BBB Accredited Business since

Sjoberg's, Inc.

Phone: (218) 681-3044 View Additional Phone Numbers 315 Main Ave N, Thief River Falls, MN 56701 http://www.mncable.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sjoberg's, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sjoberg's, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sjoberg's, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business incorporated 08/24/1982 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dick Sjoberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dick Sjoberg, President
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Telephone & Television Cable Contractors Fiber Optics Internet Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Sjoberg's Inc, this company installs cable services providing TV, Internet, phone and fiber optic lines. Serving northern Minnesota.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sjoberg's, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 315 Main Ave N

    Thief River Falls, MN 56701 (218) 681-3044 (800) 828-8808

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They turned off my internet for $65. Policy states it needs to be 90 days. I had an issue with them this summer. They changed their billing plans and their automatic payments got shut off. I was receiving bills but just thought they were statements and filed them away. They turned off my service and were unwilling to work with me. I felt like it's a small town business and they know my name. Then they didn't turn their automatic payments on for some time. I have been paying on the bill but am not organized (that's why I like automatics). I owe $65 and they turned my service off. Per policy it states I must be 90 days late which I am not. I feel like since I was outspoken in the summer, they are not being fair to me. She stated I have been late on my payments since June. I can provide what I have paid, and yes I have not been perfect.

Desired Settlement: Turn my service back on. I have paid the $65 owed, but they are requesting almost $100 to turn it back on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/12/30) */ ************** Mediation Coordinator Every monthly bill states Accounts 30 days or more in arrears could be disconnected without notice. At the time of disconnection the balance on the account was $81.75. After the account was disconnected on 11/18/15 the balance due was pro-rated from the date of disconnect to the end of the month. Mrs. ****** paid the pro-rated balance which was $65.74, the amount due on the 1st of November was $79.75. On 11/11/15 a $2.00 late fee was added and a late notice was sent out. On the notice it stated the amount owed was $81.75 and was to be paid in full on 11/18/15 by 3:30 pm. On the disconnection notice it also stated that the past due balance, a $40 reconnect and the next month service would be needed to reconnect service. Their account has not been current since June of 2015. We do not show that she was ever set up on automatic payment on a debit/credit card as those are taken out on the 10th of each month and we do not show any payments ever taken on the 10th. She has paid on her account with a debit/credit card in the past by either calling in or on line. The amount owed to reconnect her services is the $40 reconnect fee and one month of service at $36.95. Sjoberg's Cable TV

12/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After numerous conversations with Customer Service (minimum 6) and multiple visits from technicians, the issue of my internet speed still exists. I pay for a monthly service which is supposed to provide me with 20 meg download speeds, 3 meg upload speeds. Since purchasing the service, I have rarely received the speeds I pay for. My typical download speed ranges from as low as 1 to about 10. On very rare occasions, I am able to hit about 17mbps. Mind you, this is a very rare occurrence. I have tested the modem with a separate service provider and have no issues, the issue is with the company itself and their hardware/cable. They also recently put a 450GB/month downstream bandwidth restriction on my service without notifying me. The last representative they sent out to my location suggested I disable the DoS Attack Protection feature in the wireless settings of the modem, this is a terrible suggestion. This representative also left my location with no viable suggestions on how to fix the problem. We ran speed test's when he was here, and not one time did we reach the speed I pay for, we reached typically about 50 percent of what I pay for (10 mbps). If this wasn't the only cable provider in my town, I would not be filing this complaint and would have switched providers immediately. Product_Or_Service: Internet Service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be reimbursed for the disrupted service. I would like the speeds I pay for. Simple enough.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/05) */ First, I would like to say that we are very disappointed to receive this compliant. I feel that Sjoberg's provides excellent Internet service. Mr. ********'s complaint is unfortunate. As he stated, we have tried to help resolve the problem via customer service calls and several on-site visits by our technicians. He has been difficult to find at home. When our techs are there, they have been able to get the advertised download speeds by plugging directly into the cable modem. Mr. ******** is trying to get this speed via a wireless connection to the modem. He lives in a large apartment building with several dozen other people also using the limited frequencies available for wireless(WiFI).This is the root of his problem. Sjoberg's does not advertise or guarantee WiFi speeds because there are so many variables that are out of our control. In an effort to try to help Mr. ********, our techs have 1.) Increased his wire line speed package at no additional charge, 2.)Loaned him the most advanced, and more expensive wireless modem available currently, at no additional charge, and 3.)Have spent a considerable amount of time trying to educate him on optimizing his wired and wireless experience. I feel that Sjoberg's has gone above and beyond the normal to work with a difficult customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To refute the statements made by Sjoberg's, not one time when a technician was at my apartment were we able to reach the speeds I pay for, via wired or wireless connection. Also, I was not "loaned" a new modem, it was provided to me as a replacement in attempt to resolve this situation. The original modem was purchased from Sjoberg's and came with a 1-year warranty; they offered to replace it with the newer modem at no cost, after this complaint. This wireless modem is slightly more expensive than the modem I have already purchased, to say it is the most advanced and expensive modem on the market is beyond an exaggeration. It is clear whomever made this response is not privy to this complaint and has not dealt with me directly. The statement that I live in a large apartment building is an excuse, and nothing more than that. Like many former college students, I have lived in multiple large apartment buildings, and I have not once experienced such erratic speeds with any other provider. I'm disappointed that I am viewed as a difficult customer; I pay for a monthly service, on time. Sjoberg's does not deliver the service that is being paid for, and I'm difficult. I can assure you I need no education on how to "optimize my wired and wireless experience." Sjoberg's has spent no time educating me on how to optimize my wired and wireless experience as they claim (again, this is unnecessary), but rather, offered excuses on why I don't receive the service I pay for. I suppose it is difficult to deal with a customer who knows when there is a problem with their service. Like many other working American's, I am not able to be at home during working hours, as I am at work. I may point out that the technician I have been dealing with clearly stated they will increase my speed to resolve this issue until they receive the necessary "parts" they have ordered to fix an ongoing issue in my building. This directly contradicts the statements made by the Sjoberg's representative who made this reply. At this point, I am mostly satisfied with Sjoberg's response to my complaint. By increasing my speeds, I can no longer say I do not receive the speeds I pay for. Mind you, this is only because they bumped me up to a higher tier of service. The service I have been upgraded to, at no cost, allows me to reach the speeds I pay for. Mind you, it does not reach the speeds it claims to, via wired or wireless. My last request is that I be reimbursed for the 4 months of additional disrupted service. As I was paying for the "Platinum package" and receiving speeds in correlation with the "Silver package," this would equate to $80.00.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sjoberg's, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart