Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2002

Ticket King Minnesota, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (612) 341-4131Fax: (612) 877-7701View Additional Phone Numbers212 Chicago Ave, MinneapolisMN 55415-1125 Send email to Ticket King Minnesota, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We are the largest ticket broker in the MSP area but also sell thousands of tickets to events nationwide. We buy and sell tickets on the secondary market and specialize in obtaining premium tickets to sporting events, concerts and theatre.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2002

BBB has determined that Ticket King Minnesota, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ticket King Minnesota, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ticket King Minnesota, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Placed an order for 4 tickets for a game, agreed to the terms & policies, ALL SALES FINAL. They charged my cc, didn't deliver& breached the contract
3/5/14 when I was notified that my tickets were being canceled.
Here is the order detail:
Activity occurred on 01/26/14
DBT/WDR ************

the terms on their website states ALL SALES ARE FINAL. The terms & policies have been breached because they neglected to follow the terms and the delivery method. It states I AM TO CONTACT THEM TO ARRANGE DELIVERY.

Once purchased the tickets 1/26/14 were rightfully mine and I owned them. 38 days later on 3/4/14 at 3:17pm I requested information on my ticket status. The following day 3/5/14 at appx 10am I receive a phone call saying they have canceled my order because they could not get a hold of me on 3/4/14 in the late afternoon/evening. But I sent an email yesterday before their supposed email and calls and received a call on 3/5/14.

It makes no sense that they did not respond to my email and could call me the next morning but could not get a hold of me for a few hours in the evening and decided to violate the contract.

Desired Settlement
Tickets for the same amount of money in the same or BETTER section AND row for the the game on the same day. We already have 3 tickets for the game and need the other 4 for the entire party. If 4 tickets are not available for the section and row then we would need 7 seats in the same or BETTER section and same or BETTER row and same or BETTER seats for the entire party.

This is a birthday gift for my son and we are traveling from Michigan for a trip.

We do not want anything more than what we rightfully paid for and own.

We are disappointed by the treatment

Business Response
We have resolved this order with the customer. We found that the third party website that the customer placed the order on sent us the wrong contact information for the customer, so when we attempted to call the customer, the number was disconnected. After we rejected the order, the third party website was able to get a hold of the customer because the number THEY had was correct, but the number they had given us was incorrect. The third party website is actually paying the difference in cost to obtain other tickets for the customer in the same section and row, since it was their mistake, not Ticket King's. The customer will be receiving four tickets in the same section and row that she originally ordered.

02/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Purchased Disney Tickets in November for a show in February. Ticket order was confirmed and paid for and then they never delivered them.
I purchased Beauty and the Beast tickets for my grandchildren's Christmas Gift on November 30, 2013 for a the Saenger Theater showing of Beauty in the Beast for February 8, 2014. I was given a confirmation and order number ********. My credit card was charged for the tickets. On December 16 I received an email saying my tickets were being delivered and to watch for tracking number. On December 23 I did receive the tickets and I contacted ******* with Ticket King and she said I am sorry your tickets are not ready you will be contacted when the are ready. I contacted Ticket King On January 31, 2014. They acted like I was crazy for worrying. I was told they were guaranteed of course I would receive them on time. On February 3, 2014 I get phone call asking if I would accept tickets for a 8:00pm show instead of the original 2:00pm show I ordered. I told them no because I have a 4year old and a 6 year old that would not be able to stay up that late. They said they would get back with me. On February 6, 2014 I contacted ******* who told me she was going to contact the venue and get with by the end of the day. I heard nothing. I contacted on February 7, 2014 who is the originater and they contacted Ticket King. They told me that Ticket King said I accepted a full refund. Of course I want the TICKETS. I am a Grandmother who as now for over two months promised my two grandchildren I would take them to see Beauty and the Beast at the Saenger Theater in NO. Why would I purchase tickets in November and not want them. When I told them I was reporting them to the Better Business Bureau all they said was REALLY. I feel completly helpless. I guess that is my complaint. Who CARES right.

Desired Settlement
I wanted the tickets that I purchsed which was four tickets for the 2:00pm Beauty and the Beast show in New Orleans at the Saenger Theater for Saturday, Februar 8, 2014. I wanted what I paid for. Nothing more.

Business Response
The tickets that the customer ordered were expected to arrive in our office on February 4, 2014, per the ticket notes on the order at the time the order was placed. When the tickets didn't arrive in time to ship out to the customer, we contacted the box office, who let us know the tickets were not going to get to us in time for the show. At this point is when we offered the customer tickets we had in hand and ready to ship for the 8pm show. We didn't have any other options to fill the order for the 2pm show at this point, unfortunately. Had we had any other tickets available to offer the customer, we would have upgraded her and gotten her those tickets. Unfortunately, we didn't have any options when the venue stated the tickets would not get to us in time to get them to the customer. We refunded the customer in full for her order. I wish we would have been able to get the 2pm tickets in time to fill the order, but our hands were tied as we had to rely on the venue to get the tickets to us before we could ship them to the customer. Since the event is past, there is nothing further I can do for that date. The customer has been refunded in full.

09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I want a refund of a credit on my account less any applicable fees, and I am being denied even though it is part of their policy.
On August 4th, I was denied access to the Jay Z/Justin Timberlake Concert. The venue told me that the tickets I bought from Ticket King were invalid.Utlimately from this situation (which required me to file a similar complaint, because the company was not responding to me), I requested a full refund. I purchased the tickets with $183.66 on my Mastercard, and $162.29 of store credit that I received due to a Green Day concert being cancelled in Feb. 2013. The company eventually refunded my credit card the $183.66, but refuses the refund the store credit to my credit card in the amount of $162.29 less any fees. They claim that they will not refund the store credit, because I chose to take this credit when the Green Day concert was cancelled. They also refused to tell me what infomration I needed from the venue in order to prove that I was denied access to the concert. (I had to buy additional tickets at the venue just to get in!) Per Ticket King's policy that is printed on my receipt *Receive full invoice credit, minus shipping, to be applied to your next purchase. or *Receive full refund of face value of ticket(s). Our service charge will not be refunded. At the time I elected the first option, and I purchased one ticket to Killer's concert. The remaining balance of my credit was $162.29 which I used to purchase what turned out to be this invalid ticket. After this humilaiting and frustrating experience (it has been almost 3 weeks since this concert!), I absolutely do not want to purchase any further tickets with this company. I will not go through this aggrevation and humilation again. I was willing to take my credit, refunded to my credit card, LESS their fees, but again, I am not getting any responses from the company. As a customer, I have the right to expect that the product/services I am being provided are valid! These tickets were invalid according to the venue, and I was denied access. I should be entitled to a refund regardless of the purchasing means! It's not like I am asking for something for nothing. I gave them all of this money at one point. Their policy does not state I cannot opt for a refund of the store credit at a future date. Even if it did, I would think that an exception would be warranted considering the circumstances. Problem Date: 8/4/13 Purchase Date: 2/28/13. Customer ID: ****** Invoice: ****** Sales Reps: ***************** and ********** Payment Method: $183.66 on Mastercard (which I received) and store credit of $162.29

Desired Settlement
Even though I am disgusted by the lack of resolve, I am willing to follow their policy of receiving the refund less any applicable service charges. $162.29 less any service charges.

Business' Initial Response
Ticket King has been in contact with Ms. ****** since the beginning of August trying to reach a resolution to her order.

When Ms. ****** chose an in store credit for her Green Day ticket order per our cancellation policy was given a credit of $230.24 in January 2013. This was the total of her order minus the $15.00 shipping charge (this in store credit included the service fees on her original order.) In February of 2013 Ms. ****** used $67.95 of her credit to purchase a Killers ticket. This left a remaining in store credit balance of $162.29, which Ms. ****** used to purchase Justin Timberlake tickets. When Ms. ****** had an issue with her Justin Timberlake tickets we then issued a credit to her MasterCard for $183.66 and issued the in store credit back to her account, which still has a remaining balance of $162.29. Ms. ****** is requesting to go back and change her original Green Day order to taking the face value back minus the service fees originally charged. The face value of the Green Day tickets purchased was $125.92. That is the amount that would have been refunded to Ms. ******'s card had she chosen this option back in January. If she would like to go back and change her mind we can deduct the amount she used to buy her Killers ticket with. This would leave a balance of $57.97, which we are willing to refund to her card. We cannot refund for the in store credit amount she currently has as that amount included the service fee of her original order.

This is the cancellation policy Ms. ****** references to and is on every invoice generated by our business:
1) Receive full invoice credit, minus the shipping, to be applied to your next purchase
2) Receive a full refund of the FACE value of the ticket(s). Our service fees will not be refunded.

As of now, Ms. ****** has been refunded for her purchase in the manner in which she paid. $183.66 has been refunded to her MasterCard and $162.29 has been reissued to her Ticket King account. As we have explained to Ms. ****** the credit does not expire and can be used on any inventory found on our website. While it is unfortunate to hear Ms. ****** doesn't want to continue to do business with us as it stands she still has an in store credit with us that will never expire and can be used when she chooses. Should she elect to go back and change her mind about her Green Day order and receive a credit of $57.97 on her credit card she has Ticket King's contact information.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
That is what I requested in the first place, but the manager told me that it was impossible to refund me that amount. What a shame I had to go to great lengths for all of this.

08/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was denied access to a concert, because the venue told me someone already entered with my seats and my tickets were invalid.
On February 28, 2013, I purchased 2 tickets to the August 4th. 2013 Justin Timberlake/Jay-Z concert in Hershey, PA. Upon arrival, I was denied entrance using tickets I purchased from Ticket King. I was told by the venue that someone already entered with tickets for my seats, and they sent me to the box office. The box office manager told me that my tickets were invalid and denied me access to the show. I was forced to purchase additional tickets at the venue to enter. I called Monday August 5th, and the first customer service rep. told me that it was impossible that my tickets were invalid. I was then transferred to ***** **** who originally sold me the tickets. ***** said she would research the issue. I had to follow up with ***** on my own accord on August 8th to see if there was an update. ***** indicated they were waiting for the venue to call back. I emailed ***** again August 12th, 2013 in the morning, and I have not heard a response. On top of the fact I was humilated at the concert and had to pay additional money to attend, now I am getting no response from the company who sold me the tickets. Invoice #: ****** Sales Rep: ***** **** Customer ID: ****** Payment Amount: $345.95 Payment Method: Mastercard= $183.66 and Credit froma previous concert that was cancelled $162.29.

Desired Settlement
Since I was denied access to the show with the tickets I purchased from Ticket King, I want a full refund of $345.95.

Business' Initial Response
On the extremely rare occasion a customer is denied access to an event we require a scan report from the venue before we proceed with a refund. Because Ms. ****** is a past customer we wanted to minimize her frustration with her order and did not require her to provide a scan report. The venue could not provide us with any proof or information as to why Ms. ******'s tickets didn't work. We have since credited her order in the matter in which it was paid for. Ms. ****** used an in store credit from a previous transaction and a Mastercard to pay for her tickets. A refund of $183.66 was put to Ms. ******'s MasterCard and an in-store credit of $162.29 has been issued back to Ms. ******'s account to use on a future purchase. As we have previously informed Ms. ****** her credit cannot expire and can be used on any inventory found on our website.

Consumer's Final Response
The company responded to me yesterday and has agreed to refund the amount purchased via my credit card, and give me store credit for the other half. They refused to refund the entire ticket purchase to my credit card, and they also refused to tell me what information they needed from the venue in order to get a full refund to my credit card. (I was told the venue didn't offer much information, so I asked what they needed so I could call myself to get what they need.) I don't wamt to conduct any further business with this company, so I requested the store credit be refunded less any shipping fees per their show cancellation policy. (The credit that I used to purchase these tickets (in addition to the additional money on my credit card) was from a previous show cancellation.) I have not heard a response yet. While I am not completely satisfied, I wanted to update BBB on the status. In addition, I have not heard or received the refund as of yet, so I am not considering the complaint dismissed.

04/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I paid double price for tickets when there were plenty of seats available, I was also charged with more than $50 hidden fees including shipping!
Ticket King Minnesota Inc's website gave me the impression that there are no more tickets available for an event I was interested in. The website showed very few available tickets but it didn't make it clear that there could be more tickets. Moreover, I got hit by more than $50 of hidden fees.

I knew that there is plenty of tickets available and that I paid double the price when the circus manager inquired about my tickets. He told me the actual price of the ticket same tickets was $24 and I paid $44 plus hidden fees. He also advised me to buy the tickets from ticketmaster next time

Furthermore, I was hit by hidden fees in excess of $50, some of the fees are labeled other expenses, also they charged my credit card with shipping fees, which is strange since I'm supposed to order the tickets online then print them before going to the event. By the way I didn't receive any tickets yet

See fees below from an email I got immediately after I order the tickets :

TAX: $0.00
GRAND TOTAL: $232.78

Below is what I go after buying the ticket, supposedly this is the ticket I need to print and take with me to the event.

Your order has been processed successfully. You will receive an email receipt shortly. Click here to order more tickets to this event, or return to Official­Online­

YOUR PURCHASE ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Your Purchase Number is ******** Purchase Date: Mar 30 2013 12:53AM ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Tickets ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

Event: Ringling Bros. And Barnum & Bailey Circus Mar 30 2013 3:30PM Venue: 1st Mariner Arena in Baltimore, MD, United States of America Section: 307 Row: K

Price: $44.00 Each Quantity: 4
Cost ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Tickets: 4 x$44.00
Total: $232.78
Service Fee: 4 x$12.32
E­Ticket: $7.50

Notes ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Price is in USD($).Total does not include any applicable state, local or other sales taxes.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get at lest 50% of my money back, further I would like to have any extra fees to be credited back to my credit card.

Business' Initial Response
The customer ordered from a third party website called All over the site, including the page of the checkout process before the customer even puts anything into the checkout cart, it shows that the site is a resale marketplace that is not affliciated with the box office or venue. This is stated in the terms and policies as well, and the terms also explain that prices may be above or below face value. On the secondary ticket market, we have no idea what tickets the venue may or may not still have available, we only show the inventory that WE have available. There was no hidden fees. The customer agreed to the final ticket price of $232.78, per the email that he shared in his complaint, and that is the amount that was charged. The website that he placed the order on charges a service fee and the edelivery fee. It clearly shows the order total on his confirmation. Ticket King fulfilled the order once it was sent to us from the third party website and delivered the tickets to the customer. It is correct that the customer has the right to purchase directly from Ticketmaster in the future, but there were no hidden fees on his order. Everything regarding the website and the fees was in the terms and policies that the customer agreed to before the order was allowed to be placed. No credit is due.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are hidden fees. Can you explain the item called OTHER EXPENSES: $49.28
and can you explain the shipping fees
SHIPPING: $7.50 when in fact I ordered electronic tickets???

Moreover, your advertising "website" is misleading on purpose, it's designed to lure buyers into thinking that there are no more tickets left.

Why do you think people are going to buy tickets from you if they hear my story?

