over the phone for impounded vehicles as we have had some issues with people cancelling the payments or using stolen cards etc. We require the card to be ran in person with matching id and signature. We also clearly explained this to him. Very few tow companies even take credit cards for impounds, we do as a courtesy.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Schmit Towing, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart