BBB Accredited Business since

Midcontinent Communications

Phone: (800) 888-1300 719 Memorial Hwy, Bismarck, ND 58504 http://www.midcocomm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midcontinent Communications meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midcontinent Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midcontinent Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 2009 Business started: 05/11/1990 Business started locally: 05/11/1990 Business incorporated 05/11/1990 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108, State Capital, Bismarck ND 58505
www.state.nd.us
Phone Number: (701) 328-2900

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mary Lohnes, Regulatory Affairs Manager Steve Grosser, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mary Lohnes, Regulatory Affairs Manager
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Internet Services Telephone Communications

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Midcontinent Communications, this company offers cable television, high-speed Internet and digital phone services.


Additional Locations

  • 719 Memorial Hwy

    Bismarck, ND 58504 (800) 888-1300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered the company's Internet service and had problems with the connection. I was charged for the professional hookup of the services. I then had to call them back after finding out that the connection between my house and the company was problem. I was also charged for the service. They then turned it off in called in to find out what was going on. I tried to see what cable and Internet price would be.they then took a payment didn't turn the service back on and denied a refund.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund and all charges from company to be wiped clear.

Business Response:

Please see attached confidential response to the complaint.

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

The stated dates and times are incorrect and recorded phone calls will show that they had informed me of no 30 dollar credit. I wasn't informed about any past due amounts until later. I am still very unhappy with how they operate. Charging me for professional installation and charging me for two months of service. Giving me a credit for one and disconnecting services have way through another month and still charging for full month.

Business Response:

Mr. *******'s account had already received a credit for one month of service.  Charges of the second month had been prorated to the date of disconnect but Midco will credit an additional $10.00 for the 6 days his services had been soft-disconnected

Mr. ******* can request that adjustment in a check or it can be applied to his old account.

3/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: returned cable box at drop off in Devils Lake, sent to collections for unreturned equipment that was returned. Returned equipment to return center in Devils Lake North Dakota on 11/12/2015 while moving from ************** Cando, ND 58324 to Nebraska. I've been called and sent to collections and this equipment was returned. I've told them multiple times they need to call midcon and come to a conclusion and they haven't.

Desired Settlement: take my account back from collections and write it off.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/02) */ We have received and reviewed Mr. ********'s complaint. On 12/08 the piece of EQ on his account was received and the charge removed from his account. The collection agency is not charging for the EQ. There is still a service balance owing-$37.98. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have my credit card information and it was on auto bill, why didn't they just bill my Visa? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/03/04) */ When a customer disconnects service their recurring payment method is also.

1/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They never send any bills, even though we are signed up to receive by mail. They don't call, email or try to contact at all. Bill has never been provided despite asking for one multiple times

Desired Settlement: I need them to send an actual invoice

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/11) */ We have received the complaint submitted by Ms. *****. The first we were notified that they were not receiving a bill was 11/27/15, they've had service since 09/20/14. No return mail has come back to Midcontinent. In November we asked the customer if they would want the statements emailed in one of the email chats but the customer ended the chat. We have verified their address, their bill is getting mailed. Our other option is to email them, with the customer's consent.

9/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incomplete work that is creating a trip and electrical hazard to my family and neighbors for three months and counting. We signed up for service on June 17th 2015 and our cable company has failed to finish the work. There has been a big yellow cable stretching from the front, around the house,on the lawn and in front of our rear garage door for the third month now. That cable has created a hassle when we mow the lawn in which we have to stop and move it from side to side to avoid cutting it. It is summer and we are also concerned that ourselves or our neighbors children may also trip on the cable and create an unwanted liability on our property. I resorted to calling customer service in Fargo and was told we are "not the only ones waiting". Dissatisfied with their level of response we called the main Office in Bismark and were confronted with the same response. In our view this demonstrates a lackadaisical attitude towards the service we are receiving from this company. It is not our concern how many other customers are in line to have their service completed. We are responsible for paying our cable bill on time (not other customers), therefore we reserve the right to individually seek answers when we receive poor service.

Desired Settlement: We would like the big yellow cable buried and removed from our sight and we don't think we are being unreasonable after a three month wait. This is unacceptable and poor business practice.On both attempts we have been told that "the cable will be buried before the ground freezes", and we think its too long of a wait.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/11) */ We have received and reviewed the customer's complaint. We were able to expedite the bury drop, however with the holiday this past Monday it will not be until Monday, or Tuesday the 15th at the latest.

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business will not honor pricing that is available online from their own website. I wanted to upgrade my current cable TV and internet package. I went to the company website and built my own package to suite my needs for $160. I then called the company to set up a time to install the package and the lowest the representative could offer me for the exact same product was $180. I verified that the online price was $160 for the exact same services but the company refused to honor their own pricing.

Desired Settlement: I just want the package for the price I found on the website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/10) */ We have received and reviewed the complaint by Mr. ******. If he were able to provide a screenprint of the package he'd found we could see if that were available to his area and qualifications. In a chat with *** on 04/01, she was given the pricing of !26.50 before taxes for the first 12 months, the second 12 months would be $150 before taxes. I have checked with our sales group and the promo offered his mother were the best available for the services in his area. Our sales manager has quoted $123.50 for the first year plus tax. $147 for the second year, plus tax, and $180 after that. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/04/16) */ I closed this complaint in error. The problem has not been resolved Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/04/24) */ I have conferred with our sales team and the promo that we originally offered is the best pricing that we can give the customer. We stand by our original response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midcontinent Communications
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)