Business' Final Response
"Other expenses" is the service fee that the third party website charged you on the order. It is NOT a hidden fee, as you can plainly see the amount shown on the confirmation that you provided, which is included in the order total. A hidden fee would be an amount that is charged ON TOP of the order total you were quoted. You were quoted the total amount of $232.78, that includes the ticket price of $44 each, times four tickets is $176, the service fee of $49.28, and the shipping charge for the email delivery of $7.50. Those three amounts add up to the total that you agreed to, $232.78. You agreed to the whole total, however, all amounts are shown on the website on at least two pages of the check out process before you accept the order. The website charges $7.50 for email delivery. The site also showed this fee on your order before you confirmed the order, as you can also see on the confirmation that you provided.
The website is not misleading on purpose. The website can only show tickets that are available on the secondary ticket market. Since this third party website as well as Ticket King, are not affiliated with the box office or venue, we have no idea what kind of inventory, or how much inventory is available still through the box office or venue, we can only list the tickets on the website that we have in our office.
I would recommend for the customer to read the terms and policies in the future before agreeing to the terms and policies. All of this information is explained in the terms and policies, and all of the fees were explained before the order was placed as well. No credit is due.

04/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I chose to pay $15 extra for "hard tickets" versus printing the tickets at home at no additional charge. When my tickets arrived, they were printed.
I ordered tickets to a Red Socks game at Fenway Park through Ticket King. I typically print the tickets at home at no additional cost, but I chose to pay an additional $15 for "hard tickets" as a memorabilia piece for my Red Socks loving boyfriend. When I received the tickets in the mail, they were printed from a computer, not "hard tickets" like specified online. I called Ticket Kind and spoke to ***************. She said baseball tickets do not come in the "hard ticket" form. I asked why that was not noted and why I was charged extra if I was unable to get those. She said there was nothing she could do. I asked if I could speak to the supervisor, she said that was her. I asked to speak to her supervisor, she said that was her. I asked her if she was the owner of Ticket King, to which she replied "yes." I am upset that I was charged extra for something I did not receive and was treated with horrible customer service when I called to fix the situation.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive $15.00 back for the cost I paid to get "hard tickets" even though I did not receive them.

Business Response
Dear *****,

You chose FedEx standard delivery for your tickets. We did FedEx your tickets to you in a timely matter. As I explained to you on the phone, 90% of baseball tickets are e-tickets because that is how the teams decided to send them this year. No where on the website did it state that you would be getting hard tickets. All that it stated was that your tickets would be FedEx to you, which we did.

Thank you,

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Over charging for hockey tickets. Face value $82.50 and they charged $192.00 plus $7.00 shipping (the tickets were emailed) plus $27.83 entertainment
Over charging for hockey tickets. Face value $82.50 and they charged $192.00 plus $7.00 shipping (the tickets were emailed) plus $27.83 entertainment tax. Ticket King should be ashamed of themselves to charge 132% OVER THE FACE VALUE; PLUS $7.00 shipping charge; PLLUS $27.83 entertainment tax. This practice should be illegal!

Desired Settlement
Refund the $7.00 shipping charge when the tickets were emailed. Plus there should be a warning about the outrageous mark up.

Business Response
Dear *****,

The price that you see on the ticket, $82.50, is the price that the season ticket holder paid. We purchase tickets from season ticket holders and sell them at market value. On our website above the map of the venue it states, We are a resale marketplace, not the ticket seller. Prices are set by third-party sellers and may be above face value. The charge of $27.83 is the Minnesota tax that we have no control over. We do not receive any of that money.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Tickets purchased are counterfeit according to the security of AllState Arena at Rosemont, IL. They told us we should not even be there.
On November 14, 2014, I purchased 3 tickets from for November 15, 2014 3:30 pm Ringling Bros show at AllState Arena and we were given Section 114, Row M, seats 5, 6, and 7. I received email confirmation from Ticketprocess for the purchase with order number ******** and they informed me also that the seller of the tickets was Ticket King Minnesota, Inc..
On the day of the show, AllState Arena's personnel, one supervisor and another one from their security, told us we were issued counterfeit tickets because somebody already purchased the tickets legally through Ticketmaster. There were 2 other families there with us issued the same seats as what we had and they were told also the tickets they were holding were counterfeits.

Desired Settlement
They should refund us for the total purchase of $139.59. That's not even enough for the humiliation and embarrassment we suffered.

Business Response
Ms. *****,
I am so sorry to hear about the issues you had with your order. You have been refunded for all charges. A receipt has been emailed to the email address associated with your order. Again, sorry for the trouble you and your family encountered. If you have any additional questions please let us know.
Have a nice day,
Ticket King

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Ihave requested a refund for a canceled concert and the company refuses to give it to me , saying that the concert will be postponed for an unknown ti
me, the other compaines stub hub and ticketmaster are willing to give refunds but minnesota ticket king are not. Even after I explained to them I know longer wish to attend the concert if it has to be postponed , they refuse to even talk to me about it , blaming the refusal to give refunds on August Alsina stating the they called the entertainer themselves and they was instructed to keep the ticket sales and if people want a refund the only thing it was to do was to have the persone who bought the tickets sell them on the streets.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back that I paid for the tickets because I paid for a concert on Spet 21st and I am not able to reschedule or wait for an unknown DATE. I want my money back.

Business Response
I called the venue directly and they informed me that the event is not canceled, it is postponed. As stated on our website, we are not responsible for changes or cancellations of any event. If an event is rescheduled, your tickets will be valid for the rescheduled date, no refunds will be issued. You can use the tickets yourself for that future date or sell them on your own. If the concert is canceled we would be more than happy to refund your order.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These people are crooks , they steal and lie and are jot a reputable business. They stole money from me and they are cheats . I called the Venus and asked them directtly and the concert was canceled obviously because it was supposed to be in sept 21st and it wasn't. To hold kn to people's money is a horrible business practice . It's called theft !!

09/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

9/23 was informed tickets I bot on 9/12 unavailable; offered me a downgrade. Said no other seats were available yet they are still selling tkts
I'm from NY and planning to visit my daughter in Columbus. I promised her tickets to the Columbus Blue Jackets vs. our New York Rangers game at Nationwide Arena on the evening of October 11, 2014.

I'm visually impaired, and I didn't want to risk not getting decent seats (that would give me a clear view) when they went on sale on 9/19, so I went the resale route. On 9/12, bought 3 tickets @$157 each for 3rd row, section 102, in front of the faceoff circle. Once my order was confirmed, I booked my non-refundable hotel room.

On 9/23, days after all the good lower seats were sold out on Ticketmaster's site, ***** from Ticket King called and said that the season ticketholder's seats that I purchased were changed, and he could offer an "upgrade" to section 106. Section is on a curve, and the row offered was further back than what I'd bought. The seats are adjacent to or behind the net. I would not be able to see well, so I turned them down, and ***** said he would keep looking. On 9/24, ** (aka *******) from TicketKing called and said they have no other tickets, that they wouldn't be getting ay other tickets- take it or leave it, even though (as she said) it was a DOWNGRADE! (These seats are also on the Columbus side of the ice. I'm from NY. The seats I purchased were where NY plays twice.

**/******* was very rude. She would not let me speak to a manager, and insisted she was alone. When I asked if they would do better on the price since it was a downgrade, she checked with her supervisor (who she said wasn't there) and offered me $30 on an overall purchase of almost $600. ** emailed the tickets, but said they would refund me if I wanted, but now I had the added burden of a nonrefundable hotel room (and a promise made to my daughter). When I looked at the tickets, THEY WERE DATED 9/12!! That's the day I purchased the other seats. I believe Ticket King scammed me, and never planned to fulfill my original order.

Today I go on Ticket King's site, and they are still selling more than 100 tickets to the same game, INCLUDING tickets just 1 row behind my original ones...but at a higher price. Still, why were these not offered to me? These seats would make my viewing much more enjoyable for a multitude of reasons, but mainly because Diabetic Retinopathy and Glaucoma make it far more challenging for me.

Desired Settlement
I would like the seats I was promised, or the seats in Row D, Section 102 (one row behind those that I purchased).

