Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1991

Valley Pools & Spas

Find a Location

Phone: (952) 894-1480Fax: (952) 894-4934301 Cliff Rd E, BurnsvilleMN 55337-1580 Send email to Valley Pools & Spas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Valley Pools & Spas is recognized as a leader in the pool, spa and hot tub industry and is located in Burnsville, Andover, Brainerd and Hudson, WI. Valley Pools & Spas has been family owned and operated since 1974.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1991

BBB has determined that Valley Pools & Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Valley Pools & Spas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Valley Pools & Spas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There is a 6 inch seam separation in my 2012 new liner. Same issue in 2012-seam separation! Valley pro-rated in 2012-won't in 2015/same issue!
This liner/pool issue has been going on since April, then May, almost weekly in June and now July 3. I know Valley is busy, but new pools and in-ground seem to be the priority-not a possible new liner for an above ground or past customer of 2 Valley Pools. Jackie defers to John in April-says he has prices for a new pool and liner prices. I hear nothing-then, late May, John from Andover came out, took pics, but didn't investigate the entire liner or keep the pics. John said the walls may be compromised, but never got back to me on the price of a new pool. June 3 John calls and a miscommunication between him and Jackie-I didn't want the walls re-built, I wanted someone to look at it and give me prices. Chris/GHS Recreation was called more than once, said on June 8 my text must have slipped through. After several calls to Jackie, Larry and John, Jeremy was sent out July 2 from GHS Recreation to assess, took pics and discovered after checking more thoroughly than John, that there was a 6 inch seam separation on the bottom side of the pool! Same thing and almost the same spot as in 2012.
Larry defers to John and John to GHS Recreation, Jackie to John and John back to Larry. Chris sent Jeremy out and Jeremy found where the water leaked out-seam separation-bottom along side. Larry/owner of Valley Pools pro-rated the seam separation in 2012-new liner installed by Valley. Now, Larry says he won't pro-rate the seam separation, yet Jeremy took pics on July 2nd of the separation. John took pics, but missed the seam separation totally. I simply wanted a price for a new liner which the parts department said would be-$460.00 and then the pro-rated price-the parts dept. said talk to Larry. I called Larry and he said this week that Valley will pro-rate if a seam separation-I said great, I need the pro-rated price and labor price. Larry said John had that. Larry called John and since John didn't check the entire liner or keep his pics, but Jeremy does have the pics of the seam separation, Larry now won't pro-rate it. I had asked Jackie in May for a quote for a new pool, she deferred to Larry who deferred to John. John said he would come out and check it out, but John never fully investigated the liner. I never did get a quote to have Valley install a new pool or a pro-rated liner. I find it odd that I bought a 15 round pool by Valley in 1998, then upgraded to a bigger pool in 2007 and no one seems to want to sell another pool and/or a pro-rated liner. Valley also put in the pro-rated liner in 2012-so made money. Not a lot to ask and Valley will make money again anyway. In the past Valley has been great to work with, resolved issues quickly and seemed to want to retain faithful customers. This time, I can't even get a price or results. I really wanted to be able to use the pool this summer and enjoy going to Valley to get my chemicals/water tested. We loved Valley Pools.

Desired Settlement
I simply want the pro-rated price of a new liner. Part already said $460.00 for a new liner, so what is the pro-rated price?

Valley to clean up the communication and have one contact person-not so many people to keep deferring to. John, to Chris, to Larry again...etc.
Also, if a customer has a question, it is okay to ask a question and get answers-Valley needs to just listen more and resolve issues like Valley used to do so well.

