This business is not BBB accredited.

Farmers Union Oil Company of Alexandria

Phone: (320) 763-6337 1705 Broadway St, Alexandria, MN 56308 http://www.cenextirepros.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Farmers Union Oil Company of Alexandria include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Farmers Union Oil Company of Alexandria include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Farmers Union Oil Company of Alexandria
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2012 Business started: 12/16/1955 Business started locally: 12/16/1955 Business incorporated 12/20/1955 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N, Saint Paul MN 55155
www.mda.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Lane Kalina, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Lane Kalina, General Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Boosting Services Convenience Stores

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Farmers Union Oil Company of Alexandria, this company offers retail and wholesale tire sales, convenience store and auto shop; plus, bulk propane.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1705 Broadway St

    Alexandria, MN 56308 (320) 763-6337

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of customer service and accountablility for employee's actions. Employee's unable to determine correct monthly budget amounts. I have been on the monthly budget plan with this propane company for a few years. The heating season for 2013-2014 budget was $115, by the billing statement dated 02/28/14 they changed my budget to $325 monthly. I attempted to contact them by phone and in person on several occassions, in which, my billing statement dated 05/31/14 changed to $290 monthly. I continued to contact them by phone and in person with no success. I then sent a letter directed to **** (Manager) requesting that they explain how they firgured my budget etc. I did not receive a response. I then walked in and spoke with ***** **** and she signed my notarized letter in which she wrote someone would contact me. Again, I did not receive a response. I received a letter of how much I owed followed with a letter warning me of collections. During this time I did stop payment for 2 months, waiting for someone to contact me (June & July 2014). After various phone calls to other propane companied, all were able to explain how a budget is correctly figured, I switched companies. To do this I had to take out a personal unsecured loan. I then contacted this company to let them know they could get their tank and finally ****** answered the phone. I questioned her regarding all my complaints, in which she could not explain, she was argumentive and lied about responding to me, etc. At the end of the conversation she did admit that she was wrong but there was nothing she could do about it. That next week, they sent my remaining balance to Alexandria Collections, even though I have been making payments on it. This is unbelievable what I have been through with this company. I am personaly offended, financially stressed, facing this to be on my credit - when my credit has been at its highest. I want this company to be accountable, especially those who are running it. To show how this is determined: I used 890 gallons of propane in the heating season. They are to take total gallons used times the contract price and divide by the heating months. At most, my monthly budget should have been $180 (that was using an average). Technically this year it should have been $168.21. This company determining my budget at $325 and even $290 is grossly incorrect and unrealistic. I do not beleive ****** should continue doing this job, with fear of how many other people she is doing this to. I want this remaining balance out of collections due to their hardship they have created to me with no negative action to my credit. I am hopeful that the Minnesota Attorney General will help assistance with my requests as well.

Desired Settlement: Disciplinary action for those involved. Accountability to those in charge of this company. My remaining balance to be taken out of collections with no negative action. Ensure this does not and has not happen to other people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ Last fall, *** ***** wanted to be on budget pay with us. We looked at prior history to get an approximate figure on the gallons she had used before. We do offer a contract program that lets the customer lock in a set price for the heating season. She chose not to do that. at the time she set up her budget, propane was selling for $1.50 per gallon. We estimated propane would be around $1.75 during the heating season. That is how we determined what her budget payment should be. Last January, propane prices went to all time highs, reaching $5.00 per gallon. Naturally, our estimate of $1.75 was way off. Because of this, we had to raise budget payments for everyone that did not lock in a contract. She states we didn't respond to her. We have sent her at least three statements showing her how many gallons she used, what they cost, and how much she paid. Very simple, and a ten year old should be able to figure it out. I can't help it that prices went sky high last year, and the fact is, she could have contracted her gallons and this would not have happened.Just because she doesn't want to pay for what she used, doesn't mean this bill is going away. She has refused to look at the statements we send and just keeps denying she owes it. The credit bureau will be in charge of collecting this account, because she refuses to be responsible in dealing with us.

2/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After checking our propane fuel tank (which read 7% full) we ordered 100 gallons of fuel. Our fuel tank will hold 400 gallons of fuel to read full. Shortly after delivery of the fuel we noticed on the receipt written that prior to fueling the tank was at only at 5% full (not 7% ?) so after adding the 100 gallons of fuel the new percent was entered at 25% full but when we went out to double check, the tank was only at 22% full. We talked to the gas company and they gave me some gobbledygook nonsense about the gauge could have stuck or it could be the temperature of the fuel at the time but there's almost always a difference in the percent. What??!! We don't think we're getting what we paid for and we haven't been satisfied as to what happened to the missing percent(s). This is not the first time we've noticed these discrepancies.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund on the difference. We need to know we are not being short changed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Farmers Union Oil Company of Alexandria
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)