The game is on October 11th, 2014.

If that is not possible, I would like a full refund for 1 seat ($157 plus fees), since I will not be able to actually watch the game... I'll be a body taking up space!

Please help!

************ (h)
************ (c)

Business Response
For the 2014-15 season, our Columbus Blue Jackets tickets were changed to another location. We did not know this information until the season tickets were delivered to our office. In our industry it is rare, but occasionally season ticket locations change. We reached out to every customer, including Ms. ********, and offered a $10 per ticket refund for customers wanting to keep the seats in the new location. If they did not want the new location we offered the option of canceling the order and refunding the full purchase price.
** is the Ticket King representative that tried to come to an agreement with Ms. ********. We are a small company and it is common that at certain points during the day there is not a manager on duty. As ** explained to Ms. ******** the tickets she sees listed on our website do not necessarily indicate our inventory. Several other ticket brokers like ourselves list tickets on multiple websites across the country. Since Ms. ******** is not happy with the tickets her order was fulfilled with and the $30 refund we have provided to her I have went forward with canceling her order. Today I have refunded her $542.70. That amount plus the $30 she was previously refunded equals her total purchase price of $572.70. I will email Ms. ******** a copy of her refund slip and the refund should post to her account in 2-3 business days depending on her bank. Ticket King hopes that Ms. ******** will be able to find tickets that will suit her needs for this game with her daughter. Please call our office with any questions at ************. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the refund, because I WAS able to get other tickets -- the seats I wanted AND for a better price. However, Ticket King is lying. They never offered a $10 per seat refund. I had to ASK for some compenssation, and was not happy with that amount. They admitted this was a DOWNgrade. ** also admitted that she had to get approval for the $30 credit, and she got it instantly, which means she lied about being alone in the office. Further, the tickets she sent were dated 9/12 - the date of my original order. That tells me she lied AGAIN about WHEN they knew about the change of seats.

This was not the settlement I asked for, and ** was well aware that I did NOT want a refund, and the sarcasm at the end of her email yesterday was not lost on me. However, Row B in Section 116 is far better than she could offer me.

Final Business Response
In her response the customer, Ms. ********, indicated she accepted the refund and has purchased tickets to the event elsewhere. We have refunded all funds from Ms ******** and have closed the issues with her order.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Ticket Sales - Events

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/19/1998Business started: 01/01/1993
Contact Information
Principal: Kris Elder (Customer Service Manager)
Business Category

Ticket Sales - Events

Products & Services

Ticket King specializes in obtaining premium tickets to sporting events, concerts and theater. They offer competitive event pricing that is based on the initial face value of the ticket, specific ticket location, and supply and demand for the event.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 03:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

All sales are final. We are not responsible for lost or stolen tickets, change of venue, date, time, or rainout. No customer initiated refunds, cancellations, or exchanges allowed with the exception of a canceled event. If a concert, sporting, or theater event is cancelled, the customer may select to receive an in-store credit for the total invoice amount less shipping or the face value of the tickets back on their credit card. Tickets must be returned to our offices in order for you to receive a refund. Tickets should be returned via traceable means (e.g. certified mail, FedEx, UPS, etc.), and all requests for refunds must be submitted in writing within 5 business days of the cancelled event. No refunds will be issued for postponed or rescheduled events. For further information, please refer to the policies page of our website.

Service Area

Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, San Diego, North America

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with Ticket King Minnesota, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

9 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ticket King Minnesota, Inc.

212 Chicago Ave

Minneapolis, MN 55415-1125

To | From


3 Locations

  • 319 Tenth Avenue 

    San Diego, CA 92101

  • 212 Chicago Ave 

    Minneapolis, MN 55415-1125(612) 341-4131
    Fax: (612) 877-7701

  • 186 7th St W 

    Saint Paul, MN 55102-2521

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ticket King Minnesota, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (651) 298-8100
  • (800) 396-7328

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (715) 381-2886

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Ticket Sales - Events


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.