Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2013

North Dakota Telephone Company

Find a Location

Phone: (701) 662-1100Fax: (701) 662-6446211 22nd St NW, Devils LakeND 58301-1534 Send email to North Dakota Telephone Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2013

BBB has determined that North Dakota Telephone Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised North Dakota Telephone Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on North Dakota Telephone Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I RECEIVED MY MONTHLY BILL FROM NORTH DAKOTA TELEPHONE COMPANY TODAY WITH A PRICE INCREASE OF ABOUT 20% OF THE ENTIRE MONTHLY BILL !!! WHILE OTHER TELEPHONE COMPANIES ARE LOWERING THEIR PHONE SERVICE RATES, "NDTC" RATES ARE GOING UP !!! WHEN I CALLED THE COMPANY TO ASK ABOUT THE RATE INCREASE, A RATHER UNCARING PERSON WORKING FOR THE COMPANY GAVE NO BETTER OPTIONS TO LOWER THE RATES...IN OTHER WORDS " TOUGH LUCK ".I HAVE HAD PHONE AND INTERNET SERVICES FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS NOW THAT HAVE BEEN INTERRUPTED REPEATEDLY BECAUSE THE OLD COPPER LINES THAT RUN INTO THE BUILDING THAT I OWN HAVE NOT BEEN UPDATED PROPERLY. I ASKED FOR THE FIBER OPTICS TO BE PUT IN WHEN I PURCHASED THE BUILDING ALMOST THREE YEARS AGO, BUT I WAS PUT ON A WAITING LIST... SO, WHEN THE PHONE IS USED FOR LONG DISTANCE THERE IS OFTEN STATIC AND OTHER NOISE THROUGHOUT THE CALLS AND MANY TIMES THE CALL IS OFTEN CUT OFF AFTER A FEW MINUTES...SO, I HARDLY EVER USE MY PHONE AT ALL. NDTC IS THE POOREST SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD IN ANY TOWN THAT I HAVE EVER LIVED IN.
Product_Or_Service: PHONE SERVICE
Account_Number: ***

Desired Settlement
IF MY NDTC RATES ARE GOING TO INCREASE, THEN I AM ASKING FOR A PARTIAL REFUND OF THE PAST SERVICE MONTHS FOR THE CALL DISCONNECTS AND POOR SERVICE THAT I HAVE ENCOUNTERED OVER THE PAST TWENTY TWO MONTHS.FAILURE TO OFFER A PARTIAL REFUND WILL RESULT IN MY FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE NORTH DAKOTA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION AND ASKING FOR AN INVESTIGATION OF THESE MATTERS.I WILL ALSO DISCONTINUE USE OF THE NDTC LAND LINE TELEPHONE AND PURCHASE AN *** LONG DISTANCE SERVICE PHONE.

Business' Initial Response
Complainant subscribes to the Clear Savings bundle which includes a voice package and economy internet service. His monthly rate went from $*** to $*** but does not pay an *** additive of $.*** anymore. This price change was due to the regulation changes happening in the telecommunication industry. NDTC also made free companywide calling available with these changes. Notices were sent out in advance of any price increases.

When NDTC placed fiber optics in the town of *** in 2007, complainant's location did not have any services from NDTC, so fiber optics were not placed at that time. In July of 2011, complainant requested service at this location. NDTC connected services over existing copper facilities to this location. These copper facilities are fully capable of providing the internet and telephone service that were requested.

From July 11, 2011 to present, the complainant has not called NDTC to report any problems with his services. A customer service representative contacted the complainant on April 16, 2013 to make arrangements to move his services over to fiber optics. The complainant requested for us to wait until the fall of 2013, as he was doing remodeling. At that time, he did not mention any issues with his service.

We attempted to contact the complainant, but were unsuccessful.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
DURING THE WEEK THAT MY SERVICE WAS INSTALLED IN JULY OF 2012 I MADE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS TO THE TECH WHO INSTALLED THE PHONE SERVICE BY CONTACTING HIM ON HIS OWN PHONE LINE CONCERNING PROBLEMS WITH MY PHONE. HE LED ME TO BELIEVE THAT THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE THAT COULD BE DONE ABOUT THE MANY PROBLEMS UNTIL FIBER OPTICS WERE INSTALLED AND I WOULD JUST HAVE TO LIVE WITH THE PROBLEMS OF DROPPED CALLS, BACKGROUND NOISE AND SERVICE PROBLEMS UNTIL A SPECIAL "OUTSIDE CONTRACTOR" WOULD HAVE TO INSTALL THE FIBER OPTICS FOR NDTC... AND I WOULD BE PLACED ON A WAITING LIST FOR ONE OF MY APARTMENT BUILDINGS THAT I OWN IN *****, ND. MOST OF THE PROBLEMS HAPPEN WHEN I AM ON A LONG DISTANCE CALL AND THE LINE GOES DEAD DURING THE CALL ETC... AND FOR THIS REASON I HARDLY USE THE LONG DISTANCE SERVICE WHICH IS BILLED TO ME AT AN ADDITIONAL 12 CENTS A MINUTE RATE BESIDES THE MONTHLY PHONE SERVICE RATE OF APROX *** PER MONTH.
ON APRIL 16TH, 2013 WHICH WAS RIGHT BEFORE THE RATE INCREASE BILL CAME IN THE MAIL, I WAS CONTACTED BY NDTC SAYING THAT "NOW, THEY THEMSELVES", WOULD HAVE NO PROBLEM INSTALLING THE FIBER OPTICS AND WOULD NOT NEED TO GO THROUGH AN OUTSIDE CONTRACTOR TO DO THE WORK AND THEY WANTED TO SCHEDULE A DATE !!!
I TOLD NDTC THAT MY APARTMENT BUILDING IS NOW FULL OF REMODELING SUPPLIES WHICH WOULD ALL HAVE TO BE MOVED IN ORDER TO INSTALL THE FIBER OPTICS. NDTC ALSO SAID THAT SINCE THE GROUND WAS STILL FROZEN THE PERSON WHO WOULD DO THE INSTALLATION MAY ALSO NEED TO RESCHEDULE AGAIN SOMETIME IN THE FUTURE. I TOLD THEM TO WAIT UNTIL THEY WERE SURE OF A DATE SO THAT I DO NOT HAVE TO MOVE THOUSANDS OF POUNDS OF REMODELING MATERIALS FOR NOTHING.
IT WAS SHOCKING TO ME TO LEARN THAT SOMEONE WORKING IN THE NDTC COMPANY COULD HAVE DONE THIS WORK LONG AGO BUT FAILED TO DO SO.
WHAT WOULD BE THE POINT OF COMPLAINING ABOUT MY SERVICE TO THE LADY WHO CALLED FROM NDTC ABOUT INSTALLING FIBER OPTICS WHEN THE COMPANY IS WELL AWARE OF THE SERVICE PROBLEMS DATING BACK TO THE DAY THEY WERE INSTALLED ?
IF NDTC DOES NOT MAKE A PARTIAL REFUND CREDIT OF APROX. *** "PER MONTH" WHICH WOULD EQUAL
$ ***
TO MY ACCOUNT IN GOOD STANDING... I WILL TAKE MY CASE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF NDTC AS WELL AS THE NORTH DAKOTA PUBLIC SERVICE MANAGER FOR A REVIEW BEFORE FILING THIS CASE IN COURT...
AFTER WHICH, MY ATTORNEY MAY BE ASKING FOR THE CREDIT REFUND AS WELL AS ADDITIONAL DAMAGES WHICH COULD BE SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS AND ADDITIONAL ATTORNEY FEES AS WELL.
IT IS MY REQUEST THAT ANY FUTURE RESPONSE
FROM NDTC BE IN THE FORM OF WRITING AS IT LOOKS AS IF THIS MATTER WILL BE GOING TO COURT IN THE FUTURE.
I WILL HAVE PLENTY OF TESTAMENT FROM PEOPLE WHO CALLED ME OVER THE PAST TWO YEARS AND HAD TO CALL ME BACK AGAIN AFTER THE PHONE CUT OUT DURING THE CALL.
I HAVE BEEN WOKING WITH THE PUBLIC IN BUSINESS FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND I HAVE NOT OFTEN FOUND A COMPANY SUCH AS NDTC TO BE SO UNCARING ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS.
I SINCERELY HOPE THAT NDTC WILL REPLY WITH A WRITTEN RESPONSE THAT WILL STOP FURTHER PROCEDINGS ON MY PART...
I WOULD LIKE TO THANK THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU FOR MAKING A FILE ON NORTH DAKOTA TELEPHONE COMPANY REGARDING THIS MATTER AND POSTING IT ONLINE FOR ALL TO SEE... AND BEING THE START OF MY FUTURE CASE AGAINST NDTC.
THANK YOU.
***

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Communications, Internet - Web Hosting, Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Storage - Data, Computers - Security Equip & Systems, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Computers - Service & Repair, Computers - Network Security, Computers - Cable & Installation, Computers - Networks, Web Design, Internet Access Provider, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/30/2010Business started: 12/17/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Department of Commerce
PO Box 2057 1600 E Century Ave Ste 2
Bismarck, ND58502-2057
(701) 328-5300
http://www.ndcommerce.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1965, ND

Contact Information
Principal: David Dircks (CEO/General Manager)Customer Contact: Rodney Hoffmeyer (Customer SVC Manager)
Business Category

Telephone Communications, Internet - Web Hosting, Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Storage - Data, Computers - Security Equip & Systems, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Computers - Service & Repair, Computers - Network Security, Computers - Cable & Installation, Computers - Networks, Web Design, Internet Access Provider, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by North Dakota Telephone Company, this company offers local and long distance telephone service, high speed internet, digital TV, computer networking, wiring, maintenance, web site designing and hosting, security and surveillance equipment, dedicated data circuits and more.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

North Eastern North Dakota

Alternate Business Names
NDTC
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with North Dakota Telephone Company, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for North Dakota Telephone Company

211 22nd St NW

Devils Lake, ND 58301-1534

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 211 22nd St NW 

    Devils Lake, ND 58301-1534

  • PO Box 180 

    Devils Lake, ND 58301-0180(701) 662-1100
    (701) 662-1100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*North Dakota Telephone Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Telephone Communications

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.