Business Response
I do apologize for the confusion. Let me try to explain.
Your liner does not have a seam separation. Therefore it does not qualify for a pro rated warranty or any warranty.
John was put in charge of your case. Chris is an installer that John had look at the liner to verify John's findings. John has talked to you numerous times and has told you it is not a seam separation and is not covered under warranty. He offered you a very good price on a new liner. He has also asked you only talk to him concerning this case. This helps avoid confusion.
The reason the other people you mentioned are involved is you keep calling and talking to people and asking questions about your liner when they're not familiar with your case so they refer you back to John. You know I would not hesitate to warranty the liner if it were covered.
I would suggest you call a different pool company and get there opinion. It shouldn't cost you anything. If it differs with our findings have the other pool company call John. We can then follow up. We're not perfect maybe we missed something, but I did have two very experienced people look at the liner and come to the same conclusion. Again I'm sorry for your trouble.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Larry, you and John keep referring to each other when I have a question. ***-call, John. ***, call Larry over and over each time I call. ***, call Chris at GHS-his company would do the work instead of Valley.

Let me try to explain again: John missed the seam separation as he didn't check the entire liner. Period. It is what it is-a seam separation by the Birch Tree side of the pool and where the water emptied out-lawn was all saturated and muddy..
I expected honesty from Valley Pools.

GHS Recreation for Valley sent Jeremy out and he saw the seam separation.

The only price was from your parts department for a new liner, since I couldn't get an answer from John. Jackie used to be my sales person for my pools, so I logically thought she might be the contact person for buying a new pool-she deferred to John and Larry. I knew parts would know the price for a new liner, so at least I would know that.
I still have no idea what a pro-rated liner would be.
John did not quote a new liner or a new pool price. John referred to GHS Recreation and said Valley wouldn't do the work. John said Chris would call and he did finally and he sent out Jeremy, who, as aforementioned, actually looked at the entire liner and saw the seam separation.
This isn't that hard.
I can show John what he missed. Or, Larry, you can talk with Jeremy at GHS. It is what it is.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am fully capable of taking a picture of it again, as Jeremy already did. Why isn't Valley coming over and cutting out the seam separation? I bought it from Valley Pool-why are you passing the buck to another company?
Ask Jeremy where his photo of the seam separation is? I am disappointed that Valley won't honor Jeremy's photo and wants to pass the buck. This is the second seam separation-2012 and now,2014,obviously a liner manufacturer that doesn't have quality liners.
Why isn't Valley coming over to cut it out? Your responsibility, your liner, your pool.
John and Jeremy-Jeremy takes a photo of it-interesting.
Please advise when Valley is coming to cut it out when I am home-call first and set up a time. Be honest and let's hold the manufacturer to making liners that don't separate at the seams in the future.

Final Business Response
I can have John and Jeremy contact you and set an appointment. I will have them both there with you. We can re inspect the liner and have you show them where you think the seam separation is. We will than cut that portion of the liner out and send it in to the factory to get the final determination from the factory. Does that sound acceptable?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pools - Maintenance, Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools- Above Ground, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1981Business started: 09/01/1974
Contact Information
Principal: Larry Berczyk ( President) Cheryl Berczyk (Communications/Marketing Director) Heidi Berczyk (Vice President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pools - Maintenance, Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools- Above Ground, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Valley Pools & Spas carries only the finest quality products and offers them at an affordable price. Products include Marquis Spas, BioGuard, Fort Wayne & Sterling In-Ground Pools, Premier Above-Ground Pools, Finlandia Saunas and Holland Grills.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSun: 11:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

No returns/exchange of chemicals. All other returns and exchanges are accepted on a case by case basis and by the discretion of the employee handling the return.

Service Area

Greater Mpls/St. Paul Metro Area & Brainerd Lakes Area


If you choose to do business with Valley Pools & Spas, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Valley Pools & Spas has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Valley Pools & Spas

301 Cliff Rd E

Burnsville, MN 55337-1580

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3426 Bunker Lake Blvd 

    Andover, MN 55304-3634(763) 576-0762

  • 18158 State Hwy 371 

    Brainerd, MN 56401(218) 829-9004

  • 301 Cliff Rd E 

    Burnsville, MN 55337-1580(952) 894-1480
    Fax: (952) 894-4934

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Valley Pools & Spas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.